DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed May 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-44 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20230015550 A1) in view of Ohara (US 20230328721 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al. teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting a random access channel preamble to a network device (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, These passages teach the UE transmitting a PRACH/random access preamble as part of a random access procedure to a base station); identifying, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant (Paragraph 80, 91-93, These passages teach that the UE determines/identifies a frequency hopping configuration (including intra/inter-slot type and repetition parameters) based on network-indicated signaling); and transmitting the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 78, 91, These passages teach transmitting repeated uplink transmissions (PUSCH) using frequency hopping across PRBs/slots according to the determined configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping.
However, Ohara teaches receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 57, 58, 79, These passages disclose that the UE receives a RAR/DCI grant following random access that includes a frequency hopping flag and explicit indication between intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping as taught by Ohara in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the UE performing Lin’s random access and uplink repetition transmission procedures to receive explicit frequency hopping configuration signaling in the random access response, thereby allowing the UE to properly determine and apply intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping parameters for the repeated uplink transmissions in a predictable and standardized manner.
Regarding claim 2, Lin et al. teaches determining that the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is present in the grant; and transmitting each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a same frequency offset (Paragraph 79, 80, 92, 99, The passage teaches that the grant includes an indication identifying intra-slot frequency hopping and defines a frequency hopping configuration with a starting PRB and frequency offset applied to each repeated uplink transmission, thus transmitting repetitions using the same starting resource block and offset).
Regarding claim 3, Lin et al. teaches determining that the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is present in the grant; and transmitting each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a different frequency offset (Paragraph 74, 80, 91, The passage teaches that the UE determines from the grant that intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled and transmits repeated uplink PUSCHs starting from the same PRB but with different frequency offsets according to the indicated hopping configuration).
Regarding claim 4, Lin et al. teaches receiving a random access response message (Paragraph 56, The gNB’s sending of msgB shows the UE receives the random access response message).
Regarding claim 5, Lin et al. teaches receiving a downlink control information message that includes a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by either a random access radio network temporary identifier or a temporary cell random access radio network temporary identifier, wherein the second frequency hopping indication is included within reserved bits of the downlink control information message (Paragraph 57, These teach a DCI with CRC scrambled by a TC-RNTI containing a frequency hopping flag field, corresponding to receiving a DCI message with a RARNTI/TC-RNTI-scrambled CRC that includes a frequency hopping indication in reserved bits).
Regarding claim 6, Lin et al. teaches the reserved bits include bits reserved for at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request process number or a new data indicator (Paragraph 57, 101, These passages show control information fields reserving bits in DCI, including a redundancy version (RV) field linked to HARQ operation).
Regarding claim 7, Lin et al. teaches either the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication is configured for the uplink transmission by the grant (Paragraph 57, The RAR or DCI grant includes a flag that configures frequency hopping for the uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 8, Lin et al. teaches transmitting each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping; and transmitting each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 79, 86, The passage teaches configuring and transmitting msgA PUSCH repetitions using intra-slot frequency hopping for initial or first retransmissions and inter-slot frequency hopping for later multi-slot retransmissions, corresponding to using first and second hopping indications for different transmission repetitions).
Regarding claim 9, Lin et al. teaches transmitting each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; and transmitting each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78-80, transmitting msgA repetitions using RRC-indicated inter-slot and intra-slot frequency hopping, where inter-slot hopping applies to repeated transmissions across slots and intra-slot hopping applies within a slot).
Regarding claim 10, Lin et al. teaches determining that both the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra- slot frequency hopping and that the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter- slot frequency hopping are enabled in the grant; and selecting the frequency hopping configuration based on the first frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 78-79, 91-93, Together these teach that both intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping can be enabled and indicated in signaling, and that the UE selects the frequency hopping configuration based on the intra-slot (first) indication provided in the grant).
Regarding claim 11, Lin et al. teaches determining that both the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra- slot frequency hopping and that the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping are enabled in the grant; and selecting the frequency hopping configuration based on the second frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 78-79, 91-92, The passages describe signaling that enables both intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping types and the UE determining or selecting a frequency hopping configuration based on the indicated type).
Regarding claim 12, Lin et al. teaches a method for wireless communication at a network device, comprising: receiving a random access channel preamble from a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, 91, These passages teach the UE transmitting a PRACH/random access preamble as part of a random access request that is received by the base station); a grant and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant (Paragraph 57, 58, 79, 80, 92, 102, These passages teach a network-provided grant/signaling (RAR/DCI/RRC) including explicit indications of intra-slot and inter-slot hopping types that together define a frequency hopping configuration used for repeated uplink (PUSCH/msgA/msg3) transmissions); and receiving the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 78, 101, These passages teach that the base station receives repeated uplink transmissions (PUSCH/msgA) that are transmitted across different frequency resources (hops) according to the configured frequency hopping scheme).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach transmitting, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping.
However, Ohara teaches transmitting, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 79, 101, These passages disclose explicit signaling of an intra-slot frequency hopping type parameter to the UE as part of configuration used for random access PUSCH transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping as taught by Ohara in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network device to issue the uplink grant as part of the standard random access response procedure immediately after reception of the PRACH preamble, thereby allowing the UE to perform the scheduled uplink transmissions (including the frequency-hopped repetitions configured by Lin et al.) using the granted resources.
Regarding claim 13, Lin et al. teaches wherein the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant, further comprising: receiving each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a same frequency offset (Paragraph 72, 76, 79, 80, 101, intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant/configuration with a defined offset and starting PRB, and that repeated uplink transmissions are received using the same hopping configuration, same starting resource block, and same frequency offset).
Regarding claim 14, Lin et al. teaches wherein the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant, further comprising: receiving each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a different frequency offset (Paragraph 73, 79, 80, 101, enabling intra-slot frequency hopping through a configuration indication (the “grant”), using a defined frequency offset relative to a same starting resource block, and receiving multiple repetitions of an uplink transmission in accordance with that hopping configuration).
Regarding claim 15, Lin et al. teaches transmitting the grant comprises: transmitting a random access response message (Paragraph 56, The gNB’s msgB is the random access response message that conveys the grant information).
Regarding claim 16, Lin et al. teaches transmitting the grant comprises: transmitting a downlink control information message that includes a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by either a random access radio network temporary identifier or a temporary cell random access network temporary identifier, wherein the second frequency hopping indication is included within reserved bits of the downlink control information message (Paragraph 57, base station transmits a DCI message (the grant) whose CRC is scrambled by TC-RNTI and that the DCI carries a 1-bit frequency hopping flag).
Regarding claim 17, Lin et al. teaches the reserved bits include bits reserved for at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request process number or a new data indicator (Paragraph 57, These portions describe reserved one-bit fields within DCI used to signal control information, showing that reserved bits can be allocated for specific indicators such as HARQ process numbers or NDIs).
Regarding claim 18, Lin et al. teaches either the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication is configured for the uplink transmission by the grant (Paragraph 78-79, either intra-slot (first frequency hopping indication) or inter-slot (second frequency hopping indication) hopping can be configured by the network signaling (the “grant”) for the uplink transmission (msgA PUSCH)).
Regarding claim 19, Lin et al. teaches receiving each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping; and receiving each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 86, 101, The passage teaches the base station receiving repeated uplink transmissions using intra-slot hopping for initial transmissions and inter-slot hopping for retransmissions, both according to respective frequency hopping indications).
Regarding claim 20, Lin et al. teaches receiving each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; and receiving each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 79, Together these teach that the base station receives repetitions of uplink transmissions across multiple slots based on inter-slot hopping and repetitions within a slot based on intra-slot hopping, both determined by corresponding frequency hopping indications).
Regarding claim 21, Lin et al. teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: transmit a random access channel preamble to a network device (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, These passages teach the UE transmitting a PRACH/random access preamble as part of a random access procedure to a base station); identify, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant (Paragraph 80, 91-93, These passages teach that the UE determines/identifies a frequency hopping configuration (including intra/inter-slot type and repetition parameters) based on network-indicated signaling); and transmit the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 78, 91, These passages teach transmitting repeated uplink transmissions (PUSCH) using frequency hopping across PRBs/slots according to the determined configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach receive, from the network device and in response to the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping.
However, Ohara teaches receive, from the network device and in response to the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 57, 58, 79, These passages disclose that the UE receives a RAR/DCI grant following random access that includes a frequency hopping flag and explicit indication between intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, from the network device and in response to the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping as taught by Ohara in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the UE performing Lin’s random access and uplink repetition transmission procedures to receive explicit frequency hopping configuration signaling in the random access response, thereby allowing the UE to properly determine and apply intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping parameters for the repeated uplink transmissions in a predictable and standardized manner.
Regarding claim 22, Lin et al. teaches determine that the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is present in the grant; and transmit each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a same frequency offset (Paragraph 79, 80, 92, 99, The passage teaches that the grant includes an indication identifying intra-slot frequency hopping and defines a frequency hopping configuration with a starting PRB and frequency offset applied to each repeated uplink transmission, thus transmitting repetitions using the same starting resource block and offset).
Regarding claim 23, Lin et al. teaches determine that the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is present in the grant; and transmit each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a different frequency offset (Paragraph 74, 80, 91, The passage teaches that the UE determines from the grant that intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled and transmits repeated uplink PUSCHs starting from the same PRB but with different frequency offsets according to the indicated hopping configuration).
Regarding claim 24, Lin et al. teaches receive a random access response message (Paragraph 56, The gNB’s sending of msgB shows the UE receives the random access response message).
Regarding claim 25, Lin et al. teaches receive a downlink control information message that includes a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by either a random access radio network temporary identifier or a temporary cell random access radio network temporary identifier, wherein the second frequency hopping indication is included within reserved bits of the downlink control information message (Paragraph 57, These teach a DCI with CRC scrambled by a TC-RNTI containing a frequency hopping flag field, corresponding to receiving a DCI message with a RARNTI/TC-RNTI-scrambled CRC that includes a frequency hopping indication in reserved bits).
Regarding claim 26, Lin et al. teaches the reserved bits include bits reserved for at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request process number or a new data indicator (Paragraph 57, 101, These passages show control information fields reserving bits in DCI, including a redundancy version (RV) field linked to HARQ operation).
Regarding claim 27, Lin et al. teaches either the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication is configured for the uplink transmission by the grant (Paragraph 57, The RAR or DCI grant includes a flag that configures frequency hopping for the uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 28, Lin et al. teaches transmit each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping; and transmit each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 79, 86, The passage teaches configuring and transmitting msgA PUSCH repetitions using intra-slot frequency hopping for initial or first retransmissions and inter-slot frequency hopping for later multi-slot retransmissions, corresponding to using first and second hopping indications for different transmission repetitions).
Regarding claim 29, Lin et al. teaches transmit each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; and transmit each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping. (Paragraph 78-80, transmitting msgA repetitions using RRC-indicated inter-slot and intra-slot frequency hopping, where inter-slot hopping applies to repeated transmissions across slots and intra-slot hopping applies within a slot).
Regarding claim 30, Lin et al. teaches determine that both the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra- slot frequency hopping and that the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter- slot frequency hopping are enabled in the grant; and select the frequency hopping configuration based on the first frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 78-79, 91-93, Together these teach that both intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping can be enabled and indicated in signaling, and that the UE selects the frequency hopping configuration based on the intra-slot (first) indication provided in the grant).
Regarding claim 31, Lin et al. teaches determine that both the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra- slot frequency hopping and that the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter- slot frequency hopping are enabled in the grant; and select the frequency hopping configuration based on the second frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 78-79, 91-92, The passages describe signaling that enables both intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping types and the UE determining or selecting a frequency hopping configuration based on the indicated type).
Regarding claim 32, Lin et al. teaches a network device, comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: receive a random access channel preamble from a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, 91, These passages teach the UE transmitting a PRACH/random access preamble as part of a random access request that is received by the base station); and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant (Paragraph 57, 58, 79, 80, 92, 102, These passages teach a network-provided grant/signaling (RAR/DCI/RRC) including explicit indications of intra-slot and inter-slot hopping types that together define a frequency hopping configuration used for repeated uplink (PUSCH/msgA/msg3) transmissions); and receive the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 78, 101, These passages teach that the base station receives repeated uplink transmissions (PUSCH/msgA) that are transmitted across different frequency resources (hops) according to the configured frequency hopping scheme).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach transmit, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping.
However, Ohara teaches transmit, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 77, This passage teaches that after receiving the PRACH preamble (Msg1), the base station transmits a random access response that includes an uplink grant to the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping as taught by Ohara in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network device to issue the uplink grant as part of the standard random access response procedure immediately after reception of the PRACH preamble, thereby allowing the UE to perform the scheduled uplink transmissions (including the frequency-hopped repetitions configured by Lin et al.) using the granted resources.
Regarding claim 33, Lin et al. teaches the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant, and wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: receive each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a same frequency offset (Paragraph 72, 76, 79, 80, 101, intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant/configuration with a defined offset and starting PRB, and that repeated uplink transmissions are received using the same hopping configuration, same starting resource block, and same frequency offset).
Regarding claim 34, Lin et al. teaches the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant, and wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: receive each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a different frequency offset (Paragraph 73, 79, 80, 101, enabling intra-slot frequency hopping through a configuration indication (the “grant”), using a defined frequency offset relative to a same starting resource block, and receiving multiple repetitions of an uplink transmission in accordance with that hopping configuration).
Regarding claim 35, Lin et al. teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the grant are executable by the one or more processors: to cause the network device to: transmit a random access response message (Paragraph 56, The gNB’s msgB is the random access response message that conveys the grant information).
Regarding claim 36, Lin et al. teaches the instructions to transmit the grant are executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: transmit a downlink control information message that includes a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by either a random access radio network temporary identifier or a temporary cell random access network temporary identifier, wherein the second frequency hopping indication is included within reserved bits of the downlink control information message (Paragraph 57, base station transmits a DCI message (the grant) whose CRC is scrambled by TC-RNTI and that the DCI carries a 1-bit frequency hopping flag).
Regarding claim 37, Lin et al. teaches the reserved bits include bits reserved for at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request process number or a new data indicator (Paragraph 57, These portions describe reserved one-bit fields within DCI used to signal control information, showing that reserved bits can be allocated for specific indicators such as HARQ process numbers or NDIs).
Regarding claim 38, Lin et al. teaches either the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication is configured for the uplink transmission by the grant (Paragraph 78-79, either intra-slot (first frequency hopping indication) or inter-slot (second frequency hopping indication) hopping can be configured by the network signaling (the “grant”) for the uplink transmission (msgA PUSCH)).
Regarding claim 39, Lin et al. teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: receive each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping; and receive each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 86, 101, The passage teaches the base station receiving repeated uplink transmissions using intra-slot hopping for initial transmissions and inter-slot hopping for retransmissions, both according to respective frequency hopping indications).
Regarding claim 40, Lin et al. teaches the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: receive each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; and receive each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 79, Together these teach that the base station receives repetitions of uplink transmissions across multiple slots based on inter-slot hopping and repetitions within a slot based on intra-slot hopping, both determined by corresponding frequency hopping indications).
Regarding claim 41, Lin et al. teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: means for transmitting a random access channel preamble to a network device (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, These passages teach the UE transmitting a PRACH/random access preamble as part of a random access procedure to a base station)\; means for identifying, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant (Paragraph 80, 91-93, These passages teach that the UE determines/identifies a frequency hopping configuration (including intra/inter-slot type and repetition parameters) based on network-indicated signaling); and means for transmitting the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 78, 91, These passages teach transmitting repeated uplink transmissions (PUSCH) using frequency hopping across PRBs/slots according to the determined configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping.
However, Ohara teaches receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 77, 90, 100, These passages disclose that, after transmitting the PRACH preamble, the UE receives a random access response including an uplink grant and receives an indication specifying whether intra-slot or inter-slot frequency hopping is to be used, which together constitute a grant with frequency hopping indications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping as taught by Ohara in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the UE performing Lin’s random access and uplink repetition transmission procedures to receive explicit frequency hopping configuration signaling in the random access response, thereby allowing the UE to properly determine and apply intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping parameters for the repeated uplink transmissions in a predictable and standardized manner.
Regarding claim 42, Lin et al. teaches a network device, comprising: means for receiving a random access channel preamble from a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, 91, These passages teach the UE transmitting a PRACH/random access preamble as part of a random access request that is received by the base station); and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant (Paragraph 57, 58, 79, 80, 92, 102, These passages teach a network-provided grant/signaling (RAR/DCI/RRC) including explicit indications of intra-slot and inter-slot hopping types that together define a frequency hopping configuration used for repeated uplink (PUSCH/msgA/msg3) transmissions); and means for receiving the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 78, 101, These passages teach that the base station receives repeated uplink transmissions (PUSCH/msgA) that are transmitted across different frequency resources (hops) according to the configured frequency hopping scheme).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach transmitting, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping.
However, Ohara teaches transmitting, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 79, 101, These passages disclose explicit signaling of an intra-slot frequency hopping type parameter to the UE as part of configuration used for random access PUSCH transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping as taught by Ohara in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network device to issue the uplink grant as part of the standard random access response procedure immediately after reception of the PRACH preamble, thereby allowing the UE to perform the scheduled uplink transmissions (including the frequency-hopped repetitions configured by Lin et al.) using the granted resources.
Regarding claim 43, Lin et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to: transmit a random access channel preamble to a network device (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, These passages teach the UE transmitting a PRACH/random access preamble as part of a random access procedure to a base station); identify, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant (Paragraph 80, 91-93, These passages teach that the UE determines/identifies a frequency hopping configuration (including intra/inter-slot type and repetition parameters) based on network-indicated signaling); and transmit the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 78, 91, These passages teach transmitting repeated uplink transmissions (PUSCH) using frequency hopping across PRBs/slots according to the determined configuration).
Ohara does not explicitly teach receive, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping.
However, Ohara teaches receive, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 57, 58, 79, These passages disclose that the UE receives a RAR/DCI grant following random access that includes a frequency hopping flag and explicit indication between intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping as taught by Ohara in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the UE performing Lin’s random access and uplink repetition transmission procedures to receive explicit frequency hopping configuration signaling in the random access response, thereby allowing the UE to properly determine and apply intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping parameters for the repeated uplink transmissions in a predictable and standardized manner.
Regarding claim 44, Lin et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a network device, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to: receive a random access channel preamble from a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, 91, These passages teach the UE transmitting a PRACH/random access preamble as part of a random access request that is received by the base station); and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant (Paragraph 57, 58, 79, 80, 92, 102, These passages teach a network-provided grant/signaling (RAR/DCI/RRC) including explicit indications of intra-slot and inter-slot hopping types that together define a frequency hopping configuration used for repeated uplink (PUSCH/msgA/msg3) transmissions); and receive the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 78, 101, These passages teach that the base station receives repeated uplink transmissions (PUSCH/msgA) that are transmitted across different frequency resources (hops) according to the configured frequency hopping scheme).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach transmit, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping.
However, Ohara teaches transmit, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 79, 101, These passages disclose explicit signaling of an intra-slot frequency hopping type parameter to the UE as part of configuration used for random access PUSCH transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping as taught by Ohara in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network device to issue the uplink grant as part of the standard random access response procedure immediately after reception of the PRACH preamble, thereby allowing the UE to perform the scheduled uplink transmissions (including the frequency-hopped repetitions configured by Lin et al.) using the granted resources.
Allowable Subject Matter
The applicant could consider adding concepts that further tie the claimed method specifically to PUSCH Msg3 repetitions in a four-step random access procedure, rather than generically to “an uplink transmission,” to better reflect the disclosed improvement. The claim could also incorporate the concept that the grant is a RAR (Msg2) or a DCI (e.g., format 1_0 or 0_0), optionally with a CRC scrambled by a random access RNTI or temporary cell RNTI, and that one of the frequency hopping indications is conveyed in repurposed or reserved DCI bits (such as bits otherwise associated with HARQ process number or NDI), which would emphasize the signaling efficiency aspect of the disclosure. Additional concepts that could be added include specific behavior when intra-slot hopping is configured, such as transmitting repetitions using the same starting resource block with either the same or different frequency offsets within a slot, as well as explicit logic for how the UE selects between intra-slot and inter-slot hopping when both indications are present in the grant. The applicant could also add the concept of applying different hopping configurations to different stages of transmission, such as using one hopping indication for initial transmissions and first retransmissions and another hopping indication for subsequent retransmissions, which would more clearly capture the conditional and stage-dependent hopping behavior described in the specification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumura et al. (US 20210368495 A1)
Park et al. (US 20190280734 A1)
Matsumura et al. (US 20230276446 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464