DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 7/29/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-44 is/are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/23/2023. These drawings are accepted
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/29/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-44 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations for claims 41-42 in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The abstract idea of “identifying, based at least in part on the first frequency…” as noted in claim 1 is considered as being recited with additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and the claims are therefore considered as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20230015550 A1) (Cited in Final rejection dated 3/26/2026) in view of IRUKULAPATI et al. (US 20210235503 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al. teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (Paragraph 69, 91, teaches a wireless communication method implemented by a terminal device expressly identified as a UE that communicates wirelessly with a base station): transmitting a random access channel preamble to a network device (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, 103, teaches the UE transmitting a random-access request to the base station/network device that expressly includes a PRACH/random-access preamble); and transmitting the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 75, 78, 80, 91, 100, 103, teaches transmitting repeated PUSCH uplink transmissions on different frequency resources/hops, including between slots or occasions, according to the determined frequency-hopping configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; identifying, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant.
However, IRUKULAPATI et al. teaches receiving, from the network device (Paragraph 174, 181, teaches the WD receiving the relevant RAR/repetition/frequency-hopping signaling from the network node) and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble (Paragraph 2, 170, teaches that the network transmits the RAR to the WD as the response to the WD's PRACH-preamble-initiated random-access procedure), a grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 16, teaches that the RAR received by the WD contains an uplink scheduling grant for the subsequent Msg3 transmission) comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 88, 148, 158, 160, teaches an FH indication carried as part of the RAR-grant signaling that can specifically indicate intra-slot frequency hopping) and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 88, 148, 158-160, teaches an FH indication carried as part of the RAR-grant signaling that can specifically indicate inter-slot frequency hopping separately from the intra-slot hopping option); identifying (Paragraph 142, 180, teaches the WD interpreting the received FH value according to a predetermined definition to determine its frequency-hopping operation), based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 142, 158, 178, teaches determining the WD's hopping operation from FH signaling whose values identify intra-slot and/or inter-slot hopping), a frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 142, 178, 180, Irukulapati's predetermined definition of the FH value determines whether and what type of frequency hopping the WD performs) for transmission of repetitions (Paragraph 49, 88, 148, pplies its frequency-hopping configuration to repeated Msg3/PUSCH transmissions and defines where the repetitions are transmitted in the frequency domain) of an uplink transmission (Paragraph 4, 82, 181, teaches that the repeated Msg3/PUSCH communication is transmitted from the WD to the network and thus constitutes an uplink transmission) responsive to the grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 174-175, teaches transmitting Msg3 and its repetitions in response to the RAR containing the UL grant that schedules the Msg3 transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; identifying, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant as taught by Irukulapati et al. in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network to explicitly configure and control the UE's frequency hopping behavior for repeated uplink transmissions following random access, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, supporting different hopping schemes, and enhancing uplink transmission reliability and spectral efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Lin et al. teaches determining that the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is present in the grant; and transmitting each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a same frequency offset (Paragraph 79, 80, 92, 99, The passage teaches that the grant includes an indication identifying intra-slot frequency hopping and defines a frequency hopping configuration with a starting PRB and frequency offset applied to each repeated uplink transmission, thus transmitting repetitions using the same starting resource block and offset).
Regarding claim 3, Lin et al. teaches determining that the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is present in the grant; and transmitting each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a different frequency offset (Paragraph 74, 80, 91, The passage teaches that the UE determines from the grant that intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled and transmits repeated uplink PUSCHs starting from the same PRB but with different frequency offsets according to the indicated hopping configuration).
Regarding claim 4, Lin et al. teaches receiving a random access response message (Paragraph 56, The gNB’s sending of msgB shows the UE receives the random access response message).
Regarding claim 5, Lin et al. teaches receiving a downlink control information message that includes a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by either a random access radio network temporary identifier or a temporary cell random access radio network temporary identifier, wherein the second frequency hopping indication is included within reserved bits of the downlink control information message (Paragraph 57, These teach a DCI with CRC scrambled by a TC-RNTI containing a frequency hopping flag field, corresponding to receiving a DCI message with a RARNTI/TC-RNTI-scrambled CRC that includes a frequency hopping indication in reserved bits).
Regarding claim 6, Lin et al. teaches the reserved bits include bits reserved for at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request process number or a new data indicator (Paragraph 57, 101, These passages show control information fields reserving bits in DCI, including a redundancy version (RV) field linked to HARQ operation).
Regarding claim 7, Lin et al. teaches either the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication is configured for the uplink transmission by the grant (Paragraph 57, The RAR or DCI grant includes a flag that configures frequency hopping for the uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 8, Lin et al. teaches transmitting each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping; and transmitting each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 79, 86, The passage teaches configuring and transmitting msgA PUSCH repetitions using intra-slot frequency hopping for initial or first retransmissions and inter-slot frequency hopping for later multi-slot retransmissions, corresponding to using first and second hopping indications for different transmission repetitions).
Regarding claim 9, Lin et al. teaches transmitting each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; and transmitting each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78-80, transmitting msgA repetitions using RRC-indicated inter-slot and intra-slot frequency hopping, where inter-slot hopping applies to repeated transmissions across slots and intra-slot hopping applies within a slot).
Regarding claim 10, Lin et al. teaches determining that both the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra- slot frequency hopping and that the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter- slot frequency hopping are enabled in the grant; and selecting the frequency hopping configuration based on the first frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 78-79, 91-93, Together these teach that both intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping can be enabled and indicated in signaling, and that the UE selects the frequency hopping configuration based on the intra-slot (first) indication provided in the grant).
Regarding claim 11, Lin et al. teaches determining that both the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra- slot frequency hopping and that the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping are enabled in the grant; and selecting the frequency hopping configuration based on the second frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 78-79, 91-92, The passages describe signaling that enables both intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping types and the UE determining or selecting a frequency hopping configuration based on the indicated type).
Regarding claim 12, Lin et al. teaches a method for wireless communication at a network device, comprising (Paragraph 69, 101, 114, teaches a wireless communication method performed at a network device in the form of an NR base station/gNB communicating wirelessly with a UE): receiving a random access channel preamble from a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, 103, 109, teaches the UE transmitting a random-access request containing a PRACH preamble to the base station, which receives the random-access request and its associated uplink transmission); transmitting, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble (Paragraph 55, 57, teaches the four-step random-access procedure in which the network sends an RAR grant after the UE's random-access transmission and the RAR grant schedules the UE's initial Msg3 PUSCH transmission); and receiving the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 75, 78, 80, 101, 108-109, teaches repeated PUSCH transmissions on different frequency resources/slots for frequency diversity and expressly teaches the base station receiving the PUSCH transmission(s) according to the determined frequency-hopping configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant.
However, IRUKULAPATI et al. teaches a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 148, 154, 158, 171, teaches an FH indication in the RAR/grant signaling that can expressly indicate intra-slot frequency hopping, including a two-bit FH field capable of identifying intra-slot hopping) and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 148, 151, 157-158, 171, teaches FH signaling that expressly identifies inter-slot frequency hopping, including a two-bit FH field capable of distinguishing inter-slot hopping from intra-slot hopping) that identifies a frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 159-160, 177-178, The FH signaling identifies the WD's frequency-hopping configuration by specifying whether hopping is performed and whether the applicable operation is intra-slot, inter-slot, or both) for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE (Paragraph 88, 148, 177, teaches applying the indicated intra-slot/inter-slot frequency-hopping operation to repeated UE uplink Msg3/PUSCH transmissions) responsive to the grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 174, The UE's Msg3 and its repetitions are transmitted in response to the RAR containing the uplink grant that schedules Msg3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant as taught by IRUKULAPATI et al. in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network and UE to explicitly distinguish and coordinate intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping for repeated uplink transmissions scheduled by the random access grant, thereby improving frequency diversity, reducing interference, increasing transmission reliability, and providing more flexible scheduling of repeated uplink transmissions under varying radio conditions.
Regarding claim 13, Lin et al. teaches wherein the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant, further comprising: receiving each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a same frequency offset (Paragraph 72, 76, 79, 80, 101, intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant/configuration with a defined offset and starting PRB, and that repeated uplink transmissions are received using the same hopping configuration, same starting resource block, and same frequency offset).
Regarding claim 14, Lin et al. teaches wherein the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant, further comprising: receiving each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a different frequency offset (Paragraph 73, 79, 80, 101, enabling intra-slot frequency hopping through a configuration indication (the “grant”), using a defined frequency offset relative to a same starting resource block, and receiving multiple repetitions of an uplink transmission in accordance with that hopping configuration).
Regarding claim 15, Lin et al. teaches transmitting the grant comprises: transmitting a random access response message (Paragraph 56, The gNB’s msgB is the random access response message that conveys the grant information).
Regarding claim 16, Lin et al. teaches transmitting the grant comprises: transmitting a downlink control information message that includes a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by either a random access radio network temporary identifier or a temporary cell random access network temporary identifier, wherein the second frequency hopping indication is included within reserved bits of the downlink control information message (Paragraph 57, base station transmits a DCI message (the grant) whose CRC is scrambled by TC-RNTI and that the DCI carries a 1-bit frequency hopping flag).
Regarding claim 17, Lin et al. teaches the reserved bits include bits reserved for at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request process number or a new data indicator (Paragraph 57, These portions describe reserved one-bit fields within DCI used to signal control information, showing that reserved bits can be allocated for specific indicators such as HARQ process numbers or NDIs).
Regarding claim 18, Lin et al. teaches either the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication is configured for the uplink transmission by the grant (Paragraph 78-79, either intra-slot (first frequency hopping indication) or inter-slot (second frequency hopping indication) hopping can be configured by the network signaling (the “grant”) for the uplink transmission (msgA PUSCH)).
Regarding claim 19, Lin et al. teaches receiving each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping; and receiving each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 86, 101, The passage teaches the base station receiving repeated uplink transmissions using intra-slot hopping for initial transmissions and inter-slot hopping for retransmissions, both according to respective frequency hopping indications).
Regarding claim 20, Lin et al. teaches receiving each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; and receiving each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 79, Together these teach that the base station receives repetitions of uplink transmissions across multiple slots based on inter-slot hopping and repetitions within a slot based on intra-slot hopping, both determined by corresponding frequency hopping indications).
Regarding claim 21, Lin et al. teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (Paragraph 104-106, 115, 142, teaches a UE/terminal implemented with one or more processors, memory storing software/program instructions, and instructions executable by the processors to perform the disclosed UE operations): transmit a random access channel preamble to a network device (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, 103, teaches the UE transmitting a random-access request to the base station/network device that expressly includes a PRACH/random-access preamble); and transmit the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 75, 78, 80, 91, 100, 103, teaches transmitting repeated PUSCH uplink transmissions on different frequency resources/hops, including between slots or occasions, according to the determined frequency-hopping configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach receive, from the network device and in response to the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; identify, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant.
However, IRUKULAPATI et al. teaches receive, from the network device (Paragraph 174, 181, teaches the WD receiving the relevant RAR/repetition/frequency-hopping signaling from the network node) and in response to the random access channel preamble (Paragraph 2, 170, teaches that the network transmits the RAR to the WD as the response to the WD's PRACH-preamble-initiated random-access procedure), a grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 16, teaches that the RAR received by the WD contains an uplink scheduling grant for the subsequent Msg3 transmission) comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 88, 148, 158, 160, teaches an FH indication carried as part of the RAR-grant signaling that can specifically indicate intra-slot frequency hopping) and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 88, 148, 158-160, teaches an FH indication carried as part of the RAR-grant signaling that can specifically indicate inter-slot frequency hopping separately from the intra-slot hopping option); identify (Paragraph 142, 180, teaches the WD interpreting the received FH value according to a predetermined definition to determine its frequency-hopping operation), based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 142, 158, 178, teaches determining the WD's hopping operation from FH signaling whose values identify intra-slot and/or inter-slot hopping), a frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 142, 178, 180, Irukulapati's predetermined definition of the FH value determines whether and what type of frequency hopping the WD performs) for transmission of repetitions (Paragraph 49, 88, 148, pplies its frequency-hopping configuration to repeated Msg3/PUSCH transmissions and defines where the repetitions are transmitted in the frequency domain) of an uplink transmission (Paragraph 4, 82, 181, teaches that the repeated Msg3/PUSCH communication is transmitted from the WD to the network and thus constitutes an uplink transmission) responsive to the grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 174-175, teaches transmitting Msg3 and its repetitions in response to the RAR containing the UL grant that schedules the Msg3 transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, from the network device and in response to the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; identify, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant as taught by Irukulapati et al. in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network to explicitly configure and control the UE's frequency hopping behavior for repeated uplink transmissions following random access, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, supporting different hopping schemes, and enhancing uplink transmission reliability and spectral efficiency.
Regarding claim 22, Lin et al. teaches determine that the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is present in the grant; and transmit each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a same frequency offset (Paragraph 79, 80, 92, 99, The passage teaches that the grant includes an indication identifying intra-slot frequency hopping and defines a frequency hopping configuration with a starting PRB and frequency offset applied to each repeated uplink transmission, thus transmitting repetitions using the same starting resource block and offset).
Regarding claim 23, Lin et al. teaches determine that the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is present in the grant; and transmit each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a different frequency offset (Paragraph 74, 80, 91, The passage teaches that the UE determines from the grant that intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled and transmits repeated uplink PUSCHs starting from the same PRB but with different frequency offsets according to the indicated hopping configuration).
Regarding claim 24, Lin et al. teaches receive a random access response message (Paragraph 56, The gNB’s sending of msgB shows the UE receives the random access response message).
Regarding claim 25, Lin et al. teaches receive a downlink control information message that includes a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by either a random access radio network temporary identifier or a temporary cell random access radio network temporary identifier, wherein the second frequency hopping indication is included within reserved bits of the downlink control information message (Paragraph 57, These teach a DCI with CRC scrambled by a TC-RNTI containing a frequency hopping flag field, corresponding to receiving a DCI message with a RARNTI/TC-RNTI-scrambled CRC that includes a frequency hopping indication in reserved bits).
Regarding claim 26, Lin et al. teaches the reserved bits include bits reserved for at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request process number or a new data indicator (Paragraph 57, 101, These passages show control information fields reserving bits in DCI, including a redundancy version (RV) field linked to HARQ operation).
Regarding claim 27, Lin et al. teaches either the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication is configured for the uplink transmission by the grant (Paragraph 57, The RAR or DCI grant includes a flag that configures frequency hopping for the uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 28, Lin et al. teaches transmit each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping; and transmit each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 79, 86, The passage teaches configuring and transmitting msgA PUSCH repetitions using intra-slot frequency hopping for initial or first retransmissions and inter-slot frequency hopping for later multi-slot retransmissions, corresponding to using first and second hopping indications for different transmission repetitions).
Regarding claim 29, Lin et al. teaches transmit each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; and transmit each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping. (Paragraph 78-80, transmitting msgA repetitions using RRC-indicated inter-slot and intra-slot frequency hopping, where inter-slot hopping applies to repeated transmissions across slots and intra-slot hopping applies within a slot).
Regarding claim 30, Lin et al. teaches determine that both the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra- slot frequency hopping and that the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter- slot frequency hopping are enabled in the grant; and select the frequency hopping configuration based on the first frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 78-79, 91-93, Together these teach that both intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping can be enabled and indicated in signaling, and that the UE selects the frequency hopping configuration based on the intra-slot (first) indication provided in the grant).
Regarding claim 31, Lin et al. teaches determine that both the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra- slot frequency hopping and that the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter- slot frequency hopping are enabled in the grant; and select the frequency hopping configuration based on the second frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 78-79, 91-92, The passages describe signaling that enables both intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping types and the UE determining or selecting a frequency hopping configuration based on the indicated type).
Regarding claim 32, Lin et al. teaches a network device, comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to (Paragraph 104-106, 114, 142, teaches a network device implemented as a base station having one or more processors, memory storing software/program instructions, and instructions executable by the processors to cause the base station to perform the disclosed communication operations): receive a random access channel preamble from a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, 103, 109, teaches the UE transmitting a random-access request containing a PRACH preamble to the base station, which receives the random-access request and its associated uplink transmission); transmit, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble (Paragraph 55, 57, teaches the four-step random-access procedure in which the network sends an RAR grant after the UE's random-access transmission and the RAR grant schedules the UE's initial Msg3 PUSCH transmission); and receive the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 75, 78, 80, 101, 108-109, teaches repeated PUSCH transmissions on different frequency resources/slots for frequency diversity and expressly teaches the base station receiving the PUSCH transmission(s) according to the determined frequency-hopping configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant.
However, IRUKULAPATI et al. teaches a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 148, 154, 158, 171, teaches an FH indication in the RAR/grant signaling that can expressly indicate intra-slot frequency hopping, including a two-bit FH field capable of identifying intra-slot hopping) and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 148, 151, 157-158, 171, teaches FH signaling that expressly identifies inter-slot frequency hopping, including a two-bit FH field capable of distinguishing inter-slot hopping from intra-slot hopping) that identifies a frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 159-160, 177-178, The FH signaling identifies the WD's frequency-hopping configuration by specifying whether hopping is performed and whether the applicable operation is intra-slot, inter-slot, or both) for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE (Paragraph 88, 148, 177, teaches applying the indicated intra-slot/inter-slot frequency-hopping operation to repeated UE uplink Msg3/PUSCH transmissions) responsive to the grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 174, The UE's Msg3 and its repetitions are transmitted in response to the RAR containing the uplink grant that schedules Msg3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant as taught by IRUKULAPATI et al. in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network and UE to explicitly distinguish and coordinate intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping for repeated uplink transmissions scheduled by the random access grant, thereby improving frequency diversity, reducing interference, increasing transmission reliability, and providing more flexible scheduling of repeated uplink transmissions under varying radio conditions.
Regarding claim 33, Lin et al. teaches the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant, and wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: receive each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a same frequency offset (Paragraph 72, 76, 79, 80, 101, intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant/configuration with a defined offset and starting PRB, and that repeated uplink transmissions are received using the same hopping configuration, same starting resource block, and same frequency offset).
Regarding claim 34, Lin et al. teaches the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping is enabled in the grant, and wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: receive each repetition of the uplink transmission according to the frequency hopping configuration using a same starting resource block and a different frequency offset (Paragraph 73, 79, 80, 101, enabling intra-slot frequency hopping through a configuration indication (the “grant”), using a defined frequency offset relative to a same starting resource block, and receiving multiple repetitions of an uplink transmission in accordance with that hopping configuration).
Regarding claim 35, Lin et al. teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the grant are executable by the one or more processors: to cause the network device to: transmit a random access response message (Paragraph 56, The gNB’s msgB is the random access response message that conveys the grant information).
Regarding claim 36, Lin et al. teaches the instructions to transmit the grant are executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: transmit a downlink control information message that includes a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by either a random access radio network temporary identifier or a temporary cell random access network temporary identifier, wherein the second frequency hopping indication is included within reserved bits of the downlink control information message (Paragraph 57, base station transmits a DCI message (the grant) whose CRC is scrambled by TC-RNTI and that the DCI carries a 1-bit frequency hopping flag).
Regarding claim 37, Lin et al. teaches the reserved bits include bits reserved for at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request process number or a new data indicator (Paragraph 57, These portions describe reserved one-bit fields within DCI used to signal control information, showing that reserved bits can be allocated for specific indicators such as HARQ process numbers or NDIs).
Regarding claim 38, Lin et al. teaches either the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication is configured for the uplink transmission by the grant (Paragraph 78-79, either intra-slot (first frequency hopping indication) or inter-slot (second frequency hopping indication) hopping can be configured by the network signaling (the “grant”) for the uplink transmission (msgA PUSCH)).
Regarding claim 39, Lin et al. teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: receive each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping; and receive each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 86, 101, The passage teaches the base station receiving repeated uplink transmissions using intra-slot hopping for initial transmissions and inter-slot hopping for retransmissions, both according to respective frequency hopping indications).
Regarding claim 40, Lin et al. teaches the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network device to: receive each repetition of an initial transmission, a first retransmission, or both, of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; and receive each repetition of a second retransmission of the uplink transmission based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 78, 79, Together these teach that the base station receives repetitions of uplink transmissions across multiple slots based on inter-slot hopping and repetitions within a slot based on intra-slot hopping, both determined by corresponding frequency hopping indications).
Regarding claim 41, Lin et al. teaches A user equipment (UE), comprising: means for transmitting a random access channel preamble to a network device (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, 103, teaches the UE transmitting a random-access request to the base station/network device that expressly includes a PRACH/random-access preamble); and means for transmitting the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 75, 78, 80, 91, 100, 103, teaches transmitting repeated PUSCH uplink transmissions on different frequency resources/hops, including between slots or occasions, according to the determined frequency-hopping configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach means for receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; means for identifying, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant.
However, IRUKULAPATI et al. teaches means for receiving, from the network device (Paragraph 174, 181, teaches the WD receiving the relevant RAR/repetition/frequency-hopping signaling from the network node) and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble (Paragraph 2, 170, teaches that the network transmits the RAR to the WD as the response to the WD's PRACH-preamble-initiated random-access procedure), a grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 16, teaches that the RAR received by the WD contains an uplink scheduling grant for the subsequent Msg3 transmission) comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 88, 148, 158, 160, teaches an FH indication carried as part of the RAR-grant signaling that can specifically indicate intra-slot frequency hopping) and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 88, 148, 158-160, teaches an FH indication carried as part of the RAR-grant signaling that can specifically indicate inter-slot frequency hopping separately from the intra-slot hopping option); means for identifying (Paragraph 142, 180, teaches the WD interpreting the received FH value according to a predetermined definition to determine its frequency-hopping operation), based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 142, 158, 178, teaches determining the WD's hopping operation from FH signaling whose values identify intra-slot and/or inter-slot hopping), a frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 142, 178, 180, Irukulapati's predetermined definition of the FH value determines whether and what type of frequency hopping the WD performs) for transmission of repetitions (Paragraph 49, 88, 148, pplies its frequency-hopping configuration to repeated Msg3/PUSCH transmissions and defines where the repetitions are transmitted in the frequency domain) of an uplink transmission (Paragraph 4, 82, 181, teaches that the repeated Msg3/PUSCH communication is transmitted from the WD to the network and thus constitutes an uplink transmission) responsive to the grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 174-175, teaches transmitting Msg3 and its repetitions in response to the RAR containing the UL grant that schedules the Msg3 transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide means for receiving, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; means for identifying, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant as taught by Irukulapati et al. in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network to explicitly configure and control the UE's frequency hopping behavior for repeated uplink transmissions following random access, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, supporting different hopping schemes, and enhancing uplink transmission reliability and spectral efficiency.
Regarding claim 42, Lin et al. teaches a network device, comprising (Paragraph 69, 101, 114, teaches a wireless communication method performed at a network device in the form of an NR base station/gNB communicating wirelessly with a UE): means for receiving a random access channel preamble from a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, 103, 109, teaches the UE transmitting a random-access request containing a PRACH preamble to the base station, which receives the random-access request and its associated uplink transmission); transmitting, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble (Paragraph 55, 57, teaches the four-step random-access procedure in which the network sends an RAR grant after the UE's random-access transmission and the RAR grant schedules the UE's initial Msg3 PUSCH transmission); and means for receiving the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 75, 78, 80, 101, 108-109, teaches repeated PUSCH transmissions on different frequency resources/slots for frequency diversity and expressly teaches the base station receiving the PUSCH transmission(s) according to the determined frequency-hopping configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant.
However, IRUKULAPATI et al. teaches a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 148, 154, 158, 171, teaches an FH indication in the RAR/grant signaling that can expressly indicate intra-slot frequency hopping, including a two-bit FH field capable of identifying intra-slot hopping) and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 148, 151, 157-158, 171, teaches FH signaling that expressly identifies inter-slot frequency hopping, including a two-bit FH field capable of distinguishing inter-slot hopping from intra-slot hopping) that identifies a frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 159-160, 177-178, The FH signaling identifies the WD's frequency-hopping configuration by specifying whether hopping is performed and whether the applicable operation is intra-slot, inter-slot, or both) for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE (Paragraph 88, 148, 177, teaches applying the indicated intra-slot/inter-slot frequency-hopping operation to repeated UE uplink Msg3/PUSCH transmissions) responsive to the grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 174, The UE's Msg3 and its repetitions are transmitted in response to the RAR containing the uplink grant that schedules Msg3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant as taught by IRUKULAPATI et al. in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network and UE to explicitly distinguish and coordinate intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping for repeated uplink transmissions scheduled by the random access grant, thereby improving frequency diversity, reducing interference, increasing transmission reliability, and providing more flexible scheduling of repeated uplink transmissions under varying radio conditions.
Regarding claim 43, Lin et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to (Paragraph 104-106, 114, 142, teaches a base station/network device having processor-executable software stored in memory/computer-readable storage media for performing the disclosed wireless-communication operations): transmit a random access channel preamble to a network device (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, 103, teaches the UE transmitting a random-access request to the base station/network device that expressly includes a PRACH/random-access preamble); and transmit the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 75, 78, 80, 91, 100, 103, teaches transmitting repeated PUSCH uplink transmissions on different frequency resources/hops, including between slots or occasions, according to the determined frequency-hopping configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach receive, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; identify, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant.
However, IRUKULAPATI et al. teaches receive, from the network device (Paragraph 174, 181, teaches the WD receiving the relevant RAR/repetition/frequency-hopping signaling from the network node) and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble (Paragraph 2, 170, teaches that the network transmits the RAR to the WD as the response to the WD's PRACH-preamble-initiated random-access procedure), a grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 16, teaches that the RAR received by the WD contains an uplink scheduling grant for the subsequent Msg3 transmission) comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 88, 148, 158, 160, teaches an FH indication carried as part of the RAR-grant signaling that can specifically indicate intra-slot frequency hopping) and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 88, 148, 158-160, teaches an FH indication carried as part of the RAR-grant signaling that can specifically indicate inter-slot frequency hopping separately from the intra-slot hopping option); identify (Paragraph 142, 180, teaches the WD interpreting the received FH value according to a predetermined definition to determine its frequency-hopping operation), based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication (Paragraph 142, 158, 178, teaches determining the WD's hopping operation from FH signaling whose values identify intra-slot and/or inter-slot hopping), a frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 142, 178, 180, Irukulapati's predetermined definition of the FH value determines whether and what type of frequency hopping the WD performs) for transmission of repetitions (Paragraph 49, 88, 148, pplies its frequency-hopping configuration to repeated Msg3/PUSCH transmissions and defines where the repetitions are transmitted in the frequency domain) of an uplink transmission (Paragraph 4, 82, 181, teaches that the repeated Msg3/PUSCH communication is transmitted from the WD to the network and thus constitutes an uplink transmission) responsive to the grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 174-175, teaches transmitting Msg3 and its repetitions in response to the RAR containing the UL grant that schedules the Msg3 transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, from the network device and in response to transmitting the random access channel preamble, a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping; identify, based at least in part on the first frequency hopping indication or the second frequency hopping indication, a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission responsive to the grant as taught by Irukulapati et al. in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network to explicitly configure and control the UE's frequency hopping behavior for repeated uplink transmissions following random access, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, supporting different hopping schemes, and enhancing uplink transmission reliability and spectral efficiency.
Regarding claim 44, Lin et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a network device, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to (Paragraph 104-106, 114, 142, teaches a base station/network device having processor-executable software stored in memory/computer-readable storage media for performing the disclosed wireless-communication operations): receive a random access channel preamble from a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, 61, 91, 103, 109, teaches the UE transmitting a random-access request containing a PRACH preamble to the base station, which receives the random-access request and its associated uplink transmission); transmit, to the UE and in response to receiving the random access channel preamble (Paragraph 55, 57, teaches the four-step random-access procedure in which the network sends an RAR grant after the UE's random-access transmission and the RAR grant schedules the UE's initial Msg3 PUSCH transmission); and receive the repetitions of the uplink transmission using one or more frequency hops in accordance with the frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 75, 78, 80, 101, 108-109, teaches repeated PUSCH transmissions on different frequency resources/slots for frequency diversity and expressly teaches the base station receiving the PUSCH transmission(s) according to the determined frequency-hopping configuration).
Lin et al. does not explicitly teach a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant.
However, IRUKULAPATI et al. teaches a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 148, 154, 158, 171, teaches an FH indication in the RAR/grant signaling that can expressly indicate intra-slot frequency hopping, including a two-bit FH field capable of identifying intra-slot hopping) and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping (Paragraph 148, 151, 157-158, 171, teaches FH signaling that expressly identifies inter-slot frequency hopping, including a two-bit FH field capable of distinguishing inter-slot hopping from intra-slot hopping) that identifies a frequency hopping configuration (Paragraph 159-160, 177-178, The FH signaling identifies the WD's frequency-hopping configuration by specifying whether hopping is performed and whether the applicable operation is intra-slot, inter-slot, or both) for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE (Paragraph 88, 148, 177, teaches applying the indicated intra-slot/inter-slot frequency-hopping operation to repeated UE uplink Msg3/PUSCH transmissions) responsive to the grant (Paragraph 2, 4, 174, The UE's Msg3 and its repetitions are transmitted in response to the RAR containing the uplink grant that schedules Msg3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a grant comprising a first frequency hopping indication associated with intra-slot frequency hopping and a second frequency hopping indication associated with inter-slot frequency hopping that identifies a frequency hopping configuration for transmission of repetitions of an uplink transmission from the UE responsive to the grant as taught by IRUKULAPATI et al. in the system of Lin et al., so that it would enable the network and UE to explicitly distinguish and coordinate intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping for repeated uplink transmissions scheduled by the random access grant, thereby improving frequency diversity, reducing interference, increasing transmission reliability, and providing more flexible scheduling of repeated uplink transmissions under varying radio conditions.
Conclusion
/A.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464