DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on November 17, 2025 has been received and considered. By this amendment, claims 1, 11, and 12 are amended and claims 1-2,4,6-18,20 and 22-24 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9-13, 17, 18, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bentwich (U.S. 2013/0267761, previously cited). Regarding claim 1, Bentwich discloses a system for improving cognitive function (see Figure 1), comprising: a non-invasive brain stimulation device 102 (“In accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention the brain stimulator and imaging device 102 is a medical device capable of selectively stimulating various regions of the brain, either excitatory or inhibitory stimuli. Various such devices are known in the art, including inter alia various Magnetic Photo-Electric Stimulator (MPES) devices, Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS) and Deep TMS devices.”, paragraph [0022]); a human computer interface 104 (“the cognitive stimulator and assessment device 104 is a computer having a computer monitor and optionally a user-input device, such as a keyboard or a microphone”, paragraph [0026]); and a computer 106 configured to control the non-invasive brain stimulation device and the human computer interface (“The integrated treatment controller device 106 is a computer running a computer program, which computer program is constructed and operative to control the brain stimulator and imaging device 102, and the cognitive stimulator and assessment device 104.”, paragraph [0027]) to: assess a subject's baseline cognitive function by interaction with the subject using the human computer interface (“The cognitive analyzer 114 measures a cognitive feature in the patient 100.”, paragraph [0049]), and if the subject's baseline cognitive function is impaired: use the human computer interface to provide the subject with a strategy for improving performance in a cognitive function test (“Based on this initial data 136, the stimulator controller 130 determines the neuronal and cognitive stimuli appropriate for an individual patient.”, paragraph [0057]), wherein the strategy comprises instructions on how to undertake the cognitive function test (“The cognitive analyzer preferably utilizes at least one of various cognitive diagnostic techniques known in the art such as Stroop Color Task, Navon Global Local Paradigm, Dimensional Meaning Profile, various memory, intelligence, language, personality tests, cognitive-affective measurement tools, and tests for locating brain region deficiency in a disease state, such as in patients suffering from depression.”, paragraph [0031], where the Stroop Color Task, Navon Global Local Paradigm, and Dimensional Meaning Profile are all known cognitive function tests that include the instruction on how to perform the test included within the testing procedure itself); and stimulate the subject's brain with the non-invasive brain stimulation device while training the subject's cognitive function (“The integrated treatment controller 116 comprises a stimulator controller 130, operative to control the stimulator 118 (FIG. 2), so as to personalize the neuronal and cognitive stimulation of the ICONS device of the present invention, adjusting it to an individual patient, such as the patient 100.”, paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Bentwich discloses that the non-invasive brain stimulation device comprises a transcranial electrical brain stimulator configured to apply at least one of: DC current stimulation; AC current stimulation and random noise stimulation (“stimulating at least one region of a brain of the patient with magnetic stimulation or with electric stimulation”, claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Bentwich discloses that the computer is configured to monitor the subject's cognitive performance during the cognitive function training and to adjust at least one of: the cognitive function test, strategy for improving performance; and non-invasive brain stimulation in dependence on the result of the monitoring (“The cognitive feedback detector 128 is a device operative to measure changes in cognitive properties of the patient 100 in response to stimulation of the stimulator 118.”, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Bentwich discloses that the cognitive function comprises or consists of at least one of: working memory; attention, long term memory and executive control (“The cognitive feature is preferably measured by various cognitive tests known in the art, such as Stroop Color Task, Navon Global Local Paradigm, Dimensional Meaning Profile, various memory, intelligence, language, personality tests, cognitive-affective measurement tools, and tests for locating brain region deficiency, e.g., frontal-temporal deficiency.”, paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Bentwich discloses that the system is configured for operation by the subject in their own home (the configuration shown in Figure 1 where the patient is lying on a table with monitor 104 overhead and stimulator device 102 on their head is respectfully submitted to be a configuration “for operation by the subject in their own home”).
Regarding claim 11, Bentwich discloses a method of improving cognitive function in a subject comprising: assessing the subject's baseline cognitive function (“The cognitive analyzer 114 measures a cognitive feature in the patient 100.”, paragraph [0049]), and if the subject's baseline cognitive function is impaired: providing the subject with a strategy for improving performance in a cognitive function test (“Based on this initial data 136, the stimulator controller 130 determines the neuronal and cognitive stimuli appropriate for an individual patient.”, paragraph [0057]) , wherein the strategy comprises instructions on how to undertake the cognitive function test (“The cognitive analyzer preferably utilizes at least one of various cognitive diagnostic techniques known in the art such as Stroop Color Task, Navon Global Local Paradigm, Dimensional Meaning Profile, various memory, intelligence, language, personality tests, cognitive-affective measurement tools, and tests for locating brain region deficiency in a disease state, such as in patients suffering from depression.”, paragraph [0031], where the Stroop Color Task, Navon Global Local Paradigm, and Dimensional Meaning Profile are all known cognitive function tests that include the instruction on how to perform the test included within the testing procedure itself); and stimulating the subject's brain by non-invasive brain stimulation while they undertake cognitive function training (“The integrated treatment controller 116 comprises a stimulator controller 130, operative to control the stimulator 118 (FIG. 2), so as to personalize the neuronal and cognitive stimulation of the ICONS device of the present invention, adjusting it to an individual patient, such as the patient 100.”, paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Bentwich discloses monitoring the subject's cognitive performance during the cognitive function training (“The feedback data 142 is an optional aspect of the present invention, allowing fine-tuning of the operation of the stimulator 118, and is preferably generated and passed on to the stimulator controller 130, iteratively, during the process of treatment.”, paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Bentwich discloses adjusting at least one of: the cognitive function training, strategy for improving performance; and non- invasive brain stimulation in dependence on the result of the monitoring (“The feedback data 142 is an optional aspect of the present invention, allowing fine-tuning of the operation of the stimulator 118, and is preferably generated and passed on to the stimulator controller 130, iteratively, during the process of treatment.”, paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Bentwich discloses that the cognitive function comprises or consists of at least one of: working memory; attention, long term memory and executive control (“The cognitive feature is preferably measured by various cognitive tests known in the art, such as Stroop Color Task, Navon Global Local Paradigm, Dimensional Meaning Profile, various memory, intelligence, language, personality tests, cognitive-affective measurement tools, and tests for locating brain region deficiency, e.g., frontal-temporal deficiency.”, paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, Bentwich discloses that the non-invasive transcranial stimulation comprises electrical transcranial stimulation; the electrical transcranial stimulation comprising at least one of: DC current stimulation; AC current stimulation and random noise stimulation (“stimulating at least one region of a brain of the patient with magnetic stimulation or with electric stimulation”, claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, Bentwich discloses that i) the cognitive function training and/or the assessment of the subject's cognitive function is computer implemented: and/or ii) the cognitive function training and/or the assessment of the subject's cognitive function comprises an adaptive computer implemented cognitive function test (“The integrated treatment controller device 106 is a computer running a computer program, which computer program is constructed and operative to control the brain stimulator and imaging device 102, and the cognitive stimulator and assessment device 104.”, paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 22, Bentwich discloses that the strategy comprises an elaborative encoding mnemonic (“the proposed Integrative Therapeutic Application calls for a powerful synergy between the stimulation of Brain (or CMPES' bodily) "deficient" (e.g., hypo- or hyper-activation/function/structure) regions and the direct training of these brain (or bodily) "deficient" capabilities through (existing or novel) training methodologies (such as mnemonic, semantic, reasoning, mathematical, physical, etc.) that specifically improve the functional (or structural capabilities) of these deficient Brain/Cognitive-Behavioral/Physiological/Medical Capabilities.”, paragraph [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 14-16, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bentwich (U.S. 2013/0267761, cited above) in view of Min (U.S. 2019/0261877). Regarding claims 6-8 and 14-16, Bentwich discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to disclose an EEG measurement device, configured to monitor the subject's cognitive performance: i) during assessment of the subject's baseline cognitive performance; and/or ii) while the subject undertakes the cognitive function training, wherein the EEG measurement device and the non-invasive brain stimulation device are a unified wearable device and the computer is configured to monitor the subjects' cognitive function using EEG biomarkers that are modulated by brain mechanisms linked to the cognitive function, for example EEG biomarkers comprising one or more of: EEG frequency components; power levels within specific frequency ranges; and cross-frequency coupling. Min teaches a method for enhancing cognitive function that includes an EEG measurement device 200 configured to monitor the subject's cognitive performance: i) during assessment of the subject's baseline cognitive performance; and/or ii) while the subject undertakes the cognitive function training (“measuring electroencephalogram (EEG) of the subject that is executing the cognitive task”, paragraph [0011]), wherein the EEG measurement device and the non-invasive brain stimulation device are a unified wearable device (see Figure 3) and the computer is configured to monitor the subjects' cognitive function using EEG biomarkers that are modulated by brain mechanisms linked to the cognitive function, for example EEG biomarkers comprising one or more of: EEG frequency components; power levels within specific frequency ranges; and cross-frequency coupling (“measuring electroencephalogram (EEG) of the subject that is executing the cognitive task”, paragraph [0011]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bentwich to include an EEG measurement device, configured to monitor the subject's cognitive performance: i) during assessment of the subject's baseline cognitive performance; and/or ii) while the subject undertakes the cognitive function training, wherein the EEG measurement device and the non-invasive brain stimulation device are a unified wearable device and the computer is configured to monitor the subjects' cognitive function using EEG biomarkers that are modulated by brain mechanisms linked to the cognitive function, for example EEG biomarkers comprising one or more of: EEG frequency components; power levels within specific frequency ranges; and cross-frequency coupling, as taught by Min, in order to have additional monitoring capabilities, and as it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Bentwich discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to disclose that the cognitive function test comprises an nback test for assessment of working memory and the strategy comprises stages of: i) memorising a working set of n steps of the nback; ii) comparing the current item with the working set; iii) updating the working set to discard the oldest member. Min teaches a method for enhancing cognitive function that includes a cognitive function test comprises an nback test for assessment of working memory (“in an embodiment, association between the working memory function (one example of specific cognitive functions) of the subject and the measured individual cognitive frequency may be seen in real time using the working memory evaluation method such as…the N-back task”, paragraph [0075]) and the strategy comprises stages of: i) memorising a working set of n steps of the nback; ii) comparing the current item with the working set; iii) updating the working set to discard the oldest member (“the N-back task (a task for evaluating working memory where stimuli are consecutively presented, and the subject is asked whether stimulus appearing after N.sup.th stimulus of a specific stimulus is equal to stimulus appearing before N.sup.th stimulus in the presented list of stimuli).”, paragraph [0075] and “For example, the 3-back task is a task in which the subject is presented number or letter stimuli one by one, and needs to decide if the current stimulus is the same as one presented third trials ago, and it also requires the subject to retain the corresponding information for a specific period of time, and can be used to evaluate working memory.”, paragraph [0076]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bentwich to include that the cognitive function test comprises an nback test for assessment of working memory and the strategy comprises stages of: i) memorising a working set of n steps of the nback; ii) comparing the current item with the working set; iii) updating the working set to discard the oldest member, as taught by Min, in order to effectively evaluate working memory, and as it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the previous rejections of claims 1 and 11 as being anticipated by Bentwich, the Applicant argues that paragraph [0057] of Bentwich fails to disclose using “the human computer interface to provide the subject with a strategy to improving performance in a cognitive function test, wherein the strategy comprises instructions on how to undertake the cognitive function test” as now required by claims 1 and 11. It is respectfully submitted that paragraph [0057] recites “Based on this initial data 136, the stimulator controller 130 determines the neuronal and cognitive stimuli appropriate for an individual patient.” Bentwich discloses that the ”cognitive stimuli” referred to is “at least one of various cognitive diagnostic techniques known in the art such as Stroop Color Task, Navon Global Local Paradigm, Dimensional Meaning Profile, various memory, intelligence, language, personality tests, cognitive-affective measurement tools, and tests for locating brain region deficiency in a disease state, such as in patients suffering from depression”, as discussed in paragraph [0031]. Further, it is respectfully submitted that the Stroop Color Task, Navon Global Local Paradigm, and Dimensional Meaning Profile are all known cognitive function tests that include the instruction on how to perform the test included within the testing procedure itself. As such, it is respectfully submitted that the rejection stands.
Regarding the rejection of claims 6-8, 14-16, 23, and 24 as being unpatentable over Bentwich in view of Min, Applicant argues that Min fails to cure the deficiencies of Bentwich with respect to claims 1 and 11. As discussed above, Bentwich satisfies the limitations of claims 1 and 11 and, as such, the argument is moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796