DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant has amended claim 1 to include the limitations of claim 6. Therefore, present claim 1, and the claims depending therefrom, have been examined and claims 8-15 are withdrawn.
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/14/25.
Applicant’s election of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 16 in the reply filed on 10/14/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a first article and a second article. It is not clear whether applicant is claiming the first article or the second article. For example, the “having a recyclability property comprising a combination of” could be interpreted as describing either the first article or the second article. For purposes of examination, either interpretation is considered to read on the claim.
Claim 1 recites the term “property” which is not defined in the claim and the specification does not appear to provide a definition. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clearly defined and the claim is indefinite.
Claim 1 recited the term “performance” which is not defined in the claim and the specification does not appear to provide a definition. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clearly defined and the claim is indefinite.
Claim recites the phrase “reprocessed the same way as the reprocessed first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition.” However, the reprocessing is not defined in the claim and the specification does not appear to provide a definition. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clearly defined and the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimokuri et al. (US 2015/0132567) in view of Fascio (US 2012/0245257) and Souza Bento et al. (US 2023/0074665).
Shimokuri discloses a first article having a recyclability property comprising a combination of: (a) at least one polyolefin polymer; and (b) a waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition having a recyclability property (paragraphs [0015-0017], [0024], [0031], [0104], [0131], [0192-0195]).
Shimokuri does not disclose a second article made from a reprocessed first article.
Fascio discloses a second article made from a reprocessed first article (paragraphs [0001-0005], [0011], [0033-0036]) for the purpose of providing an environmentally friendly product.
Both references are drawn to recycled or recyclable plastic products.
The limitation, “when the first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition is reprocessed and the waterborne acrylic-based composition is present in amount from 10 wt% to 50 wt% of the reprocessed first article, the reprocessed first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition exhibits fess not more than a 40 percent decreased change in performance with respect to Dart Drop compared to a control article without the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition that is reprocessed the same way as the reprocessed first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition,” is necessarily present in Shimokuri since Shimokuri discloses a recyclable article containing a waterborne acrylic-based adhesive and a polyolefin (paragraphs [0015-0017], [0024], [0031], [0104], [0131], [0192-0195]) which is the same article and materials disclosed by applicant (see applicant’s PGPUB 2024/0001656, paragraphs [0036], [0050]).
It is noted that Dart Drop is a measure of an articles impact resistance and Souza Bento discloses that recycled articles often have poor chemical and mechanical properties (paragraph [0003]) and that it is obvious to product a recycled article with improved impact resistance (paragraph [0005]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have provided when the first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition is reprocessed and the waterborne acrylic-based composition is present in amount from 10 wt% to 50 wt% of the reprocessed first article, the reprocessed first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition exhibits fess not more than a 40 percent decreased change in performance with respect to Dart Drop compared to a control article without the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition that is reprocessed the same way as the reprocessed first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition in order to provide improved impact resistance.
Shimokuri discloses wherein the polyolefin polymer is polyethylene, wherein the waterborne acrylic- based adhesive includes a water-dispersible acrylate crosslinker, an isocyanate crosslinker, and mixtures thereof, wherein the first article is selected from the group consisting of monolayer or multilayer films, multilayer laminates, and packaging materials or products (paragraphs [0015-0017], [0024], [0031], [0104], [0131], [0192-0195]).
Fascio discloses wherein the second article is selected from the group consisting of pellets, monolayer film, multilayer film films, multilayer laminates, and packaging materials, of packaging products, and combinations thereof, wherein the second article is selected from the group consisting of plastic composites, molded goods, laminated structures, shrink film, stretch wrap film, agricultural film, and combinations thereof (paragraphs [0001-0005], [0011], [0033-0036]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/254,161 in view of Fascio (US 2012/0245257).
Claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/254,161 recite applicant’s invention substantially as claimed but does not recite the limitation, “when the first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition is reprocessed and the waterborne acrylic-based composition is present in amount from 10 wt% to 50 wt% of the reprocessed first article, the reprocessed first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition exhibits fess not more than a 40 percent decreased change in performance with respect to Dart Drop compared to a control article without the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition that is reprocessed the same way as the reprocessed first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition.” However, said limitation is necessarily present in claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/254,161 since claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/254,161 recite a recyclable article containing a waterborne acrylic-based adhesive and a polyolefin which is the same article and materials disclosed by applicant and wherein when the article with the solvent-borne adhesive composition is reprocessed, the article with the solvent-borne adhesive composition exhibits less than a 40 percent decreased change in performance compared to a control article without the solvent-borne adhesive composition that is reprocessed the same way as the article with the solvent-borne adhesive composition.
It is noted that Dart Drop is a measure of an articles impact resistance and Souza Bento discloses that recycled articles often have poor chemical and mechanical properties (paragraph [0003]) and that it is obvious to product a recycled article with improved impact resistance (paragraph [0005]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have provided when the first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition is reprocessed and the waterborne acrylic-based composition is present in amount from 10 wt% to 50 wt% of the reprocessed first article, the reprocessed first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition exhibits fess not more than a 40 percent decreased change in performance with respect to Dart Drop compared to a control article without the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition that is reprocessed the same way as the reprocessed first article with the waterborne acrylic-based adhesive composition in order to provide improved impact resistance.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
December 4, 2025