DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 18/254,195 filed on 5/7/2026, in which
Claims 1, 3-10 and 13-16 are presented for examination. Applicant amends Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10, 13, and 15 and cancels Claims 2 and 11-12.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB2020322.0, filed on 12/22/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/30/2023 was received and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pg, filed 5/7/2026, with respect to the objections to the have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive. FIG. 2 is updated to show text labeling each of the figure components, however, the names used for reference characters 26, 28, 36, and 38 are not distinct and do not clearly match the specification. Therefore, Examiner withdraws the previous objection to FIG. 2 set forth in office action of 9 2/18/2026 and provides an updated objection below.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pg, filed 5/7/2026, with respect to the have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, Examiner maintains the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) of 2/18/2026.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pg, filed 5/7/2026, with respect to the have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of Claim of 2/18/2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pgs. , filed 5/7/2026, with respect to the have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Knapp, PG Pub US-2011/0270495-A1 in view of Vandike et al., PG Pub US-2018/0092301-A1. Additionally, Examiner briefly responds to the arguments below.
Applicant explains that the amended language of Claim 1 and Claim 15 includes “previously traversing a separate parallel path,” where the agricultural machine retrieves and uses operational parameters utilized by the machine while it traversed a separate path, parallel with the currently determined heading parameter, for example, when the harvester moves back and forth during a harvesting operation. Applicant further explains that the cited prior art, Hiramatsu, discusses autonomous travel of a work vehicle using a control system that moves the machine to a starting point, such as a headland or entrance of the field. This includes determining if it will autonomously move the vehicle from a current position to the starting position based on the current angle, where if an angle difference, between the current orientation and the work start position, is below a threshold the vehicle is autonomously moved. Therefore, Hiramatsu does not discuss retrieving and using operational parameters utilized by the machine while previously traversing a separate path, parallel with the currently determined heading parameter. Finally, Applicant states that the dependent Claims 3-10 and 13-16 are allowable by dependency on their respective base claims.
Examiner agrees. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language is to retrieve a profile with a set of parameters for controlling the machine, where the parameters are used when the machine travels in the same direction as the previous heading. Therefore, any machine which travels in the same, or parallel, direction to the previous heading and uses parameters specific to this condition is using parameters that "relate to […] parameters utilized by the machine while previously traversing a separate path parallel with the determined heading parameter." Hiramatsu discusses travelling along previously set routes, but does not discuss utilizing autonomous operation parameters based on travelling parallel to a previously set route. Instead, Hiramatsu, [pg. 9, para 0149], discusses initiating autonomous travel, including from a current location to a start point, when the heading is parallel to the work direction. At this step in the method, travel is not yet occurring and therefore it is not traveling along a "previously set route," [pg. 5, para 0085], “In this manner, the autonomous travel controller 307 is provided as an autonomous travel means for causing the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 to autonomously travel. That is, the information acquisition units connected to the autonomous travel controller 307 acquire a travel state of the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 as various types of information, and control units connected to the autonomous travel controller 307 control autonomous travel of the autonomous travel work vehicle 1. […]. Based on these positional information, displacement information, and orientation information, autonomous travel is performed by controlling the steering actuator 40, the transmission means 44, the elevation actuator 25, the PTO engaging/disengaging means 45, and the engine controller 302, for example, so that the body part 2 travels along previously set routes (a travel route and a work route) R for automatic work.”
Therefore, in light of the amendments and the new interpretation, Examiner provides an updated rejection of Claims 1, 3-10, and 13-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
FIG. 2: 26, 28, 36, and 38 have the same name for different reference numbers. Further, the names used in the drawing are not aligned with the names used in the application specification. FIG. 2 should be updated to show user interface 36, harvester control unit 38, reel 26, and auger 28 or the operable components can be grouped into one with the subcomponents listed as previously stated. See the markup of FIG. 2 provided below as an example.
Markup suggestion for FIG. 2
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
"module configured to" in Claim 13 (line 4).
Corresponding structure is found in the specification. The specification defines “positioning module” as a part of the satellite-based positioning system, pg. 9 [0058], "Here, the positioning module 34 forms part of a satellite-based positioning system such as GPS, GLONASS, Galileo and the like. In an extension of the illustrated embodiment(s), the positioning system may be a Real Time Kinematic (RTK) satellite navigation system, with the positioning module 34 and/or control system 30 being communicable with one or more base stations located within or proximal to the mapped environment, and be configured to retrieve or itself determine positional data for the harvester 10 using the RTK system." The specification further defines “modules” as portions of code, pg. 13 [0071], “Any process descriptions or blocks in flow diagrams should be understood as representing modules, segments, or portions of code which include one or more executable instructions for implementing specific logical functions or steps in the process, and alternate implementations are included within the scope of the embodiments in which functions may be executed out of order from that shown or discussed, including substantially concurrently or in reverse order, depending on the functionality involved, as would be understood by those reasonably skilled in the art of the present disclosure." For examination purposes, “positioning module” will be interpreted as software.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp, PG Pub US-2011/0270495-A1 (herein "Knapp") in view of Vandike et al., PG Pub US-2018/0092301-A1 (herein "Vandike '01").
Regarding Claim 1, Knapp discloses: (Currently Amended) A control system for controlling operation of one or more operational parameters of an agricultural machine, the control system comprising one or more controllers. See [Knapp, pg. 1, paras 0008-0009], which summarizes the system for controlling the harvester, specifically the spreader and residue distribution, including at least one controller, stored maps, and harvester components, “[0008] Embodiments of the present invention address and overcome one or more of the above shortcomings and drawbacks, by providing devices, systems, and methods for automatic adjustment of residue spread based on positional sensors. This technology is particularly well-suited for, but by no means limited to, agricultural tractors. [0009] According to one embodiment of the invention, a system controls the residue distribution of a harvester. The system includes at least one positioning sensor, such as a GPS sensor and/or electronic compass. The system further includes at least one controller, such as a microcontroller, that receives positional information from the positioning sensor. The system further includes one or more maps stored in a memory that is accessible to the controller for recording portions of a field that have been newly and/or previously harvested by the harvester. The system further includes an electrically adjustable spreader for distributing residue in accordance with control signals for the controller. The controller controls the spreader to substantially control (e.g., limit) the residue distribution the portions of a field that have been newly harvested by the harvester. In this embodiment, the portion of the residue reaching other areas of the field may be substantially reduced and/or eliminated.”
Knapp further discloses: receive positional data indicative of a position of the agricultural machine within a mapped environment. See again [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0009], which summarizes the system including the positioning method and sensor or compass and the stored maps. See also [Knapp, pgs. 3-4, para 0041], which further describes the positioning sensors, “The present invention utilizes positional sensors, such as GPS sensors, to determine the location and direction of the harvester. In some embodiments the accuracy of GPS sensor can be within feet or fractions of an inch. Applying a GPS sensor to the situation shown in FIG. 3C, the GPS sensor can determine that the header 110 is traveling along path 310 and intersecting previously harvested section 302. The present invention can then determine how to adjust the spread width of the residue 335 to maintain uniform distribution of residue across the field 300 during the harvest,” and [Knapp, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the position is also compared to stored maps, “[…], the algorithm used to determine the ideal residue spray distribution […]. This algorithm could determine the current header portion 110a that encounters standing crop either by comparing the current location and direction of the header 110 as determined by a positional device such as a GPS an/or electronic compass, and a stored map that includes information that reveals that section 302 has been previously harvested or otherwise does not contain crop to be harvested.”
Knapp further discloses: determine a heading parameter indicative of a direction of travel of the agricultural machine within the mapped environment in dependence on the positional data. See [Knapp, pg. 4, paras 0044-0045], which explain that the system uses a GPS unit or various sensors to determine the position and orientation of the harvester by receiving positional signals, “[0044] FIG. 4 depicts system 400 for using GPS or other positional sensors to determine the proper spread width for given location and direction. GPS unit 410 determines the location and orientation of the harvester on the field. GPS 410 can operate in the same manner as well-known GPS sensors in the art. Generally, GPS operates by receiving positional signals from multiple GPS satellites. […]. [0045] In some embodiments, the GPS 410 determines the location of the harvester 100, while other sensors such as an electronic compass sensor can determine the direction of the harvester 100 and by extension the location and orientation of header and the spreader. […] GPS unit 410 can include a field-based positioning sensor, which may act substantially like GPS with land-based positioning transponders. […]. In other embodiments, multiple GPS sensors can be used to determine the location and orientation of the harvester 100. It should be appreciated that the GPS sensor need not be a dedicated, stand-alone unit. […].” See also [Knapp, pg. 6, paras 0059-0060], which further explain that the position and orientation obtained by the GPS unit is used to determine the trajectory, “[0059] The system 400 gets GPS data from the GPS module 410 to determine its current location at step 516. This GPS data can include positional, as well as trajectory information, and orientation information to determine a model of the location and movement of the combine header 110 and spreader 120. [0060] Once GPS data is obtained, at step 518 the system 400 proceeds to gather harvester status data such as configuration information or sensor information that may be obtained from Harvester systems 430 or from the operator. The combination of GPS data gathered at step 516 and Harvester status information at 518 allow the system 400 to determine the location and orientation of the header and spreader, including the status of the header (e.g. if it is enabled for harvesting, such that moving the combine will or will not result in harvested crop). The status information can also help determine the size of the header to accurately determine how much of the field will be harvested as the harvester 100 moves.”
Knapp does not explicitly disclose: retrieve an operational profile associated with the determined heading parameter, the operational profile comprising a set of one or more operational parameters for one or more operable components of or controllable by the agricultural machine, wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more parameters utilized by the agricultural machine while previously traversing a separate path parallel with the determined heading parameter; and generate and output one or more control signals for controlling operation of the one or more operable components in accordance with the retrieved operational profile. However, [Knapp, pg. 2, para 0024], does explain that the system uses an automatic control mechanism for adjusting the residue spray distribution using position information to achieve a desired spray pattern, “The present invention is directed to embodiments of an automatic control mechanism for adjusting the residue spray distribution, width, and general shape via a substantially realtime, automatic control system. Embodiments of the present invention utilize GPS, or other position information, to determine the desired characteristics of the residue spray and an electrically controlled spreader mechanism to implement the desired residue spray pattern,” and [Knapp, pg. 4, paras 0042-0043], that an algorithm for determining the spray distribution matches the current harvesting direction and location to stored map information and adjusts the spray in accordance with the path of the harvester, “[0042] […], the algorithm used to determine the ideal residue spray distribution may include a rule that the spread width of residue spray 335 should substantially match the portion of the header that is currently encountering standing crop being harvested 110a. This algorithm could determine the current header portion 110a that encounters standing crop either by comparing the current location and direction of the header 110 as determined by a positional device such as a GPS an/or electronic compass, and a stored map that includes information that reveals that section 302 has been previously harvested or otherwise does not contain crop to be harvested. In this embodiment, the algorithm could determine the current width of the portion 110a of the header 110 currently harvesting crop, and immediately begin adjusting the spray pattern and width, or adjust this width with a delay. […]. [0043] […], the algorithm can determine the location and orientation of the spreader 120 and adjust the spray width 335 such that the spray width 335 corresponds to a uniform distribution over substantially the entire section 312c. In this algorithm, positional information can be recorded such that the path 310 traversed by header 110 is recorded in relation to a map. The map may be automatically updated as the harvester moves, such that the map contains substantially real-time information […]. […].” Also [Knapp, FIG. 5 and pg. 5, paras 0054-0055], explains that the controller uses electrical signals to control the residue spreaders by adjusting the speed, orientation, or movement, “[0054] Combine controller 420 communicates with adjustable residue spreader 450 via electrical signals 418 which could include digital, analog or CAN bus signals. Adjustable residue spreader can be used as spreader 120 on the combine 100. [0055] Once the combine controller 420 has determined the appropriate spray width for the residue, combine controller 420 interacts with the electronically adjustable residue spreader 450 over signal path 418. […]. The adjustment to the adjustable residue spreader can be in the form of changing the orientation or the speed/movement of parts used in a spreader 450, or by making any other adjustment to an electronically adjustable spreader 450 that would be useful for creating a residue spray pattern consistent with the ideal spray pattern determined by the combine controller 420. […]. For example, this signal received from combine controller 420 via signal path 418 can include information about the current load on the spreader, current speed of portions of the spreader such as rotating elements, or the current orientation of the deflectors within the electronically adjustable spreader 450.”
However, Vandike ‘01 teaches: retrieve an operational profile associated with the determined heading parameter, the operational profile comprising a set of one or more operational parameters for one or more operable components of or controllable by the agricultural machine, wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more parameters utilized by the agricultural machine while previously traversing a separate path parallel with the determined heading parameter; and generate and output one or more control signals for controlling operation of the one or more operable components in accordance with the retrieved operational profile. See [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, para 0044], which explains that when the system determines that the combine is traveling in a previously remembered direction it utilizes electronically recorded settings, “When the farmer reaches the location 324 and proceeds in a northerly direction (0°) the farmer does not have to adjust the vanes and/or spreaders. Instead, the system determines that the combine is traveling in a direction for which it previously remembered (i.e. electronically recorded) settings for the vanes and/or spreaders. When the system determines that it is again traveling on a previously-remembered bearing, the system automatically returns the vanes and/or spreaders to the settings associated with the northerly heading. Likewise when the combine reaches location 326 and turns the corner to again head East (90°). In short, every time the farmer returns the combine to a previously travelled and stored direction, the system will automatically return the vanes and/or spreaders to the settings associated with that direction,” where [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, para 0050], the direction is determined by an ECU that includes a satellite navigation receiver for transmitting the combine bearing, “The ECU 501 is also connected to a satellite navigation receiver 512 (e.g. GPS, GLONASS or similar system). The satellite navigation receiver 512 transmits signals to the ECU 501 indicating the position and/or bearing of the combine as it travels through the field harvesting crops” and [Vandike ’01, pg. 4, para 0056], receiving signals, that can be used for determining the combine bearing, “In step 602, the ECU 501 determines the bearing of the combine based upon the signals received from the satellite navigation receiver.” See also [Vandike ’01, pg. 4, paras 0057-0058 and 0069], which explain that, using the bearing, the ECU uses a lookup table to relate the bearing to corresponding settings, where the ECU continually monitors the bearing to make automatic changes using settings previously saved in the lookup table, “[0057] In step 604, the ECU 501 uses the bearing of the combine determined in 602 to look up a corresponding vane and/or spreader setting in a lookup table stored in the random-access memory 506. [0058] If the ECU 501 finds a vane and/or spreader setting corresponding to the bearing in step 604 it proceeds to step 606. […]. [0069] The steps outlined in FIG. 5 show how the ECU 501 monitors the changing bearing of the combine and automatically changes the setting of the vanes and/or spreader to a setting previously saved in the lookup table without operator input. In this manner, the farmer does not automatically have to adjust the vanes and/or spreader every time he changes direction (e.g. whenever he turns a corner in the field).” Finally see [Vandike ’01, pg. 4, para 0059], which explains that the ECU applies the setting to the actuators to automatically implement the parameters, “In step 606, the ECU applies the vane and/or spreader setting to the actuator 134 thereby automatically moving the crop deflectors 132 to the position indicated by the vane and/or spreader setting.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike ’01 to include setting the combine parameters using a previous heading. Doing so allows for automatically adapting to constant conditions, such as wind, that can be correlated to the combine’s direction of travel, which improves what a combine operator may have manually had to do [Vandike, pg. 1, paras 0007-0008], for every turn in the field, which becomes time-consuming and distracting [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, paras 0036-0039].
Regarding Claim 6, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp further discloses: (Previously Presented) […] wherein the one or more operable components comprise components of a header operably coupled to a harvesting machine, including one or more crop gathering mechanisms. See [Knapp, pg. 5, para 0050], which explains the combine controller receives information from sensors for determining the type and status of the header, “[0050] Combine controller 420 can also accept signals regarding harvesting status from other harvesting systems 430. Examples of other harvesting systems that can supply signals to combine controller 420 include sensors that determine whether header 110 is engaged and currently being used to harvest crop, sensors that determine the type of header being used, sensors regarding the condition or quality of the crop being harvested, or any other sensors that supply information for combine controller 420 to determine how to adjust the residue spread. Combine controller 420 and the other harvesting systems 430 can communicate via electrical signals in path 414 which can include analog or digital signals or a CAN bus, which can be shared amongst any subset of the components in FIG. 4.,” [Knapp, pg. 6, paras 0059-0060], where the header can be controlled by the system using the header information and status, “The system 400 gets GPS data from the GPS module 410 to determine its current location at step 516. This GPS data can include positional, as well as trajectory information, and orientation information to determine a model of the location and movement of the combine header 110 and spreader 120. [0060] Once GPS data is obtained, at step 518 the system 400 proceeds to gather harvester status data such as configuration information or sensor information that may be obtained from Harvester systems 430 or from the operator. The combination of GPS data gathered at step 516 and Harvester status information at 518 allow the system 400 to determine the location and orientation of the header and spreader, including the status of the header (e.g. if it is enabled for harvesting, such that moving the combine will or will not result in harvested crop). The status information can also help determine the size of the header to accurately determine how much of the field will be harvested as the harvester 100 moves.”
Regarding Claim 14, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp further discloses: (Previously Presented) An agricultural machine comprising the control system of claim 1. See again [Knapp, pg. 1, paras 0008-0009], which summarizes the system for controlling the harvester, specifically the spreader and residue distribution, including at least one controller, stored maps, and harvester components. Also see again [Knapp, FIG. 4 and pg. 4, para 0044], which shows the system for the harvester, “FIG. 4 depicts system 400 for using GPS or other positional sensors to determine the proper spread width for given location and direction. GPS unit 410 determines the location and orientation of the harvester on the field.”
Regarding Claim 15, Knapp discloses: (Currently Amended) A method for controlling operation of one or more operational parameters of an agricultural machine, the method comprising: determining a heading parameter indicative of a direction of travel of an agricultural machine within a mapped environment in dependence on positional data indicative of a position of the agricultural machine within the environment. See [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0001], which highlights the system and method for controlling the spreader, “The present invention relates generally to methods and systems for controlling the return of crop residue to a field, and more particularly to GPS control for automatic adjustment of an electrically controlled spreader mechanism.” See again [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0009], which summarizes the system including the positioning method and sensor or compass and the stored maps. Also see again [Knapp, pg. 4, paras 0044-0045], which explain that the system uses a GPS unit or various sensors to determine the position and orientation of the harvester by receiving positional signals and [Knapp, pg. 6, paras 0059-0060], which further explain that the position and orientation obtained by the GPS unit is used to determine the trajectory.
Knapp does not explicitly disclose: retrieving or identifying an operational profile associated with the determined heading parameter, the operational profile comprising a set of one or more operational parameters for one or more operable components of or controllable by the agricultural machine, wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more parameters utilized by the agricultural machine while previously traversing a separate path parallel with the determined heading parameter; and controlling operation of the one or more operable components in accordance with the associated operational profile. However, [Knapp, pg. 2, para 0024], does explain that the system uses an automatic control mechanism for adjusting the residue spray distribution using position information to achieve a desired spray pattern, and [Knapp, pg. 4, paras 0042-0043], that an algorithm for determining the spray distribution matches the current harvesting direction and location to stored map information and adjusts the spray in accordance with the path of the harvester. Also [Knapp, FIG. 5 and pg. 5, paras 0054-0055], explains that the controller uses electrical signals to control the residue spreaders by adjusting the speed, orientation, or movement.
However, Vandike ’01 teaches: retrieving or identifying an operational profile associated with the determined heading parameter, the operational profile comprising a set of one or more operational parameters for one or more operable components of or controllable by the agricultural machine, wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more parameters utilized by the agricultural machine while previously traversing a separate path parallel with the determined heading parameter; and controlling operation of the one or more operable components in accordance with the associated operational profile. See again [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, para 0044], which explains that when the system determines that the combine is traveling in a previously remembered direction it utilizes electronically recorded settings, where [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, para 0050], the direction is determined by an ECU that includes a satellite navigation receiver for transmitting the combine bearing, and [Vandike ’01, pg. 4, para 0056], receiving signals, that can be used for determining the combine bearing. Also see again [Vandike ’01, pg. 4, paras 0057-0058 and 0069], which explain that, using the bearing, the ECU uses a lookup table to relate the bearing to corresponding settings, where the ECU continually monitors the bearing to make automatic changes using settings previously saved in the lookup table. Finally see again [Vandike ’01, pg. 4, para 0059], which explains that the ECU applies the setting to the actuators to automatically implement the parameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike ’01 to include setting the combine parameters using a previous heading. Doing so allows for automatically adapting to constant conditions, such as wind, that can be correlated to the combine’s direction of travel, which improves what a combine operator may have manually had to do [Vandike, pg. 1, paras 0007-0008], for every turn in the field, which becomes time-consuming and distracting [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, paras 0036-0039].
Claims 3-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp in view of Vandike '01, further in view of Schroeder et al., PG Pub US-2011/0093169-A1 (herein "Schroeder").
Regarding Claim 3, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp does not disclose: (Previously Presented) […] retrieve a first operational profile associated with a heading parameter indicative of a first direction of travel; and retrieve a second operational profile associated with a heading parameter indicative of a second direction of travel; wherein the first and second directions of travel are parallel but opposite to one another.
However, Schroeder teaches: (Previously Presented) […] retrieve a first operational profile associated with a heading parameter indicative of a first direction of travel; and retrieve a second operational profile associated with a heading parameter indicative of a second direction of travel; wherein the first and second directions of travel are parallel but opposite to one another. See [Schroeder, pg. 5, paras 0039-0040], which explain that a controller identifies a first and second direction of travel of a combine, which are parallel but opposite, and associates a mode, “[0039] A controller 74 is provided and configured to be operatively connected to each sensor 51, actuator 50, and speed input device 62. As the combine 20 is operated and travels down a first direction of the field, the controller 74 is configured to store in memory 76 at least one of a first position of the residue deflector 53 and a first speed of the residue discharge system 28 when the combine 20 changes to headland mode. The controller 74 is also configured to store in memory 76 at least one of a second position of the residue deflector 53 and a second speed of the residue discharge system 28 when the combine 20 changes to headland mode when the combine 20 is traveling in a second direction of travel. Typically, the second direction of travel will be in the opposite direction or substantially 180 degrees from the direction of travel of the first direction. [0040] When the combine 20 is traveling in a first direction and the controller 74 detects a change to or receives an input to change to headland mode, the controller 74 operatively controls the actuator 50 to change the position of the residue deflector 53 to the second position and the speed of the residue discharge system 28 to the second speed, which has previously been stored in memory 76. When the combine 20 is traveling in a second direction and the controller 74 detects a change to or receives an input to change to headland mode, the controller 74 operatively controls the actuator 50 to change the position of the residue deflector 53 to the first position and the speed of the residue discharge system 28 to the first speed, which has previously been stored in memory 76. A flowchart of the operational steps of the controller 84 is shown in FIG. 8. A flowchart of the method of automatically controlling the settings of an adjustable crop residue spreader in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is shown in FIG. 9.” See also [Schroeder, pg. 2, para 0025], which further explains harvest mode, headland mode, and associated settings, “In a first preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an apparatus for automatically controlling the setting of an adjustable crop residue spreader 24 of an agricultural combine 20. As well known in the art, agricultural combines operate in a harvest mode and a headland mode. The harvest mode essentially means that the combine 20 is operating with its header 32 in the down position or harvesting position capable of harvesting crops, whereas headland mode essentially means that the combine 20 is operating with its header 32 in the up position or non-harvesting position, such as when the combine 20 makes a U-turn at the headland of a field.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use stored modes for each direction of travel. Doing so accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on the location, such as cross-winds which change with the direction of travel, while still allowing for automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] that improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Regarding Claim 4, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] receive additional sensor data; and update or adjust the one or more operational parameters of an associated operational profile in dependence on the additional sensor data.
However, Schroeder teaches: (Currently Amended) […] receive additional sensor data; and update or adjust the one or more operational parameters of an associated operational profile in dependence on the additional sensor data. See [Schroeder, pgs. 3-4, paras 0032-0036], which explain that the system has sensors for sensing component parameters and actuator feedback, receives environmental conditions, and adjusts the components in accordance with inputs, “[0032] Furthermore, the spreader 28 (i.e., a residue discharge system) is configured with a sensor 51 that senses the speed of the spreader 28. […]. The sensor 51 or an additional sensor 51' can be configured to sense the position of the residue deflector 53. The residue deflector 53 can include the guides 56, 58 and curved distributors 52, 54. […]. […]. [0033] Addressing environmental conditions, under no or low wind conditions, aligning the sideward position or location of the pattern of crop residue deposition relative to a swath through a field can be a simple matter of making appropriate adjustments discussed above, symmetrically about a forwardly and rearwardly extending centerline CL of combine 20 (FIG. 3). However, when wind conditions are sufficient for affecting the location of crop residue deposition, for instance when blowing sidewardly, and/or frequently changing, some adjustments will likely be necessary to maintain or achieve the desired alignment with the swath. There may also be internal conditions which require this, such as in feeding of a greater amount of crop material to one side of the spreader or the other. Adjustments may also be required when turning and changing direction. Thus, it is contemplated that actuator or actuators 50, and controller 74, as applicable, can optionally be suitably controllable for providing a capability for making asymmetrical adjustments to accommodate such requirements. […]. [0034] Further exemplary means of controlling and adjusting the residue discharge system 28, is shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B. Linkages 100, 102 are configured to change the position of the residue deflector e.g., the fin board or flat panel deflector (not shown). Linear actuator 104 is operatively connected to the linkages 100, 102 to adjust and change the position of the residue discharge system. The linear actuator 104 is also configured with a feedback sensor 106. Hydraulic cylinder 108 (FIG. 4B) adjusts the linkages 100,102 thereby changing the position of the fin board or flat panel deflector based upon feedback from the feedback sensor 106. […]. [0035] Referring to FIG. 5, the controller 74, can be, for instance, a commercially available microprocessor operated controller commonly used for controlling systems of work machines, such as combine 20, and connected via a suitable conductive path to sensors 51, 51' and 106 for retrieving information therefrom. The controller 74 is operatively connected to a position input device 84 and a speed input device 62 to allow a user to manually adjust […]. […]. Memory 76 contains stored information representative of predetermined spreader settings for at least one actuator, such as one or more actuators 50 discussed above, and/or one or more control devices, such as position input device 84 and speed input device 62. Essentially, such stored information will typically include, for instance, a range of positional information such as a length of extension for one or more actuators 50, for positioning vanes 48 of spreader 24 or various of the distributors and/or guides 52, 54, 56 and 58 of spreader 28; and/or a range of motor speeds using speed input device 62, for achieving a particular crop residue deposition pattern width, e.g., one of widths C, D, E or F and other conditions, principal among which will be crop type and environmental conditions, such as cross-winds. The actual position of the actuators, vanes, distributors and guides, and the actual motor or impeller speed, can be determined using a suitable feedback device or devices, such as a position or speed sensor 51, respectively, in the conventional and well known manner, which position or speed can be inputted to controller 74. [0036] In sum, apparatus 72 for automatically controlling the settings of the adjustable crop residue spreader includes one or more input devices, such as position input device 84, speed input device 62, and mode input device 86, preferably located in an operator cab 86 of the combine 20. The apparatus 72 can optionally include at least one external input device for inputting environmental conditions such as wind direction and speed, connected to controller 74. […]. This feature also allows changing or adapting the pattern and/or width of the crop residue deposition during operation of the header or prior thereto, for accommodating operator preferences, and changes in environmental conditions such as wind, and other conditions such as crop moisture content, volume and the like. ”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use sensors and input data for modifying and storing the mode parameters. Doing so further accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on the location, such as cross-winds which change with the direction of travel, while still allowing for automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] that improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Regarding Claim 5, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] receive an operator adjustment of the one or more operational parameters of a given operational profile; and store the adjusted operational parameter or parameters as part of the operational profile for subsequent retrieval and implementation.
However, Schroeder teaches: (Currently Amended) […] receive an operator adjustment of the one or more operational parameters of a given operational profile. See [Schroeder, pg. 4, para 0037], which explains that the controller monitors for operator commands, as well as the sensor feedback, for updating inputs such as position or speed of components, “The controller 74 monitors various operator commands and sensor feedback to control motors or solenoids. The sensor 51 communicates position or speed of the residue discharge system 28 used to deflect crop residue. The actuator motor or valve solenoids 50 of the residue discharge system 28 operatively controls and changes the position or speed of the residue discharge system 28 used to deflect crop residue. The controller 74 is configured to receive inputs from the mode input device 86 as to when the operator commands for the combine 20 to change to headland mode. The position input device 84 allows an operator to command or adjust the position of the fin board, flat panel deflector, or residue deflectors of the residue discharge system 28. […]. The speed input device 62 allows an operator to command or adjust the speeds of e.g., the spreader discs, fans, paddles or blowers of a residue discharge system. The position input device 84 or speed input device 62 controls may be switches located in a console or digital controls on the display actuated by a touch screen, keyboard or other known technology.” Also see [Schroeder, pg. 5, para 0043], which explains that the operator can provide the commands as input based on observations or changes in the conditions, including utilizing transposed stored settings, “Once the optimal spreader 28 settings are set, the operator can visually confirm that the crop residue spread width generally matches the cut width. However, when the operator turns the combine 20 around to travel in the opposite direction upon reaching the headland, the combine 20 is traveling in a different direction relative to the direction of the cross-winds. Assuming the cross-wind direction does not change, the operator will need to readjust the residue deflector to again compensate for the cross-winds. In the example of westerly cross-winds, the operator will for the most part, have to flip the position and/or speed i.e., settings, of the spreader's right and left sided residue deflector (i.e., transpose the right sided residue deflector settings to the left sided residue deflector settings and vice versa) to match the crop residue spread to that of the cut width when turned around to travel in the south bound direction. Thus, eliminating the need to have to constantly adjust the spreader settings upon changing direction will advantageously provide a more efficient operator and operation of the combine 20.”
However, Schroeder teaches: store the adjusted operational parameter or parameters as part of the operational profile for subsequent retrieval and implementation. See [Schroeder, pg. 5, para 0041], which explains that the controller can receive and store modifications made by the operator, “[…] the operator can operatively control the controller 74 to adjust at least one of the second position and the second speed when the combine is traveling in the second direction, thereby defining an adjusted second position and an adjusted second speed. Afterwards, the controller 74 stores in memory 76 the adjusted second position and the adjusted second speed when the controller 74 detects a change to or receives an input to change to headland mode.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use operator input data for modifying and storing the mode parameters. Doing so further accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on the location, such as cross-winds which change with the direction of travel, while still allowing for automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] that improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Regarding Claim 8, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp does not disclose: (Previously Presented) […] to identify a turning action indicative of the agricultural machine being positioned at an end of a row / at a headland within the mapped environment.
However, Schroeder teaches: (Currently Amended) […] to identify a turning action indicative of the agricultural machine being positioned at an end of a row / at a headland within the mapped environment. See again [Schroeder, pg. 2, para 0025], which explains that there is a headland mode used for when the combine makes a turn at a headland. See also [Schroeder, pg. 4, para 0033], which explains that the system can make adjustments when turning, “Adjustments may also be required when turning and changing direction. Thus, it is contemplated that actuator or actuators 50, and controller 74, as applicable, can optionally be suitably controllable for providing a capability for making asymmetrical adjustments to accommodate such requirements. For instance, the speeds of motors 60 may be adjusted differently, and/or one or more of the distributors, deflectors or vanes on one side of the spreader may be adjusted differently than its counterpart on the other side of the spreader, to provide desired distribution and alignment characteristics.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use identify a U-turn of the combine within the field. Doing so accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on turning in a headland, where the harvester is operating in a non-harvesting position, [Schroeder, pg. 2, para 0025] or change with the direction of travel, such as cross-winds, but still provide an automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] that improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Regarding Claim 9, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 8.
Knapp does not disclose: (Original) […] identify the turning action in dependence on the received positional data.
However, Vandike ’01 teaches: (Original) […] identify the turning action in dependence on the received positional data. See [Vandike, pg. 1, paras 0007-0008], which explains that the settings are adjusted for every turn, “[0007] Typically, combine operators manually adjust the position of the vanes and/or spreaders every time he turns a corner in the field and proceeds in a new direction, since turning a corner causes the wind to change its direction with respect to the combine, thus blowing the crop residue in a different direction. [0008] Since the wind is generally constant, it would be beneficial if the combine remembered the settings of the vanes and/or spreaders the operator made as a function of the combine's direction of travel (the combine bearing), and automatically returns to that setting whenever the combine returns to that direction of travel.” See also [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, paras 0037-0039], which explain that a farmer can manually adjust the combine settings for each turn in the field in the same way for each turn, or combine bearing, “[0036] Typically, when the farmer starts traveling through a field harvesting crops (e.g. combine location 314) he will manually adjust the vanes and/or spreaders to provide a good distribution of crop residue. [0037] When the farmer gets to the end of the field and changes the direction of the combine (e.g. at combine location 316), he again has to manually adjust the vanes and/or spreaders since the wind acting on the combine is now coming from a radically different direction. The same is true when the farmer turns again at combine locations 318, then 320, then 324, and then 326, etc. [0038] It should be obvious that the farmer will return the combine to the same bearings he has traveled (0°, 90°, 180°, 270°, 360°) on each successive pass through the field in order to follow as closely as possible to the previously harvested portions of the field. Since the absolute wind direction does not change much during the harvesting of a single field, the farmer typically adjusts the vanes and/or spreaders back to the same position they were in on a previous pass every single time he turns a corner. This is time-consuming and distracting. [0039] The system provided herein eliminates this distraction by letting the farmer select a particular setting of the vanes and/or spreaders the first time he travels around the field, and then automatically returns to those settings every time the farmer turns the corner and travels back again in the same direction,” where [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, para 0044], the system can remember a direction and, [Vandike ’01, pg. 4, paras 0057-0058 and 0069], correlate that setting, using a lookup table, to a continually monitored combine bearing, using [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, para 0050], the ECU that includes a satellite navigation receiver for transmitting the combine bearing, and [Vandike ’01, pg. 4, para 0056], receiving signals to determining the combine position and bearing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike ’01 to include identifying a turning action, using positional data. Doing so allows for automatically adapting to constant conditions, such as wind, that can be correlated to the combine’s direction of travel, which improves what a combine operator may have manually had to do [Vandike, pg. 1, paras 0007-0008], for every turn in the field, which becomes time-consuming and distracting [Vandike ’01, pg. 3, paras 0036-0039].
Regarding Claim 10, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 8.
Knapp does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] retrieve and employ a third operational profile corresponding to the one or more operational parameter or parameters suitable for said turning action.
However, Schroeder teaches: (Currently Amended) […] retrieve and employ a third operational profile corresponding to the one or more operational parameter or parameters suitable for said turning action. See again [Schroeder, pg. 2, para 0025], which explains that there is a headland mode used for when the combine makes a turn at a headland, which changes the positioning of components to a non-harvesting mode. See also [Schroeder, pg. 4, para 0033], which explains that the system can make adjustments to the spreading distribution when turning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use a dedicated mode for a U-turn of the combine within the field. Doing so accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on turning in a headland, where the harvester is operating in a non-harvesting position [Schroeder, pg. 2 para 0025] or must asymmetrically adjust the spreader distribution to account for the turn [Schroeder, pg. 4, para 0033]. Further, the conditions can change with the direction of travel, such as cross-winds. Adjusting to the conditions of turning while still providing an automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Claims 7, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp in view of Vandike '01, further in view of Vandike et al., PG Pub US-2021/0243951-A1 (herein "Vandike '51").
Regarding Claim 7, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more of: an angle of the one or more operable components; […]. See [Knapp, pgs. 7-8, para 0082], which explains that the spreader mechanism can be controlled using the angle of the guiding fins, ”FIG. 6C shows yet another adjustable spreader mechanism 630 than can be used with the present invention […]. […]. Guiding fins on the left side 632 and or right side 634 may be adjusted, such as by angular adjustment, to determine the shape and location of the spray of the laterally accelerated material coming out of spreader 630. For example if a guiding fins 632 are adjusted to substantially restrict residue from exiting the harvester to the left side and the guiding fins 634 are adjusted direct residue to exit to the right side, the resulting residue spray will be asymmetric and generally to the right side of the harvester. The position or angle of guiding fins 632 and 634 may be electrically adjustable via actuators that are controlled via signal path 418 by system 400.”
Knapp further discloses: […]; an operational speed of the one or more operable components; […]. See [Knapp, pg. 5, para 0055], which generally explains that the controller can use speed of the components to achieve the desired spray, “Once the combine controller 420 has determined the appropriate spray width for the residue, combine controller 420 interacts with the electronically adjustable residue spreader 450 over signal path 418. […]. The adjustment to the adjustable residue spreader can be in the form of changing the orientation or the speed/movement of parts used in a spreader 450, […]. […]. For example, this signal received from combine controller 420 via signal path 418 can include information about the current load on the spreader, current speed of portions of the spreader such as rotating elements, or the current orientation of the deflectors within the electronically adjustable spreader 450. Electronically adjustable spreader 450 can also include a control circuit for interacting with combine controller 420 and making adjustments to the spreader parameters pursuant to the control signals received from the combine controller 420.” Also see [Knapp, pg. 6, para 0071], which further explains that the speed of the rotating portion of the spreader can be controlled, “At step 542, the system 400 determines what signals to send to an electrically electronically adjustable spreader 450 based on the newly calculated spray pattern at step 540. For example, the system 400 may send signals adjust the speed of a rotating portion of the spreader 450, such that the width of the residue spray is reduce or that the spray pattern shifted to one side or another of a harvester 100,” and [Knapp, pg. 7, para 0076], which explains in more detail controlling the speed of the paddles, “FIGS. 6A-C show exemplary embodiments of spreaders 450 that may be automatically and dynamically adjusted via system 400 and/or the process described in FIG. 5. […]. Paddles 602 and 604 may rotate relatively quickly and may accelerate the residue as it falls causing residue to move along the path defined by guiding plates 612 and 614. As residue is moved by paddles 602 and 604 along guides 612 and 614, the residue is sprayed an outward fashion with a continuous range of velocities such that the residue can be sprayed in a fairly uniform, continuous manner off to the sides and downward from the spreader 610. The result of this motion is that the residue spray pattern may be substantially larger and wider than the spreader mechanisms in spreader 610. The spray pattern can be adjusted by actuators 616, which can change the orientation of the guiding plates 612 and 614. The spray pattern may be further altered by adjusting the rotational speeds of paddles 602 and 604. […]. The actuators 616 can, in some embodiments, adjust guiding plate 612 independently from guiding plate 614. In another example, if the rotational speed of paddle 602 is made substantially less than the rotational speed of paddle 604, paddle 604 may move more residue and shoot the residue further than rotating paddle 602, which is slower.”
Knapp does not disclose: […] and a position or height of the one or more operable components.
However, Vandike ’51 teaches: […] and a position or height of the one or more operable components. See [Vandike, pgs. 2-3, paras 0030-0034], which explain that the harvester controls inputs, such as the header height, through a model relationship stored in the predictive map, by adjusting the header heigh actuator, “[0030] […]. Command inputs can be setting inputs for controlling the settings on an agricultural harvester or other control inputs, such as steering inputs, speed inputs, header height inputs and other inputs. The systems generate a model that models a relationship between the values on the prior information map and the output values from the in-situ sensor. The model is used to generate a functional predictive map that predicts, for example, biomass, machine speed, or operator command inputs at different locations in the field. The functional predictive map, generated during the harvesting operation, can be presented to an operator or other user or used in automatically controlling an agricultural harvester during the harvesting operation or both. The functional predictive map can be used to control one or more of feed rate, machine speed, and command inputs. [0031] FIG. 1 is a partial pictorial, partial schematic illustration of a self-propelled agricultural harvester 100. In the illustrated example, agricultural harvester 100 is a combine harvester. […]. [0032] […]. Agricultural harvester 100 includes front-end equipment, such as a header 102, and a cutter generally indicated at 104. In the illustrated example, the cutter 104 is included on the header 102. […] Header 102 is pivotally coupled to a frame 103 of agricultural harvester 100 along pivot axis 105. One or more actuators 107 drive movement of header 102 about axis 105 in the direction generally indicated by arrow 109. Thus, a vertical position of header 102 (the header height) above ground 111 over which the header 102 travels is controllable by actuating actuator 107. While not shown in FIG. 1, agricultural harvester 100 may also include one or more actuators that operate to apply a tilt angle, a roll angle, or both to the header 102 or portions of header 102. […]. [0033] […]. [0034] In operation, and by way of overview, agricultural harvester 100 illustratively moves through a field in the direction indicated by arrow 147. As agricultural harvester 100 moves, header 102 (and the associated reel 164) engages the crop to be harvested and gathers the crop toward cutter 104. An operator of agricultural harvester 100 can be a local human operator, a remote human operator, or an automated system. An operator command is a command by an operator. The operator of agricultural harvester 100 may determine one or more of a height setting, a tilt angle setting, or a roll angle setting for header 102. […]. The actuator 107 maintains header 102 at a height above ground 111 based on a height setting and, where applicable, at desired tilt and roll angles. Each of the height, roll, and tilt settings may be implemented independently of the others.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike to control the height of a component, such as a header. Doing so accounts for the relationship between the biomass and other crop property at different locations within the field and the feed rate [Knapp, pg. 2, para 0030], where the biomass and crop properties can vary greatly depending on the location, which can result in reduced harvester performance if not appropriately adjusted for [Knapp, pg. 2, para 0027].
Regarding Claim 13, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp further discloses: (Currently Amended) A system for controlling operation of the one or more operational parameters of the agricultural machine, the system comprising: the control system of claim 1, and […] configured to obtain positional data indicative of a position of the agricultural machine within the mapped environment. See again [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0009], which summarizes the system including the positioning method and sensor or compass and the stored maps. Also see again [Knapp, pgs. 3-4, para 0041], which further describes the positioning sensors and [Knapp, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the position is also compared to stored maps.
Knapp does not disclose: a positioning module [configured to obtain positional data indicative of a position of the agricultural machine within the mapped environment].
However, Vandike ‘51 teaches: a positioning module [configured to obtain positional data indicative of a position of the agricultural machine within the mapped environment]. See again [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the harvester system includes various sensors for measuring the harvester components or crop properties and [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0043], which explains that the measurements are associated to a location in the field. Finally, see [Vandike, pg. 5, para 0048], which describes the position sensor for locating the harvester, “Geographic position sensor 204 illustratively senses or detects the geographic position or location of agricultural harvester 100,” and [Vandike, pg. 25, para 0202], which further explains the location system deployed in the harvester can be used to locate the harvester and can include systems or software for positioning, “Location system 27 illustratively includes a component that outputs a current geographical location of device 16. This can include, for instance, a global positioning system (GPS) receiver, a LORAN system, a dead reckoning system, a cellular triangulation system, or other positioning system. Location system 27 can also include, for example, mapping software or navigation software that generates desired maps, navigation routes and other geographic functions.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike to use a positioning module. Doing so allows the system to provide a variety of geographic functions, such as route generation [Vandike pg. 25, para 0202], as opposed to the limited capability of a sensor to detect location [Vandike, pg. 5, para 0048], for example by utilizing the advanced computing capability of a dedicated device such as a smart phone deployed in the machine [Vandike, pg. 25, para 0205].
Regarding Claim 16, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 13.
Knapp further discloses: (Previously Presented) An agricultural machine comprising the system of claim 13. See again [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0009], which summarizes the system including the positioning method and sensor or compass and the stored maps. Also see again [Knapp, pgs. 3-4, para 0041], which further describes the positioning sensors and [Knapp, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the position is also compared to stored maps.
Knapp does not explicitly disclose: An agricultural machine comprising [… positioning module].
However, Vandike ’51 teaches: An agricultural machine comprising [… positioning module]. See again [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the harvester system includes various sensors for measuring the harvester components or crop properties and [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0043], which explains that the measurements are associated to a location in the field. Finally, see [Vandike, pg. 5, para 0048], which describes the position sensor for locating the harvester and [Vandike, pg. 25, para 0202], which further explains the location system deployed in the harvester can be used to locate the harvester and can include systems or software for positioning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike to use the system, including a positioning module, in the harvester. Doing so allows the system to provide a variety of geographic functions, such as route generation [Vandike pg. 25, para 0202], as opposed to the limited capability of a sensor to detect location [Vandike, pg. 5, para 0048], for example by utilizing the advanced computing capability of a dedicated device such as a smart phone deployed in the machine [Vandike, pg. 25, para 0205].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reference B, Hiramatsu, PG Pub US-2019/0227561-A1, discusses an autonomous work vehicle that using a work start position, a map of a stored field, a GPS, and a remote-control device to generate a route and autonomously travel for automating predetermined work, where the machine travels autonomously along a previously set route if the vehicle heading is parallel to a known work direction, or starting orientation.
/E.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664