DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 18/254,195 filed on 12/16/2025, in which
claims 1-16 are presented for examination. Applicant amends Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, and 10-15 and cancels Claim 2.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB2020322.0, filed on 12/22/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/30/2023 was received and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pg. 7, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive. With regard to the objections to missing labels or unclear symbols of FIG. 2, Applicant argues that they are not aware of any laws, regulations, or rules that require a figured to include labels or descriptions and the application specification provides a detailed description of the system 30, illustrated in FIG. 2. Examiner respectfully disagrees and would like to note guidelines presented in MPEP 608.02 regarding the drawings and drawing standards, which note using conventional symbols or, where necessary, rectangular boxes appropriately labeled to properly provide a complete illustration of the invention (MPEP 608.02.V.(n).: DRAWING STANDARDS 37 C.F.R. 1.84 Standards for drawings. (n) Symbols; MPEP 608.02. IX.(n): DRAWING SYMBOLS 37 CFR 1.84; and 608.02(d) 37 C.F.R. 1.83 Content of drawing (a)-(c)). In the present application, FIG. 2 on its own does not provide a clear representation of the invention or application claims and therefore, does not on its own provide a clear illustration of the invention. The application would benefit from a more clear representation in FIG. 2. Therefore, Examiner maintains the objections to FIG. 2 and withdraws the remaining objections set forth in office action of 9/19/2025.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pgs. 2-3 and 8, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the objections to the specification and abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections to the specification and abstract set forth in the office action of 9/19/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pgs. , filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the objections to the have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections to the of 9/19/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8, filed 12/16/2025, and approved terminal disclaimer for the have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the non-statutory double patenting rejection of 9/19/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pg, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, Examiner maintains the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) of 9/19/2025.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pgs. 4-6 and 8, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive. With regards to the rejection of Claim 11, the amendments only remove the claim language “potentially” and do not address the subjective language “poor.” Therefore, Examiner maintains the rejection of Claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and withdraws the remaining rejections to Claims 1-10 and 12-16 set forth in the office action of 9/19/2025. Additionally, for complete clarity Examiner notes some additional rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Further details are provided below.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pgs. 4-6 and 8-10, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hiramatsu does not disclose traveling a path parallel with the determined heading parameter, as defined in application specification pg. 11. Applicant states that the cited portion of Hiramatsu, [pgs. 9-10, paras 0152-0155], discusses determining whether to autonomously move from a current position to a work start position based on angle difference of the machine, which is measured using an angle of machine to a reference orientation and the work start position, and where the machine autonomously moves to the start position when the angle is less than a threshold. Applicant further argues that Hiramatsu does not disclose "retrieving and using operational parameters utilized by the machine while traversing a path parallel to the determined heading parameter" or a machine heading parallel to a previous machine heading.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language is to retrieve a profile with a set of parameters for controlling the machine, where the parameters are used when the machine travels in the same direction as the heading. Therefore, any machine which travels in the same, or parallel, direction to the determined heading and uses parameters specific to this condition is using parameters that "relate to parameters used by the machine while travelling a path parallel to the determined heading parameter." Further, there is nothing in the claim language to restrict the machine heading parallel to a previous machine heading. And finally, parameters for controlling the machine can include any parameters for controlling autonomous travel, such as steering or acceleration, as well as parameters for controlling work, such as tool height or speed.
Examiner would like to highlight that the original cited portion, [pgs. 9-10, paras 0152-0155], more specifically [pgs. 9-10, para 0154], states that if the angle of the machine is less than the threshold, i.e. parallel to the desired direction of travel, then the machine is allowed to travel. Further, Hiramatsu [pg. 9, para 0149], also discusses that when the angle difference between the current position and the work direction is less than a threshold autonomous travel can begin, where [pg. 3, para 0062], autonomous travel means “a configuration concerning travel included in the tractor is controlled by a control section (ECU) in the tractor so that the tractor travels along a predetermined route.” And further, [pg. 10, para 0159], explains that the work direction extends along a work route where work is done. By specifically stating that travel and work can only begin if the machine is within a threshold angle, i.e. parallel, to the work direction means only allowing use of those parameters when the machine travels parallel to the work direction. And therefore, the parameters are those parameters specifically used only when the vehicle is travelling in parallel to the work direction, or heading. Further, the original language of Claim 2 further defined the parameters and when they are used. Although Hiramatsu was not specifically used to reject "retrieving and using operational parameters used by the machine,” Hiramatsu, although not explicitly disclosed, must retrieve and use parameters to operate autonomously based on the position inputs as identified above.
Therefore, Examiner maintains the rejection of Claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in the office action of 9/19/2025 and, in light of the amendments, provides an updated rejection of Claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103. Further details are provided below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
FIG. 2 does not include any labels or descriptions that would allow it to be interpreted alone, or more easily interpreted, in conjunction with the specification. The figure only includes reference characters, which do not clearly describe each feature unless referenced with the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
"module configured to" in Claim 13 (line 4).
Corresponding structure is found in the specification. The specification defines “positioning module” as a part of the satellite-based positioning system, pg. 9 [0058], "Here, the positioning module 34 forms part of a satellite-based positioning system such as GPS, GLONASS, Galileo and the like. In an extension of the illustrated embodiment(s), the positioning system may be a Real Time Kinematic (RTK) satellite navigation system, with the positioning module 34 and/or control system 30 being communicable with one or more base stations located within or proximal to the mapped environment, and be configured to retrieve or itself determine positional data for the harvester 10 using the RTK system." The specification further defines “modules” as portions of code, pg. 13 [0071], “Any process descriptions or blocks in flow diagrams should be understood as representing modules, segments, or portions of code which include one or more executable instructions for implementing specific logical functions or steps in the process, and alternate implementations are included within the scope of the embodiments in which functions may be executed out of order from that shown or discussed, including substantially concurrently or in reverse order, depending on the functionality involved, as would be understood by those reasonably skilled in the art of the present disclosure." For examination purposes, “positioning module” will be interpreted as software.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 (line recite the limitation "one or more operational parameter or parameters” or “one or more operational parameters,” which is already defined in Claim 1 (line 1). For clarity, Claim 4 (line 3), 5 (line 2), 10 (line 2), 13 (line 1) should recite “the one or more operational parameter or parameters” or “the one or more operational parameters.”
Claim 7 (line 4) recites the limitation "the one or more components." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes Claim 7 (line 4), will be read as “the one or more operable components.”
Claim 11 (line 2) recites the limitation "poor.” “poor” is a subjective term and should instead explicitly stated. For examination purposes, “poor” will be read as “particular.”
Claim 12 is rejected by dependency on Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp, PG Pub US-2011/0270495-A1 (herein "Knapp") in view of Vandike et al., PG Pub US-2021/0243951-A1 (herein "Vandike") and Hiramatsu, PG Pub US-2019/0227561-A1 (herein "Hiramatsu").
Regarding Claim 1, Knapp discloses: (Currently Amended) A control system for controlling operation of one or more operational parameters of an agricultural machine, the control system comprising one or more controllers. See [Knapp, pg. 1, paras 0008-0009], which summarizes the system for controlling the harvester, specifically the spreader and residue distribution, including at least one controller, stored maps, and harvester components, “[0008] Embodiments of the present invention address and overcome one or more of the above shortcomings and drawbacks, by providing devices, systems, and methods for automatic adjustment of residue spread based on positional sensors. This technology is particularly well-suited for, but by no means limited to, agricultural tractors. [0009] According to one embodiment of the invention, a system controls the residue distribution of a harvester. The system includes at least one positioning sensor, such as a GPS sensor and/or electronic compass. The system further includes at least one controller, such as a microcontroller, that receives positional information from the positioning sensor. The system further includes one or more maps stored in a memory that is accessible to the controller for recording portions of a field that have been newly and/or previously harvested by the harvester. The system further includes an electrically adjustable spreader for distributing residue in accordance with control signals for the controller. The controller controls the spreader to substantially control (e.g., limit) the residue distribution the portions of a field that have been newly harvested by the harvester. In this embodiment, the portion of the residue reaching other areas of the field may be substantially reduced and/or eliminated.”
Knapp further discloses: receive positional data indicative of a position of the agricultural machine within a mapped environment. See again [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0009], which summarizes the system including the positioning method and sensor or compass and the stored maps. See also [Knapp, pgs. 3-4, para 0041], which further describes the positioning sensors, “The present invention utilizes positional sensors, such as GPS sensors, to determine the location and direction of the harvester. In some embodiments the accuracy of GPS sensor can be within feet or fractions of an inch. Applying a GPS sensor to the situation shown in FIG. 3C, the GPS sensor can determine that the header 110 is traveling along path 310 and intersecting previously harvested section 302. The present invention can then determine how to adjust the spread width of the residue 335 to maintain uniform distribution of residue across the field 300 during the harvest,” and [Knapp, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the position is also compared to stored maps, “[…], the algorithm used to determine the ideal residue spray distribution […]. This algorithm could determine the current header portion 110a that encounters standing crop either by comparing the current location and direction of the header 110 as determined by a positional device such as a GPS an/or electronic compass, and a stored map that includes information that reveals that section 302 has been previously harvested or otherwise does not contain crop to be harvested.”
Knapp further discloses: determine a heading parameter indicative of a direction of travel of the agricultural machine within the mapped environment in dependence on the positional data. See [Knapp, pg. 4, paras 0044-0045], which explain that the system uses a GPS unit or various sensors to determine the position and orientation of the harvester by receiving positional signals , “[0044] FIG. 4 depicts system 400 for using GPS or other positional sensors to determine the proper spread width for given location and direction. GPS unit 410 determines the location and orientation of the harvester on the field. GPS 410 can operate in the same manner as well-known GPS sensors in the art. Generally, GPS operates by receiving positional signals from multiple GPS satellites. […]. [0045] In some embodiments, the GPS 410 determines the location of the harvester 100, while other sensors such as an electronic compass sensor can determine the direction of the harvester 100 and by extension the location and orientation of header and the spreader. […] GPS unit 410 can include a field-based positioning sensor, which may act substantially like GPS with land-based positioning transponders. […]. In other embodiments, multiple GPS sensors can be used to determine the location and orientation of the harvester 100. It should be appreciated that the GPS sensor need not be a dedicated, stand-alone unit. […].” See also [Knapp, pg. 6, paras 0059-0060], which further explain that the position and orientation obtained by the GPS unit is used to determine the trajectory, “[0059] The system 400 gets GPS data from the GPS module 410 to determine its current location at step 516. This GPS data can include positional, as well as trajectory information, and orientation information to determine a model of the location and movement of the combine header 110 and spreader 120. [0060] Once GPS data is obtained, at step 518 the system 400 proceeds to gather harvester status data such as configuration information or sensor information that may be obtained from Harvester systems 430 or from the operator. The combination of GPS data gathered at step 516 and Harvester status information at 518 allow the system 400 to determine the location and orientation of the header and spreader, including the status of the header (e.g. if it is enabled for harvesting, such that moving the combine will or will nor result in harvested crop). The status information can also help determine the size of the header to accurately determine how much of the field will be harvested as the harvester 100 moves.”
Knapp further discloses: a set of one or more operational parameters for one or more operable components of or controllable by the agricultural machine […]; and generate and output one or more control signals for controlling operation of the one or more operable components […]. See [Knapp, pg. 2, para 0024], which explains that the system uses an automatic control mechanism for adjusting the residue spray distribution using position information to achieve a desired spray pattern, “The present invention is directed to embodiments of an automatic control mechanism for adjusting the residue spray distribution, width, and general shape via a substantially realtime, automatic control system. Embodiments of the present invention utilize GPS, or other position information, to determine the desired characteristics of the residue spray and an electrically controlled spreader mechanism to implement the desired residue spray pattern.” See also [Knapp, pg. 4, paras 0042-0043], which explain that an algorithm for determining the spray distribution matches the current harvesting direction and location to stored map information and adjusts the spray in accordance with the path of the harvester, “[0042] […], the algorithm used to determine the ideal residue spray distribution may include a rule that the spread width of residue spray 335 should substantially match the portion of the header that is currently encountering standing crop being harvested 110a. This algorithm could determine the current header portion 110a that encounters standing crop either by comparing the current location and direction of the header 110 as determined by a positional device such as a GPS an/or electronic compass, and a stored map that includes information that reveals that section 302 has been previously harvested or otherwise does not contain crop to be harvested. In this embodiment, the algorithm could determine the current width of the portion 110a of the header 110 currently harvesting crop, and immediately begin adjusting the spray pattern and width, or adjust this width with a delay. […]. [0043] […], the algorithm can determine the location and orientation of the spreader 120 and adjust the spray width 335 such that the spray width 335 corresponds to a uniform distribution over substantially the entire section 312c. In this algorithm, positional information can be recorded such that the path 310 traversed by header 110 is recorded in relation to a map. The map may be automatically updated as the harvester moves, such that the map contains substantially real-time information […]. […].” Finally see [Knapp, FIG. 5 and pg. 5, paras 0054-0055], which explain that the controller uses electrical signals to control the residue spreaders by adjusting the speed, orientation, or movement, “[0054] Combine controller 420 communicates with adjustable residue spreader 450 via electrical signals 418 which could include digital, analog or CAN bus signals. Adjustable residue spreader can be used as spreader 120 on the combine 100. [0055] Once the combine controller 420 has determined the appropriate spray width for the residue, combine controller 420 interacts with the electronically adjustable residue spreader 450 over signal path 418. […]. The adjustment to the adjustable residue spreader can be in the form of changing the orientation or the speed/movement of parts used in a spreader 450, or by making any other adjustment to an electronically adjustable spreader 450 that would be useful for creating a residue spray pattern consistent with the ideal spray pattern determined by the combine controller 420. […]. For example, this signal received from combine controller 420 via signal path 418 can include information about the current load on the spreader, current speed of portions of the spreader such as rotating elements, or the current orientation of the deflectors within the electronically adjustable spreader 450.”
Knapp does not disclose: retrieve an , wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more parameters utilized by the agricultural machine while traversing a path parallel with the determined heading parameter; […] in accordance with the retrieved operational profile.
However, Vandike teaches: retrieve an . See [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the harvester system includes various sensors for measuring the harvester components or crop properties, “Agricultural harvester 100 may also include other sensors and measurement mechanisms. For instance, agricultural harvester 100 may include one or more of the following sensors: a header height sensor that senses a height of header 102 above ground 111; […]; a residue setting sensor that is configured to sense whether agricultural harvester 100 is configured to chop the residue, produce a windrow, etc.; a cleaning shoe fan speed sensor to sense the speed of fan 120; […]; a threshing rotor speed sensor that senses a rotor speed of rotor 112; […]; one or more machine setting sensors configured to sense various configurable settings of agricultural harvester 100; a machine orientation sensor that senses the orientation of agricultural harvester 100; and crop property sensors that sense a variety of different types of crop properties, such as crop type, crop moisture, and other crop properties. Crop property sensors may also be configured to sense characteristics of the severed crop material as the crop material is being processed by agricultural harvester 100. […]. The crop property sensors may also sense the feed rate of biomass through feeder house 106, through the separator 116 or elsewhere in agricultural harvester 100. The crop property sensors may also sense the feed rate as a mass flow rate of grain through elevator 130 or through other portions of the agricultural harvester 100 or provide other output signals indicative of other sensed variables.” See also [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0043], which explains that the system uses the relationship between sensors, crop properties, and the location in the field to create a functional relationship, or functional predicative map, “[0043] Prior to describing how agricultural harvester 100 generates a functional predictive weed map, and uses the functional predictive weed map for control, a brief description of some of the items on agricultural harvester 100, and their operation, will first be described. The description of FIGS. 2 and 3 describe receiving a general type of prior information map and combining information from the prior information map with a georeferenced sensor signal generated by an in-situ sensor, where the sensor signal is indicative of a characteristic in the field, such as characteristics of crop or weeds present in the field. Characteristics of the field may include, but are not limited to, characteristics of a field […]; characteristics of crop properties such as crop height, crop moisture, crop density, crop state; characteristics of grain properties […]; and characteristics of machine performance […]. A relationship between the characteristic values obtained from in-situ sensor signals and the prior information map values is identified, and that relationship is used to generate a new functional predictive map. A functional predictive map predicts values at different geographic locations in a field, and one or more of those values may be used for controlling a machine, such as one or more subsystems of an agricultural harvester. […]. A functional predictive map may be presented to a user visually, such as via a display, haptically, or audibly. The user may interact with the functional predictive map to perform editing operations and other user interface operations.” Finally see [Vandike, FIGs. 3A, 5, and 7 and pg. 8, para 0069], which explains that the system generates control signals using the predictive map, “Predictive map generator 212 configures the predictive map 264 so that the predictive map 264 is actionable (or consumable) by control system 214. Predictive map generator 212 can provide the predictive map 264 to the control system 214 or to control zone generator 213 or both. Some examples of different ways in which the predictive map 264 can be configured or output are described with respect to blocks 296, 295, 299, and 297. For instance, predictive map generator 212 configures predictive map 264 so that predictive map 264 includes values that can be read by control system 214 and used as the basis for generating control signals for one or more of the different controllable subsystems of the agricultural harvester 100, as indicated by block 296.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike to use a stored dataset for controlling the machine. Doing so minimizes the modifications an operator needs to make during harvesting [Vandike, pg. 1, para 0004] allowing for the process of machine control to be automated [Vandike, pg. 1, para 0006], which improves the performance of the of the harvester [Vandike, pg. 2, para 0027].
However, Hiramatsu teaches: wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more parameters utilized by the agricultural machine while traversing a path parallel with the determined heading parameter. See [Hiramatsu, pgs. 9-10, paras 0152-0155], which explain that the start position and orientation are compared to the trajectory of the machine so that the machine travels within a threshold angle of the orientation, “[0152] The autonomous travel work vehicle 1 according to one embodiment of the present invention is configured in consideration of an effect of the orientation (azimuth angle) of the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 on travel accuracy (eventually work accuracy) in generating a route by the control section 30. [0153] The autonomous travel work vehicle 1 is configured such that when the current position Z is located at the travel start position Sr on the headland HB and an instruction of work start is issued, the control section 30 can determine whether to start autonomous travel or not in consideration of the azimuth angle of the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 at the current position Z. [0154] The autonomous travel work vehicle 1 is configured such that the control section 30 can calculate an angle difference dΘ between an azimuth angle Θ1 of the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 relative to a reference orientation X and an azimuth angle Θ2 of the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 at the current position Z relative to the work start position Sw, as illustrated in FIG. 8, and if the calculated angle difference d Θ is less than a predetermined threshold, the vehicle 1 is allowed to autonomously travel from the current position Z to the work start position Sw. [0155] In the autonomous travel work vehicle 1, when the operator presses the work start button 205 (see FIG. 3) with the current position Z being located within the headland HB, the azimuth angle detecting section 32 (see FIG. 2) detects an azimuth angle Θ1 at the current position Z with respect to the reference orientation X, the control section 30 calculates an azimuth angle 82 with respect to the work start position Sw from the current position Z and calculates an angle difference d8 between the azimuth angles 81 and 82.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Hiramatsu to ensure that the trajectory is within a threshold of the starting orientation. Doing so generates a route that improves the travel accuracy of the work vehicle which makes it easier to obtain work accuracy while using autonomous travel [Hiramatsu, pg. 9, para 0151-0152].
Regarding Claim 6, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp further discloses: (Previously Presented) […] wherein the one or more operable components comprise components of a header operably coupled to a harvesting machine, including one or more crop gathering mechanisms. See [Knapp, pg. 5, para 0050], which explains the combine controller receives information from sensors for determining the type and status of the header, “[0050] Combine controller 420 can also accept signals regarding harvesting status from other harvesting systems 430. Examples of other harvesting systems that can supply signals to combine controller 420 include sensors that determine whether header 110 is engaged and currently being used to harvest crop, sensors that determine the type of header being used, sensors regarding the condition or quality of the crop being harvested, or any other sensors that supply information for combine controller 420 to determine how to adjust the residue spread. Combine controller 420 and the other harvesting systems 430 can communicate via electrical signals in path 414 which can include analog or digital signals or a CAN bus, which can be shared amongst any subset of the components in FIG. 4.,” [Knapp, pg. 6, paras 0059-0060], where the header can be controlled by the system using the header information and status, “The system 400 gets GPS data from the GPS module 410 to determine its current location at step 516. This GPS data can include positional, as well as trajectory information, and orientation information to determine a model of the location and movement of the combine header 110 and spreader 120. [0060] Once GPS data is obtained, at step 518 the system 400 proceeds to gather harvester status data such as configuration information or sensor information that may be obtained from Harvester systems 430 or from the operator. The combination of GPS data gathered at step 516 and Harvester status information at 518 allow the system 400 to determine the location and orientation of the header and spreader, including the status of the header (e.g. if it is enabled for harvesting, such that moving the combine will or will nor result in harvested crop). The status information can also help determine the size of the header to accurately determine how much of the field will be harvested as the harvester 100 moves.”
Regarding Claim 7, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more of: an angle of the one or more operable components See [Knapp, pgs. 7-8, para 0082], which explains that the spreader mechanism can be controlled using the angle of the guiding fins, ”FIG. 6C shows yet another adjustable spreader mechanism 630 than can be used with the present invention […]. […]. Guiding fins on the left side 632 and or right side 634 may be adjusted, such as by angular adjustment, to determine the shape and location of the spray of the laterally accelerated material coming out of spreader 630. For example if a guiding fins 632 are adjusted to substantially restrict residue from exiting the harvester to the left side and the guiding fins 634 are adjusted direct residue to exit to the right side, the resulting residue spray will be asymmetric and generally to the right side of the harvester. The position or angle of guiding fins 632 and 634 may be electrically adjustable via actuators that are controlled via signal path 418 by system 400.”
Knapp further discloses: […] an operational speed of the one or more components; […]. See [Knapp, pg. 5, para 0055], which generally explains that the controller can use speed of the components to achieve the desired spray, “Once the combine controller 420 has determined the appropriate spray width for the residue, combine controller 420 interacts with the electronically adjustable residue spreader 450 over signal path 418. […]. The adjustment to the adjustable residue spreader can be in the form of changing the orientation or the speed/movement of parts used in a spreader 450, […]. […]. For example, this signal received from combine controller 420 via signal path 418 can include information about the current load on the spreader, current speed of portions of the spreader such as rotating elements, or the current orientation of the deflectors within the electronically adjustable spreader 450. Electronically adjustable spreader 450 can also include a control circuit for interacting with combine controller 420 and making adjustments to the spreader parameters pursuant to the control signals received from the combine controller 420.” Also see [Knapp, pg. 6, para 0071], which further explains that the speed of the rotating portion of the spreader can be controlled, “At step 542, the system 400 determines what signals to send to an electrically electronically adjustable spreader 450 based on the newly calculated spray pattern at step 540. For example, the system 400 may send signals adjust the speed of a rotating portion of the spreader 450, such that the width of the residue spray is reduce or that the spray pattern shifted to one side or another of a harvester 100,” and [Knapp, pg. 7, para 0076], which explains in more detail controlling the speed of the paddles, “FIGS. 6A-C show exemplary embodiments of spreaders 450 that may be automatically and dynamically adjusted via system 400 and/or the process described in FIG. 5. […]. Paddles 602 and 604 may rotate relatively quickly and may accelerate the residue as it falls causing residue to move along the path defined by guiding plates 612 and 614. As residue is moved by paddles 602 and 604 along guides 612 and 614, the residue is sprayed an outward fashion with a continuous range of velocities such that the residue can be sprayed in a fairly uniform, continuous manner off to the sides and downward from the spreader 610. The result of this motion is that the residue spray pattern may be substantially larger and wider than the spreader mechanisms in spreader 610. The spray pattern can be adjusted by actuators 616, which can change the orientation of the guiding plates 612 and 614. The spray pattern may be further altered by adjusting the rotational speeds of paddles 602 and 604. […]. The actuators 616 can, in some embodiments, adjust guiding plate 612 independently from guiding plate 614. In another example, if the rotational speed of paddle 602 is made substantially less than the rotational speed of paddle 604, paddle 604 may move more residue and shoot the residue further than rotating paddle 602, which is slower.”
Knapp does not disclose: […] a position or height of the one or more operable components
However, Vandike teaches: […] a position or height of the one or more operable components See [Vandike, pgs. 2-3, paras 0030-0034], which explain that the harvester controls inputs, such as the header height, through a model relationship stored in the predictive map, by adjusting the header heigh actuator, “[0030] […]. Command inputs can be setting inputs for controlling the settings on an agricultural harvester or other control inputs, such as steering inputs, speed inputs, header height inputs and other inputs. The systems generate a model that models a relationship between the values on the prior information map and the output values from the in-situ sensor. The model is used to generate a functional predictive map that predicts, for example, biomass, machine speed, or operator command inputs at different locations in the field. The functional predictive map, generated during the harvesting operation, can be presented to an operator or other user or used in automatically controlling an agricultural harvester during the harvesting operation or both. The functional predictive map can be used to control one or more of feed rate, machine speed, and command inputs. [0031] FIG. 1 is a partial pictorial, partial schematic illustration of a self-propelled agricultural harvester 100. In the illustrated example, agricultural harvester 100 is a combine harvester. […]. [0032] […]. Agricultural harvester 100 includes front-end equipment, such as a header 102, and a cutter generally indicated at 104. In the illustrated example, the cutter 104 is included on the header 102. […] Header 102 is pivotally coupled to a frame 103 of agricultural harvester 100 along pivot axis 105. One or more actuators 107 drive movement of header 102 about axis 105 in the direction generally indicated by arrow 109. Thus, a vertical position of header 102 (the header height) above ground 111 over which the header 102 travels is controllable by actuating actuator 107. While not shown in FIG. 1, agricultural harvester 100 may also include one or more actuators that operate to apply a tilt angle, a roll angle, or both to the header 102 or portions of header 102. […]. [0033] […]. [0034] In operation, and by way of overview, agricultural harvester 100 illustratively moves through a field in the direction indicated by arrow 147. As agricultural harvester 100 moves, header 102 (and the associated reel 164) engages the crop to be harvested and gathers the crop toward cutter 104. An operator of agricultural harvester 100 can be a local human operator, a remote human operator, or an automated system. An operator command is a command by an operator. The operator of agricultural harvester 100 may determine one or more of a height setting, a tilt angle setting, or a roll angle setting for header 102. […]. The actuator 107 maintains header 102 at a height above ground 111 based on a height setting and, where applicable, at desired tilt and roll angles. Each of the height, roll, and tilt settings may be implemented independently of the others.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike to control the height of a component, such as a header. Doing so accounts for the relationship between the biomass and other crop property at different locations within the field and the feed rate [Knapp, pg. 2, para 0030], where the biomass and crop properties can vary greatly depending on the location, which can result in reduced harvester performance if not appropriately adjusted for [Knapp, pg. 2, para 0027].
Regarding Claim 11, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] identify areas within the mapped environment having See [Knapp, pg. 5, paras 0050-0051], which explain that the controller uses sensors to determine the condition of the crops, “[0050] Combine controller 420 can also accept signals regarding harvesting status from other harvesting systems 430. Examples of other harvesting systems that can supply signals to combine controller 420 include sensors that determine whether header 110 is engaged and currently being used to harvest crop, sensors that determine the type of header being used, sensors regarding the condition or quality of the crop being harvested, or any other sensors that supply information for combine controller 420 to determine how to adjust the residue spread. Combine controller 420 and the other harvesting systems 430 can communicate via electrical signals in path 414 which can include analog or digital signals or a CAN bus, which can be shared amongst any subset of the components in FIG. 4. [0051] In some embodiments, information regarding the status of the header, the condition of crops or other harvesting information can be imported from memory 425 and/or graphical operator interface 440. The operator of combine 100 can supply configuration information such as harvesting information, status information, or information about desired residue spray profiles via interface 440. Alternatively, at least some of this information can be supplied to combine controller 420 files stored in memory 425, such as configuration files, data files, or user profile files. The graphical operator interface 440 can also include manual settings that can be used to override the GPS-based settings to manually control the residue spray with profile. Graphical operator interface 440 can include a screen such as a CRT, LCD, LED, OLED, AMOLED, or other appropriate screen. Graphical operator interface 440 can further include input devices such as buttons, keypads, touch screens, or the like.”
Regarding Claim 12, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Knapp further discloses: (Currently Amended) […] identify when the agricultural machine is at, [[is]] proximal to, [[is]] currently traversing, or [[is]] about to traverse one of said areas retrieve and employ […] operational parameter or parameters See again [Knapp, pg. 5, paras 0050-0051], which explains that the crop conditions are imported from memory as GPS-based settings for controlling the machine.
Knapp does not explicitly disclose: […] a fourth operational profile comprising [operational parameter or parameters
However, Vandike teaches: […] a fourth operational profile comprising [operational parameter or parameters . See [Vandike, pg. 2, para 0030], which explains that the system generates a functional relationship, or model, for generating the predictive map, which includes controlling the harvester, “The systems generate a model that models a relationship between the values on the prior information map and the output values from the in-situ sensor. The model is used to generate a functional predictive map that predicts, for example, biomass, machine speed, or operator command inputs at different locations in the field. The functional predictive map, generated during the harvesting operation, can be presented to an operator or other user or used in automatically controlling an agricultural harvester during the harvesting operation or both. The functional predictive map can be used to control one or more of feed rate, machine speed, and command inputs.” Also see again [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0043], which explains that the system uses the relationship between sensors, crop properties, and the location in the field to create a functional relationship, or functional predicative map. Finally, see again [Vandike, FIGs. 3A, 5, and 7 and pg. 8, para 0069], which explains that the system generates control signals using the predictive map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike to use a stored dataset for controlling the machine. Doing so minimizes the modifications an operator needs to make during harvesting [Vandike, pg. 1, para 0004] allowing for the process of machine control to be automated [Vandike, pg. 1, para 0006], which improves the performance of the of the harvester [Vandike, pg. 2, para 0027].
Regarding Claim 13, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp further discloses: (Currently Amended) A system for controlling operation of one or more operational parameters of an agricultural machine, the system comprising: the control . See again [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0009], which summarizes the system including the positioning method and sensor or compass and the stored maps. Also see again [Knapp, pgs. 3-4, para 0041], which further describes the positioning sensors and [Knapp, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the position is also compared to stored maps.
Knapp does not disclose: positioning module [configured to obtain positional data indicative of a position of the agricultural machine within the mapped environment].
However, Vandike teaches: positioning module [configured to obtain positional data indicative of a position of the agricultural machine within the mapped environment]. See again [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the harvester system includes various sensors for measuring the harvester components or crop properties and [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0043], which explains that the measurements are associated to a location in the field. Finally, see [Vandike, pg. 5, para 0048], which describes the position sensor for locating the harvester, “Geographic position sensor 204 illustratively senses or detects the geographic position or location of agricultural harvester 100,” and [Vandike, pg. 25, para 0202], which further explains the location system deployed in the harvester can be used to locate the harvester and can include systems or software for positioning, “Location system 27 illustratively includes a component that outputs a current geographical location of device 16. This can include, for instance, a global positioning system (GPS) receiver, a LORAN system, a dead reckoning system, a cellular triangulation system, or other positioning system. Location system 27 can also include, for example, mapping software or navigation software that generates desired maps, navigation routes and other geographic functions.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike to use a positioning module. Doing so allows the system to provide a variety of geographic functions, such as route generation [Vandike pg. 25, para 0202], as opposed to the limited capability of a sensor to detect location [Vandike, pg. 5, para 0048], for example by utilizing the advanced computing capability of a dedicated device such as a smart phone deployed in the machine [Vandike, pg. 25, para 0205].
Regarding Claim 14, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp further discloses: (Currently Amended) An agricultural machine comprising the control See again [Knapp, pg. 1, paras 0008-0009], which summarizes the system for controlling the harvester, specifically the spreader and residue distribution, including at least on controller, stored maps, and harvester components. Also see again [Knapp, FIG. 4 and pg. 4, para 0044], which shows the system for the harvester, “FIG. 4 depicts system 400 for using GPS or other positional sensors to determine the proper spread width for given location and direction. GPS unit 410 determines the location and orientation of the harvester on the field.”
Regarding Claim 15, Knapp discloses: (Currently Amended) A method for controlling operation of one or more operational parameters of an agricultural machine, the method comprising: determining a heading parameter indicative of a direction of travel of an agricultural machine within a mapped environment in dependence on positional data indicative of a position of the agricultural machine within the environment. See [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0001], which highlights the system and method for controlling the spreader, “The present invention relates generally to methods and systems for controlling the return of crop residue to a field, and more particularly to GPS control for automatic adjustment of an electrically controlled spreader mechanism.” See again [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0009], which summarizes the system including the positioning method and sensor or compass and the stored maps. Also see again [Knapp, pg. 4, paras 0044-0045], which explain that the system uses a GPS unit or various sensors to determine the position and orientation of the harvester by receiving positional signals and [Knapp, pg. 6, paras 0059-0060], which further explain that the position and orientation obtained by the GPS unit is used to determine the trajectory.
Knapp further discloses: retrieving or identifying […] a set of one or more operational parameters for one or more operable components of or controllable by the agricultural machine […]; and controlling operation of the one or more operable components […]. See [Knapp, pg. 2, para 0024], which explains that the system uses an automatic control mechanism for adjusting the residue spray distribution using position information to achieve a desired spray pattern. See also [Knapp, pg. 4, paras 0042-0043], which explain that an algorithm for determining the spray distribution matches the current harvesting direction and location to stored map information and adjusts the spray in accordance with the path of the harvester. Finally see [Knapp, FIG. 5 and pg. 5, paras 0054-0055], which explain that the controller uses electrical signals to control the residue spreaders by adjusting the speed, orientation, or movement.
Knapp does not disclose: an , wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more parameters utilized by the agricultural machine while traversing a path parallel with the determined heading parameter[; and controlling…] in accordance with the associated operational profile.
However, Vandike teaches: an . See again [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0042 ], which explains that the harvester system includes various sensors for measuring the harvester components or crop properties. Also see again [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0043 ], which explains that the system uses the relationship between sensors, crop properties, and the location I the field to create a functional relationship, or functional predicative map. Finally see again [Vandike, FIGs. 3A, 5, and 7 and pg. 8, para 0069], which explains that the system generates control signals using the predictive map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike to use a stored dataset for controlling the machine. Doing so minimizes the modifications an operator needs to make during harvesting [Vandike, pg. 1, para 0004] allowing for the process of machine control to be automated [Vandike, pg. 1, para 0006], which improves the performance of the of the harvester [Vandike, pg. 2, para 0027].
However, Hiramatsu teaches: […] wherein the one or more operational parameters relate to one or more parameters utilized by the agricultural machine while traversing a path parallel with the determined heading parameter […]. See again[Hiramatsu, pgs. 9-10, paras 0152-0155], which explain that the start position and orientation are compared to the trajectory of the machine so that the machine travels within a threshold angle of the orientation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Hiramatsu to ensure that the trajectory is within a threshold of the starting orientation. Doing so generates a route that improves the travel accuracy of the work vehicle which makes it easier to obtain work accuracy while using autonomous travel [Hiramatsu, pg. 9, para 0151-0152].
Regarding Claim 16, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 13.
Knapp further discloses: (Previously Presented) An agricultural machine comprising the system of claim 13. See again [Knapp, pg. 1, para 0009], which summarizes the system including the positioning method and sensor or compass and the stored maps. Also see again [Knapp, pgs. 3-4, para 0041], which further describes the positioning sensors and [Knapp, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the position is also compared to stored maps.
Knapp does not explicitly disclose: An agricultural machine comprising [… positioning module].
However, Vandike teaches: An agricultural machine comprising [… positioning module]. See again [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0042], which explains that the harvester system includes various sensors for measuring the harvester components or crop properties and [Vandike, pg. 4, para 0043], which explains that the measurements are associated to a location in the field. Finally, see [Vandike, pg. 5, para 0048], which describes the position sensor for locating the harvester and [Vandike, pg. 25, para 0202], which further explains the location system deployed in the harvester can be used to locate the harvester and can include systems or software for positioning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Vandike to use the system, including a positioning module, in the harvester. Doing so allows the system to provide a variety of geographic functions, such as route generation [Vandike pg. 25, para 0202], as opposed to the limited capability of a sensor to detect location [Vandike, pg. 5, para 0048], for example by utilizing the advanced computing capability of a dedicated device such as a smart phone deployed in the machine [Vandike, pg. 25, para 0205].
Claims 3-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp in view of Vandike and Hiramatsu, further in view of Schroeder et al., PG Pub US-2011/0093169-A1 (herein "Schroeder").
Regarding Claim 3, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] retrieve a first operational profile associated with a heading parameter indicative of a first direction of travel; and retrieve a second operational profile associated with a heading parameter indicative of a second direction of travel; wherein the first and second directions of travel are
However, Schroeder teaches: (Currently Amended) […] retrieve a first operational profile associated with a heading parameter indicative of a first direction of travel; and retrieve a second operational profile associated with a heading parameter indicative of a second direction of travel; wherein the first and second directions of travel are See [Schroeder, pg. 5, paras 0039-0040], which explain that a controller identifies a first and second direction of travel of a combine, which are parallel but opposite, and associates a mode, “[0039] A controller 74 is provided and configured to be operatively connected to each sensor 51, actuator 50, and speed input device 62. As the combine 20 is operated and travels down a first direction of the field, the controller 74 is configured to store in memory 76 at least one of a first position of the residue deflector 53 and a first speed of the residue discharge system 28 when the combine 20 changes to headland mode. The controller 74 is also configured to store in memory 76 at least one of a second position of the residue deflector 53 and a second speed of the residue discharge system 28 when the combine 20 changes to headland mode when the combine 20 is traveling in a second direction of travel. Typically, the second direction of travel will be in the opposite direction or substantially 180 degrees from the direction of travel of the first direction. [0040] When the combine 20 is traveling in a first direction and the controller 74 detects a change to or receives an input to change to headland mode, the controller 74 operatively controls the actuator 50 to change the position of the residue deflector 53 to the second position and the speed of the residue discharge system 28 to the second speed, which has previously been stored in memory 76. When the combine 20 is traveling in a second direction and the controller 74 detects a change to or receives an input to change to headland mode, the controller 74 operatively controls the actuator 50 to change the position of the residue deflector 53 to the first position and the speed of the residue discharge system 28 to the first speed, which has previously been stored in memory 76. A flowchart of the operational steps of the controller 84 is shown in FIG. 8. A flowchart of the method of automatically controlling the settings of an adjustable crop residue spreader in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention is shown in FIG. 9.” See also [Schroeder, pg. 2, para 0025], which further explains harvest mode, headland mode, and associated settings, “In a first preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an apparatus for automatically controlling the setting of an adjustable crop residue spreader 24 of an agricultural combine 20. As well known in the art, agricultural combines operate in a harvest mode and a headland mode. The harvest mode essentially means that the combine 20 is operating with its header 32 in the down position or harvesting position capable of harvesting crops, whereas headland mode essentially means that the combine 20 is operating with its header 32 in the up position or non-harvesting position, such as when the combine 20 makes a U-turn at the headland of a field.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use stored modes for each direction of travel. Doing so accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on the location, such as cross-winds which change with the direction of travel, while still allowing for automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] that improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Regarding Claim 4, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp does not disclose: (Previously Presented) […] receive additional sensor data; and update or adjust one or more operational parameters of an associated operational profile in dependence on the additional sensor data.
However, Schroeder teaches: (Previously Presented) […] receive additional sensor data; and update or adjust one or more operational parameters of an associated operational profile in dependence on the additional sensor data. See [Schroeder, pgs. 3-4, paras 0032-0036], which explain that the system has sensors for sensing component parameters and actuator feedback, receives environmental conditions, and adjusts the components in accordance with inputs, “[0032] Furthermore, the spreader 28 (i.e., a residue discharge system) is configured with a sensor 51 that senses the speed of the spreader 28. […]. The sensor 51 or an additional sensor 51' can be configured to sense the position of the residue deflector 53. The residue deflector 53 can include the guides 56, 58 and curved distributors 52, 54. […]. […]. [0033] Addressing environmental conditions, under no or low wind conditions, aligning the sideward position or location of the pattern of crop residue deposition relative to a swath through a field can be a simple matter of making appropriate adjustments discussed above, symmetrically about a forwardly and rearwardly extending centerline CL of combine 20 (FIG. 3). However, when wind conditions are sufficient for affecting the location of crop residue deposition, for instance when blowing sidewardly, and/or frequently changing, some adjustments will likely be necessary to maintain or achieve the desired alignment with the swath. There may also be internal conditions which require this, such as in feeding of a greater amount of crop material to one side of the spreader or the other. Adjustments may also be required when turning and changing direction. Thus, it is contemplated that actuator or actuators 50, and controller 74, as applicable, can optionally be suitably controllable for providing a capability for making asymmetrical adjustments to accommodate such requirements. […]. [0034] Further exemplary means of controlling and adjusting the residue discharge system 28, is shown in FIGS. 4A and 4B. Linkages 100, 102 are configured to change the position of the residue deflector e.g., the fin board or flat panel deflector (not shown). Linear actuator 104 is operatively connected to the linkages 100, 102 to adjust and change the position of the residue discharge system. The linear actuator 104 is also configured with a feedback sensor 106. Hydraulic cylinder 108 (FIG. 4B) adjusts the linkages 100,102 thereby changing the position of the fin board or flat panel deflector based upon feedback from the feedback sensor 106. […]. [0035] Referring to FIG. 5, the controller 74, can be, for instance, a commercially available microprocessor operated controller commonly used for controlling systems of work machines, such as combine 20, and connected via a suitable conductive path to sensors 51, 51' and 106 for retrieving information therefrom. The controller 74 is operatively connected to a position input device 84 and a speed input device 62 to allow a user to manually adjust […]. […]. Memory 76 contains stored information representative of predetermined spreader settings for at least one actuator, such as one or more actuators 50 discussed above, and/or one or more control devices, such as position input device 84 and speed input device 62. Essentially, such stored information will typically include, for instance, a range of positional information such as a length of extension for one or more actuators 50, for positioning vanes 48 of spreader 24 or various of the distributors and/or guides 52, 54, 56 and 58 of spreader 28; and/or a range of motor speeds using speed input device 62, for achieving a particular crop residue deposition pattern width, e.g., one of widths C, D, E or F and other conditions, principal among which will be crop type and environmental conditions, such as cross-winds. The actual position of the actuators, vanes, distributors and guides, and the actual motor or impeller speed, can be determined using a suitable feedback device or devices, such as a position or speed sensor 51, respectively, in the conventional and well known manner, which position or speed can be inputted to controller 74. [0036] In sum, apparatus 72 for automatically controlling the settings of the adjustable crop residue spreader includes one or more input devices, such as position input device 84, speed input device 62, and mode input device 86, preferably located in an operator cab 86 of the combine 20. The apparatus 72 can optionally include at least one external input device for inputting environmental conditions such as wind direction and speed, connected to controller 74. […]. This feature also allows changing or adapting the pattern and/or width of the crop residue deposition during operation of the header or prior thereto, for accommodating operator preferences, and changes in environmental conditions such as wind, and other conditions such as crop moisture content, volume and the like. ”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use sensors and input data for modifying and storing the mode parameters. Doing so further accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on the location, such as cross-winds which change with the direction of travel, while still allowing for automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] that improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Regarding Claim 5, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] receive an operator adjustment of one or more operational parameters of a given operational profile; and store parameter or parameters
However, Schroeder teaches: (Currently Amended) […] receive an operator adjustment of one or more operational parameters of a given operational profile. See [Schroeder, pg. 4, para 0037], which explains that the controller monitors for operator commands, as well as the sensor feedback, for updating inputs such as position or speed of components, “The controller 74 monitors various operator commands and sensor feedback to control motors or solenoids. The sensor 51 communicates position or speed of the residue discharge system 28 used to deflect crop residue. The actuator motor or valve solenoids 50 of the residue discharge system 28 operatively controls and changes the position or speed of the residue discharge system 28 used to deflect crop residue. The controller 74 is configured to receive inputs from the mode input device 86 as to when the operator commands for the combine 20 to change to headland mode. The position input device 84 allows an operator to command or adjust the position of the fin board, flat panel deflector, or residue deflectors of the residue discharge system 28. […]. The speed input device 62 allows an operator to command or adjust the speeds of e.g., the spreader discs, fans, paddles or blowers of a residue discharge system. The position input device 84 or speed input device 62 controls may be switches located in a console or digital controls on the display actuated by a touch screen, keyboard or other known technology.” Also see [Schroeder, pg. 5, para 0043], which explains that the operator can provide the commands as input based on observations or changes in the conditions, including utilizing transposed stored settings, “Once the optimal spreader 28 settings are set, the operator can visually confirm that the crop residue spread width generally matches the cut width. However, when the operator turns the combine 20 around to travel in the opposite direction upon reaching the headland, the combine 20 is traveling in a different direction relative to the direction of the cross-winds. Assuming the cross-wind direction does not change, the operator will need to readjust the residue deflector to again compensate for the cross-winds. In the example of westerly cross-winds, the operator will for the most part, have to flip the position and/or speed i.e., settings, of the spreader's right and left sided residue deflector (i.e., transpose the right sided residue deflector settings to the left sided residue deflector settings and vice versa) to match the crop residue spread to that of the cut width when turned around to travel in the south bound direction. Thus, eliminating the need to have to constantly adjust the spreader settings upon changing direction will advantageously provide a more efficient operator and operation of the combine 20.”
However, Schroeder teaches: store parameter or parameters . See [Schroeder, pg. 5, para 0041], which explains that the controller can receive and store modifications made by the operator, “[…] the operator can operatively control the controller 74 to adjust at least one of the second position and the second speed when the combine is traveling in the second direction, thereby defining an adjusted second position and an adjusted second speed. Afterwards, the controller 74 stores in memory 76 the adjusted second position and the adjusted second speed when the controller 74 detects a change to or receives an input to change to headland mode.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use operator input data for modifying and storing the mode parameters. Doing so further accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on the location, such as cross-winds which change with the direction of travel, while still allowing for automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] that improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Regarding Claim 8, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Knapp does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] identify a turning action indicative of the agricultural machine being positioned at an end of a row / at a headland within the mapped environment.
However, Schroeder teaches: : (Currently Amended) […] identify a turning action indicative of the agricultural machine being positioned at an end of a row / at a headland within the mapped environment. See again [Schroeder, pg. 2, para 0025], which explains that there is a headland mode used for when the combine makes a turn at a headland. See also [Schroeder, pg. 4, para 0033], which explains that the system can make adjustments when turning, “Adjustments may also be required when turning and changing direction. Thus, it is contemplated that actuator or actuators 50, and controller 74, as applicable, can optionally be suitably controllable for providing a capability for making asymmetrical adjustments to accommodate such requirements. For instance, the speeds of motors 60 may be adjusted differently, and/or one or more of the distributors, deflectors or vanes on one side of the spreader may be adjusted differently than its counterpart on the other side of the spreader, to provide desired distribution and alignment characteristics.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use identify a U-turn of the combine within the field. Doing so accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on turning in a headland, where the harvester is operating in a non-harvesting position, [Schroeder, pg. 2, para 0025] or change with the direction of travel, such as cross-winds, but still provide an automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] that improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Regarding Claim 9, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 8.
Knapp does not disclose: (Original) […] identify the turning action in dependence on the received positional data.
However, Hiramatsu teaches: (Original) […] identify the turning action in dependence on the received positional data. See [Hiramatsu, FIG. 5, and pgs. 6-7 paras 0111-0012], which explain that travel routes and work routes are set with respect to the work region which includes headlands, or non-work areas, where the vehicle can turn around, “[…] an outer region of a work region HA where work is conducted with the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 and the travel work vehicle 100 or with the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 as illustrated in FIG. 5 is set. In other words, headlands HB where the vehicle travels with a turn as a non-work state at field ends, and side margins HC serving as non-work regions adjacent to the field periphery at the left and right sides of the field and between the headlands HB and the headland HB are set. Thus, the relationship of field H=work region HA+headland HB+headland HB+side margin HC+side margin HC is established. […]. For example, in a case where the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 travels or turns in the headlands HB or in the side margins HC, the width that helps prevention of travel of the work machine out of the field is calculated as a minimum set width. [0112] […]. The route R includes the work route Ra and the travel route Rb. The work route Ra is a route generated in the work region HA, is a route where the vehicle travels while conducting work, and is a linear route. If the work region HA is not rectangular, the vehicle can travel out of the work region HA (i.e., travel to the headlands HB or the side margins HC) in some cases. The travel route Rb is a route generated in a region outside the work region HA, is a route on which the vehicle travels without conducting work, and is a route as a combination of a straight line and a curve. The vehicle mainly turns in the headlands HB.” Also see [Hiramatsu, pg. 8, paras 0129-0132], which explains that the vehicle includes a GPS antenna for detecting positional data that is used to locate the work vehicle and generate the routes within the stored region, “[0129] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 according to one embodiment of the present invention includes the body part 2 and the work machine 24 attached to the body part 2, and as illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, also includes the moving GPS antenna 34 serving as a position detecting section configured to detect positional information on the body part 2. [0130] In addition, the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 also includes the control section 30 that can control travel of the body part 2 and work with the work machine 24 on the field Has a travel region. The control section 30 includes the memory 309 serving as a memory section configured to store the shape, position, size, and so forth of the field H as a travel region where the body part 2 travels. Part of the following description where the control section 30 appears, the description refers to FIG. 2. [0131] The autonomous travel work vehicle 1 is configured as a work vehicle in which data of the work route Ra and the travel route Rb generated by the remote control device 112 is transferred to the control section 30 and is stored in the memory 309, and the vehicle can autonomously travel along the work route Ra and the travel route Rb while detecting the current position Z of the body part 2 with the moving GPS antenna 34. The current position Z of the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 coincides with the position of the moving GPS antenna 34 in general. [0132] The autonomous travel work vehicle 1 described in this embodiment uses a substantially rectangular field H as illustrated in FIG. 6 as a travel region, and is configured to autonomously travel on the work region HA as a first region, the headlands HB and the side margins HC as second regions. The work region H, the headlands HB, and the side margins HC constitute the field H. The travel work vehicle 100 travels by an operation of an operator following (or accompanying) the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 autonomously traveling on the field H as a travel region, and is caused to travel by an operation of the operator.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Hiramatsu to monitor the trajectory including turning using the position data. Doing so generates a route that improves the travel accuracy of the work vehicle which makes it easier to obtain work accuracy while using autonomous travel [Hiramatsu, pg. 9, para 0151-0152].
Regarding Claim 10, Knapp as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 8.
Knapp does not disclose: (Currently Amended) […] retrieve and employ a third operational profile corresponding to one or more operational parameter or parameters
However, Schroeder teaches: (Currently Amended) […] retrieve and employ a third operational profile corresponding to one or more operational parameter or parameters See again [Schroeder, pg. 2, para 0025], which explains that there is a headland mode used for when the combine makes a turn at a headland, which changes the positioning of components to a non-harvesting mode. See also [Schroeder, pg. 4, para 0033], which explains that the system can make adjustments to the spreading distribution when turning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Knapp with Schroeder to use a dedicated mode for a U-turn of the combine within the field. Doing so accounts for varying conditions over the course of harvesting, specifically conditions which can change based on turning in a headland, where the harvester is operating in a non-harvesting position [Schroeder, pg. 2 para 0025] or must asymmetrically adjust the spreader distribution to account for the turn [Schroeder, pg. 4, para 0033]. Further, the conditions can change with the direction of travel, such as cross-winds. Adjusting to the conditions of turning while still providing an automatic control [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0005] improves harvest operations [Schroeder, pg. 1, para 0006].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664