DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 2018/0352511, Martin hereafter) in view of Arai et al. (JP 2016-163276, see attached English translation, Arai hereafter) and further in view of Nakatsuka et al. (JP 2019-087926, see attached English translation, Nakatsuka hereafter).
RE claims 1 and 13, Martin discloses a radio communication system and method, comprising: a terminal that includes a data generation device, repeatedly obtains predetermined data from the data generation device, and operates while switching between a first mode and a second mode whose power consumption is lower than power consumption of the first mode (Paragraph 74 discloses “a first and a second entity, for example a terminal device and a base station, may operate in a wireless telecommunications network to exchange a block of data. The first entity is operable to switch between a first operating mode (e.g. an awake mode/a DRX inactive mode/a connected mode) and a second operating mode (e.g. a sleep mode/a DRX active mode/an idle mode), wherein the second operating mode is a reduced-power mode as compared to the first operating mode. The first entity is operable to exchange the block of data with the second entity (e.g. to transmit the block of data to the second entity or receive the block of data from the second entity) while in the first operating mode, and to switch from the first operating mode to the reduced-power second operating mode in response to determining communications associated with the exchange of the block of data are complete.”);
Martin does not explicitly disclose a repeater that is capable of communicating with the terminal, and operates while switching between a third mode and a fourth mode whose power consumption is lower than power consumption of the third mode, wherein the repeater transmits a polling signal to the terminal in the third mode within a predetermined time, the repeater transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after transmitting the polling signal and transitions from the fourth mode to the third mode before the predetermined time elapses, and the terminal operates in the first mode while the terminal has the predetermined data, and transitions from the first mode to the second mode after transmitting the predetermined data to the repeater in response to the polling signal.
However, Arai teaches a repeater that is capable of communicating with the terminal, and operates while switching between a third mode and a fourth mode whose power consumption is lower than power consumption of the third mode, wherein the repeater transmits a polling signal to the terminal in the third mode within a predetermined time, and transitions from the fourth mode to the third mode before the predetermined time elapses, and the terminal operates in the first mode while the terminal has the predetermined data, and transitions from the first mode to the second mode after transmitting the predetermined data to the repeater in response to the polling signal (Paragraphs 20, 23, 32, 33, 35 and 53-55, as well as Figures and 5 teaches a wireless relay device 10 ( corresponding to the "relay device" of the present application) comprises a reception unit 13a and a timer 16; the wireless relay device 10 wirelessly communicates with, for example, pre-registered child devices 50l -50n (corresponding to the "terminal" of the present application); a child device 50i receives data measured by a meter unit 70i (corresponding to the "data generation device" of the present application) that is a measurement device such as a wattmeter and transmits the data to the wireless relay device 10 through wireless communication in response to polling from the wireless relay device 10; the wireless relay device 10 transitions to a power saving mode ( corresponding to the "fourth mode" of the present application) when a power source ON operation is carried out; when the wireless relay device 10 transitions to the power saving mode, the operations of the components other than a timer 16 are stopped and it is possible to reduce the power consumption of the reception unit 13a; when the timer 16 communicates that a polling time has been reached, the wireless relay device 10 transitions to a polling mode (corresponding to the "third mode" of the present application) and sequentially transmits data transmission requests ( corresponding to the "polling signal" of the present application) to the child devices 50l - 50n; the wireless relay device 10 uses the reception unit 13a to receive data transmitted from the child devices 501-50n; and after storing the received data, the wireless relay device 10 ends the polling mode and transitions to the power saving mode.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Martin with the teachings of Arai on order to improve power savings of a wireless communications system.
Martin in view of Arai does not explicitly disclose the repeater transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after transmitting the polling signal.
However, Nakatsuka teaches the repeater transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after transmitting the polling signal (Paragraph 63: “After the first communication unit 211 receives a communication request signal from the other device 1, the control unit 22 switches the operating mode of the second communication unit 212 to a power saving mode when data transmission between the second communication unit 212 and the other device 1 is completed or a certain period of time has passed.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Martin in view of Arai with the teachings Nakatsuka of on order to further improve power savings of a wireless communications system.
RE claim 2, Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka discloses the system according to claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Martin further discloses wherein the terminal transitions from the second mode to the first mode before obtaining next the predetermined data from the data generation device (Paragraph 74 discloses “a first and a second entity, for example a terminal device and a base station, may operate in a wireless telecommunications network to exchange a block of data. The first entity is operable to switch between a first operating mode (e.g. an awake mode/a DRX inactive mode/a connected mode) and a second operating mode (e.g. a sleep mode/a DRX active mode/an idle mode), wherein the second operating mode is a reduced-power mode as compared to the first operating mode. The first entity is operable to exchange the block of data with the second entity (e.g. to transmit the block of data to the second entity or receive the block of data from the second entity) while in the first operating mode, and to switch from the first operating mode to the reduced-power second operating mode in response to determining communications associated with the exchange of the block of data are complete.”).
RE claim 5, Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka discloses the system according to claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Arai further teaches wherein a plurality of the terminals exists, and the repeater transmits a first polling signal to a first terminal and a second polling signal to a second terminal in the third mode within the predetermined time, and transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after transmitting the first polling signal and the second polling signal (Paragraphs 20, 23, 32, 33, 35 and 53-55, as well as Figures and 5 teaches a wireless relay device 10 ( corresponding to the "relay device" of the present application) comprises a reception unit 13a and a timer 16; the wireless relay device 10 wirelessly communicates with, for example, pre-registered child devices 50l -50n (corresponding to the "terminal" of the present application); a child device 50i receives data measured by a meter unit 70i (corresponding to the "data generation device" of the present application) that is a measurement device such as a wattmeter and transmits the data to the wireless relay device 10 through wireless communication in response to polling from the wireless relay device 10; the wireless relay device 10 transitions to a power saving mode ( corresponding to the "fourth mode" of the present application) when a power source ON operation is carried out; when the wireless relay device 10 transitions to the power saving mode, the operations of the components other than a timer 16 are stopped and it is possible to reduce the power consumption of the reception unit 13a; when the timer 16 communicates that a polling time has been reached, the wireless relay device 10 transitions to a polling mode (corresponding to the "third mode" of the present application) and sequentially transmits data transmission requests ( corresponding to the "polling signal" of the present application) to the child devices 50l - 50n; the wireless relay device 10 uses the reception unit 13a to receive data transmitted from the child devices 501-50n; and after storing the received data, the wireless relay device 10 ends the polling mode and transitions to the power saving mode.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Martin with the teachings of Arai on order to improve power savings of a wireless communications system.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of Arai, in view of Nakatsuka and further in view of Fukuzawa et al. (US 2007/0153716, Fukuzawa hereafter).
RE claim 3, Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka discloses the system according to claim 1 as set forth above. Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka does not explicitly disclose wherein the repeater transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after transmitting an ACK signal indicating that the repeater has received the predetermined data.
However, Fukuzawa teaches wherein the repeater transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after transmitting an ACK signal indicating that the repeater has received the predetermined data (Paragraph 70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka with the teachings of Fukuzawa since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claims 4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of Arai, in view of Nakatsuka and further in view of Wang
RE claim 4, Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka discloses the system according to claim 1 as set forth above. Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka does not explicitly disclose a communication apparatus that is another repeater or a base station, wherein the communication apparatus transmits a polling signal to the repeater, and the repeater transmits the predetermined data to the communication apparatus in response to the polling signal, and transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after transmitting the predetermined data.
However, Wang teaches a communication apparatus that is another repeater or a base station, wherein the communication apparatus transmits a polling signal to the repeater, and the repeater transmits the predetermined data to the communication apparatus in response to the polling signal, and transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after transmitting the predetermined data (Figures 1B, 2, 3 teaches a plurality of relays arranged in a hierarchy with data transmitted over a selected path of relays between a base station and mobile station).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka with the teachings of Wang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claim 6, Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka discloses the system according to claim 1 as set forth above. Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka does not explicitly disclose wherein a plurality of the repeaters exists, a first repeater transmits a first polling signal to the terminal, a second repeater transmits a second polling signal to the terminal, and the terminal, in response to either one of the first or the second polling signal, transmits the predetermined data to either one of the first or the second repeater that has transmitted the either one of the first or the second polling signal, and the either one of the first or the second repeater that has received the predetermined data transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after receiving the predetermined data.
However, Wang teaches wherein a plurality of the repeaters exists, a first repeater transmits a first polling signal to the terminal, a second repeater transmits a second polling signal to the terminal, and the terminal, in response to either one of the first or the second polling signal, transmits the predetermined data to either one of the first or the second repeater that has transmitted the either one of the first or the second polling signal, and the either one of the first or the second repeater that has received the predetermined data transitions from the third mode to the fourth mode within the predetermined time after receiving the predetermined data (Figures 1B, 2, 3 teaches a plurality of relays arranged in a hierarchy with data transmitted over a selected path of relays between a base station and mobile station).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka with the teachings of Wang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claim 7, Martin in view of Arai, in view of Nakatsuka and further in view of Wang discloses the system according to claim 6 as set forth above. Note that Wang further discloses wherein the terminal determines to respond to either the first polling signal or the second polling signal based on a network topology of the radio communication system stored in the terminal (Figure 1B, a mobile station is reachable by 2 relays and thus two paths are selectable. Paragraphs 9 and 10 teaches shortest path determination and selection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka with the teachings of Wang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claim 8, Martin in view of Arai, in view of Nakatsuka and further in view of Wang discloses the system according to claim 7 as set forth above. Note that Wang further discloses wherein the terminal transmits the predetermined data to a repeater whose route to a final destination of the data is the shortest (Figure 1B, a mobile station is reachable by 2 relays and thus two paths are selectable. Paragraphs 9 and 10 teaches shortest path determination and selection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka with the teachings of Wang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claim 9, Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka discloses the system according to claim 1 as set forth above. Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka does not explicitly disclose a base station, a plurality of the terminals, and a plurality of the repeaters, wherein a hierarchy of a network constituting the radio communication apparatus is configured by hierarchy auto-configuration processing including :broadcasting, by the base station, a signal including a hierarchy number indicating a depth level of the hierarchy, configuring, by a first repeater that has received the signal broadcasted by the base station, a hierarchy number of the first repeater based on the hierarchy number included in the signal, and broadcasting a signal including the hierarchy number of the first repeater, configuring, by a second repeater that has received the signal broadcasted by the first repeater, a hierarchy number of the second repeater based on the hierarchy number 82included in the signal, and broadcasting a signal including the hierarchy number of the second repeater, and configuring, by at least one of the plurality of terminals that has received the signal broadcasted by the base station or the signal broadcasted by at least one of the plurality of repeaters including the first and the second repeaters, a hierarchy number of the at least one of the plurality of terminals based on the hierarchy number included in the signal, and transmitting a response to the base station or the at least one of the plurality of repeaters that has broadcasted the signal received by the at least one of the plurality of terminals, and each terminal responds to a polling signal from a repeater in a higher hierarchy or the base station based on the hierarchy that has been configured.
However, Wang teaches a base station, a plurality of the terminals, and a plurality of the repeaters, wherein a hierarchy of a network constituting the radio communication apparatus is configured by hierarchy auto-configuration processing including :broadcasting, by the base station, a signal including a hierarchy number indicating a depth level of the hierarchy, configuring, by a first repeater that has received the signal broadcasted by the base station, a hierarchy number of the first repeater based on the hierarchy number included in the signal, and broadcasting a signal including the hierarchy number of the first repeater, configuring, by a second repeater that has received the signal broadcasted by the first repeater, a hierarchy number of the second repeater based on the hierarchy number 82included in the signal, and broadcasting a signal including the hierarchy number of the second repeater, and configuring, by at least one of the plurality of terminals that has received the signal broadcasted by the base station or the signal broadcasted by at least one of the plurality of repeaters including the first and the second repeaters, a hierarchy number of the at least one of the plurality of terminals based on the hierarchy number included in the signal, and transmitting a response to the base station or the at least one of the plurality of repeaters that has broadcasted the signal received by the at least one of the plurality of terminals, and each terminal responds to a polling signal from a repeater in a higher hierarchy or the base station based on the hierarchy that has been configured (Figures 1B, 2, 3 teaches a plurality of relays arranged in a hierarchy with data transmitted over a selected path of relays between a base station and mobile station. Figure 1B, a mobile station is reachable by 2 relays and thus two paths are selectable. Paragraphs 9 and 10 teaches shortest path determination and selection. See further paragraphs 50-58, BS transmits path discovery messages to build the topology).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka with the teachings of Wang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claim 10, Martin in view of Arai, in view of Nakatsuka and further in view of Wang discloses the system according to claim 9 as set forth above Note that Wang further discloses wherein the hierarchy that has been configured is reconfigured by the hierarchy auto- configuration processing in accordance with a change in a configuration of the network constituting the radio communication system (Figures 1B, 2, 3 teaches a plurality of relays arranged in a hierarchy with data transmitted over a selected path of relays between a base station and mobile station. Figure 1B, a mobile station is reachable by 2 relays and thus two paths are selectable. Paragraphs 9 and 10 teaches shortest path determination and selection. See further paragraphs 50-58, BS transmits path discovery messages to build the topology).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka with the teachings of Wang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claim 11, Martin in view of Arai, in view of Nakatsuka and further in view of Wang discloses the system according to claim 10 as set forth above Note that Wang further discloses a first terminal obtains data addressed to the first terminal that has been transmitted from a second terminal by: receiving, by a repeater or the base station that has received the response transmitted by the first terminal, a report, from the first terminal, that relaying to the first terminal is possible, receiving, by each repeater and the base station, a report, from another repeater in a lower hierarchy, that relaying to particular terminals including the first terminal is possible via the another repeater in the lower hierarchy, transmitting, by the second terminal, the data addressed to the first terminal to a repeater in a higher hierarchy in response to a polling signal from the repeater in the higher hierarchy, transmitting, by each repeater capable of performing relaying to the first terminal, the data addressed to the first terminal to another repeater in a higher hierarchy or the base station in response to a polling signal from the another repeater in the higher hierarchy or the base station, transmitting, by the base station, the data addressed to the first terminal to a repeater in a lower hierarchy or the first terminal in response to a polling signal from the repeater in the lower hierarchy or the first terminal, and transmitting, by each repeater that has received the data addressed to the first terminal and is capable of performing relaying to the first terminal, the data addressed to the first terminal to another repeater in a lower hierarchy or the first terminal in response to a polling signal from the another repeater in the lower hierarchy or the first terminal. (Figures 1B, 2, 3 teaches a plurality of relays arranged in a hierarchy with data transmitted over a selected path of relays between a base station and mobile station. Figure 1B, a mobile station is reachable by 2 relays and thus two paths are selectable. Paragraphs 9 and 10 teaches shortest path determination and selection. See further paragraphs 50-58, BS transmits path discovery messages to build the topology).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka with the teachings of Wang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of Arai, in view of Nakatsuka and further in view of OSUGI (JP JP5402540B2, citing the attached English translation).
RE claim 12, Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka discloses the system according to claim 1 as set forth above. Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka does not explicitly disclose a plurality of the terminals, and a plurality of the repeaters, wherein a first terminal obtains data addressed to the first terminal that has been transmitted from a second terminal by: transmitting, by the second terminal, the data addressed to the first terminal to a repeater in a higher hierarchy in response to a polling signal from the repeater in the higher hierarchy, transmitting, by each repeater that has received the data addressed to the first terminal, the data addressed to the first terminal to another repeater in a higher hierarchy in response to a polling signal from the another repeater in the higher hierarchy, and transmitting the data addressed to the first terminal to another repeater in a lower hierarchy in response to a polling signal from the another repeater in the lower hierarchy, and transmitting, by a repeater in a higher hierarchy than the first terminal, the data addressed to the first terminal to the first terminal in response to a polling signal from the first terminal.
However, Osugi teaches a plurality of the terminals, and a plurality of the repeaters, wherein a first terminal obtains data addressed to the first terminal that has been transmitted from a second terminal by: transmitting, by the second terminal, the data addressed to the first terminal to a repeater in a higher hierarchy in response to a polling signal from the repeater in the higher hierarchy, transmitting, by each repeater that has received the data addressed to the first terminal, the data addressed to the first terminal to another repeater in a higher hierarchy in response to a polling signal from the another repeater in the higher hierarchy, and transmitting the data addressed to the first terminal to another repeater in a lower hierarchy in response to a polling signal from the another repeater in the lower hierarchy, and transmitting, by a repeater in a higher hierarchy than the first terminal, the data addressed to the first terminal to the first terminal in response to a polling signal from the first terminal (Paragraph 15:” In order to achieve the above object, the communication system of the present invention has a plurality of nodes that are hierarchically arranged and connected to nodes in adjacent layers, and a plurality of terminals, wherein there are a plurality of lowest-level nodes among the hierarchically arranged nodes, each of the plurality of terminals is connected to one of the plurality of lowest-level nodes, and the system relays communications between the plurality of terminals using the nodes, and determines a relay node from the hierarchically arranged nodes that will relay the communications depending on each of the lowest-level nodes to which the plurality of terminals that communicate are connected.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Martin in view of Arai and further in view of Nakatsuka with the teachings of Osugi since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461