DETAILED ACTION
1The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims filed 09/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 133-158 are pending and under consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 23 recites “90/mL/minute” which should read “90 mL/minute”
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, page 8, with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant does not explicitly state which limitations are not met by the prior art reference and that Applicant argues Jones (US 5122112 A) teaches removing antigens from the patient’s blood using an immunosorbent material; the process is for removing immunoreactive substances from the blood plasma and therefore Jones is not drawn to blood ultrafiltration, while Varita (US 20230025881 A1) relate to separating blood plasma from access water in the blood plasma.
This is not found persuasive. The rejection does not rely on Vartia’s entire ultrafiltration system or require modifying Jones to perform Vartia’s particular filtration process. Rather, Vartia is relied upon for its teaching of a double-channel peristaltic pump configured to simultaneously convey fluid flow through two fluid lines, i.e., first blood line 10a between patient and blood filter and effluent line 10c between the blood filter and vessel, thereby reducing the number of pump component, cost and system complexity while reliably controlling and actuating fluid flow through two fluid lines as taught by Vartia ([0051]). This teaching is reasonably pertinent to Jones, which discloses an extracorporeal blood treatment system having multiple fluid paths, including an incoming blood path between a patient to a cell separator and a plasma path extending between a blood separator (40) to an immunosorbent device (11). Accordingly, the proposed modification would substitute Vartia’s double-channel peristaltic pump for the pumping arrangement of Jones to simultaneously control the incoming blood line and the plasma path. The proposed modification involves simple substitution of one known element (known pump arrangement of Jones) for another (double channel peristaltic pump of Vartia) to obtain predictable results (simultaneously controlling two fluid flow with fewer pumping components) see MPEP 2143.01 and 2144.04. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to the applicant’s argument, see pages 8, with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections that the prior art fails to teach the flow rate through the blood collection line to be at least approximately 100mL/minute have been considered and are at least partially persuasive, but are moot in light of new rejection/interpretation.
There are no distinct arguments directed dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 133-146 and 149-158 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 5122112 A) in view of Vartia (US 20230025881 A1, foreign priority effectively filed 2019/12/13) and Roberts et al (US 20070181499 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jones substantially teaches applicant’s claimed invention, and specifically discloses a device with every structural limitation of applicant’s claimed invention (except for the limitations shown in italics and grayed-out) including:
a blood processing system comprising:
a blood collection line (annotated figure 2, blood collection line) configured to carry blood;
a blood separation device (figure 2, cell separator 40) connected to the blood collection line;
a plasma delivery line (annotated figure 2 and col 7 line 24 - col 8 line 2, plasma delivery line is configured to receive separated plasma from the cell separator 40 and delivery to column 11) connected to the blood separation device and configured to receive a first fraction of the blood (col 7 line 24 col 8 line 2, separated plasma);
a plasma processing device (figure 2, immunoaffinity column 11) connected to the plasma delivery line,
a pump (figure 2 col 7 line 24 - col 8 line 2, blood pump 42 causes the blood pass through the plasma separator 40), wherein a portion of the blood collection line and a portion of the plasma delivery line are positioned within the pump (figure 2, the blood collection line positioned within the pump 42), and wherein the pump (figure 2 col 7 line 24 – col 8 line 2, the pump is positioned within the circuit and conveys entire fluid within the circuit. Accordingly, the pump simultaneously conveys blood from the blood collection line to cell separator 40 and further conveying the separated plasma from the cell separator 40 to column 11 via the plasma delivery line) is configured to simultaneously cause the blood to flow through the blood collection line to the blood separation device and cause the first fraction of the blood to flow through the plasma delivery line to the plasma processing device;
a first return line (annotated figure 2, first return line) connected to the plasma processing device and configured to receive a processed first fraction (figure 2 col 7 line 24 – col 8 line 2, the first return line is configured to receive treated plasma from column 11) of the blood; and
a second return line (annotated figure 2, a second return line is configured to receive blood cell portion of the blood) connected to the blood separation device and configured to receive a second fraction of the blood (figure 2 col 7 line 24 – col 8 line 2, blood cell portion), wherein the second return line is connected to the first return line, thereby allowing the second fraction of the blood to be combined with the processed first fraction of the blood (annotated figure 2 and col 7 line 24 – col 8 line 2, the first and second line are connected and configured to mix the blood cells with the treated plasma);
wherein said pump comprises a channel, wherein said portion of the blood collection line and said portion of the plasma delivery line are arranged within the channel, and wherein the pump is configured to cause the received blood to flow through the blood collection line and cause the first portion of the blood to flow through the plasma delivery line,
and wherein the system is configured to cause the flow rate through the blood collection line to be more than 90 mL/minute.
Jones does not teach wherein and a portion of the plasma delivery line is positioned within the pump;
wherein said pump comprises a channel, wherein said portion of the blood collection line and said portion of the plasma delivery line are arranged within the channel, and wherein the pump is configured to cause the received blood to flow through the blood collection line and cause the first portion of the blood to flow through the plasma delivery line.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a blood ultrafiltration system, Varita teaches a peristaltic pump (figures 1-3, double-channel peristaltic pump 14) and wherein a portion of the blood collection line and a portion of the plasma delivery line (figure 2 and [0057-[0058] portion of lines 10a and 10c positioned within the pump 14).
wherein said pump comprises a channel (figure 2, channel defined by frame 141 and a rotational radius of a rotor comprising arms 143 and 145), wherein said portion of the blood collection line and said portion of the plasma delivery line are arranged within the channel (figure 2, the lines 10a and 10c are positioned within the channel and rotation of the rotor conveys fluid in the both fluid lines), and wherein the pump is configured to cause the received blood to flow through the blood collection line and cause the first portion of the blood to flow through the plasma delivery line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones to incorporate the teachings of Vartia and provide the pump and fluid line arrangement as claimed above for the purpose of controlling both the incoming blood and effluent fluid simultaneously with fewer component, for example instead of using separate pumps for each fluid line, which potentially reduce cost and complexity of the device as taught by Vartia ([0051]).
The combination is still silent as to the system is configured to cause the flow rate through the blood collection line to be more than 90mL/minute
In the same field of endeavor, namely a plasma detoxification and volume control system and method of use, Roberts teaches the system is configured to cause the flow rate through the blood collection line to be more than 90/mL/minute ([0073] blood is removed through the arterial line at approximately 125 mL/min).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia, to incorporate the teachings of Roberts and provide the system as claimed for the purpose of providing adequate blood removal rates for extracorporeal perfusion using absorbent filter that removes harmful substances from blood as taught by Robers ([0073]), while reducing therapy time.
Regarding claim 133, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the pump is a peristaltic pump (Vartia; double channel peristaltic pump 14) that comprises a rotor (Vartia; figure 2 and [0058] a rotor comprising arms 143 and 145), wherein the rotor is configured to cause the received blood to flow through the blood collection line and cause the first portion of the blood to flow through the plasma delivery line (Vartia; [0058] rotation of rotor conveys fluid in the both fluid lines 10a and 10c).
Regarding claim 134, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein each of said portion of the blood collection line and said portion of the plasma delivery line is arranged in a generally U-shape within said channel (Vartia; figure 2, the fluid lines 10a and 10c are generally arranged in U-shape along with the channel).
Regarding claim 135, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination does not teach wherein said portion of the blood collection line and said portion of the plasma delivery line are arranged to contact one another within the channel.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a blood ultrafiltration system, Vartia teaches wherein said portion of the blood collection line and said portion of the plasma delivery line are arranged to contact one another within the channel (figure 3b, the fluid lines 10a and 10c and in contact one another through web 10d’).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia, to incorporate the teachings of Vartia and provides the blood collection line and the plasma deliver line as claimed for the purpose of providing the line segments into a unitary component thereby facilitating installation of the line segment onto the pump head as taught by Vartia ([0061]).
Regarding claim 136, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination does not teach wherein:
said portion of the blood collection line arranged within said channel comprises a first tube having a first internal diameter;
said portion of the plasma delivery line arranged within said channel comprises a second tube having a second internal diameter; and
said first and second internal diameters are different.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a blood ultrafiltration system, Vartia teaches wherein:
said portion of the blood collection line arranged within said channel comprises a first tube having a first internal diameter (figure 3b and [0060] diameter of fluid line 10a);
said portion of the plasma delivery line arranged within said channel comprises a second tube having a second internal diameter (figure 3b and [0060] diameter of fluid line 10c); and
said first and second internal diameters are different (figure 3b and [0060] the fluid lines 10a and 10c having different diameter).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, to incorporate the teachings of Vartia and provides the blood collection line and the plasma delivery line as claimed for the purpose of providing distinct flow rates within the respective lines using a single pump head as taught by Vartia ([0023]-[0025])
Regarding claim 137, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 136.
The combination further teaches wherein the pump is configured to simultaneously cause the blood flowing through the blood collection line to flow at a first flow rate and cause the first fraction of the blood flowing through the plasma delivery line to flow at a second flow rate that is different than the first flow rate (Vartia; [0057] the pump is configured to generate distinct flow rates Qa within blood line 10a and Qb within 10b).
Regarding claim 138, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 137.
The combination further teaches wherein the second flow rate is less than the first flow rate (Vartia; [0057] Qa is less than the Qb).
Regarding claim 139, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 136.
The combination further teaches wherein the first internal diameter is larger than the second internal diameter (Vartia; figure 3b and [0060] diameter of fluid line 10a is greater than the diameter of 10c).
Regarding claim 140, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 136.
The combination does not teach wherein a ratio between the first internal diameter and the second internal diameter is between 0.99 and 3.3; though
Vartia teaches wherein a ratio between the first internal diameter and the second internal diameter is between 3-99 ([0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, and provides the ratio of the first and second internal diameter is between 0.99 and 3.3 since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” (MPEP 2144.05(I)). In the instant case, the applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed range (specification [0073]), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art.
Regarding claim 141, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 136.
The combination does not teach wherein the ratio between the first internal diameter and the second internal diameter is between 1.8 and 2.2; though
Vartia teaches wherein a ratio between the first internal diameter and the second internal diameter is between 3-99 ([0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, and provides the ratio of the first and second internal diameter between 1.8 and 2.2 since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” (MPEP 2144.05(I)). In the instant case, the applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed range (specification [0073]), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art.
Regarding claim 142, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 137.
The combination does not teach wherein the second flow rate is between 18% and 33% of the first flow rate; though
Vartia teaches wherein the second flow rate is between 1% and 25% of the first flow rate (Vartia; [0064] fraction F =Qc/Qa in the range of 0.01-0.25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, and provides wherein the second flow rate is between 18% and 33% of the first flow rate since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” (MPEP 2144.05(I)). In the instant case, the applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed range (specification [0057]), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art.
Regarding claim 143, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 137.
The combination further teaches wherein the second flow rate is less than 110 mL/minute (Jones; col 7 lines 10-15, the second flow rate through the plasma delivery line is in rage from about 10 to 30 mL/min, Roberts; plasma filter that pumped by a second roller pump 116 at a rate of approximately 25 mL/min)
Regarding claim 144, Jones, as modified by Vartia, teaches the blood processing system of claim 137.
The combination does not teach wherein the second flow rate is at least 45 mL/minute and 165 mL/minute; though
The combination teaches the second flow rate is between 10 to 30 mL (Jones; col 7 lines 10-15, the second flow rate through the plasma delivery line is in range from about 10 to 30 mL/min)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, and provides the first flow rate as claimed since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” (MPEP 2144.05(I)). In the instant case, the applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed range (specification [0076] “any value or range within or bounded by any of these ranges or values, although values outside these values or ranges can be used in some cases”), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art.
Regarding claim 145, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination further teaches comprising a third return line connected to both of the first and second return lines (Jones; annotated figure 2, the third line).
Regarding claim 146, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 145.
The combination further teaches wherein the third return line is configured to deliver a second fraction of the blood to the subject along with a processed first fraction of the blood (Jones; col 7 line 45-50 “The blood cells are then mixed with the treated plasma and the recombined blood returned to the patient.”).
Regarding claim 149, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the blood separation device comprises a centrifugal separator (Jones; col 7 lines 1-23, withdrawn blood is separated into its cellular components and plasma by centrifugation) or at least one membrane and line and is configured to separate the blood into a first fraction and a second fraction, said first fraction comprising plasma and said second fraction comprising one or more cellular components of the blood.
Regarding claim 150, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein said plasma processing device is an adsorption device (Jones; col 7 line 24- col 7 line 2, the immunoaffinity column 11 packed with immunoadsorbent) configured to adsorb at least a portion of the plasma of the first fraction of the blood to remove one or more substances from the first fraction of the blood (Jones; col 3 lines 5-15, the immunoadsorbent absorbs and removes free antigen and circulating immune complexes containing the antigen from the plasma).
Regarding claim 151, Jones, as modified by Vartia, teaches the blood processing system of claim 150.
The combination does not expressly teach wherein the adsorption device comprises one or more absorptive materials selected from the group consisting of thermally expanded graphite (TEG), graphene nanoplatelets (GNPs), polymer derived ceramic carbide-derived carbon (PDC-CDC), an ion exchange resin, and a non-ion exchange resin.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a plasma detoxification and volume control system, Roberts teaches wherein the adsorption device comprises one or more absorptive materials selected from the group consisting of thermally expanded graphite (TEG), graphene nanoplatelets (GNPs), polymer derived ceramic carbide-derived carbon (PDC-CDC), an ion exchange resin, and a non-ion exchange resin ([abstract, 0044, 0064 and 0065] the toxin removal device comprises absorbent material for example ion exchange resins.)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia, to incorporate the teachings of Roberts and provides the absorption device as claimed for the purpose of removing free and protein-bound toxins associated with sepsis and renal failure from plasma as taught by Roberts (abstract).
Regarding claim 152, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the pump is the only pump in the blood processing system (Vartia; figure 1, pump 14).
Regarding claim 153, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the system is configured to cause the flow rate through the blood collection line to be more than 100 mL/minute (Robert; [0073] blood is removed through the arterial line at approximately 125 mL/min)
Regarding claim 154, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 140.
The combination does not teach wherein the ratio between the first internal diameter and the second internal diameter is between 1 and 3; though
Vartia teaches wherein a ratio between the first internal diameter and the second internal diameter is between 3-99 ([0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Robert, and provides the ratio of the first and second internal diameter is between 1 and 3 since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” (MPEP 2144.05(I)). In the instant case, the applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed range (specification [0073]), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art.
Regarding claim 155, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 141.
The combination does not teach wherein the ratio between the first internal diameter and the second internal diameter is 2; though
Vartia teaches wherein a ratio between the first internal diameter and the second internal diameter is between 3-99.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, and provides the ratio of the first and second internal diameter is 2 since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” (MPEP 2144.05(I)). In the instant case, the applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed range (specification [0073]), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art.
Regarding claim 156, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 142.
The combination does not teach wherein the second flow rate is between 20% and 30% of the first flow rate; though
Vartia teaches wherein the second flow rate is between 1% and 25% of the first flow rate (Vartia; [0064] fraction F =Qc/Qa in the range of 0.01-0.25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, and provides wherein the second flow rate is between 20% and 30% of the first flow rate since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” (MPEP 2144.05(I)). In the instant case, the applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed range (specification [0057]), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art.
Regarding claim 157, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 143
The combination further teaches wherein the second flow rate is no greater than 100 mL/minute (Jones; col 7 lines 10-15, the second flow rate through the plasma delivery line is in rage from about 10 to 30 mL/min)
Regarding claim 158, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 1.
The combination does not teach wherein the first flow rate is at least 50 and 100mL/minute; though
The combination teaches the second flow rate is between 10 to 30 mL (Jones; col 7 lines 10-15, the second flow rate through the plasma delivery line is in range from about 10 to 30 mL/min)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, and provides the first flow rate as claimed since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” (MPEP 2144.05(I)). In the instant case, the applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed range (specification [0076] “any value or range within or bounded by any of these ranges or values, although values outside these values or ranges can be used in some cases”), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art.
Claim 147 and 148 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 5122112 A) in view of Vartia (US 20230025881 A1, foreign priority effectively filed 2019/12/13) and Roberts et al (US 20070181499 A1), and in further view of Maginot et al (US 20050096609 A1)
Regarding claim 147, Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, teaches the blood processing system of claim 145.
The combination does not teach comprising a blood source access device configured to connect to the third return line and deliver a second fraction of the blood to the subject along with a processed first fraction of the blood.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a catheter system for hemodialysis, Maginot teaches a blood source access device (figures 1 and 3 and [0127] dual catheter system 12 comprising ingress line 47 and egress line 47, and they are configured to be connected to inlet and outlet line of the hemodialysis machine 10 respectively. Examiner’s note: the blood source access device is interpreted as dual lumen catheter as set forth in claim 148) configured to connect to the third return line and deliver a second fraction of the blood to the subject along with a processed first fraction of the blood.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jones, as modified by Vartia and Roberts, to incorporate the teachings of Maginot and provide the blood source access device as claimed substituting venous and artery access of Jones as shown figure 2 for the purpose of effectively performing hemodialysis, as taught by Maginot ([0210]). Specifically, utilizing a dual lumen catheter in the hemodialysis procedure allows simultaneous withdrawal and return of blood through a single access point, while traditional catheter system requires multiple punctures for placement of separate withdrawal and return catheter. The modification simplifies the procedure, improves patient comfort, and reduces the likelihood of complications associated with multiple catheter placements.
Regarding claim 148, Jones, as modified by Vartia Roberts and Maginot, teaches the blood processing system of claim 147.
The combination further teaches wherein said blood source access device comprises a dual lumen catheter (Maginot; figure 1 and 3 and [0127] dual catheter system 12 comprising ingress line 47 and egress line 47), wherein the blood collection line is configured to connect to a first port (Maginot; [0127] egress line connected to the inlet line 16) of the dual lumen catheter and wherein the third return line is configured to connect to a second port (Maginot; [0127] ingress line 45 is connected to the outlet line 18) of the dual lumen catheter.
Conclusion
/SETH HAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781