Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application (371 of PCT/US2021/061122, filed 30 November 2021, which has PRO 63/119,612, filed 30 November 2020) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments filed 24 June 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1, 9, and 18 have been amended; new Claims 41-47 have been added; Claims 4, 10-12, and 23-38 were previously canceled; and Claims 18-22 and 39-40 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 13-22, and 39-47 are pending.
Regarding the Claim Objections over Claim 9, Applicant’s amendments are sufficient; these objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections of Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 13, 14, 16, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA et al. (US 2009/0242478 A1) in view of STRIEMER et al. (US 2016/0199787 A1) and Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA et al. (US 2009/0242478 A1) in view of STRIEMER et al. (US 2016/0199787 A1) and LIU et al. (US 2018/0319943 A1), Applicant’s amendments are persuasive; these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection have been made for Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 46, and 47 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA et al. (US 2009/0242478 A1) in view of STRIEMER et al. (US 2016/0199787 A1) and TAI et al. (US 2006/0007983 A1) and Claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA et al. (US 2009/0242478 A1) in view of STRIEMER et al. (US 2016/0199787 A1), TAI et al. (US 2006/0007983 A1), and LIU et al. (US 2018/0319943 A1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 24 June 2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding “4. Response to the § 103 Rejections” (pg. 6-8), Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive because they are directed to grounds of rejection that have been withdrawn. Therefore, the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the presently pending claims.
Regarding “5. New Claims” (pg. 8), Applicant argues newly filed Claims 41-47 are dependent on independent Claim1 and are allowable for at least the same reasons provided for Claim 1 (pg. 8, par. 3).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees; as noted, Applicant’s arguments for Claim 1 have been considered but are not persuasive; therefore, newly filed Claims 41-47 are not allowable. Even further, Claims 41-45 are obvious over the prior art based on 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA et al. (US 2009/0242478 A1) in view of STRIEMER et al. (US 2016/0199787 A1) and TAI et al. (US 2006/0007983 A1) or, in the alternative, further in view of FARRINGTON (US 4,280,115).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “monolithic porous carbon membranes”. The Specification has equated “monolithic” to be “binder-free” (see p0006, p0007).
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6 recite that the “at least one carbon membrane” is “mesoporous” and/or “macroporous”. No specific definitions are provided by Applicant in their disclosure limiting explicit pore size ranges to be considered either “mesoporous” or “macroporous”. Applicant is entitled to be their own lexicographer and may rebut the presumption that claim terms are to be given their ordinary and customary meaning by clearly setting forth a definition of the term that is different from its ordinary and customary meaning(s) in the specification at the time of filing (See In re Paulsen, 30 F.3d 1475, 1480, 31 USPQ2d 1671, 1674; Fed. Cir. 1994; MPEP §2111.01 IV). To act as their own lexicographer, the Applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess. The specification may also include an intentional disclaimer, or disavowal, of claim scope.
As such, the Examiner will interpret “mesoporous” and “macroporous” by their plain, ordinary meaning, i.e., “mesoporous” indicates a pore size range of 2-50 nm and “macroporous” indicates a pore size range of > 50 nm based on IUPAC standard definitions.
Claim 6 requires that “the carbon-based material comprises at least one carbon membrane”. This is differentiated from the requirement of Claim 1 that “a carbon-based material [comprises] one or more monolithic porous carbon membranes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 46, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA et al. (US 2009/0242478 A1) in view of STRIEMER et al. (US 2016/0199787 A1) and TAI et al. (US 2006/0007983 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, ICHIKAWA discloses a carbon membrane laminated body including a porous substrate, a first porous carbon membrane as an underlayer disposed on a surface of the porous substrate, and a second porous carbon membrane as a separation layer disposed on a surface of the underlayer (i.e., a carbon-based material comprising one or more… porous carbon membranes; abstract). Each of the first and second porous carbon membrane layers are prepared from precursor solutions containing only solvents and are disposed/coated and carbonized by thermal treatment (i.e., binder-free; one or more monolithic porous carbon membranes; p0053, p0055, p0057, p0059). ICHIKAWA is deficient in explicitly disclosing that the porous substrate is “a flexible substrate comprising one or more polymers in which the carbon-based material is distributed”.
STRIEMER discloses a composite membrane having a monolithic structure useful for filtration and other biological applications (abstract). The membrane is a silicon nitride membrane and is a part of a monolithic structure supported on a silicon wafer (p0024); the membrane further includes a range of pore sizes between 10 nm and 100 nm (p0025). Upon the silicon wafer is a scaffold on which the membrane is supported (p0030). STRIEMER teaches that the scaffold may comprise polymeric materials, such as SU-8 photoresist and polyethylene glycol or other biocompatible materials useful as a supporting mesh for biological applications (p0030) or the scaffold may be an inorganic scaffold that would enable the use of the composite membrane in harsher environments, e.g., solid oxide fuel cells, etc. (p0050). As is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art, SU-8 photoresist is flexible (i.e., a flexible substrate comprising one or more polymers in which the carbon-based material is distributed). Advantageously, the use of a scaffold, especially a polymer scaffold provides more flexibility to the membrane and allows for the membrane and scaffold to be released together from the surface of the fabrication wafer (p0046). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a flexible substrate comprising one or more polymers as taught by STRIEMER as a support of the monolithic carbon-based membrane disclosed by ICHIKAWA.
Modified ICHIKAWA is deficient in disclosing the one or more monolithic porous carbon membranes comprise a plurality of digitated electrodes.
TAI discloses a method of making carbon thin films comprising depositing a catalyst on a substrate, then depositing a hydrocarbon in contact with the catalyst (abstract). Such a method provides for preparation of nano- and microelectromechanical systems (NEMS and MEMS, respectively) allowing for the use of carbon thin films as electrochemical sensors (p0003). TAI further discloses the substrate can be a number of material, e.g., silicon or other semiconductor material (p0044), and further the substrate can have any device geometry, including inter-digitated electrodes, depending on the desired device geometry (p0094). Thus, the instantly claimed limitation wherein the one or more monolithic porous carbon membranes comprise a plurality of digitated electrodes has been shown by the prior art to merely be a choice of geometric shape. The configuration of the claimed invention is a matter of choice which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed particular configuration was significant and would yield unexpected results (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); MPEP §2144.04). Thus, it would have been obvious to provide the carbon-based material in the geometric form of a plurality of digitated electrodes as taught by TAI for the device made obvious by modified ICHIKAWA because the nature of the problem to be solved would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective, individual functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP §2143.01 A).
Regarding Claim 2, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 1. ICHIKAWA further discloses the first porous carbon membrane has an average pore diameter of 0.2 to 100 nm, and the second porous carbon membrane has an average pore diameter of 0.1 to 5.0 nm (p0013; p0047), which indicates that the disclosed carbon membrane laminated body includes both a mesoporous layer (the second porous carbon membrane) and a macroporous layer (the first porous carbon membrane) (i.e., the carbon-based material comprises at least one carbon membrane that is mesoporous or macroporous).
Regarding Claim 3, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 2. As noted, ICHIKAWA discloses the second porous carbon membrane (the separation layer) has an average pore diameter of 0.1 to 5.0 nm (i.e., the at least one carbon membrane is mesoporous; p0013; p0047), which overlaps with the claimed range of 2 nm to 30 nm and therefore, establishes a case of prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 5, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 2. As noted, ICHIKAWA discloses the first porous carbon membrane (the underlayer) has an average pore diameter of 0.2 to 100 nm (i.e., the at least one carbon membrane is macroporous; p0013; p0047), which overlaps with the claimed range of 60 nm to 2000 nm and therefore, establishes a case of prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 6, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 1. As noted, ICHIKAWA discloses a carbon membrane laminated body comprising first and second porous carbon membranes (abstract). ICHIKAWA further discloses the first porous carbon membrane has an average pore diameter of 0.2 to 100 nm, and the second porous carbon membrane has an average pore diameter of 0.1 to 5.0 nm (p0013; p0047), which indicates that the disclosed carbon membrane laminated body includes both a mesoporous layer (the second porous carbon membrane) and a macroporous layer (the first porous carbon membrane) (i.e., the carbon-based material comprises at least one carbon membrane comprising mesopores and macropores).
Regarding Claim 7, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 6. As noted, ICHIKAWA discloses the second porous carbon membrane (the separation layer) has an average pore diameter of 0.1 to 5.0 nm (i.e., the at least one carbon membrane comprises a first pore; p0013; p0047), which overlaps with the claimed range of 2 nm to 30 nm and therefore, establishes a case of prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05). Further, ICHIKAWA discloses the first porous carbon membrane (the underlayer) has an average pore diameter of 0.2 to 100 nm (i.e., the at least one carbon membrane… comprises a second pore; p0013; p0047), which overlaps with the claimed range of 60 nm to 2000 nm and therefore, establishes a case of prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 8, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 1. As noted, ICHIKAWA discloses first and second porous carbon membranes, prepared from precursor solutions containing only solvents and are disposed/coated and carbonized by thermal treatment (i.e., binder-free; the carbon-based material comprises two or more monolithic porous carbon membranes; p0053, p0055, p0057, p0059).
Regarding Claim 9, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 8. ICHIKAWA is deficient in explicitly disclosing the [two or more monolithic porous] carbon membranes each have different porosity. However, ICHIKAWA discloses exemplary preparation methods for each of the first and second porous carbon membranes utilizing different carbon-based polymers, solvents, and polymer concentrations (Example 1, p0052-0057; first porous carbon membrane: p0037-0038; second porous carbon membrane: p0041-0042). One of ordinary skill in the art would inherently expect such differing precursor solutions would result in monolithic porous carbon membranes having different porosities as claimed. “[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention.” (Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004); MPEP §2112 II). Thus, the claimed limitation that the [two or more monolithic porous] carbon membranes each have different porosity is at least inherently obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 1. As noted, STRIEMER discloses the scaffold may comprise polymeric materials, such as SU-8 photoresist or other biocompatible materials useful as a supporting mesh for biological applications (i.e., the one or more polymers are selected from the group consisting of a photoresist polymer, a biocompatible polymer, a biodegradable polymer, an extracellular matrix protein, and a combination thereof (Claim 13); the polymer is SU-8 photoresist; p0030).
Regarding Claim 16, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 1. STRIEMER further discloses a scaffold having at least 80% porosity (i.e., the flexible substrate has [a]… porosity of at least about 10%; p0047). Similarly, ICHIKAWA discloses a substrate having a high porosity range of 30-70% (p0051), which reads on the claimed porosity of at least about 10%, and further discloses that the carbon membrane laminated body is formed on the wall surfaces of a plurality of flow passages of the monolith-shaped porous substrate (p0059) indicating that the substrate has an open porosity as claimed.
Regarding Claim 17, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 1. As noted, STRIEMER discloses that the composite membrane is formed on a silicon wafer with a scaffold (p0030) and further notes that an inorganic scaffold material can be used, including SiO2 (p0050), which reads on the claimed silicon oxide substrate.
Regarding the steps of
“contacting a carbon precursor with an organic template in a carrier solution to form a dispersion of micelles within the carrier solution;
providing the carrier solution with the dispersion of micelles to a silicon oxide substrate; and
removing the carrier solution and heating the substrate to obtain the monolithic porous carbon membrane”
none of these process steps (other than the limitation regarding the “silicon oxide substrate”) imparts any structure or functionality to the claimed one or more monolithic porous carbon membranes. Even if the prior art discloses a differing method by which the device of Claim 1 is made, the prior art as noted makes obvious all limitations of Claim 1. Absent distinctive structural characteristics imparted by these manufacturing process steps, the claimed invention is not patentably distinct from the prior art teachings (In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979); MPEP §2113).
Regarding Claims 46 and 47, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 1. As noted earlier, TAI teaches depositing a catalyst on a substrate, then depositing a hydrocarbon on the substrate in contact with the catalyst (p0044), e.g., as a catalyst layer (i.e., a metal layer between the carbon-based material and the flexible substrate; p0089). TAI further discloses the catalyst includes at least one of nickel, iron, cobalt, platinum, titanium, chrome, gold, ferrocene, and ferric nitrate (i.e., the metal layer comprises gold and chromium; p0044, p0089).
Claim(s) 41-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA et al. (US 2009/0242478 A1) in view of STRIEMER et al. (US 2016/0199787 A1) and TAI et al. (US 2006/0007983 A1) or, in the alternative, further in view of FARRINGTON (US 4,280,115).
Regarding Claims 41-45, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 1. The instant limitations requiring that “each of the digitated electrodes comprises a spine portion and a plurality of fingers extending from the spine portion” (Claim 41), “the plurality of digitated electrodes includes a first digitated electrode and a second digitated electrode, wherein the plurality of fingers of the first digitated electrode are interdigitated with the plurality of fingers of the second digitated electrode” (Claim 42), “a gap between each of the plurality of fingers of the first digitated electrode and interdigitated fingers of the second digitated electrode” (Claim 43), “the first digitated electrode comprises a first lead, and the second digitated electrode comprises a second lead” (Claim 44), and “the first lead and the second lead are in electrical communication with each other” (Claim 45) are merely defining a well-accepted subject/term of the art. Digitated electrodes or inter-digitated electrodes are characterized by at least two interlocking, comb-like arrays of conductive fingers separated by a gap with corresponding electrical leads connecting from the electrodes to a circuit. This comb structure inherently possesses the instantly claimed limitations. Therefore, the instantly claimed limitations are inherent over the prior art. The identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel (In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368, Fed. Cir. 2004; MPEP §2112 I).
Alternatively, modified ICHIKAWA is deficient in disclosing the instantly claimed geometric limitations of the digitated electrodes.
FARRINGTON shows in FIG. 2 a basic pattern for a pair of inter-digitated electrodes 22 and 23 for a sensor 20; these electrodes 22 and 23 are spaced apart and are in contact with respective electrical leads 25 and 26 (c3/62-c4/2). The electrical leads are connected elsewhere such that any influences on the sensor 20 is acted upon.
Thus, even though TAI is deficient in explicitly defining “inter-digitated electrodes”, such a concept is well-known in the art and considered to be so basic as to be part of the routine capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective, individual functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP §2143.01 A). Therefore, the instant limitations of Claims 41-45 are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA et al. (US 2009/0242478 A1) in view of STRIEMER et al. (US 2016/0199787 A1) and TAI et al. (US 2006/0007983 A1), as applied to Claim 13 above, and further in view of LIU et al. (US 2018/0319943 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, modified ICHIKAWA makes obvious the device of Claim 13. As noted earlier, STRIEMER teaches that the scaffold may comprise polymeric materials, such as SU-8 photoresist and polyethylene glycol or other biocompatible materials useful as a supporting mesh for biological applications (p0030) or the scaffold may be an inorganic scaffold that would enable the use of the composite membrane in harsher environments, e.g., solid oxide fuel cells, etc. (p0050). Modified ICHIKAWA is deficient in disclosing the one or more polymers are selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxane, poly(methyl methacrylate), poly lactic-co-glycolic acid, poly( ethylene glycol) diacrylate, collagen, and gelatin.
LIU discloses a membrane useful as a delivery vehicle for biological applications (p0001); the membrane includes a graphene-based material layer (i.e., a carbon-based membrane) and at least one substrate layer (p0005). The substrate layer further comprises materials such as polymethylmethacrylate, polylactic-co-glycolic acid, and polydimethylsiloxane (i.e., the one or more polymers are selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxane, poly(methyl methacrylate), poly lactic-co-glycolic acid, poly( ethylene glycol) diacrylate, collagen, and gelatin; p0041). Such materials are advantageously biocompatible, bioinert, and/or are medical grade materials (p0041). The nature of the problem to be solved would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective, individual functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP §2143.01 A). Given the intended application of the disclosed prior art membranes, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to utilize such claimed polymers as taught by LIU as the one or more polymers of the flexible substrate made obvious by modified ICHIKAWA.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772