Detailed Action
Status of Claims
In response to the communication filed 07/03/2025. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fripp (US Pub No 20190063182)
Fripp discloses in claim 1. A condition dependent self-configuring inflow control device (ICD) comprising: a flow path having a first flow condition that flows both relatively lower and relatively higher viscosity fluids (Fripp Fig 9 [0051] a first flow condition that does not restrict fluid flow through the flow control system such as water and oil) at a first relatively lower pressure drop (Fripp Fig 9 [0051] a first flow condition that does not restrict fluid flow through the flow control system such as water and oil and has a lower pressure drop) and a second permanent flow condition that flows only relatively higher viscosity fluids (Fripp Fig 9 [0040] Flow restriction member formed to have a density that allows for unrestricted flow of one fluid and restricted flow for another fluid [0051] a second flow condition that restricts fluid flow through the flow control system to selectively restrict fluid flow not desired once the member is released after degradation the flow condition is permanently altered), at a relatively higher pressure drop (Fripp [0051] the flow condition restricting fluid flow increases the fluid pressure across the outlet), the first flow condition changing to a second permanent flow condition in response to a different predetermined fluid flowing therethough (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member); a degradable material disposed in the flow path that prevents the change until the degradable material is degraded by the predetermined fluid. (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member).
Fripp discloses in claim 2. The ICD as claimed in claim 1 wherein the flowpath includes a mobile member (Fripp [0040] Flow restriction member formed to have a density that allows for unrestricted flow of one fluid and restricted flow for another fluid [0051] Flow restriction member moves on degradation due to fluid flow).
Fripp discloses in claim 3. The ICD as claimed in claim 2 wherein the degradable material immobilizes the mobile member (Fripp [0040] Flow restriction member formed to have a density that allows for unrestricted flow of one fluid and restricted flow for another fluid [0051] Flow restriction member moves on degradation due to fluid flow).
Fripp discloses in claim 4. The ICD as claimed in claim 1 wherein the flow path is cyclonic (Fripp [0039] flow chamber has a vortex/cyclonic shape that induces vortex or cyclonic fluid flow).
Fripp discloses in claim 5. The ICD as claimed in claim 1 wherein the degradable material is disposed in a portion of the flow path that causes a reduction in flow path length (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member opening up flow).
Fripp discloses in claim 6. The ICD as claimed in claim 2 wherein the mobile member is fixed in a first position by the degradable material (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member).
Fripp discloses in claim 7. A method for maximizing production over a life of a wellbore comprising: maintaining an inflow control device (ICD) in a first of a plurality of configurations wherein a first configuration exhibits a relatively lower pressure drop of the plurality of configurations for fluids flowing therethrough and a second configuration exhibits a relatively higher pressure drop of the plurality of configurations for fluids flowing therethrough (Fripp Fig 9 [0040] Flow restriction member formed to have a density that allows for unrestricted flow of one fluid and restricted flow for another fluid [0051] a first unobstructed flow condition between the inlet and outlet for a lower pressure drop during fluid flow and a second flow condition that restricts fluid flow through the flow control system to selectively restrict fluid flow not desired with a higher pressure drop due to fluid path restriction);(Fripp [0051] fluid flows through the ICD in the first configuration); automatically releasing the ICD to change to the second configuration of the plurality of configurations (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member); and(Fripp [0051] fluid flows through the ICD in the in the second configuration).
Fripp discloses in claim 8. The method as claimed in claim 7 wherein the automatically releasing is degrading a degradable material (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member).
Fripp discloses in claim 9. The method as claimed in claim 7 wherein the automatically releasing is allowing a mobile member to move (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member).
Fripp discloses in claim 10. The method as claimed in claim 7 wherein the automatic releasing is opening a portion of a flow path (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by opening or expanding by degradation from a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member).
Fripp discloses in claim 11. A condition dependent self-configuring inflow control device (ICD) comprising: a fluid pathway configured to cause a pressure drop in fluid flowing therein through the ICD (Fripp Fig 9 [0040] Flow restriction member formed to have a density that allows for unrestricted flow of one fluid and restricted flow for another fluid [0051] a first unobstructed flow condition between the inlet and outlet for a lower pressure drop during fluid flow and a second flow condition that restricts fluid flow through the flow control system to selectively restrict fluid flow not desired with a higher pressure drop due to fluid path restriction); a degradable material disposed in a portion of the pathway such that while the degradable material is present, the pressure drop for fluid flowing through the ICD is less than the pressure drop for fluid flowing through the ICD when the degradable material is not present (Fripp Fig 9 [0040] Flow restriction member formed to have a density that allows for unrestricted flow of one fluid and restricted flow for another fluid [0051] a first unobstructed flow condition between the inlet and outlet for a lower pressure drop during fluid flow and a second flow condition that restricts fluid flow through the flow control system to selectively restrict fluid flow not desired with a higher pressure drop due to fluid path restriction).
Fripp discloses in claim 12. A condition dependent self-configuring inflow control device (ICD) comprising: a movable member (Fripp Fig 9; 909) disposed in a fluid pathway of the ICD (Fripp [0051] restriction member disposed in the fluid pathway), the moveable member responsive only to a viscosity of a fluid flowing therethrough (Fripp [0031] [0035] fluid flow through the system can be resisted based on one or more characteristics including viscosity, velocity or density etc) and changing a pressure drop in a fluid flowing in the fluid pathway based upon a position of the movable member from a first pressure drop in the flowing fluid to a second pressure drop in the flowing fluid (Fripp Fig 9 [0040] Flow restriction member formed to have a density that allows for unrestricted flow of one fluid and restricted flow for another fluid [0051] a first unobstructed flow condition between the inlet and outlet for a lower pressure drop during fluid flow and a second flow condition that restricts fluid flow through the flow control system to selectively restrict fluid flow not desired with a higher pressure drop due to fluid path restriction); and a degradable material disposed in contact with the movable member to restrain the movable member in a position of a relatively lower pressure drop for fluids flowing through the ICD (Fripp Fig 9 [0051] a first unobstructed flow condition between the inlet and outlet for a lower pressure drop during fluid flow and a second flow condition that restricts fluid flow through the flow control system to selectively restrict fluid flow not desired with a higher pressure drop due to fluid path restriction [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member).
Fripp discloses in claim 13. A wellbore comprising: a borehole in a subsurface formation; a string (Fripp Fig 1; 22) in the borehole (Fripp Fig 1; 12); and a condition dependent self-configuring inflow control device (ICD) (Fripp Fig 1; 25 [0025] a tubular string in a wellbore, with inflow control devices) as claimed in claim 1 (From claim 1: a flow path having a first flow condition that flows both relatively lower and relatively higher viscosity fluids (Fripp Fig 9 [0051] a first flow condition that does not restrict fluid flow through the flow control system such as water and oil) and a second flow condition that flows only relatively higher viscosity fluids (Fripp Fig 9 [0040] Flow restriction member formed to have a density that allows for unrestricted flow of one fluid and restricted flow for another fluid [0051] a second flow condition that restricts fluid flow through the flow control system to selectively restrict fluid flow not desired), the path configured to change in response to a different fluid flow therethrough (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member); a degradable material disposed in the flow path that prevents the change until the degradable material is degraded (Fripp Fig 9 [0052] the flow path changing by restriction as a different fluid (such as an acid or solvent) flows and degrades a degradable material releasing the restriction member) disposed in the string
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments & arguments, filed 07/03/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-13 under 35 USC §112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 07/03/2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims 1-13 under Veselka (US Pub No 20200208496) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102(a)(1) of claims 1-13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 07/03/2025 regarding the claims 1-13 under Fripp (US Pub No 20190063185) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that “There is no teaching in Fripp of responsiveness to viscosity, nor would the structure disclosed lend itself to me modified to respond to viscosity.” As shown in the above rejection and in paragraph [0031] & [0035] Fripp teaches that the resistance to flow can be a variety of factors including viscosity. Therefore, the arguments and amendments to claim 12 are unpersuasive to overcome the rejection in view of Fripp.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS D WLODARSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672