Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Please amend claim 1 to include “A” at the beginning of the preamble.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, “an endless belt” has antecedent basis previously established within claim 3. Please amend the claim to clarify Applicant’s intent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 104368602) in view of Bader (WO 2014/165891A1)
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for producing a metal belt, wherein the metal belt is ground on at least one side over substantially the entire surface (see at least lines 21-29), comprising:
in a first step, a transverse curvature in the direction of the belt width is produced on the metal belt by a straightening operation (line 44: the coiled strip is expanded into a flat strip and fed; see also 127-130),
wherein a first side of the metal belt is convexly shaped (lines 49-55 disclose that a detecting probe is used to determine the distance L1 of the probe to the upper surface of the flat strip, distance L2 to the lower surface of the flat strip, and wherein L2 is used to determine the type of defect present, including surface depressions, surface protrusions, and concavo-convex deformation; see line 84, wherein when L2 < Ly, there is a surface convex defect on the lower surface of the flat steel strip) and a second side of the metal belt opposite the first side is at least planar or concave in shape (see lines 80-88, wherein when L1 > Lx, there is a surface depression defect on the upper surface of the flat steel strip), and
in a second step, by grinding of the metal belt, the course of the belt thickness D in the direction of the belt width is changed to a uniform course of a value of the belt thickness D (D(x)=constant) (lines 100-110; see also lines 224-229, wherein the grinding mechanism is used for grinding the upper and lower surfaces of the strip; see also lines 177-190).
While Chen discloses that the grinding mechanism (61) is used to grind upper and lower surfaces of the steel strip, Chen does not explicitly teach performing grinding using the grinding device (6) on the upper surface of the strip if it is determined that there is a concavity present on the upper surface.
From the same or similar field of endeavor of devices for producing metal strips of uniform thickness (see Abstract), Bader (WO 2014/165891A1) teaches of a second side of a metal belt that is at least planar or concave in shape (wherein there is a valley A which is concave in shape), and grinding the second side of the metal belt such that the belt thickness is changed to a uniform course (see at least page 2 of the English translation; wherein the surface in the valleys is additionally leveled by the grinding process; wherein deeper grinding of out of already existing valleys has less negative effects on the grinding result, and a positive effect occurs due to the equalization, and a metal strip with improved quality can be achieved; wherein page 6 discloses abrasively removing within the valley area A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chen to include grinding within concave areas, as taught by Bader. One would be motivated to do so because even deeper grinding out of already existing valleys has less negative effects on the grinding result and a positive effect occurs due to the equalization. Furthermore, a metal strip with improved quality can be achieved in fewer passes and thus more quickly to uniform thickness; see page 2 of the English translation of Bader.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Bader teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Chen further teaches wherein in the first step the transverse curvature of the metal belt is created with a concave shaped second side of the metal belt (Chen: see lines 80-88, wherein when L1 > Lx, there is a surface depression defect on the upper surface of the flat steel strip).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Bader teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Chen further teaches characterized in that grinding introduces a residual compressive stress into the metal belt that corresponds to a residual compressive stress introduced into the metal belt by straightening (Chen: see lines 44-47, 61-68, 106-110, 155-190, 231-236).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 104368602) in view of Bader (WO 2014/165891A1), and in further view of Berndorf (AT 517335 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Bader teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the metal belt is closed to form an endless belt before grinding the second side, by welding free ends of the endless belt or by a helical weld.
However from the same or similar field of endeavor, Berndorf (AT 517335 B1) teaches wherein the metal belt is closed to form an endless belt before grinding the second side, by welding free ends of the endless belt or by a helical weld (see pages 4, 9, 11 as well as Figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Chen to reflect a closed metal belt, as taught by Berndorf. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide an alternative type of workpiece, while still maintaining the ability to perform metal strip productions with or without welding; see page 4 of Berndorf. This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. closed metal belt production methods, to improve a similar device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Bader and Berndorf teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Chen further teaches wherein the endless belt is arranged to circulate between two rollers before grinding (see the combination statement as applied above, as well as rollers 17 and 18 in Figures 7 and 8 of Berndorf).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Bader and Berndorf teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Chen further teaches wherein the endless belt is moved relative to a belt grinding device during grinding (see the combination statement as applied above, as well as the grinding device taught within page 11 of Berndorf, and lines 44-47 of Chen).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Bader and Berndorf teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Chen further teaches wherein the metal belt is closed to an endless belt after straightening (Berndorf page 4: wherein a section is removed and the metal strip is welded back to an endless belt).
Conclusion
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723