DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 21-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/2/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-20 and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the abstract idea of managing a safety checklist which would fall under methods for organizing human activity or mental processes without significantly more (Step 2A, prong 1). The claim(s) recite(s) requesting a user to perform a safety check, receiving confirmation that the safety check has been performed, and checking the correctness of the answers to safety check questions as well as the time taken by the user to answer said questions. Validating a safety checklist answers can be performed in the human mind or via pen/paper.
Step 2A, prong 2: Is the abstract idea integrated into a practical application? This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because even though the claims recite hardware elements such as a processor, communication unit, and mobile device, they do it in a way that is highly general. They act as general tools to execute the abstract idea rather than improving the each of the recited structural components. The recited invention does not solve any technical problem with any novel technical solution.
Step 2B: Does the claims recite an inventive concept? The claim(s) lack an inventive concept. The recited structural elements such as the processor and a mobile device which communicates with an elevator controller via a communication unit perform nothing more than well-understood and conventional functions in the art.
The method claims 25-31 do not add any other limitation directed to a patent eligible subject matter. The claims are ejected for the same reasons as apparatus claims 16-20.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “questioning unit” in claims 16-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification fails to include an algorithm or step-by-step process describing how the recited functional checks are automated. The disclosure does not include the technical implementation of the recited method of operation. How is the processor programmed to determine correctness of the answers provided by the user or the time taken by the user to answer any questions?
Claims 16-20 and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In reference to the limitation directed to the “questioning unit”, the recited functional language is implemented via computer instructions on a mobile device. It is unclear how the ”questioning unit” generates the request to perform the safety check. The originally filed disclosure does not provide the necessary algorithm for performing the recited functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20 and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cortona et al (US Patent 10676318).
The pending claims have been rejected under 35 USC 112(a) and (b). It is unclear how the recited functions could be performed. The examiner will apply prior art to the invention as best understood by her.
Claims 16 and 25, Cortona et al teaches a mobile device for performing a safety check before operating an elevator, wherein the mobile device comprises a user interface 3 that includes an inherent “questioning unit” for sending a request 6 to an elevator control system 2, wherein the control system comprises a processor 11 and a receiving unit 10 for receiving the request 6 from the user interface 3. The control system 2 sends permission to an elevator maintenance technician via interface 3 to access the elevator system after it has performed at least two authentication checks of the user using interface 3.
Claims 17 and 26, Cortona et al teaches, for example col. 4 lines 7-19, that the communication unit in the user interface 3 communicates with elevator system 2 to control the elevator in the context of a maintenance issue (ending of a normal operation of the elevator).
Claims 18 and 27, Cortona et al describes in fig. 2 and corresponding description that the control system 2 would confirm the right of a user 5 to communicate with the control system 2 via interface 3. If the control system cannot verify that the user has an authorization to access the elevator system, then the control system will let the user know that access has been denied in various ways (message 7).
Claims 19 and 28, Cortona et al teaches a control system including a processor 11 and a memory unit 9. The specific data stored in the memory unit is considered a design choice and it is not given any patentable weight.
Claims 20 and 29, Cortona et al teaches the safety check performed by the user interface 3 and the elevator control system 2 is predetermined and save in memory 9.
Claim 30, Cortona et al teaches an elevator system comprising a controller 2 and a mobile device as described in the rejection of claim 25 above.
Claim 31, Cortona et al teaches an elevator system comprising a guard unit 8 (which can verify the authorization of the maintenance technician to access the elevator) and a mobile device as described in the rejection of claim 25 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The documents cited in the attached PTO-892 describe other elevators systems that include a user interface and a controller, wherein the controller monitors access to the elevator by a technician.
/RINA I DUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837