DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 18th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-18 remain pending in the application. Claims 12-17 remain withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to nonelected Group I. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al. (US 20190283528), hereinafter Ishida in view of Yamashita (US Patent No. 10,054,337), hereinafter Yamashita, Franco et al. (US Patent No. 10,414,505), hereinafter Franco, and Zeberg-Mikkelsen (WO 2016150664), hereinafter Zeberg-Mikkelsen.
Regarding claim 1, Ishida discloses a cooling system for a moving vehicle (Fig. 1, vehicle 1; Fig. 2, vehicle air conditioner 10), the cooling system comprising:
a compressor that compresses a refrigerant (Fig. 2, compressor 21; Pg. 6, paragraph 21, The compressor 21 is driven by electric power or engine power, and compresses and discharges a low- pressure gaseous refrigerant);
a condenser that condenses the refrigerant compressed by the compressor (Fig. 2, outdoor heat exchanger 22; Pg. 3, paragraph 36, The external heat exchanger 22 performs a heat exchange between external air and a high-temperature and high-pressure gas refrigerant that is discharged from the compressor 21);
an expansion valve that expands the refrigerant condensed by the condenser (Fig. 2, expansion valve 24; Pg. 3, paragraph 37, The expansion valve 24 reduces the pressure of the liquid refrigerant that flows in from the external heat exchanger 22 via the liquid reception container 23 and expands the refrigerant);
an evaporator that evaporates the refrigerant expanded by the expansion valve to cool a fluid in the moving vehicle (Fig. 2, evaporator 11; Pg. 4, paragraph 38, The evaporator 11 performs a heat exchange between the refrigerant which passes through the expansion valve 24 and air for air conditioning inside the air conditioner unit 12 and allows the refrigerant which finishes the heat exchange to return to the compressor 21);
a flow rate regulator that regulates a flow rate when a cooling fluid depending on an environment external to the moving vehicle is directed to the condenser (Fig. 1, rotatable louvers 26, shutter device 27, cooling fan 28; Pg. 4, paragraph 41, The controller 20 controls the rotation speed of the cooling fan 28 and an open-close state of the louver 26 of the shutter device 27 in a cooling operation time in response to the detection signals of the first temperature sensor 31 and the second temperature sensor 32);
an environmental temperature acquisition sensor that detects an environmental condition to acquire an environmental temperature to which the condenser is subjected by the cooling fluid (Fig. 2, second temperature sensor 32; Pg. 7, paragraph 24, A second temperature sensor 32 (vehicle environment temperature detection part) for determining a temperature (temperature outside the refrigerant circuit 13) under an installation environment of the refrigerant circuit 13 inside the vehicle 1 is provided outside the refrigerant circuit 13. A detection result (detection signal) that is determined by the second temperature sensor 32 is input to the controller 20);
a pressure sensor that detects pressure of the refrigerant at the condenser (Fig. 2, pressure sensor 35; Pg. 6, paragraph 62, The pressure sensor 35 determines the pressure of the refrigerant that flows in the expansion valve 24 in the refrigerant circuit 13);
a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the refrigerant downstream of the condenser (Fig. 1, first temperature sensor 31; Pg. 7, paragraph 24, first temperature sensor 31 (refrigerant temperature detection part) for determining the temperature of the refrigerant which flows into the expansion valve 24 is provided in the pipe of the refrigerant circuit 13); and
circuitry that performs first processing, the first processing being processing to regulate, based on the environmental temperature based on an output from the environmental temperature acquisition sensor and an output from the pressure sensor, the flow rate of the cooling fluid using the flow rate regulator so that the pressure of the refrigerant at the condenser is higher than saturation pressure of the refrigerant at the environmental temperature (Fig. 1, control device 20; Pg. 6, paragraph 64, The controller 20 compares a detection pressure (determined refrigerant pressure) by the pressure sensor 35 to a refrigerant saturation pressure corresponding to a detection temperature (determined external temperature) by the second temperature sensor 32 in the cooling operation time. The controller 20 obtains a pressure difference ΔPf between the detection pressure by the pressure sensor 35 and the refrigerant saturation pressure corresponding to the detection temperature by the second temperature sensor 32. When the pressure difference ΔPf exceeds a first set pressure difference αP, the controller 20 allows the air passing port 25 to be in an open state by the louver 26 and, in that state, operates the cooling fan 28 at a preset normal speed. When the pressure difference ΔPf is equal to or less than the first set pressure difference αP, the controller 20 reduces the rotation speed of the cooling fan 28 such that the cooling performance of the cooling fan 28 with respect to the external heat exchanger 22 is decreased. The rotation speed of the cooling fan 28 is reduced at a rate corresponding to the pressure difference ΔPf).
However, Ishida does not disclose the circuity to perform second processing, the second processing being processing to regulate, based on the output from the pressure sensor and an output from the temperature sensor, opening of the expansion valve so that the refrigerant downstream of the condenser is subcooled.
Yamashita teaches the circuity to perform second processing, the second processing being processing to regulate, based on the output from the pressure sensor and an output from the temperature sensor, opening of the expansion valve so that the refrigerant downstream of the condenser is subcooled (Fig. 2, vehicle air conditioner 10, second expansion device 16c, high-pressure refrigerant pressure sensor 38a; Col. 23, lines 24-32, In the mentioned process, the opening degree of the second expansion device 16c is controlled so as to keep a degree of subcooling at a constant level, the degree of subcooling representing a difference between the saturation temperature calculated from the pressure detected by the high-pressure refrigerant pressure sensor 38a and the temperature detected by the intermediate heat exchanger refrigerant temperature sensor 35e. Here, the bypass flow control device 14 is fully closed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ishida of claim 1 to perform second processing, the second processing being processing to regulate, based on the output from the pressure sensor and an output from the temperature sensor, opening of the expansion valve so that the refrigerant downstream of the condenser is subcooled as taught by Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for increased control of system operations based on sensor information to improve overall system efficiency.
Further, Ishida as modified does not disclose wherein the circuitry acquires a total temperature for the moving vehicle based on the output from the environmental temperature acquisition sensor, and performs the first processing with the acquired total temperature as the environmental temperature.
Franco teaches acquiring a total temperature for the moving vehicle based on the output from the environmental temperature acquisition sensor for use in environmental control operations (Fig. 2; Col. 3, lines 7-23, Total Air Temperature (TAT) (measured by a sensor external to and mounted on the fuselage, and indicative of the external ambient air stagnation temperature outside the aircraft), and (c) Flight Altitude. The result of this adaptive control is a four-dimensional (4D) air mass flow schedule map. The controller uses outside air temperature, aircraft altitude and number of occupants to determine the ECS airflow target for inflow into the aircraft cabin and associated bleed flow demand. The Primary control loop 202 calculates the airflow based on actual flight altitude and compensates for actual external air stagnation temperature and number of occupants. The primary control loop 202 uses a four-dimensional lookup table which provides a mass air flow schedule based on the three inputs/parameters. The primary control loop 202 calculates an ECS airflow based 4D schedule map that will control how much ECS airflow must be supplied to the cabin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the environmental temperature acquisition sensor of the cooling system of Ishida as modified to acquire a total temperature for the moving vehicle as taught by Franco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to optimize the ECS airflow demand by considering the actual aircraft operating conditions and external environment (Franco, Col. 2, lines 53-55); and
Wherein the pressure sensor includes a first pressure sensor disposed upstream of the condenser and a second pressure sensor disposed downstream of the condenser (Ishida, Fig. 2, pressure sensor 35; Yamashita, Fig. 2, high-pressure refrigerant pressure sensor 38a).
However, Ishida as modified does not explicitly disclose an output from the first pressure sensor is used in the first processing, and an output from the second pressure sensor is used in the second processing.
Ishida discloses the use of the pressure sensor 35 which is disposed downstream of the condenser for use in the first processing (Ishida, Pg. 6, paragraph 64, The controller 20 compares a detection pressure (determined refrigerant pressure) by the pressure sensor 35 to a refrigerant saturation pressure corresponding to a detection temperature (determined external temperature) by the second temperature sensor 32 in the cooling operation time. The controller 20 obtains a pressure difference ΔPf between the detection pressure by the pressure sensor 35 and the refrigerant saturation pressure corresponding to the detection temperature by the second temperature sensor 32. When the pressure difference ΔPf exceeds a first set pressure difference αP, the controller 20 allows the air passing port 25 to be in an open state by the louver 26 and, in that state, operates the cooling fan 28 at a preset normal speed. When the pressure difference ΔPf is equal to or less than the first set pressure difference αP, the controller 20 reduces the rotation speed of the cooling fan 28 such that the cooling performance of the cooling fan 28 with respect to the external heat exchanger 22 is decreased. The rotation speed of the cooling fan 28 is reduced at a rate corresponding to the pressure difference ΔPf).
Yamashita discloses the use of high-pressure sensor 38a which is disposed upstream of the condenser for use in the second processing (Yamashita, Col. 23, lines 24-32, In the mentioned process, the opening degree of the second expansion device 16c is controlled so as to keep a degree of subcooling at a constant level, the degree of subcooling representing a difference between the saturation temperature calculated from the pressure detected by the high-pressure refrigerant pressure sensor 38a and the temperature detected by the intermediate heat exchanger refrigerant temperature sensor 35e. Here, the bypass flow control device 14 is fully closed).
Zeberg-Mikkelsen teaches pressure sensors disposed upstream and downstream of a condenser to be interchangeably used in system processing operations (Fig. 1, condenser 3, second pressure sensor 7b, third pressure sensor 7c; Pg. 10, lines 4-6, Based on the pressure measurements performed by the second pressure sensor 7b and/or by the third pressures sensor 7c, an estimate for the pressure of the refrigerant condensing and passing through the condenser 3 can be obtained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ishida as modified to use an output from the first pressure sensor in the first processing and an output from the second pressure sensor in the second processing as taught by Zeberg-Mikkelsen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide more detailed information about refrigerant states throughout the system to improve overall system control functions.
Regarding claim 3, Ishida as modified discloses the cooling system for the moving vehicle
according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein
the second processing is processing to acquire a saturation temperature corresponding to the pressure of the refrigerant at the condenser based on the output from the pressure sensor, compare the saturation temperature and the temperature of the refrigerant downstream of the condenser based on the output from the temperature sensor, and regulate, based on a result of the comparison, the opening of the expansion valve so that the refrigerant downstream of the condenser is sub-cooled (Yamashita, Fig. 2, vehicle air conditioner 10, second expansion device 16c; Col. 23, lines 24-32, In the mentioned process, the opening degree of the second expansion device 16c is controlled so as to keep a degree of subcooling at a constant level, the degree of subcooling representing a difference between the saturation temperature calculated from the pressure detected by the high-pressure refrigerant pressure sensor 38a and the temperature detected by the intermediate heat exchanger refrigerant temperature sensor 35e. Here, the bypass flow control device 14 is fully closed). Further, the limitations of claim 3 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Ishida as modified discloses the cooling system for the moving vehicle
according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein
the flow rate regulator includes a fan that delivers the cooling fluid (Ishida, Fig. 1, rotatable louvers 26, shutter device 27, cooling fan 28).
Regarding claim 7, Ishida as modified discloses the cooling system for the moving vehicle
according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein
the circuitry is physically configured as a single computer that performs the first processing and the second processing (Ishida, Fig. 1, controller 20; Ishida only discloses one controller to be used in the processing of its control operations and would maintain the same physical configuration when reprogrammed to include the second processing as described herein). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to only utilize a single computer for several processing operation of a cooling system as a simple expedient to minimize equipment (MPEP 2144.04, Section II, Paragraph A).
Regarding claim 9, Ishida as modified discloses the cooling system for the moving vehicle
according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Ishida as modified does not disclose wherein the moving vehicle is an aircraft, an underwater propulsion vehicle, or a railroad vehicle.
Franco teaches the use of air conditioning systems in aircrafts (Fig. 1, aircraft fuselage 101, air conditioning units 108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system used in a generic vehicle of Ishida as modified to be used in an aircraft as taught by Franco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to maintain proper fresh airflow, pressurization and temperature within the aircraft to support human life and comfort even when the aircraft is flying at high altitudes of low external ambient air pressure and temperature (Franco, Col. 4, lines 47-51).
Regarding claim 10, Ishida discloses the moving vehicle with the cooling system (Ishida, Fig. 1, vehicle 1; Fig. 2, vehicle air conditioner 10) comprising:
the cooling system for the moving vehicle according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above); and
the moving vehicle that is movable with the cooling system for the moving vehicle being incorporated therein (Ishida, Fig. 1, vehicle 1; Fig. 2, vehicle air conditioner 10; Pg. 3, paragraph 24, FIG. 1 is a view showing a schematic configuration of a front part of a vehicle 1 that includes a vehicle air conditioner 10 (hereinafter, referred to as an "air conditioner 10") of the first embodiment). Further, the teachings of Ishida are interpreted herein as an implicit disclosure of the vehicle 1 being able to move (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 11, Ishida as modified discloses the moving vehicle with the cooling system
according to claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Ishida as modified does not disclose wherein the moving vehicle is an aircraft, an underwater propulsion vehicle, or a railroad vehicle.
Franco teaches the use of air conditioning systems in aircrafts (Fig. 1, aircraft fuselage 101, air conditioning units 108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system used in a generic vehicle of Ishida as modified to be used in an aircraft as taught by Franco. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to maintain proper fresh airflow, pressurization and temperature within the aircraft to support human life and comfort even when the aircraft is flying at high altitudes of low external ambient air pressure and temperature (Franco, Col. 4, lines 47-51).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida as modified by Yamashita, Franco, and Zeberg-Mikkelsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cikanek et al. (US Patent No. 8,015,833), hereinafter Cikanek.
Regarding claim 4, Ishida as modified discloses the cooling system for the moving vehicle
according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Ishida as modified does not disclose the cooling system further comprising
a cooling temperature detection sensor that detects a cooling temperature at the evaporator, wherein
the circuitry performs third processing to control the compressor based on an output from the cooling temperature detection sensor and a target cooling temperature.
Cikanek teaches the cooling system further comprising
a cooling temperature detection sensor that detects a cooling temperature at the evaporator (Fig. 1, sensor 28b; Col. 1, lines 62-63, The sensor 28b senses the temperature of the evaporator 16), wherein
the circuitry performs third processing to control the compressor based on an output from the cooling temperature detection sensor and a target cooling temperature (Fig. 5; Col. 3-4, lines 50-9; That is, the controller 26 may select, in this example, an initial target evaporator temperature of 38° C. Other suitable techniques, however, may also be used. As indicated at 34, compressor speed is determined. Initially, the controller 26 may determine the compressor speed based on the actual evaporator temperature, information from sensors 28c-28e, etc. Subsequently, the controller 26 may compute a difference between the actual and target evaporator temperatures and, based on this difference, determine a compressor speed using any suitable technique: a look-up table mapping differences in actual and target evaporator temperatures with compressor speed, analytical techniques relating differences in actual and target evaporator temperatures with compressor speed, etc. As indicated at 36, the compressor 14 is operated at the speed determined at 34. The controller 26 may command the compressor 14 to operate at the determined speed. This command may be honored until a new speed is determined. The duration of the interval, e.g., 100 milliseconds, may depend design considerations. Any suitable interval, however, may be selected. As indicated at 38, it is determined whether the actual and final target evaporator temperatures are equal. The controller 26 may receive input from the temperature sensor 28b and compare that with the final target evaporator temperature determined at 30. If they are approximately the same, the strategy may end. If not, the strategy may proceed to 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system of Ishida as modified to include a cooling temperature detection sensor and to reprogram the controller of Ishida as modified to perform third processing to control the compressor based on an output from the cooling temperature detection sensor and a target cooling temperature as taught by Cikanek. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve desired cabin temperatures (Cikanek, Col. 2, lines 12-15).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida as modified by Yamashita, Franco, and Zeberg-Mikkelsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakane (WO 2018123289), hereinafter Sakane.
Regarding claim 8, Ishida as modified discloses the cooling system for the moving vehicle
according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), the cooling system further comprising:
an internal cooling flow rate regulator that regulates a flow rate when the fluid in the moving vehicle is directed to the evaporator (Ishida, Fig. 2, blower 16; Pg. 3, paragraph 30, The blower 16 is driven, for example, in response to a drive voltage that is applied by a control by a controller 20 and sends air for air conditioning (at least one of internal air and external air) that is introduced into the duct 15 via the air intake port 18 toward the downstream side).
However, Ishida as modified does not disclose, the cooling system further comprising:
a third pressure sensor that detects pressure of the refrigerant downstream of the evaporator;
an evaporator downstream refrigerant temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the refrigerant downstream of the evaporator; and
the circuity regulates, based on an output from the third pressure sensor and an output from the evaporator downstream refrigerant temperature sensor, the flow rate of the fluid in the moving vehicle using the internal cooling flow rate regulator so that the refrigerant downstream of the evaporator is superheated.
Sakane teaches the cooling system further comprising:
a third pressure sensor that detects pressure of the refrigerant downstream of the evaporator (Fig. 3, heat exchanger 740, pressure sensor 61);
an evaporator downstream refrigerant temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the refrigerant downstream of the evaporator (Fig. 3, temperature sensor 62); and
the circuity regulates, based on an output from the third pressure sensor and an output from the evaporator downstream refrigerant temperature sensor, the flow rate of the fluid in the moving vehicle using the internal cooling flow rate regulator so that the refrigerant downstream of the evaporator is superheated (Pg. 15, paragraph 71, The acquisition unit 125 is a part that acquires the degree of superheat of the refrigerant discharged from the outdoor heat exchanger 740. The acquisition unit 125 acquires the refrigerant pressure measured by the pressure sensor 61 and the refrigerant temperature measured by the temperature sensor 62, and based on these, the refrigerant immediately after being discharged from the outdoor heat exchanger 740 is acquired. Get superheat. The “superheat degree” is a temperature difference between the temperature of the refrigerant (superheated steam) discharged from the outdoor heat exchanger 740 and the saturation temperature of the refrigerant at the same pressure as the refrigerant, so-called “superheat”. It is also called. The degree of superheat acquired by the acquisition unit 125 is input to the control unit 130; Pg. 28, paragraphs 136-138, In the block B5, the target opening is corrected in advance based on the operating state of the electric fan 40 input from the block B6. This process is executed by the control unit 130. The “operating state of the electric fan 40” is the number of rotations of the electric fan 40. In block B5, the target opening degree is corrected so that the opening degree of the shutter device 20 decreases as the rotational speed of the electric fan 40 increases. For this reason, for example, when the electric fan 40 is over-rotated, the amount of air passing through the outdoor heat exchanger 740 becomes too large, and the degree of superheat is prevented from deviating from the target value. Is done. The parameter used as the “operating state of the electric fan 40” may be the rotational speed of the electric fan 40 as in the present embodiment, but indirectly indicates the rotational speed of the electric fan 40. May be. For example, the current value flowing through the fan motor 42 may be used as the “operating state of the electric fan 40”. Thus, in the control unit 130 according to the present embodiment, control is performed to change the opening degree of the shutter device 20 in accordance with the rotational speed of the electric fan 40 that sends air into the outdoor heat exchanger 740. Specifically, the control unit 130 performs a process of reducing the opening degree of the shutter device 20 as the rotational speed of the electric fan 40 increases. Thus, even when the operating state of the electric fan 40 changes and the air volume varies, the degree of superheat can be reliably brought close to the target value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system of Ishida as modified to include a third pressure sensor and an evaporator downstream refrigerant temperature sensor and reprogram the controller of Ishida as modified wherein the circuity regulates, based on an output from the third pressure sensor and an output from the evaporator downstream refrigerant temperature sensor, the flow rate of the fluid in the moving vehicle using the internal cooling flow rate regulation device so that the refrigerant downstream of the evaporator is superheated as taught by Sakane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order maintain a desired superheat in order to prevent the operation of the cooling system from being hindered by either too low or too high superheat (Sakane, Pg. 1, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 18, Ishida as modified discloses the cooling system for the moving vehicle
according to claim 8 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above), wherein
the internal cooling flow rate regulator includes a fan that delivers the cooling fluid (Ishida, Fig. 2, blower 16; Pg. 3, paragraph 30, The blower 16 is driven, for example, in response to a drive voltage that is applied by a control by a controller 20 and sends air for air conditioning (at least one of internal air and external air) that is introduced into the duct 15 via the air intake port 18 toward the downstream side).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 18th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 5 (as numbered by Applicant) of the Remarks, “That is, Zeberg-Mikkelsen merely discloses that an appropriate estimate for one pressure prevailing inside the condenser can be obtained by the pressure of the refrigerant entering the condenser or leaving the condenser. Accordingly, even in view of Zeberg-Mikkelsen, one skilled in the art would merely use one pressure inside the condenser estimated as precise by the pressure of the refrigerant entering the condenser or leaving the condenser as a common value for both of the first processing and the second processing. Therefore, even in view of Zeberg-Mikkelsen, Applicant respectfully submits that one of ordinary skill in the art cannot reach that "an output from the first pressure sensor is used in the first processing, and an output from the second pressure sensor is used in the second processing" as required by claim 1 of the instant application.”
However, this argument is not persuasive as neither of the pressure sensor of Ishida which is disposed downstream of the condenser, nor the pressure sensor of Yamashita which is disposed upstream of the condenser are concerned with the pressure prevailing within the condenser. More specifically, the pressure sensor 35 of Ishida is placed downstream of the condenser to detected pressure entering the expansion valve (Ishida, Pg. 6, paragraph 63, The pressure sensor 35 determines the pressure of the refrigerant that flows in the expansion valve 24 in the refrigerant circuit 13) and the high-pressure refrigerant pressure sensor 38a of Yamashita is placed upstream of the condenser to detect pressures at the discharge of the compressor (Yamashita, Col. 8, lines 59-62, The high-pressure refrigerant pressure sensor 38a is provided in the discharge flow path of the compressor 10a, to detect the pressure of the second refrigerant discharged from the compressor 10a). Therefore, the teachings of Zeberg-Mikkelsen which disclose pressure sensors disposed upstream and downstream of a condenser to be interchangeably used in system processing operations (Fig. 1, condenser 3, second pressure sensor 7b, third pressure sensor 7c; Pg. 10, lines 4-6, Based on the pressure measurements performed by the second pressure sensor 7b and/or by the third pressures sensor 7c, an estimate for the pressure of the refrigerant condensing and passing through the condenser 3 can be obtained) would not suggest that a common prevailing pressure value be used in the first processing and second processing as the first processing disclosed by Ishida (Pg. 6, paragraph 64, The controller 20 compares a detection pressure (determined refrigerant pressure) by the pressure sensor 35 to a refrigerant saturation pressure corresponding to a detection temperature (determined external temperature) by the second temperature sensor 32 in the cooling operation time. The controller 20 obtains a pressure difference ΔPf between the detection pressure by the pressure sensor 35 and the refrigerant saturation pressure corresponding to the detection temperature by the second temperature sensor 32. When the pressure difference ΔPf exceeds a first set pressure difference αP, the controller 20 allows the air passing port 25 to be in an open state by the louver 26 and, in that state, operates the cooling fan 28 at a preset normal speed. When the pressure difference ΔPf is equal to or less than the first set pressure difference αP, the controller 20 reduces the rotation speed of the cooling fan 28 such that the cooling performance of the cooling fan 28 with respect to the external heat exchanger 22 is decreased. The rotation speed of the cooling fan 28 is reduced at a rate corresponding to the pressure difference ΔPf) and the second processing disclosed by Yamashita (Yamashita, Col. 23, lines 24-32, In the mentioned process, the opening degree of the second expansion device 16c is controlled so as to keep a degree of subcooling at a constant level, the degree of subcooling representing a difference between the saturation temperature calculated from the pressure detected by the high-pressure refrigerant pressure sensor 38a and the temperature detected by the intermediate heat exchanger refrigerant temperature sensor 35e. Here, the bypass flow control device 14 is fully closed) are not concerned with a prevailing pressure within the condenser, but pressures on either side of the condenser. Moreover, the teachings of Zeberg-Mikkelsen merely suggest to a PHOSTIA that pressure sensors on either side of a condenser can be used in system processing operations to adjust pressures within the condenser and refrigerant subcooling (Pg. 10, lines 4-12, Based on the pressure measurements performed by the second pressure sensor 7b and/or by the third pressures sensor 7c, an estimate for the pressure of the refrigerant condensing and passing through the condenser 3 can be obtained . Based thereon, and knowing which kind of refrigerant is flowing in the refrigerant path, a condensing temperature of the refrigerant flowing through the condenser 3 can be derived. Using the derived condensing temperature and the temperature measurements performed by the third temperature sensor 6c, a subcooling value for the refrigerant leaving the condenser 3 can be obtained as the difference between the condensing temperature and the actual temperature of refrigerant leaving the condenser 3).
Further, in response to applicant's argument that “According to the instant invention, a technical effect which cannot be realized by the combination of prior art references cited is whereby the first processing and the second processing can be appropriately carried out in consideration of pressure loss by adopting the claim 1 configuration. Zeberg-Mikkelsen does nothing to cure this defect with respect to Ishida in view of Yamashita and Franco. Therefore, because the combination of lshida in view of Yamashita, Franco, and Zeberg-Mikkelsen does not teach or suggest the feature of claim 1 of the instant application calling for wherein an output from the first pressure sensor is used in the first processing, and an output from the second pressure sensor is used in the second processing, the combination cannot possibly obviate this claim. Correspondingly, claims 3, 6, 7 and 9-11 are also patentable in view of at least the dependency from claim 1”, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Additionally, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The rejection of independent claim 1 is maintained. The rejections of dependent claims 3-4, 6-11, and 18 are also maintained for at least the reasons described herein.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 July 16th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763