DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IIB, a composition comprising two bacteria in the reply filed on October 23, 2025 is acknowledged.
Due to the confusing nature of the claim language, applicant was required to elect a single and specific bacteria or single and specific combination of bacteria, each bacteria population represented by a single SEQ ID NO. Applicant elected SEQ ID NO: 292 but did not elect a sequence for the second bacteria. For purposes of search, SEQ ID NO: 233 was selected by the examiner.
Applicant further elected the activity recited in claim 24 (i) wherein the bacteria are capable of reducing vancomycin resistant Enterococcus (VRE) or carbapenem resistant Enterococcus (CRE) carriage and restore colonization resistance in the GI tract of a mammal.
Claims 1 and 24 read on the elected subject matter.
Newly submitted claims 136 – 144 are considered directed to compositions that are independent and distinct from the elected invention. Specifically, claim 136 and its dependents change the elected composition from 2 bacteria to 16 unspecified “species or strains.” Despite the recitation of SEQ ID NOs in claim 143, it is iterated that the election requirement required a single and specific combination of bacteria which may be represented by a single or single and specific combination of SEQ ID NOs. Claim 143 fails to recite a single and/or single and specific combination of single SEQ ID NOs. Likewise, claim 144 fails to be drawn to the elected combination of 2 bacteria represented by a single or single and specific combination of bacteria, but requires any combination of 14 bacterial species or strains expressing any number of sequence variations within the recited 102 different sequences.
In a voice message from applicant’s representative, Adil Moghal, on October 24, 2025, it was clarified that the various claimed SEQ ID NOs within the various recited bacteria populations having 97% identity thereto correspond to the same species.
However, it is noted that the claimed SEQ ID NOs are disclosed as 16S-V4 sequence data which define OTUs (0121, 0255, 0424 of the published application), which are defined as closely related organisms that may or may not be the same species and/or strains. Moreover, a bacterial strain having at least 97% identity to SEQ ID NO: 292 may reflect two distinct but very closely related species. (See Beiko, p.674). Further, based on the current record, it is not clear whether the various claimed groups of SEQ ID NOs are limited to a single strain or even species. Thus, each of the claimed SEQ ID NOs are considered independent and distinct bacterial populations.
Claims 41, 44, 47 – 48, 68, 75, 82, 109 have been canceled; claims 136 – 144 are added; claims 1, 7, 9, 14, 16, 18, 21, 24, 31 – 32, 35, 40 and 136 – 144 are pending; claims 7, 9, 14, 16, 18, 21, 31 – 32, 35, 40 and 136 – 144 are withdrawn as non elected subject matter; claims 1 and 24 have been considered on the merits insofar as they read on the elected group.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 28, 2023 and October 23, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
Figure 4F is titled “Contin.” However no Figure 4 is included;
Figure 19J spans two pages however does not indicate a “Contin.’;
Figure 21 A – D appears to be missing a label for E and F.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0182, “sylitol” should read “xylitol.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Based on both the voice mail from applicant’s representative specified above and Table A of the instant specification, elected SEQ ID NO: 292 is interpreted as representing Dorea longicatena and SEQ ID NO: 233 is interpreted as representing Blautia hominis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The specification does not provide clear evidence that the claimed biological material is known and readily available to the public; reproducible; and deposited per the deposit rules under 37 C.F.R 1.801 - 1.809.
Every patent must contain a written description of the invention sufficient to enable a person skilled in the art to which the invention pertains to make and use the invention. Where the invention involves a biological material and words alone cannot sufficiently describe how to make and use the invention in a reproducible manner, access to the biological material may be necessary for the satisfaction of the statutory requirements for patentability under 35 U.S.C. 112. Courts have recognized the necessity and desirability of permitting an applicant for a patent to supplement the written disclosure in an application with a deposit of biological material which is essential to meet some requirement of the statute with respect to the claimed invention. See, e.g., Ajinomoto Co. v. Archer-Daniels-Midland Co., 228 F.3d 1338, 1345-46, 56 USPQ2d 1332, 1337-38 (Fed. Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 121 S.Ct. 1957 (2001) (explaining how deposit may help satisfy enablement requirement); Merck and Co., Inc. v. Chase Chemical Co., 273 F. Supp. 68, 155 USPQ 139 (D. N.J. 1967); In re Argoudelis, 434 F.2d 666, 168 USPQ 99 (CCPA 1970). To facilitate the recognition of deposited biological material in patent applications throughout the world, the Budapest Treaty on the International Recognition of the Deposit of Microorganisms for the Purposes of Patent Procedure was established in 1977, and became operational in 1981. The Treaty requires signatory countries, like the United States, to recognize a deposit with any depository which has been approved by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
The deposit rules (37 CFR 1.801 - 1.809) set forth examining procedures and conditions of deposit which must be satisfied in the event a deposit is required. The rules do not address the substantive issue of whether a deposit is required under any particular set of facts. (MPEP 2402).
Since the microorganisms represented by SEQ ID NO: 292 and 233 are recited in the claims, it is essential to the invention recited in those claims. It must therefore be obtainable by a repeatable method set forth in the specification or otherwise be readily available to the public. If the microorganism is not so obtainable or available, a deposit of the microorganism may satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112. The specification does not disclose a repeatable process to obtain the microorganism and it is not apparent if the microorganism is readily available to the public.
However, a deposit may be made (e.g. Table A identifies strains 111-35 and KB1) under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, along with an affidavit or declaration by Applicants, someone associated with the patent owner who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his/her signature and registration number, stating that the specific strain has been deposited under the Budapest Treaty and that all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent, would satisfy the deposit requirements. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.808.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more.
Step 1: Yes, the claims are directed to a composition comprising two purified bacterial populations.
Step 2A Prong 1: Yes, the claims are directed to composition of bacteria which is a product of nature. Applicant isolates the claimed bacteria from human feces (0067, 0070, 0076, 0135, 0150 of the published application), indicating the bacteria are found together in their natural habitat in nature. Although the claims recite the bacteria are a “purified population” there is no evidence of record that indicates the purified populations display characteristics (e.g., function, activities, physical or chemical properties or structure) that are markedly different from their natural counterpart other than volume of CFUs.
Step 2A Prong 2: No, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate bacterial populations into a practical application. Although claim 24 recites the bacteria have the capability of reducing VRE and CRE carriage and restore colonization resistance in the GI tract of an animal, this activity is considered a law of nature or natural phenomena. See MPEP 2106.04(b) vii.
Step 2B: No, the claims fail to recite any additional elements that amount to significantly more than the two purified populations of bacteria.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Nandakumar et al. (WO 2019/036510, cited by US 11701394) as evidence by Sequence Search Result 12 US 16639492A.
Regarding claim 1, Nandakumar teaches compositions comprising Dorea longicatena and Blautia producta (col.2 line 60 – col.3 line 20, Table 2, claims). Per the sequence search comparison, the sequence for B. producta disclosed by Nandakumar shared 99.5% identity with the claimed SEQ ID NO: 233. Although the reference does not teach D. longicatena shares at least 97% with SEQ ID NO: 292, they are the same species. As such, they must also contain an identity at the species level of 97%.
Regarding claim 24, although the reference does not teach the bacteria have the claimed activity, they are regarded as the same species and would inherently also have the capability of reducing VRE and CRE carriage and restore colonization resistance in the GI tract of an animal.
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (US 2017/0354697) as evidenced by Sequence Search Results 1 and 2 US 15630088.
Regarding claim 1, Schneider teaches compositions comprising Dorea longicatena and Blautia producta (0009, 0020, 0030 – 0031, Table 1), wherein D. longicatena SEQ ID NO: 148 has 99.9% identity to the claimed SEQ ID NO: 292 and B. producta SEQ ID NO: 19 has 99.9% identity to the claimed SEQ ID NO: 233 (see search results 1, 2).
Regarding claim 24, Schneider teaches the compositions reduce VRE and CRE, or reduce VRE/CRE carriage (0082) and restore colonization in the GI tract (0125).
The reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 9 – 11, 14 and 15 – 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11701394. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the issued patent and pending application claim compositions comprising Dorea longicatena and Blautia producta which share at least 97% identity with the claimed sequences based on search result 12 and the fact that 97% identity of the claimed sequences indicates the same species. Although the reference patent does not teach the bacteria have the claimed activity, they are regarded as the same species and would inherently also have the capability of reducing VRE and CRE carriage and restore colonization resistance in the GI tract of an animal.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699