Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is the first office action on the merits and is responsive to the papers filed 05/ 25/2023 . Claims 1-12 are currently pending and examined below. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement submitted by Applicant is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits. Claim Objections Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9, last line “ one of the preceding claims ” should be removed. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1, 4, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernd Damhofer (DE 102013205605 A1, “ Damhofer ”) in view of Stigwall et al. (US 20180372481 A1, “ Stigwall ”). Regarding claim 1, Damhofer teaches a method for operating a detection apparatus for determining distance variables which characterize distances from objects detected by the detection apparatus, thein which method comprising: generating at least one scanning signal from at least one amplitude-modulated electrical transmission signal and is transmitted into at least one monitoring region of the detection apparatus ( Damhofer teaches a TOF system having a transmitting unit/illumination module with a light source and beam-shaping optics, where the light source is driven by a modulation signal and emits an amplitude-modulated signal toward the object (FIG. 1, S(p1); [0017]–[0018]).), at least one amplitude-modulated electrical reception signal is ascertained from at least one echo signal of at least one scanning signal reflected in the at least one monitoring region ( Damhofer teaches that the emitted signal is reflected by the object and reaches the TOF photosensor as a phase-shifted received signal, and the received light is processed in the sensor (FIG. 1, S(p2); [0018].), at least one distance variable is ascertained from at least one electrical transmission signal (36) and at least one electrical reception signal (44) ( Damhofer teaches that the propagation time / distance is determined on the basis of the phase shift of emitted and received light, with the modulator jointly acting on the light source and photosensor ([0018]).), wherein, when ascertaining the at least one distance variable, at least one adjustment is carried out ( Damhofer teaches that measured or determined distance values are compensated based on the temperature measured at the illumination or directly at the light sources ([0025]– [0026]).), Damhofer fails to explicitly teach wherein a temperature adjustment is carried out in which at least one temperature adjustment variable is applied to at least one distance variable ( D Fkorr ), which temperature adjustment variable is specified individually for the at least one distance variable and a prevailing temperature. However, Stigwall teaches applying a temperature-dependent compensation value to measured position/distance data. In particular, Stigwall teaches deriving calibration data over a set of calibration temperatures by capturing measurements at those temperatures and deriving compensation data therefrom. Stigwall further teaches that the calibration data may comprise a look-up table or matrix providing a set of compensation distance values , wherein a particular compensation distance value is identifiable based on a selection of a defined temperature and correspondingly assigned coordinates , and that values between grid nodes may be interpolated to provide a continuous compensation function [0094], [101]-[102]. Thus, Stigwall teaches a temperature adjustment variable that is selected individually for a particular measured distance-related value/coordinate and the prevailing temperature , and then applied as compensation to improve measurement accuracy. It would have been obvious to modify Damhofer’s temperature-based compensation of TOF distance measurements with Stigwall’s lookup-table/interpolation-based temperature compensation, because Stigwall teaches that using temperature-indexed compensation values, including interpolated values between stored calibration points, improves measurement accuracy under thermal drift ([0022]). Doing so would have predictably improved the accuracy and reliability of Damhofer’s temperature-corrected TOF distance measurements. Regarding claim 4, Damhofer in view of Stigwall , teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein adjustment variables ( Temp kor ) from at least one adjustment table are used for the temperature adjustment and/or for the signal shape adjustment. Damhofer teaches temperature-based compensation of measured distance values in a TOF phase-measurement system ([0025]-[0026]). Stigwall teaches a lookup table or matrix of compensation distance values selected based on temperature and assigned coordinates, with interpolation between grid nodes ([0101]- [0102]), thereby teaching adjustment variables from an adjustment table for temperature adjustment. Regarding claim 7, Damhofer in view of Stigwall , teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein, if no individual temperature adjustment variable is present for a distance variable for the prevailing temperature, an appropriate temperature adjustment variable is ascertained by interpolation from present temperature adjustment variables. Regarding claim 8, Damhofer in view of Stigwall , teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one electromagnetic scanning signal is generated from at least one electrical transmission signal ( Damhofer’s modulator drives the light source with a modulation signal, and the light source emits an amplitude-modulated signal / electromagnetic radiation toward the object (FIG. 1; [0017]– [0018].). Claim 9 is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1. It is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 10, Damhofer in view of Stigwall , teaches the detection apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein the detection apparatus has at least one temperature adjustment means by which a temperature adjustment is carried out ( Damhofer teaches an evaluation unit connected to temperature sensors, with temperature measured in the vicinity of the light source (FIG. 2, evaluation unit 100, temperature sensors 60, 61; [0005], [0010], [0019]). Damhofer also teaches compensating measured distance values based on that measured temperature ([0026]) and further teaches comparing the temperature sensors and triggering fault reactions [0033]- [0034]). Claims 2-3, 5-6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damhofer in view of Stigwall and Huber et al. (US 20140160459 A1, “Huber”). Regarding claim 2, Damhofer in view of Stigwall , fails to explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one distance variable is ascertained on the assumption that the at least one amplitude-modulated transmission signal and the at least one amplitude-modulated reception signal each have basic envelope curve shapes, and at least one signal shape adjustment is carried out in which deviations of real envelope curve shapes of the transmission signals and of the reception signals from the basic envelope curve shapes are adjusted. Damhofer teaches a TOF system in which distance information is determined from the phase difference of emitted and received signals and further teaches compensating distance values in view of temperature-related phase drift ([0018], [0025]- [0026]). While, Huber teaches that the waveform of the modulation signal and/or correlation signals may take various forms, including triangular, sawtooth, trapezoidal, rectangular, or sinusoidal, and further teaches that, in the case of a non-rectangular profile of the modulation and/or correlation signals, the calculation apparatus may be supplemented by a correction function or a correction table ([0009]). Huber also teaches that the calculation of distance/phase is based on the assumed signal shape used in the linear dependence of the calculation ([0030]) and that even sinusoidal correlation signals may be treated, for purposes of the calculation, as rectangular signals ([0090]). Thus, Huber teaches/suggests calculating the distance on the basis of basic assumed signal shapes and applying a correction to account for deviations of the actual signal shapes therefrom. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Huber’s waveform-shape correction into Damhofer’s TOF system in order to improve the accuracy of the phase-based distance determination when the actual transmitted/received signal shapes differ from the idealized shapes assumed in the distance calculation. Regarding claim 3, Damhofer in view of Stigwall and Huber, teaches the method as claimed in claim 2, wherein sinusoidal curve shapes are used as basic envelope curve shapes for at least one transmission signal and at least one reception signal and/or triangular curve shapes, sawtooth curve shapes or the like are used as real envelope curve shapes (Huber teaches that the modulation signal can be a sinusoidal signal and further teaches that the waveform of the modulation signal and/or the correlation signals can be embodied as a triangular form , a sawtooth form , a trapezoidal form, or a rectangular form ([0009]). Huber further teaches that sinusoidal correlation signals may be used and, for purposes of the calculation, may be considered as rectangular signals without changing the validity of the linear dependence ([0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the specific waveform options taught by Huber in the TOF system of Damhofer because Huber teaches that such waveform selections and associated correction improve the practical implementation and accuracy of TOF distance calculations and a design choice.). Regarding claim 5, Damhofer in view of Stigwall , fails to explicitly teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one reception signal is detected at a plurality of temporally defined recording time ranges and a distance variable is ascertained from reception variables assigned to the respective recording time ranges. Damhofer teaches a TOF system in which distance is determined from the phase difference of emitted and received signals ([0018]). Huber teaches generating a modulation signal and four correlation signals having the same period as the modulation signal, correlating the received radiation with the four correlation signals to form four corresponding correlation values, and determining distance from difference correlation values formed from those correlation values ( [0005], [0046], [0062]-[0064]). Huber further teaches that the correlation signals are phase shifted relative to one another, including by quarter-period increments, and that the measurement may be carried out in first and second measurement phases using different phase relationships of the correlation signals ([0022]- [0026], [0050]- [0052], [0108]- [0114]). Thus, Huber teaches/suggests detecting the reception signal at a plurality of temporally defined recording time ranges and ascertaining a distance variable from reception variables assigned to those respective time ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ Huber’s phase-defined correlation intervals in Damhofer’s phase-based TOF system in order to improve timing definition and distance-calculation accuracy. Regarding claim 6, Damhofer in view of Stigwall and Huber, teaches the method as claimed in claim 5, wherein at least some of the defined recording time ranges are placed at characteristic points of the transmission envelope curve of the at least one transmission signal. Huber teaches generating a modulation signal and four correlation signals having the same period as the modulation signal, wherein one correlation signal has the same phase as the modulation signal and the remaining correlation signals are phase shifted by quarter-period increments relative thereto ([0005], [0022]- [0023], [0050]). Huber further teaches using correlation values associated with phase positions corresponding to 0 , 1/4 period , 1/2 period , and 3/4 period relative to the modulation signal, including operation in distinct measurement phases using those defined phase positions ([0024]-[0026], [0051]-[0052], [0057]-[0062], [0108]-[0114]). Because these recording/correlation intervals are fixed relative to the transmission waveform, Huber teaches/suggests placing at least some of the recording time ranges at characteristic points of the transmission envelope curve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Huber’s phase-defined timing points in Damhofer’s phase-based TOF system in order to provide precise, repeatable timing intervals for reception-signal evaluation and thereby improve the accuracy of the distance determination. Regarding claim 11, Damhofer in view of Stigwall , fails to explicitly teach the detection apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein the detection apparatus has at least one signal shape adjustment means by which at least one signal shape adjustment is carried out. Damhofer teaches a TOF distance-measurement apparatus including a transmitting unit / illumination module, a receiving unit / TOF camera, and an evaluation unit for determining distance from emitted and received signals ([0017]- [0019]). While Huber teaches a TOF distance sensor having a calculation apparatus for determining the distance from received signals and further teaches that the waveform of the modulation signal and/or correlation signals may take different forms, including triangular, sawtooth, trapezoidal, rectangular, or sinusoidal. Huber additionally teaches that, in the case of a non-rectangular waveform profile, the calculation apparatus can be supplemented by a correction function or a correction table ([0005], [0009], [0090]. See also, the rejection of claim 2). Thus, Huber teaches/suggests a signal-shape-adjustment function implemented in the calculation apparatus of the detection apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Huber’s waveform-shape correction function into Damhofer’s TOF detection apparatus in order to improve the accuracy of the distance determination when actual signal shapes deviate from idealized shapes used in the calculation. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damhofer in view of Stigwall and Subasingha et al. (US 20190293768 A1, “ Subasingha ”). Claim 12, is a vehicle having at least one detection apparatus for determining distance variables which characterize distances from objects detected by the detection apparatus relative to the vehicle and also, the detection apparatus has means for carrying out the method as claimed in claim 1. Damhofer in view of Stigwall , teaches the detection apparatus has means for carrying out the method as claimed in claim 1. However, Damhofer in view of Stigwall to explicitly teach a vehicle having at least one detection apparatus for determining distance variables which characterize distances from objects detected by the detection apparatus relative to the vehicle. Subasingha teaches an example vehicle system , such as an autonomous vehicle , including one or more LiDAR sensors , a perception engine that uses LiDAR distance information / point clouds, and a planner that uses that information to generate a trajectory for controlling motion of the vehicle ([0023], [0102]-[0113]; FIG. 8). Therefore, Subasingha teaches/suggests providing the Damhofer in view of Stigwall distance-detection and compensation apparatus in a vehicle environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the known TOF / LiDAR distance-sensing and compensation features of Damhofer in view of Stigwall into the vehicle system of Subasingha in order to enable the vehicle to obtain more accurate object-distance information for perception and vehicle control and improve driving safety. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Finkelstein et al. ( US 20200057151 A1 ), teaches integrated lidar image-sensor devices and systems and related methods of operation Becker et al. ( US 20190072654 A1 ), teaches device and method for calibrating a light propagation time camera Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JEMPSON NOEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-3376. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuqing Xiao can be reached on (571) 270-3603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JEMPSON NOEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645