DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 states “wherein the GaN-based laser further further comprises” it should state “wherein the GaN-based laser further comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 states “a thickness direction”; it should read “the thickness direction”, since it depends on claim 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 uses the terms “sidewall” as well as “side wall”. It should read “sidewall” to align with the rest of claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore:
the “n type electrode and p-type electrode” (e.g. claim 3 claims the epitaxial substrate unit as well as n/p type electrodes in the same device; however, the only figure that shows the n/p type electrode is in Fig. 14 but it does not have the epitaxial substrate; Fig. 13 is an intermediate step that does not include n/p type electrode while Fig. 14 epitaxial substrate unit is being removed as stated in the Specification in paragraph [0180]; paragraph [0183] describes “epitaxial substrate unit” and n/p type electrodes in the same device but it is noted as a different embodiment that is not shown in the figures), and
the “a plane in which the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located is perpendicular to an extension direction of the isolation structures”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 3 recites the P-type electrode and the N-type electrode at the same time as the epitaxial substrate are formed in the same device. However, the Specification in paragraph [0180] indicates the epitaxial substrate is removed prior to the formation of the electrodes. Also, any of the figures shows the P-type electrode and the N-type electrode as well as the epitaxial substrate in the same device. The amount of direction provided by the inventor is not enough to have a device where the P-type electrode and the N-type electrode at the same time as the epitaxial substrate in the same device. The Applicant also failed to provide the existence of working examples in Figures and the Specification. The specification may require a unreasonable amount of experimentation to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
Claim 4 is rejected due to its dependency with claim 3.
Claim 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first sidewall" and “second sidewall” in page 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 and 12 states “an N-type semiconductor layer unit close to the epitaxial substrate unit” and “a P-type semiconductor layer unit close to the epitaxial substrate unit” . It is unclear what the term “close” mean since it is a broad term. For examination purposes, we will consider the “close to the epitaxial substrate unit” as an any position from the epitaxial substrate unit.
Claims 3 and 12 states “a P-type semiconductor layer unit far from the epitaxial substrate unit ” and “an N-type semiconductor layer unit far from the epitaxial substrate unit”. It is unclear what the term “far” mean since it is a broad term. For examination purposes, we will consider the “far to the epitaxial substrate unit” as an any position from the epitaxial substrate unit.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the transfer carrier " in line 3 page 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites "P-type semiconductor layer unit close to the epitaxial substrate unit , and a P-type semiconductor layer unit far from the epitaxial substrate unit". It is unclear how the P-type layer can be both close and far at the same time. For examination purposes, the Examiner we will consider it as “P-type semiconductor layer unit close to the epitaxial substrate unit , and a N-type semiconductor layer unit far from the epitaxial substrate unit”.
Claims 4 and 13 state the term “a heavily doped p-type silicon” and “a heavily doped n-type silicon”. It is unclear what the Applicant means with “heavily doped” since the term is brad. For examination purposes, the Examiner will consider “a heavily doped p-type” and “a heavily doped n-type” as any p-type or n-type silicon doping concentration.
Claims 5-7 and 14-16 recites the limitation "the first mask layer" in page 5 for claims 5-7 and pages 9-10 for claims 14-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 states “the second group III nitride epitaxial layer is horizontally healed on the first mask ”. It is not clear what the Applicant mean with horizontally healed and there is not definition in the Specification. For examination purposes, we will consider “horizontally healed” as “horizontally grown”.
Claim 7 and 16 states “a forward projection of the first mask layer on the epitaxial substrate unit falls within a forward projection of the light-emitting unit on the epitaxial substrate unit”. However, from claim 5, the first mask layer is part of the epitaxial substrate unit. Therefore, the first mask layer cannot have a projection for itself. For examination purposes, the Examiner would consider “a forward projection of the first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer falls within a forward projection of the light-emitting unit on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer” to be “a forward projection of the first mask layer on the epitaxial substrate unit falls within a forward projection of the light-emitting unit on the epitaxial substrate unit”.
Claim 8 and 17 recites the limitation "the second mask layer" in page 6 for claim 8 and page 10 for claim 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 and 17 recite “the third group III nitride epitaxial layer heals the second group III nitride epitaxial layer”. It is not clear what the Applicant mean with the term “heals” and the Specification does not provide a definition. For Examination purposes we will consider the term “the third group III nitride epitaxial layer heals the second group III nitride epitaxial layer “ as “the third group III nitride epitaxial layer grows next to the second group III nitride epitaxial layer”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the thickness direction" in page 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the light-emitting surface" in page 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the graphical first mask layer" in page 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2 and 11 is rejected due to its dependency with claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kamikawa (US Patent US-20080309218-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kamikawa teaches a GaN-based laser (Fig. 5a laser chip 10; [0058] states that the laser is a GaN-based laser), comprising:
an epitaxial substrate unit (Fig 5a n-type GaN substrate 11; substrate 11 is a substrate upon which epitaxial layers are grown, see [0059] );
a light-emitting unit (Fig. 5a layers 12-19 form the light emitting unit), which is located on the epitaxial substrate unit (Fig. 5a layers 12-19 are located on the substrate 11),
wherein the light-emitting unit (Fig. 5a-b layers 12-19) comprises at least an active layer unit (Fig. 5a active layer 15), which is arranged parallel to the substrate unit (Fig. 5a active layer 15 is parallel to substrate 11);
the light-emitting unit (Fig. 5a-b layers 12-19) comprises at least a pair of first sidewall (Fig. 5b surface “B”) and second sidewall (Fig. 5b surface “A”), which are opposite to each other (Fig. 5b surfaces “A” and “B” are opposite to each other),
where a first reflector is provided on the first sidewall (Fig. 5b high-reflectance film 4 is provided on surface “B”) and a second reflector is provided on the second sidewall (Fig. 5b low-reflectance film 3 is provided on surface “A”),
the first reflector or the second reflector corresponds to a light-emitting surface (Fig. 5a-b corresponds to a surface emitting device, see [0065]; also Fig. 1 shows the direction of the emitted light).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa (US Patent US-20080309218-A1), as per claim 1, in further view of Wang (US Patent US-5729563-A), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 2, Kamikawa’s device teaches the GaN-based laser according to claim 1.
However, Kamikawa device fails to teach wherein isolation structures are provided on remaining sidewalls of the light- emitting unit.
However, Wang teaches isolation structures are provided on remaining sidewalls of the light- emitting unit (Fig. 2-3 trenches 125-128 are form on the walls of the SEL 104; SEL stands for surface emitting lasers, see column 1 lines 22-23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device with isolation structures are provided on remaining sidewalls of the light- emitting unit (e.g providing isolation structures from Wang on the remaining walls of the laser in Fig. 5b different form sidewalls “A” and “B” in Fig. 5b from Kamikawa) as taught by Wang because having isolation structures would allow to create plurality of the laser devices avoiding cross talking between the lasers.
Claim(s) 3, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa (US Patent US-20080309218-A1), as per claim 1, in further view of Ozawa (US Patent US-6761303-B2) hereinafter Ozawa.
Regarding claim 3, Kamikawa’s device teaches the GaN-based laser according to claim 1, wherein the light-emitting unit comprises:
an N-type semiconductor layer unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-type cladding 13; layer 13 is made of AlGaN, see [0058]) close to the epitaxial substrate unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-type cladding 13 is close to the substrate 11), and
a P-type semiconductor layer unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-type cladding 18, layer 18 is made of AlGaN, see [0058]) far from the epitaxial substrate unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-type cladding 18 is far to the substrate 11);
wherein the GaN-based laser further comprises:
a P-type electrode (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-electrode 22), and an N-type electrode (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-electrode 23),
wherein the p-electrode (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-electrode 22) is electrically connected to the P-type semiconductor layer unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-electrode 22 and p-type cladding 18; it is inherent that are electrically connected), and
the N-type electrode (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-electrode 23) is located on the N-type semiconductor layer unit ( from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-electrode 23 is located on the n-type cladding 13 if the figure is rotated 180 degrees);
or wherein the light-emitting unit comprises:
a P-type semiconductor layer unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-type cladding 18) close to the epitaxial substrate unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-type cladding 18 is close to the substrate 11), and
an N-type semiconductor layer unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-type cladding 13) far from the epitaxial substrate unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-type cladding 13 is far to the substrate 11);
wherein the GaN-based laser further comprises:
a P-type electrode (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-electrode 22), and an N-type electrode (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-electrode 23),
N-type electrode is electrically connected to the N-type semiconductor layer unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-electrode 23 and n-type cladding 13; it is inherent that n-electrode 23 is electrically connected to n-type cladding 13), and
the P-type electrode (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-electrode 22) is located on the P-type semiconductor layer unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a p-electrode 22 is located on p-type cladding 18).
Kamikawa’s device fails to teach a transfer carrier; wherein the transfer carrier is configured to carry the P-type semiconductor layer unit, the P-type electrode is located on a non-carrying surface of the transfer carrier; or wherein the transfer carrier is configured to carry the N-type semiconductor layer unit, the N-type electrode is located on a non-carrying surface of the transfer carrier.
However, Ozawa teaches a transfer carrier (Fig. 4a support body 31); wherein the transfer carrier (Fig. 4a support body 31) is configured to carry the P-type semiconductor layer unit (Fig. 4a support body 31 is configure to carry p-AlGaN layer 25), the P-type electrode is located on a non-carrying surface of the transfer carrier (Fig. 4a p-side electrode 2A is located on solder film 4a which is not a surface of support body 31); or wherein the transfer carrier is configured to carry the N-type semiconductor layer unit (Fig. 4a support body 31 & lead electrode layer 32 is configure to carry n-AlGaN layer 23), the N-type electrode is located on a non-carrying surface of the transfer carrier (Fig. 4a n-side electrode 2B 2A is located on a solder film 4b which it is not a surface of support body 31).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device to include a transfer carrier (e.g. having a support body 31 from Ozawa followed by inverting and placing laser device in Fig. 5a from Kamikawa to place it on the support body 31 so that layer 22 from Kamikawa would be the bottom of the laser device and using folder film 4A and electrode layer 32 from Ozawa to attach layer 22 from Kamikawa) as taught by Ozawa because having a transfer carrier would allow to have further interconnections.
Regarding claim 4, Kamikawa’s modified device teaches the GaN-based laser according to claim 3,
wherein when the P-type electrode is located on the non-carrying surface of the transfer carrier (from Kamikawa p electrode 22 from Fig. 5a would be on top of solder 4a from Ozawa as stated in the modification in claim 3), the transfer carrier (supporting body 31) is a heavily doped P-type silicon substrate or silicon carbide substrate (from Ozawa supporting body 31 is a SiC, see column 5 line 43),
and the P-type electrode (from Kamikawa p electrode 22) contacts the heavily doped P-type silicon substrate or silicon carbide substrate (from Kamikawa p electrode 22 would contact supporting body 31 from Ozawa);
when the N-type electrode (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-electrode 23) is located on the non-carrying surface of the transfer carrier (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-electrode 23 would be located away from support body 31 from Ozawa), the transfer carrier (from Ozawa support body 31) is a heavily doped N-type silicon substrate or silicon carbide substrate (from Ozawa supporting body 31 is a SC, see column 5 line 43), and
the N-type electrode (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-electrode 23) contacts the heavily doped N-type silicon substrate or silicon carbide substrate (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a n-electrode 23 would contact supporting body 31).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa (US Patent US-20080309218-A1), as per claim 1, in further view of Ikeda (US Patent US-6111277-A), hereinafter Ikeda, Ikedo (US Patent US-20100027575-A1) hereafter Ikedo, and Kim (US Patent US-20150001556-A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 5, Kamikawa’s device teaches the GaN-based laser according to claim 1, comprises:
the epitaxial substrate unit (from Kamikawa Fig. 5a substrate 11 to be an epitaxial substrate, see paragraph [0059]).
Kamikawa’s device fails to teach a first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; and a second group III nitride epitaxial layer, which is located on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the second group III nitride epitaxial layer is horizontally healed on the first mask layer, and [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to a thickness direction.
However, Ikeda teaches teach a first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 underlayer layer 3 made of GaN and grown by an epitaxial method, see column 3 lines 60-61 & column 11 lines 9-15); a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 first mask layer 4a is on underlayer layer 3); and a second group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 first selective growing layer 5a made of GaN and grown by an epitaxial method, column 4 lines 56-60 & column 11 lines 9-15), which is located on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 first selective growing layer 5a is located on underlayer layer 3), the second group III nitride epitaxial layer is horizontally healed on the first mask layer (Fig. 1 first selective growing layer 5a is horizontally grown on first mask layer 4a by an epitaxy method, see column 11 lines 9-15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device with a substrate that comprises a first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; and a second group III nitride epitaxial layer, which is located on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the second group III nitride epitaxial layer is horizontally healed on the first mask layer (e.g. having Kamikawa’s epitaxial substrate 11 to comprise the first group III nitride epitaxial layer followed by the first mask 4a and the second group III nitride epitaxial layer 5a from Ikeda) as taught by Ikeda because the first mask would be interrupted the threading dislocations in the underlying layer resulting in a device with lower density of threading dislocations (from Ikeda see abstract).
Kamikawa modified device above also fails to teach [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to a thickness direction.
However, Ikedo teaches [0001] crystal orientations of epitaxial GaN based layers are respectively parallel to a thickness direction (Fig. 1c substrate 1 and multilayer structure 20 direction “c”; where crystals are grown on the (0001) crystal orientation parallel to the thickness direction; [0035] “the inventive semiconductor laser device, a principal surface of the substrate preferably has a {0001} crystal plane orientation” [0057] states “ the semiconductor laser device according to this embodiment includes a multilayer structure 20 on the (0001) oriented principal surface of a substrate 1 made of n-type gallium nitride (GaN)”; [0070] “a silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2) film is deposited to a thickness of 600 nm on the (0001) oriented principal surface of the substrate 1 made of n-type GaN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device in the view of Ikeda to have [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to a thickness direction (e.g. having the substrate of Kamikawa where epitaxial substrate 11 to be the first group III nitride epitaxial layer followed the second group III nitride epitaxial layer 5a from Ikeda in a [0001] crystal orientations and parallel to a thickness direction) as taught by Ikedo because growing nitride epitaxial layers with [0001] crystal orientations parallel to the thickness direction would allow to grow easily and with high crystals qualities associated with the reduction of defects (from Kim paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Kamikawa modified device teaches the GaN-based laser according to claim 5, wherein the first mask layer (from Ikeda Fig. 1 first mask 4a) is a reflective layer (from Ikeda Fig. 1 first mask is SiO2, see column 4 line 26-28; since it is the same material as Applicant mentions as a reflector, see [0111] from the Specification, therefore first mask 4a is a reflective layer ), a light-absorbing layer (first mask 4a is SiO2, see column 4 lines 26-28;it is inherent that it would have some degree of light-absorbing), or a refractive index of the first mask layer is lower than a refractive index of the second group III nitride epitaxial layer.
Regarding claim 7, Kamikawa modified device teaches the GaN-based laser according to claim 6, wherein a forward projection of the first mask layer on the epitaxial substrate unit falls within a forward projection of the light-emitting unit on the epitaxial substrate unit (Fig. 1 forward projection of first mask 4a on underlaying layer 3 from Ikeda falls within forward projection laser device layers 7-15 underlaying layer 3; hence forward projection of first mask 4a from Ikeda on the modified epitaxial substrate 11 of Kamikawa would fall within forward projection of the laser device 10 in Fig. 5a from Kamikawa on the underlaying layer 3 from Ikeda).
Regarding claim 8, Kamikawa modified device teaches the GaN-based laser according to claim 5,
Kamikawa modified device fails to teach a patterned second mask layer on the second group III nitride epitaxial layer, wherein the second mask layer is configured to restrict the second group III nitride epitaxial layer to grow laterally only to form a third group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the third group III nitride epitaxial layer heals the second group III nitride epitaxial layer; and a fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer on the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second mask layer, and [0001] crystal orientations of the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer are parallel to a thickness direction.
However, Ikeda teaches:
a patterned second mask layer (Fig. 1 second mask 4b) on the second group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 second mask 4b is on second selective growing layer 5a),
wherein the second mask layer is configured to restrict the second group III nitride epitaxial layer to grow laterally only to form a third group III nitride epitaxial layer (column 6 lines 30 states “ a first selective growing layer 5a comprising GaN is selectively grown in a lateral direction on the first mask layer 4a”), and
the third group III nitride epitaxial layer heals the second group III nitride epitaxial layer (a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that sections of 5a correspond to the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and other sections correspond to the second group III nitride epitaxial layer since the second group III nitride epitaxial layer and the third group III nitride epitaxial layer are the same material); and
a fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 second selective growing layer 5b; column 4 lines 60-63 states that layer 5b is made of GaN grown by an epitaxy method , see also column 11 lines 9-15) on the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second mask layer (Fig. 1 second selective growing layer 5b is on the mask 4b and on the first selective growing layer 5a).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device in the view of Ikeda, Ikedo and Kim as per claim 5 to have second mask layer on the second group III nitride epitaxial layer and a fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer as taught by Ikeda above because threading dislocations in the underlying layer would be interrupted by the second mask resulting in a low density of threading dislocations (from Ikeda see abstract)
Kamikawa’s modified device above fails to teach a [0001] crystal orientations of the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer are parallel to a thickness direction.
However, Ikedo teaches [0001] crystal orientations of epitaxial GaN based layers are respectively parallel to a thickness direction (Fig. 1c substrate 1 and multilayer structure 20 direction “c”; where crystals are grown on the (0001) crystal orientation parallel to the thickness direction; [0035] “the inventive semiconductor laser device, a principal surface of the substrate preferably has a {0001} crystal plane orientation” [0057] states “ the semiconductor laser device according to this embodiment includes a multilayer structure 20 on the (0001) oriented principal surface of a substrate 1 made of n-type gallium nitride (GaN)”; [0070] “a silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2) film is deposited to a thickness of 600 nm on the (0001) oriented principal surface of the substrate 1 made of n-type GaN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Kamikawa’s device as above to have a [0001] crystal orientations of the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer are parallel to a thickness direction (e.g. having layer 5a and layer 5b from Ikeda in a [0001] crystal orientations and parallel to a thickness direction) as taught by Ikedo because growing nitride epitaxial layers with [0001] crystal orientations parallel to the thickness direction would allow to grow easily and with high crystals qualities associated with the reduction of defects (from Kim paragraph [0009]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa (US Patent US-20080309218-A1), in further view of Kiyoku (US Patent US-20030037722-A1), hereinafter Kiyoku, Ikedo (US Patent US-20100027575-A1) hereafter Ikedo, and Kim (US Patent US-20150001556-A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 9, Kamikawa’s device teaches the GaN-based laser according to claim 1.
Kamikawa modified device fails to teach wherein the epitaxial substrate unit comprises: a first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer extending from one or more openings of the patterned first mask layer into the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a third mask layer between a bottom wall of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer and the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, wherein side walls of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer are connected to the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer, which is located on the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer and the patterned first mask layer, wherein [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to the thickness direction.
However, Kiyoku teaches:
a first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c-d nitride semiconductor layer 71 is an epitaxial layer, see paragraph [0011] & [0082]);
a patterned first mask layer (Fig. 7c-d masks 73a-g) on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7d masks 73a-g are on the nitride semiconductor layer 71);
a fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c nitride semiconductor crystal 75, see [0011] and [0097]) extending from one or more openings of the patterned first mask layer (Fig. 7d nitride semiconductor crystal 75 extends from the openings of masks 73a-g) into the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c nitride semiconductor crystal 75 extends into the nitride semiconductor layer 71);
a third mask layer (Fig. 7c masks 74a-f) between a bottom wall of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer and the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c masks 74a-f located between nitride semiconductor crystal 75 and the nitride semiconductor layer 71),
wherein side walls of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer are connected to the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c sides of the nitride semiconductor crystal 76 are connected to the nitride semiconductor layer 71);
a sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. d nitride semiconductor crystal 76, is an epitaxial layer see [0011] and [0099]), which is located on the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. d nitride semiconductor crystal 76 grows on nitride semiconductor crystal 75 as a continuation of the layer, see [0096]) and the patterned first mask layer (Fig. d nitride semiconductor crystal 76 is on masks 74a-f), and
wherein the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer have a crystal orientation of a direction (Fig. 7c-d substrate 11 & layers 71, 75 and 76; and Fig. 3 plane A; [0093] states “selective growth mask 13 is preferably made up of a plurality of individual stripes extending parallel in a direction perpendicular to the sapphire A plane (in other words, extending parallel in a direction (the <1100> direction of the nitride semiconductor)” [0093] “the respective individual stripes are preferably formed on the sapphire C plane to extend parallel in a direction perpendicular to the sapphire C plane”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device with a substrate that comprises a first group III nitride epitaxial layer, a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, a fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer extending from one or more openings of the patterned first mask layer into the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a third mask layer between a bottom wall of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer and the first group III nitride epitaxial layer as taught by Kiyuko (e.g. having substrate 11 from Kamikawa comprising the mask layers 73a-g & 74a-f as well as epitaxial layers 71, 75-76 from Kiyuko) because the masks would allow to control the initial growth period of the epitaxial layers (both masks 73a-g & 74a-f are called growth control masks) resulting in very few defects if the crystal grows thick (from Kiyuko see paragraph [0096]).
Kamikawa’s modified device above fails to teach wherein [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to a thickness direction.
However, Ikedo teaches [0001] crystal orientations of epitaxial GaN based layers are respectively parallel to a thickness direction (Fig. 1c substrate 1 and multilayer structure 20 direction “c”; where crystals are grown on the (0001) crystal orientation parallel to the thickness direction; [0035] “the inventive semiconductor laser device, a principal surface of the substrate preferably has a {0001} crystal plane orientation” [0057] states “ the semiconductor laser device according to this embodiment includes a multilayer structure 20 on the (0001) oriented principal surface of a substrate 1 made of n-type gallium nitride (GaN)”; [0070] “a silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2) film is deposited to a thickness of 600 nm on the (0001) oriented principal surface of the substrate 1 made of n-type GaN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device in the view of Kiyoku to have a [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to the thickness direction (e.g. having layers 71, 75 and 76 from Kiyoku in a [0001] crystal orientations and parallel to a thickness direction) as taught by Ikedo because growing nitride epitaxial layers with [0001] crystal orientations parallel to the thickness direction would allow to grow easily and with high crystals qualities associated with the reduction of defects (from Kim paragraph [0009]).
Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa (US Patent US-20080309218-A1) in further view of Wang (US Patent US-5729563-A), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 10, Kamikawa teaches a manufacturing method of a GaN-based laser (Fig. 5a laser chip 10; [0058] states that the laser is a GaN-based laser), comprising:
forming an epitaxial substrate unit (Fig. 5a-b substrate 11; substrate 11 upon which epitaxial layers are grown, see [0059] );
performing epitaxial growth on the epitaxial substrate to form strip-shaped light-emitting structures (Fig. 5a layers 12-19 are strip shaped grown by epitaxial growth on substrate 11, see [0059]),
wherein the strip-shaped light-emitting structures (Fig. 5a layers 12-19 ) at least comprises an active layer (Fig. 5a layers 12-19 comprises active layer 15), which is parallel to the epitaxial substrate (Fig. 5a active layer 15 is parallel to substrate 11);
wherein the light-emitting unit (Fig. 5a layers 12-19 ) comprises a first side wall (Fig. 5b surface “B”) and a second side wall (Fig. 5b surface “A”), which are opposite to each other (Fig. 5b surfaces “A” and “B” are opposite to each other),
the first side wall (Fig. 5b surface “B”) and the second side wall (Fig. 5b surface “A”) indicate dividing surfaces (Fig. 5b surfaces “B” and “A” indicate dividing surfaces because surfaces A and B divide the laser 10 from reflectors 4&3 and the actual emitting device);
forming a first reflector on the first sidewall (Fig. 5b high-reflectance film 4 is provided on surface “B”);
and forming a second reflector on the second sidewall (Fig. 5b low-reflectance film 3 is provided on surface “A”);
wherein the first reflector or the second reflector corresponds to the light-emitting surface (Fig. 5a-b corresponds to a surface emitting device, see [0065]; also Fig. 1 shows the direction of the emitted light).
Kamikawa fails to teach forming at least two isolation structures on an epitaxial substrate; to form strip-shaped light-emitting structures with the at least two isolation structures as a mask; dividing the strip-shaped light-emitting structures and the epitaxial substrate to form light-emitting units and epitaxial substrate units; to form multiple GaN-based lasers.
However, Wang teaches forming at least two isolation structures on a substrate (Fig. 3 trenches 125-128 are form on substrate 112; Fig. 2 shows the plurality of emitters with respective trenches); to form strip-shaped light-emitting structures (annotated Fig. 3 below surface emitting lasers SEL 1-4; layers 114, 115 and 130 are strip light-emitting structures) with the at least two isolation structures as a mask (Fig. 3 each SEL has two trenches on the sides; column 4 lines 3-10 “the trenches are filled with an opaque material such as an opaque material comprising a polyimide mixed with a dye that absorbs light at the wavelength generated by the active region.”, therefore trenches 125-128 are isolation structures as a mask); dividing the strip-shaped light-emitting structures and the substrate (Fig. 3 layers 114, 115 and 130 and substrate 112 are etched to formed trenches 125-128; see column 3 and lines 61-62) to form light-emitting units (annotated Fig. 3 below surface emitting lasers SEL1-4) and substrate units (Fig. 3 portion of substrate 112 labeled as 112a-d, see annotated figure below); to form multiple lasers (annotated Fig. 3 shows multiple lasers SEL).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device forming at least two isolation structures on substrate (e.g. forming isolation structure from Wang on an epaxial substrate 11 from Kamikawa’s device); to form strip-shaped light-emitting structures with the at least two isolation structures as a mask (e.g. having isolation structures from Wang on each side of layers 12-19 in Fig. 5a-b from Kamikawa; isolation structures to be located on the remaining surfaces different from surface A and B in Fig. 5b from Kamikawa’s device); dividing the strip-shaped light-emitting structures and the epitaxial substrate to form light-emitting units and epitaxial substrate units (e.g. having a strip-shaped light-emitting structure on the substrate 11 from Kamikawa to be etched to form filled trenches as taught by Wang to have separate light-emitting units and epitaxial substrate units); to form multiple lasers (e.g. to form multiple GaN-based layers in Fig. 5a-b from Kamikawa) as taught by Wang because having isolation structures would allow to form a plurality of light emitting devices avoiding cross-talking between the laser devices, and having a multiple light emitted structures would allow to increase the output of the laser device.
Regarding claim 11, Kamikawa modified device teaches the manufacturing method according to claim 10, wherein a plane in which the first sidewall and the second sidewall are located is perpendicular to an extension direction of the isolation structures (Kamikawa modified device in the view of Wang would have a plane, where surfaces “A” and “B” in Fig. 5b from Kamikawa are located, perpendicular to the trenches formed on the reaming surfaces of Kamikawa modified’s device).
Claims 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa (US Patent US-20080309218-A1) in view of Wang (US Patent US-5729563-A), as per claim 10, in further view of Ikeda (US Patent US-6111277-A), hereinafter Ikeda, Ikedo (US Patent US-20100027575-A1) hereafter Ikedo, and Kim (US Patent US-20150001556-A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 14, Kamikawa’s modified device teaches manufacturing method according to claim 10, comprises:
the epitaxial substrate unit (substrate 11 from Kamikawa to be an epitaxial substrate).
Kamikawa’s modified device fails to teach a first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; and a second group III nitride epitaxial layer, which is located on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the second group III nitride epitaxial layer is horizontally healed on the first mask layer, and [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to a thickness direction.
However, Ikeda teaches teach a first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 underlayer layer 3 made of GaN and grown by an epitaxial method, see column 3 lines 60-61 & column 11 lines 9-15); a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 first mask layer 4a is on underlayer layer 3); and a second group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 first selective growing layer 5a made of GaN and grown by an epitaxial method, column 4 lines 56-60 & column 11 lines 9-15), which is located on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 first selective growing layer 5a is located on underlayer layer 3), the second group III nitride epitaxial layer is horizontally healed on the first mask layer (Fig. 1 first selective growing layer 5a is horizontally grown on first mask layer 4a by an epitaxy method, see column 11 lines 9-15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device in the view of Wang with a substrate that comprises a first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; and a second group III nitride epitaxial layer, which is located on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the second group III nitride epitaxial layer is horizontally healed on the first mask layer (e.g. having Kamikawa’s epitaxial substrate 11 to comprise the first group III nitride epitaxial layer followed by the first mask 4a and the second group III nitride epitaxial layer 5a from Ikeda) as taught by Ikeda because the first mask would be interrupted the threading dislocations in the underlying layer resulting in a device with lower density of threading dislocations (from Ikeda see abstract).
Kamikawa modified device above also fails to teach [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to a thickness direction.
However, Ikedo teaches [0001] crystal orientations of epitaxial GaN based layers are respectively parallel to a thickness direction (Fig. 1c substrate 1 and multilayer structure 20 direction “c”; where crystals are grown on the (0001) crystal orientation parallel to the thickness direction; [0035] “the inventive semiconductor laser device, a principal surface of the substrate preferably has a {0001} crystal plane orientation” [0057] states “ the semiconductor laser device according to this embodiment includes a multilayer structure 20 on the (0001) oriented principal surface of a substrate 1 made of n-type gallium nitride (GaN)”; [0070] “a silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2) film is deposited to a thickness of 600 nm on the (0001) oriented principal surface of the substrate 1 made of n-type GaN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device in the view of Wang and Ikeda to have [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to a thickness direction (e.g. having the modified substrate of Kamikawa where epitaxial substrate 11 to be the first group III nitride epitaxial layer followed the second group III nitride epitaxial layer 5a from Ikeda in a [0001] crystal orientations and parallel to a thickness direction) as taught by Ikedo because growing nitride epitaxial layers with [0001] crystal orientations parallel to the thickness direction would allow to grow easily and with high crystals qualities associated with the reduction of defects (from Kim paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 15, Kamikawa’s modified device teaches the manufacturing method according to claim 14, wherein the first mask layer (from Ikeda Fig. 1 first mask 4a) is a reflective layer (from Ikeda Fig. 1 first mask is SiO2, see column 4 line 26-28; since it is the same material as Applicant mentions as a reflector, see [0111] from the Specification, therefore first mask 4a is a reflective layer ), a light-absorbing layer (first mask 4a is SiO2, see column 4 lines 26-28;it is inherent that it would have some degree of light-absorbing), or a refractive index of the first mask layer is lower than a refractive index of the second group III nitride epitaxial layer.
Regarding claim 16, Kamikawa modified device teaches the manufacturing method according to claim 15, wherein a forward projection of the first mask layer on the epitaxial substrate unit falls within a forward projection of the light-emitting unit on the epitaxial substrate unit (Fig. 1 forward projection of first mask 4a on underlaying layer 3 from Ikeda falls within forward projection laser device layers 7-15 underlaying layer 3; hence forward projection of first mask 4a from Ikeda on the modified epitaxial substrate 11 of Kamikawa’s device would fall within forward projection of the laser device 10 in Fig. 5a from Kamikawa on the underlaying layer 3 from Ikeda).
Regarding claim 17, Kamikawa’s modified device teaches the manufacturing method of GaN-based laser according to claim 14,
Kamikawa modified device fails wherein a patterned second mask layer is provided on the second group III nitride epitaxial layer, the patterned second mask layer restricts the second group III nitride epitaxial layer to grow laterally only to form a third group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the third group III nitride epitaxial layer heals the second group III nitride epitaxial layer; a fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer is located on the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second mask layer, and [0001] crystal orientations of the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to the thickness direction.
However, wherein Ikeda teaches:
a patterned second mask layer (Fig. 1 second mask 4b) is provided on the second group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 second mask 4b is provided on second selective growing layer 5a),
the patterned second mask layer restricts the second group III nitride epitaxial layer to grow laterally only to form a third group III nitride epitaxial layer (column 6 lines 30 states “ a first selective growing layer 5a comprising GaN is selectively grown in a lateral direction on the first mask layer 4a”), and
the third group III nitride epitaxial layer heals the second group III nitride epitaxial layer (a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that sections of 5a correspond to the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and other sections correspond to the second group III nitride epitaxial layer since the second group III nitride epitaxial layer and the third group III nitride epitaxial layer are the same material);
a fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 1 second selective growing layer 5b; column 4 lines 60-63 states that layer 5b is made of GaN grown by an epitaxy method , see also column 11 lines 9-15) is located on the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the second mask layer (Fig. 1 second selective growing layer 5b is on mask 4b and first selective growing layer 5a).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa device in the view of Wang, Ikeda, Ikedo and Kim as per claim 14 to have second mask layer on the second group III nitride epitaxial layer and a fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer as taught by Ikeda above because threading dislocations in the underlying layer would be interrupted by the second mask resulting in a low density of threading dislocations (from Ikeda see abstract).
Kamikawa’s modified device above fails to teach [0001] crystal orientations of the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to the thickness direction.
However, Ikedo teaches [0001] crystal orientations of epitaxial GaN based layers are respectively parallel to a thickness direction (Fig. 1c substrate 1 and multilayer structure 20 direction “c”; where crystals are grown on the (0001) crystal orientation parallel to the thickness direction; [0035] “the inventive semiconductor laser device, a principal surface of the substrate preferably has a {0001} crystal plane orientation” [0057] states “ the semiconductor laser device according to this embodiment includes a multilayer structure 20 on the (0001) oriented principal surface of a substrate 1 made of n-type gallium nitride (GaN)”; [0070] “a silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2) film is deposited to a thickness of 600 nm on the (0001) oriented principal surface of the substrate 1 made of n-type GaN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device as above to have a [0001] crystal orientations of the third group III nitride epitaxial layer and the fourth group III nitride epitaxial layer are parallel to a thickness direction (e.g. having layer 5a and layer 5b from Ikeda in a [0001] crystal orientations and parallel to a thickness direction) as taught by Ikedo because growing nitride epitaxial layers with [0001] crystal orientations parallel to the thickness direction would allow to grow easily and with high crystals qualities associated with the reduction of defects (from Kim paragraph [0009]).
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa (US Patent US-20080309218-A1) in view of Wang (US Patent US-5729563-A), as per claim 10, in further view of Kiyoku (US Patent US-20030037722-A1), hereinafter Kiyoku, Ikedo (US Patent US-20100027575-A1) hereafter Ikedo, and Kim (US Patent US-20150001556-A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 18, Kamikawa modified device teaches the manufacturing method according to claim 10.
Kamikawa modified device fails to teach wherein the epitaxial substrate unit comprises: a first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer extending from one or more openings of the patterned first mask layer into the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a third mask layer between a bottom wall of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer and the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, wherein side walls of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer are connected to the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer, which is located on the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer and the patterned first mask layer, wherein [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to the thickness direction.
However, Kiyoku teaches:
a first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c-d nitride semiconductor layer 71 is an epitaxial layer, see paragraph [0011] & [0082]);
a patterned first mask layer (Fig. 7c-d masks 73a-g) on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7d masks 73a-g are on the nitride semiconductor layer 71);
a fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c nitride semiconductor crystal 75, see [0011] and [0097]) extending from one or more openings of the patterned first mask layer (Fig. 7d nitride semiconductor crystal 75 extends from the openings of masks 73a-g) into the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c nitride semiconductor crystal 75 extends into the nitride semiconductor layer 71);
a third mask layer (Fig. 7c masks 74a-f) between a bottom wall of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer and the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c masks 74a-f located between nitride semiconductor crystal 75 and the nitride semiconductor layer 71),
wherein side walls of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer are connected to the first group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. 7c sides of the nitride semiconductor crystal 76 are connected to the nitride semiconductor layer 71);
a sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. d nitride semiconductor crystal 76, is an epitaxial layer see [0011] and [0099]), which is located on the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer (Fig. d nitride semiconductor crystal 76 grows on nitride semiconductor crystal 75 as a continuation of the layer, see [0096]) and the patterned first mask layer (Fig. d nitride semiconductor crystal 76 is on masks 74a-f), and
wherein the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer have a crystal orientation of a direction (Fig. 7c-d substrate 11 & layers 71, 75 and 76; and Fig. 3 plane A; [0093] states “selective growth mask 13 is preferably made up of a plurality of individual stripes extending parallel in a direction perpendicular to the sapphire A plane (in other words, extending parallel in a direction (the <1100> direction of the nitride semiconductor)” [0093] “the respective individual stripes are preferably formed on the sapphire C plane to extend parallel in a direction perpendicular to the sapphire C plane”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device with a substrate that comprises a first group III nitride epitaxial layer, a patterned first mask layer on the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, a fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer extending from one or more openings of the patterned first mask layer into the first group III nitride epitaxial layer; a third mask layer between a bottom wall of the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer and the first group III nitride epitaxial layer as taught by Kiyuko (e.g. having substrate 11 from Kamikawa with the mask layers and epitaxial layers from Kiyuko) because the masks would allow to control the initial growth period of the epitaxial layers (both masks 73a-g & 74a-f are called growth control masks) resulting in very few defects if the crystal grows thick (from Kiyuko see paragraph [0096]).
Kamikawa’s modified device above fails to teach wherein [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to the thickness direction.
However, Ikedo teaches [0001] crystal orientations of epitaxial GaN based layers are respectively parallel to a thickness direction (Fig. 1c substrate 1 and multilayer structure 20 direction “c”; where crystals are grown on the (0001) crystal orientation parallel to the thickness direction; [0035] “the inventive semiconductor laser device, a principal surface of the substrate preferably has a {0001} crystal plane orientation” [0057] states “ the semiconductor laser device according to this embodiment includes a multilayer structure 20 on the (0001) oriented principal surface of a substrate 1 made of n-type gallium nitride (GaN)”; [0070] “a silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2) film is deposited to a thickness of 600 nm on the (0001) oriented principal surface of the substrate 1 made of n-type GaN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kamikawa’s device in the view of Wang and Kiyoku to have a [0001] crystal orientations of the first group III nitride epitaxial layer, the fifth group III nitride epitaxial layer, and the sixth group III nitride epitaxial layer are respectively parallel to the thickness direction (e.g. having layers 71, 75 and 76from Kiyoku in a [0001] crystal orientations and parallel to a thickness direction) as taught by Ikedo because growing nitride epitaxial layers with [0001] crystal orientations parallel to the thickness direction would allow to grow easily and with high crystals qualities associated with the reduction of defects (from Kim paragraph [0009]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12 Kamikawa modified device teaches the manufacturing method according to claim 10.
Kamikawa modified device fails to teach transfer carrier, removing the epitaxial substrate unit and forming the N-type electrode on the exposed multiple N-type semiconductor layer unit.
Ozawa (US Patent US-6761303-B2) teaches the transfer carrier (Fig. 4a support body 31). However, he fails to teach removing the epitaxial substrate unit and forming the N-type electrode on the exposed multiple N-type semiconductor layer unit.
Geske (US Patent US-8654811-B2) teaches a multiple lasers (Fig. 7 plurality of VCSEL), the transfer carrier (Fig. 7 carrier 702), and the removal of the substrate (Fig. 4 substrate 302 being removed in Fig. 8) and forming an electrode on the exposed layers (Fig. 9 plating 902). However, the modification would require a large number of changes including the removal of the n-electrode 23 to be able to remove substrate 11; therefore it would not be reasonable to modify Kamikawa in the view of Geske.
Claim 13 depends on claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ueno (US Patent US-20110073888-A1) teaches epitaxial layers, Sugahara (US Patent US-6855571-B1) teaches a mask in between epitaxial layers, and Vakhshoori (US Patent US-5390209-A) teaches epitaxial layers grown on the C-axis.
/FERNANDA ADRIANA CAMACHO ALANIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828