DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claims 1-24 are rejected.
Claim 10 is objected to.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/KR2021/017616 filed 26 Nov. 2021 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to KR10-2021-0165209 filed 26 Nov. 2021 and KR10-2020-0161196 filed 26 Nov. 2020 under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Accordingly, the effective filing date of the claimed invention is 26 Nov. 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 25 May 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 21 Sept. 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
References to Applicant’s specification are made with reference to the published version.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 because it does not contain a "Sequence Listing" as a separate part of the disclosure or a CRF of the “Sequence Listing.”. The application includes nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) at para. [0060], [0065], [0068], and [0072].
Required response - Applicant must provide:
A "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure; together with
An amendment specifically directing its entry into the application in accordance with 37 CFR 1.825(a)(2);
A statement that the "Sequence Listing" includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.821(a)(4); and
A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.825(a)(3).
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) a) or b) above, Applicant must also provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) c) or d) above, applicant must also provide:
A CRF in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) or 1.821(e)(2) as required by 1.825(a)(5); and
A statement according to item 2) a) or b) above.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification at para. [0060], [0065], [0068], and [0072] are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “…using authentication information corresponding to the artificial nucleic acid sequence” in the last two lines of the claim. To increase clarity, claim 10 should be amended to recite “using the authentication information corresponding to the artificial nucleic acid sequence”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a genomic grave creation unit configured to request a grave manufacturer terminal to create a genomic grave…” in claim 10;
“a genomic information management unit configured to control access to information…” in claim 10;
“a corpse treatment management unit configured to provide information and a video about a corpse” in claim 14;
“a funeral article proxy purchase unit configured to provide a funeral article list…and configured to…transmit a purchase request…” in claim 15;
“a Q&A service provider configured to…analyze the input question and provide an answer…” in claim 15;
“an avatar management unit configured to create an avatar…and control changing of avatar information..” in claim 16; and
“a virtual grave provider configured to provide a shape corresponding to the genomic grave in a virtual space…” in claim 24.
In cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. See, e.g., Noah Systems Inc. v. Intuit Inc., 675 F.3d 1302, 1312, 102 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. See MPEP 2181 II. B.
The hardware of the above means-plus function limitations are as follows:
The hardware for the genomic grave creation unit, genomic information management unit, corpse treatment management unit, avatar management unit, and virtual grave provider is disclosed at para. [0098], [0139], and FIG. 2 to be part of the funeral progress server, which may include a processor, a memory, a communication unit, and an input/output for receiving input or outputting data. Therefore the hardware for these units will be interpreted accordingly, including equivalents thereof.
The hardware for the funeral article proxy purchase unit and Q&A service provider is disclosed at para. [0128] and FIG. 6 as part of the funeral management unit, and therefore, the hardware is the same as for the funeral management unit. Therefore the hardware for these units will be interpreted accordingly, including equivalents thereof.
The algorithms of the above means-plus function limitations are as follows:
The function of the genomic grave creation unit to request a terminal to create a genomic grave is interpreted to mean transmitting data to the terminal, which is coextensive with the computer itself;
Regarding the genomic information management unit, Applicant’s specification at para. [0113]-[0117] discloses the unit receives a request and authentication information from a customer terminal, verifies the authentication information, and then provides the genomic information to the customer terminal. The limitation will be interpreted accordingly.
Regarding the corpse treatment management unit, Applicant’s specification at para. [0126]-[0127] discloses the unit receives a corpse video of a deceased person taken along a movement path in funeral and transmits the corpse video to a customer terminal, which discloses an algorithm for providing a video about a corpse. However, Applicant’s specification does not disclose an algorithm for providing information about a corpse;
Regarding the funeral article proxy purchase unit, Applicant’s specification at para. [0129]-[0130] discloses the unit provides the funeral list to a customer terminal (i.e. transmitting data), and when a specific article is selected, transmits a purchase request. Therefore, the functions of the purchase unit are transmitting data, which is coextensive with a computer.
Regarding the Q&A service provider, Applicant’s specification at para. [0132]-[0133] discloses the Q&A service provides an answer to an input, and may be provide such a Q&A service by using a chatbot, short messaging service, multimedia messaging service, or social network service, and that the service provider may construe questions using natural language analysis. However, the specification does not disclose an algorithm (more than one step) for how the service provider analyzes the input question and provides an answer to the input.
Regarding the avatar management unit, Applicant’s specification at para. [0134]-[0138] discloses the unit provides image candidates, creates an avatar using an image selected from the image candidates by the customer terminal, and changes information of the avatar in accordance with information provided from the customer terminal. However, Applicant’s specification does not disclose an algorithm for how the avatar is created how the avatar information is changed based on authentication information.
Regarding the virtual grave provider, Applicant’s specification at para. [0139]-[0140] discusses the virtual grave provider provides a grave of a shape that a customer wants, but does not disclose an algorithm for the step.
Examiner comment:
If Applicant does not intend to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is suggested the claims are amended to remove mention of each of the units configured to perform a function, and instead claim a system comprising a processor configured to perform the steps. For example, for claim 10, the claim could recite “A funeral system…comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: request a grave manufacturer terminal to create…; and control access to information….”.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “A genomic grave made of a material including…an artificial nucleic acid sequence, wherein the artificial nucleic acid sequence is formed by converting authentication information into a nucleic acid sequence on the basis of…”. The limitation regarding how the artificial nucleic acid sequence was previously formed is a product by process limitation defining the process in which the genomic grave including the artificial nucleic acid sequence was previously formed. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113 I.
Claim 7 recites “The genomic grave of claim 1, further comprising an artificial nucleic acid sequence formed by converting information about a deceased person…”. The limitation regarding how the artificial nucleic acid sequence was formed is interpreted as a product by process limitation defining the process in which the artificial nucleic acid sequence was previously formed by converting information. See MPEP 2113 I.
Claims 8-9 further limit the information about the deceased person, and therefore are part of the product by process limitation of claim 7 discussed above.
Claim 10 recites “a genomic grave creation unit configured to request a grave manufacturer terminal to create a genomic grave made of a material…which is formed by converting authentication information…”. The system of claim 10 only requires the system is configured to request a terminal creates a genomic grave, but does not require the system is configured to create the genomic grave.
Claims 17-21 further limit the genomic grave, and therefore further limit the request of claim 10. However, the claims do not require the system is configured to create the genomic grave.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 14-16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 recites “a corpse treatment management unit configured to provide information…about a corpse..”. Claim 15 recites a “Q&A service provider configured to…analyze the input and provide an answer to the input…”. Claim 16 recites “an avatar management unit configured to create an avatar…and control changing of avatar information…”. Claim 24 recites “ a virtual grave provider configured to provide a shape…”.
These limitations invoke 112(f) as discussed above. However, the specification does not disclose an algorithm for providing information about a corpse, how the service provider analyzes the input question and provides an answer to the input, for how the avatar is created how the avatar information is changed based on authentication information, or how a grave of a shape is provided, respectively, for the reasons discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
For a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation, the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function, or else the claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See Net MoneyIN, Inc. v. Verisign. Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1367, 88 USPQ2d 1751, 1757 (Fed. Cir. 2008). When a claim containing a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation is found to be indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for failure to disclose sufficient corresponding structure (e.g., the computer and the algorithm) in the specification that performs the entire claimed function, it will also lack written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP 2181. II. B.
For the reasons discussed above, the specification does not provide a sufficient disclosure of the limitations above recited in claims 14-16 and 24 to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention at the time the application was filed. For more information regarding the written description requirement, see MPEP §2161.01- §2163.07(b).
Examiner comment:
To overcome the rejection, Applicant may amend the claims in the manner as discussed above, such that the claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 11-16 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11, and claims dependent therefrom, are indefinite for recitation of “private personal information of the deceased person”. The term “private” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “private” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As a result, it is not clear what personal information of the deceased person would be considered “private” versus not private. For purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to mean “personal information”.
Claim 13 is indefinite for recitation of “wherein at least one of information about a plurality of deceased people and information about families is stored at a plurality of nodes constituting a blockchain network.”. Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:…(B) "wherein" clauses. In the instant case, the limiting effect of the wherein clause of claim 13 on the system is not clear. Specifically, it is not clear if claim 13 intends to further limit the system to further comprise a blockchain network storing the recited information, to further limit one of the units to have a blockchain network storing information, or if the limitation is merely expressing an intended use of the system, but the system does not include a blockchain network. Clarification is requested via claim amendment. It is noted that Applicant’s specification at para. [0114] discloses that genomic information may be stored in a database connected inside or outside the funeral progress server (i.e. the system), or may be stored in a blockchain network, such that the nodes constituting the blockchain network do not appear to be part of the system. Therefore, the limitation will be interpreted to recite an intended use of the system, and the information is stored outside the metes and bounds of the system.
Claims 14-16 and 24 are indefinite for recitation of “a corpse treatment management unit configured to provide information…about a corpse..”, “a Q&A service provider configured to…analyze the input and provide an answer to the input…”, “an avatar management unit configured to create an avatar…and control changing of avatar information…”, and “a virtual grave provider configured to provide a shape…”, respectively. These claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 22-23 are indefinite for recitation of “the information about a deceased person”. Claims 10 and 21 each recite “information about a deceased person”. Therefore, it is not clear if “the information about a deceased person” is referring to the information of claim 10, the information of claim 21, or if these are all intended to be the same information. Clarification is requested via claim amendment. For purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted to refer to either of the information in claim 10 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 13 recites “wherein at least one of information about a plurality of deceased people and information about families is stored at a plurality of nodes constituting a blockchain network.”. The limitation will be interpreted to recite an intended use of the system, and the information is stored outside the metes and bounds of the system as discussed above in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of the claim. Therefore, claim 13 fails to further limit the system of claim 10, from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 4-6 are patent eligible. While claims 4-6 recite a natural product including the nucleic acid, the nature-based product of claims 4-6 recite an additional element of “materials of a plurality of pictures, and the materials of a plurality of pictures include a genome…” (claims 4 and 6) or “a picture including a plurality of sections and the sections include genomes…” (claim 5), which integrate the natural product into a practical application of creating a DNA-based memorial or grave containing artificial sequence information that may be used for authentication and linking and using the stored genome information, and furthermore, solves the environment and cost problem related to burying a corpse or keeping bone powder (Applicant’s specification at para [0029] and [0032]).
Claims 1-3 and 7-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea and/or product of nature without significantly more.
The Supreme Court has established a two-step framework for this analysis, wherein a claim does not satisfy § 101 if (1) it is “directed to” a patent-ineligible concept, i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea, and (2), if so, the particular elements of the claim, considered “both individually and as an ordered combination,” do not add enough to “transform the nature of the claim into a patent-eligible application.” Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355). Applicant is also directed to MPEP 2106.
Step 1: The instantly claimed invention (claims 1 and 10 being representative) is directed to a product and system. Therefore, the instantly claimed invention falls into one of the four statutory categories. [Step 1: YES]
Step 2A: First it is determined in Prong One whether a claim recites a judicial exception, and if so, then it is determined in in Prong Two if the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Under the MPEP § 2106.04, the Step 2A (Prong 1) analysis requires determining whether a claim recites an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon.
Claim 1 recites “A genomic grave made of a material including a genome of a deceased person and an artificial nucleic acid sequence…”, which recites a product of nature because claim 1 encompasses a “genomic grave” that is a naturally occurring nucleic acid sequence. While claim 1 recites the genomic grave comprises “an artificial nucleic acid sequence”, the process in which the artificial nucleic acid sequence was previously made is a product by process limitation, and nothing in the claim precludes the artificial nucleic acid sequence from being the same product as a naturally occurring nucleic acid sequence, even if the claimed artificial nucleic acid sequence was formed artificially. See MPEP 2106.04(b) II. explaining it is important to keep in mind that product of nature exceptions include both naturally occurring products and non-naturally occurring products that lack markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart. See, e.g., Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d at 760, 113 USPQ2d at 1244 ("Contrary to Myriad's argument, it makes no difference that the identified gene sequences are synthetically replicated. As the Supreme Court made clear, neither naturally occurring compositions of matter, nor synthetically created compositions that are structurally identical to the naturally occurring compositions, are patent eligible.").
Dependent claims 2-3 and 7-9 further limit the product of nature of claim 1. Dependent claim 2 recites the genomic grave also includes “a capsule” under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, and therefore encompasses a genomic grave that is a biological capsule (e.g. of a bacteria) that includes the genome of the deceased person and artificial nucleic acid sequence. Therefore, claim 2 recites a nature-based product. However, simply placing the nucleic acid in a capsule (e.g. bacterial cell) does not clearly provide any markedly different characteristics of the capsule/cell, such as a changed functional characteristic as in Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303, 310, 206 USPQ 193, 197 (1980). Instead, the inclusion of the recited nucleic acid in a capsule is an incidental change that merely includes nonfunctional nucleic acid in a cell and/or changes the location of nucleic acid to be within a nature-based capsule. See MPEP 2106.04(c) II. C. In Myriad, the Supreme Court made clear that not all changes in characteristics will rise to the level of a marked difference, e.g., the incidental changes resulting from isolation of a gene sequence are not enough to make the isolated gene markedly different. Myriad, 569 U.S. at 580, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. Dependent claim 3 requires the genomic grave includes genomes and artificial sequences for multiple deceased people, and therefore encompasses naturally occurring nucleic acid for multiple people for the reasons discussed above for claim 1. Dependent claims 7-9 further limit the genomic grave to comprise another artificial nucleic acid sequence, which encompasses a naturally occurring nucleic acid for the same reasons discussed above for claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-3 and 7-9 recite a product of nature.
Claim 10 recites the following steps which fall under the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas:
request a grave manufacturer terminal to create a genomic grave made of a material including a genome of a deceased person and an artificial nucleic acid sequence, which is formed by converting authentication information into a nucleic acid sequence on the basis of a preset correspondence between an information unit and nucleic acid sequence information, in accordance with a request from a customer terminal; and
control access to information about the deceased person using authentication information corresponding to the artificial nucleic acid sequence
The identified claim limitations falls into the group of abstract ideas of certain methods of organizing human activity for the following reasons. The step of requesting a grave manufactural terminal to create a genomic grave recites fundamental economic practices or principles, because the limitation amounts to placing an order for a genomic grave, analogous to placing an order based on displayed market information in Trading Technologies Int’l, Inc. v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1092, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019). The step of controlling access using authentication information recites the certain method of organizing human activity of managing personal behavior, relationships, or interactions between people, similar to the claims of filtering content in BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility, LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1345-46, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1239 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Therefore, these limitations recite certain methods of organizing human activity. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
Dependent claims 11-24 further recite an abstract idea and/or are part of the abstract idea identified above in claim 10. Dependent claims 11-12 further limit the method of organizing human activity of controlling access to information about the deceased person, and therefore are part of the abstract idea of claim 10 above. Dependent claim 13 fails to further limit the claimed subject matter of claim 10, and therefore is part of the abstract idea of claim 10. Dependent claim 14 further recites the mental process of providing information about a corpse of a deceased person. Dependent claim 14 further recites a certain method of organizing human activity of managing personal behavior, relationships, or interactions between people because the step of providing information and a video about a corpse taken along a movement path in a funeral to the customer terminal in real time encompasses providing real-time video updates to a customer as the corpse is being moved and treated in the funeral, as explained in Applicant’s specification at para. [0127]), and therefore amounts to managing interactions between a customer of a funeral home and the funeral home. Dependent claim 15 further recites the certain method of organizing human activity of fundamental economic practices or principles, because the claim requires transmitting a purchase request based on a selection of a specific funeral article of a list by a customer, which is similar to placing an order based on displayed market information, Trading Technologies Int’l, Inc. v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1092, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and furthermore, the step of a Q&A service receiving a question related to funeral procedure, analyzing the input, and providing an answer encompasses managing interactions between people. Further regarding claim 15, receiving a question, analyzing the input question, and providing an answer further recites the abstract idea of a mental process. Dependent claim 16 further recites the mental process of creating an avatar of a deceased person, which encompasses creating a picture of a deceased person, which can be performed mentally aided with pen and paper (e.g. drawing), in light of Applicant’s specification at para. [0136]-[0137], which describes the avatar as simply an image rather than a 3-D simulation of a deceased person. Furthermore, dependent claim 16 recites the certain method of organizing human activity of controlling changing of avatar information on the basis of authentication information similar to filtering content in BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility, LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1345-46, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1239 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Dependent claims 17-23 further limit the request to create a genomic grave in claim 10, and therefore are part of the abstract idea of claim 10 identified above. Dependent claim 24 further recites the mental process of providing a shape corresponding to the genomic grave, which encompasses determining a desired shape of a sculpture for the grave.
Therefore, claims 1-3 and 7-9 recite a product of nature/nature based product and 10-24 recite an abstract idea. [Step 2A, Prong 1: YES]
Step 2A: Prong 2: Under the MPEP § 2106.04, the Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis requires identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluating those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application for the following reasons.
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, and 17-23 do not recite any elements in addition to the judicial exception, and therefore are part of the judicial exception.
The additional elements of claims 10 include:
a genomic grave creation unit configured to…; and
a genomic information management unit configured to….
The additional element of dependent claims 14-16 and 24 include:
a corpse treatment management unit configured to… (claim 14);
a funeral article proxy purchase unit configured to… (claim 15);
a Q&A service provider configured to…(claim 15);
an avatar management unit configured to…in a virtual space (claim 16);
a virtual grave provider configured to…in a virtual space (claim 24).
The additional elements of the various units above are interpreted as discussed in 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and include a processor, a memory, a communication unit, and an input/output for receiving input or outputting data (i.e. a generic computer), and are merely used as a tool to carry out the abstract idea identified above. The limitation pertaining to a step being performed “in a virtual space” similarly only claims the concept as being performed on a computer. The courts have found the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additionally recited elements merely invoke computer as a tool, and as such, the claims as a whole do no integrate the abstract idea into practical application. Therefore, claims 1-3 and 7-9 are directed to a product of nature/nature based product and 10-24 are directed to an abstract idea. [Step 2A, Prong 2: NO]
Step 2B: In the second step it is determined whether the claimed subject matter includes additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05.
The claims do not include any additional steps appended to the judicial exception that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the following reasons.
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, and 17-23 do not recite any elements in addition to the judicial exception, and therefore are part of the judicial exception.
The additional elements are outlined above under Step 2A, Prong 2.
The additional elements of the various units above are interpreted as discussed in 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and include a processor, a memory, a communication unit, and an input/output for receiving input or outputting data (i.e. conventional computer and computer components), and are merely used as a tool to carry out the abstract idea identified above. The limitation pertaining to a step being performed “in a virtual space” similarly only claims the concept as being performed on a computer. The courts have found the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
Taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception(s). Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. [Step 2B: NO]
Therefore, the instantly rejected claims are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea (and/or natural correlation) without significantly more. For additional guidance, applicant is directed generally to applicant is directed generally to the MPEP § 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (2020).
Cited reference: Lee et al. WO 2020017869 A1; Pub. Date: 23 Jan. 2020.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a dielectric genomic grave comprising a genome and an artificial nucleic acid sequence in the form of a capsule (i.e. materials) ([0015]; [0028]; [0050]-[0051]), wherein the genome is of a dead body (i.e. deceased person) ([0028]). Lee discloses the artificial nucleic acid sequence information was formed based on information units and sequence information ([0033]-[0037])
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the genomic grave includes a capsule ([0028]; [0050]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the genomic grave comprises a plurality of capsules generated for a plurality of objects of population, such that the genomic grave includes a genome and artificial sequence for a plurality of deceased people ([0005]; [0050]; [0028]).
Regarding claims 7-9, Lee discloses the artificial nucleic acid sequence information was formed based on information units and sequence information ([0033]-[0037]). While Lee does not explicitly disclose the artificial sequence was formed by converting information about a deceased person, including a will or information of a bereaved family member, the process in which the artificial sequence was previously formed is a product by process limitation (see claim interpretation above), and the artificial sequence of Lee is the same product as that in the claims. Therefore, Lee teaches this limitation.
Therefore, Lee anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (2020) in view of Duluth (2015).
Cited references:
Lee et al. WO 2020017869 A1; Pub. Date: 23 Jan. 2020; and
Duluth, Preserve Your Loved One’s Legacy Before Cremation with DNA memorial, 2015, pg. 1-3.
Regarding claims 4-5, Lee discloses a dielectric genomic grave comprising a genome and an artificial nucleic acid sequence in the form of a capsule (i.e. materials) ([0015]; [0028]; [0050]-[0051]), wherein the genome is of a dead body (i.e. deceased person) ([0028]). Lee discloses the artificial nucleic acid sequence information was formed based on information units and sequence information ([0033]-[0037]).
Further regarding claims 4-5, Lee discloses the genomic grave comprises a plurality of capsules generated for a plurality of objects of population, such that the genomic grave includes a genome and artificial sequence for a plurality of deceased people ([0005],; [0028], e.g. stores a plurality of dielectric materials, each material comprising a genome and artificial sequence in form of a capsule; [0050], e.g. e.g. stores a plurality of capsules; [0028]).
Lee does not disclose the following limitations:
Further regarding claim 4, Lee does not disclose the genomic grave form a work through materials of a plurality of pictures, and the materials of a plurality of pictures include a genome and an artificial sequence for a plurality of deceased people, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, Lee does not disclose the genomic grave is a picture including a plurality of sections and the sections include the genomes and artificial sequences for different deceased people, respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Duluth does not disclose the materials of pictures are coloring materials or materials that are colored by the coloring materials.
However, regarding claims 4-6, Duluth discloses a method for preserving a deceased person’s memory before cremation by collecting and banking their DNA (pg. 1, para. 2). Duluth discloses creating a DNA custom memorial portrait where the deceased person’s DNA is mixed into the paint (i.e. coloring materials) used to create the portrait (pg. 3, para. 2). Duluth discloses banking your loved one’s DNA provides a meaningful way for families to keep their loved one’s memories alive after cremation (pg. 1, para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified each of the capsule objects of the plurality of deceased people of Lee to have created a portrait using paint mixed with a deceased person’s DNA, as shown by Duluth above, thus arriving at the invention of claim 4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Lee and Duluth in order to provide a meaningful way to keep a loved one’s memory alive after cremation, as shown by Duluth (pg. 1, para. 1). This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given both Lee and Duluth create objects containing DNA, and therefore, the portrait of Duluth is applicable to the method of Lee.
While Lee in view of Duluth do not explicitly disclose the genomic grave is a single portrait with multiple sections including the DNA of different deceased people, claim 5 simply makes integral, separate portraits containing DNA for a deceased person, as made obvious by Lee in view of Duluth above, to form a single portrait with sections. The courts have found "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice." In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Furthermore, the single portrait with multiple sections is interpreted as a matter of design choice, and Applicant has not disclosed that this feature provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem when compared to providing separate portraits for each deceased person, as shown by Lee in view of Duluth above. Therefore, the portraits shown by Lee in view of Duluth would perform equally as well in providing a genomic grave for multiple deceased people, and such a modification fails to patentably distinguish over Lee in view of Duluth.
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claims 10-11, 13-15, 18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (2020) in view of Trounce (2013).
Cited references:
Lee et al. WO 2020017869 A1; Pub. Date: 23 Jan. 2020; and
Trounce, US 20130275255 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses a management system of genome information (FIG. 1 and 3; [0016]), wherein the system comprises the following:
Lee discloses dielectric storage unit that stores dielectric materials of genomic DNA, wherein each genomic DNA comprising a genome and an artificial nucleic acid sequence in the form of a capsule (i.e. materials) ([0015]; [0028]; [0050]-[0051]), wherein the genome is of a dead body (i.e. deceased person) ([0028]). Lee discloses the artificial nucleic acid sequence information was formed based on information units and sequence information ([0033]-[0037])
Lee discloses a genomic information management system ([0019]; [0049]; FIG. 6), that controls access to the stored genomic information of the deceased person by comparing an obtained value from the artificial nucleic acid sequence (i.e. authentication information corresponding to the artificial sequence) with received authentication information from a user, and when it is confirmed the provider of the authentication information is a legitimate owner, the provider is then provided with the genome corresponding to the nucleic acid sequence ([0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the genomic information (i.e. the information about the deceased person) may include a plurality of fields such as height, weight (i.e. physical characteristic information), visual acuity, respiratory treatment history, hypertension treatment history (i.e. disease information) ([0078]).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 10, from which it depends for the reasons discussed under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) above. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons discussed above for claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses the genomic grave comprises a plurality of capsules (i.e. unit elements) generated for a plurality of objects of population, such that the genomic grave includes a genome and artificial sequence for each of a plurality of deceased people ([0005],; [0028], e.g. stores a plurality of dielectric materials, each material comprising a genome and artificial sequence in form of a capsule; [0050], e.g. e.g. stores a plurality of capsules; [0028]).
Regarding claims 21-23, Lee discloses the artificial nucleic acid sequence information was formed based on information units and sequence information ([0033]-[0037]). While Lee does not explicitly disclose the artificial sequence was formed by converting information about a deceased person, including a will or information of a bereaved family member, the process in which the artificial sequence was previously formed is a product by process limitation (see claim interpretation above), and the artificial sequence of Lee is the same product as that in the claims. Therefore, Lee teaches this limitation.
Lee does not disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 10, Lee does not explicitly disclose the corresponding hardware for the system includes a processor, a memory, a communication unit, and an input/output for receiving input or outputting data (i.e. a generic computer). However, the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art.). See MPEP 2144.04 III.
Further regarding claim 10, Lee does not disclose a genomic grave creation unit configured to request a grave manufacturer to create the genomic grave.
Regarding claim 14, Lee does not disclose a corpse treatment management unit configured to provide information and a video about a corpse of a deceased person taken along a movement path in a funeral to the customer terminal in real time.
Regarding claim 15 Lee does not disclose the system further comprises at least one of: a funeral article proxy purchase unit configured to provide a funeral article list to the customer terminal and configured to, when a specific funeral article is selected through the customer terminal, transmit a purchase request to a company terminal of the selected funeral article.
Regarding claim 24, Lee does not disclose the system further comprises a virtual grave provider configured to provide a shape corresponding to the genomic grave in a virtual space through the customer terminal.
However, these limitations were known in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as shown by Trounce.
Regarding claim 10, Trounce discloses a system for creating, ordering, processing, and delivering personal bereavement packages (Abstract), including funeral and memorial related products such as keepsakes and memorial albums (e.g. corresponding to the genomic grave in Lee) ([0096]). Trounce discloses the system provides a web client that providers users with the option to select a funeral related product ([0096]), and that orders placed through the web client are received at a central web server operated by a vendor capable of manufacturing each of the products offered through the platform (i.e. requesting a manufacturer to create the funeral related product) ([0109];[0110]).
Regarding claim 14, Trounce further discloses the system for creating, ordering, processing, and delivering personal bereavement packages (Abstract) provides information about a memorial service, including a burial or cremation ([0054]). Trounce discloses the system provides remote access or an interactive service, in which people who are unable to attend the funeral or memorial service may view and/or “attend” the service (i.e. a video is provided in real-time) ([0096]). Trounce discloses the memorial service includes a burial or cremation ([0054]), demonstrating the video is about a corpse of the deceased person along a movement path in a funeral (e.g. the path to burial).
Regarding claim 15¸ Trounce further discloses the web client is configured to provide a list of items for the funeral, and the user may click on a specific item to add the item to an order of a service product ([0146]; FIG. 16), and that the web client automatically forwards orders to the appropriate vendor (i.e. transmitting a purchase request to a company terminal of the selected funeral article) ([0110]).
Regarding claim 24, Trounce further discloses the web client is configured to provide the user with a graphical user interface (i.e. a virtual space) to create an order by customizing a product, wherein the graphical user interface provides various layouts for the product, such as the size, shape, and format of the product ([0078]).
Last, Trounce discloses that arrangement funeral or memorial services is a time-consuming and detail oriented process, and the present system provides a service that streamlines the process, thereby reducing the time and effort spent, and the stress felt, by the individuals organizing the funeral service ([0004]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of storing genomic graves of Lee to have included the system for creating, ordering, processing, and delivering personal bereavement packages including memorial related products, as shown by Trounce above, thus arriving at the inventions of claims 10, 14-15, and 24. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Lee and Trounce in order to reduce the time and effort spent and the stress felt by individuals organizing a funeral, as shown by Trounce ([0004]). This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Lee discloses the creation of a memorial related product in the form of a genomic grave, and therefore, the system for ordering memorial related products of Trounce is applicable to the genomic grave of Lee.
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claims 10-11 above, and further in view of Tarumi (2003).
Cited reference: Tarumi, JP 2003067474 A
Regarding claims 12 and 16, Lee in view of Trounce disclose the system of claims 10-11 as applied above. Lee, as applied to claim 10 above, discloses a genomic information management system ([0019]; [0049]; FIG. 6), that controls access to the stored genomic information of the deceased person by comparing an obtained value from the artificial nucleic acid sequence (i.e. authentication information corresponding to the artificial sequence) with received authentication information from a user ([0049]).
Further regarding claims 12 and 16, Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claims 10-11 above do not disclose the following:
Further regarding claim 12, while Lee discloses the access of information for the deceased person is controlled by the authentication information, Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 11 above, Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 11 above, does not disclose the information for the deceased person includes information about the a family of the deceased person.
Further regarding claim 16, while Lee discloses the access of information for the deceased person is controlled by the authentication information, Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 10 above, does not disclose an avatar management unit configured to create an avatar of a deceased person in a virtual space and control changing of avatar information on the basis of the authentication information.
However, regarding claim 12, Tarumi discloses a system (avatar management unit) for utilizing data of a deceased person ([0001]), which includes a deceased person database that stores data items including the name of the deceased family, address of the deceased family, phone number of the deceased family (i.e. information about a family of the deceased person).
Regarding claim 16, Tarumi further discloses the system creates an avatar of a deceased person in a virtual space ([0010]). Tarumi further discloses the system comprises a contracting unit that manages service-related requirements from a client who desires a simulated deceased service ([0019]), and that the contracting unit authenticates each data constituting a request element specifying the avatar, contents of the avatar, etc. at the time of contract (i.e. avatar information is changed on the basis of authentication information) ([0023]). Tarumi further discloses the system that simulates a deceased person means its possible for a third part to illusion as if the deceased person is alive after death ([007]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 11 above, to have further included information about a family of the deceased person as part of the information about the deceased person, as shown by Tarumi above, thus arriving at the invention of claim 12. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art elements of the information about the deceased person of Lee, including fields such as height, weight (i.e. physical characteristic information), visual acuity, respiratory treatment history, hypertension treatment history (i.e. disease information) ([0078]), with the prior art elements of information about the deceased person of Tarumi including information about a family as shown above. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the items of information about the deceased in Lee and Tarumi are unchanged regardless of whether they are stored together, or separately, and the combination would have predictable resulted in the genomic information management system of Lee controlling access to information of the deceased person, including information about a family of the deceased person of Tarumi, based on the authentication information corresponding to the artificial sequence (Lee: [0019]; [0049]; FIG. 6)
It would have been further prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 10 above, to have included the avatar management unit disclosed by Tarumi above, thus arriving at the invention of claim 16. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the systems of Lee in view of Trounce with Tarumi in order to provide simulations of the deceased person as if the deceased person is alive after death, as shown by Tarumi ([007]). This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given both Lee in view of Trounce and Tarumi relate to methods of dealing with funerals and the deceased, and furthermore, Lee discloses using authentication information to control information access, and thus the avatar management unit with authentication requirements of Tarumi is applicable to the system of Lee in view of Trounce.
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Duluth (2015).
Cited reference: Duluth, Preserve Your Loved One’s Legacy Before Cremation with DNA memorial, 2015, pg. 1-3.
Regarding claims 17 and 19-20, Lee in view of Trounce disclose the system of claim 10 as applied above.
Further regarding claims 17 and 19-20, Lee discloses the genomic grave comprises a plurality of capsules (e.g. a plurality of products in Trounce) generated for a plurality of objects of population, such that the genomic grave includes a genome and artificial sequence for a plurality of deceased people ([0005],; [0028], e.g. stores a plurality of dielectric materials, each material comprising a genome and artificial sequence in form of a capsule; [0050], e.g. e.g. stores a plurality of capsules; [0028]).
Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 10 above, does not disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 10 above, does not disclose the genomic grave is any one of a sculpture, a flowerpot, and a picture.
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 10 above, does not disclose, the genomic grave forms one work through a plurality of picture materials, and the materials of pictures include a genome and an artificial nucleic acid sequence for a plurality of deceased people, respectively.
Regarding claim 20, Lee in view of Trounce, as applied to claim 10 above, does not disclose the materials of pictures are coloring materials or materials that are colored by the coloring materials.
However, regarding claims 17 and 19-20, Duluth discloses a method for preserving a deceased person’s memory before cremation by collecting and banking their DNA (pg. 1, para. 2). Duluth discloses creating a DNA custom memorial portrait where the deceased person’s DNA is mixed into the paint (i.e. coloring materials) used to create the portrait (pg. 3, para. 2). Duluth discloses banking your loved one’s DNA provides a meaningful way for families to keep their loved one’s memories alive after cremation (pg. 1, para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified each of the capsule objects of the plurality of deceased people of Lee to be a portrait using paint (i.e. coloring materials) mixed with a deceased person’s DNA, as shown by Duluth above, thus arriving at the invention of claims 17 and 19-20. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods of Lee and Duluth in order to provide a meaningful way to keep a loved one’s memory alive after cremation, as shown by Duluth (pg. 1, para. 1). This modification would have had a reasonable expectation of success given both Lee and Duluth create objects containing DNA, and therefore, the portrait of Duluth is applicable to the method of Lee.
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yong-Bin US 2002/0055118 A1
Yong-Bin discloses a method of preparing an object containing DNA that includes any solid object having a defined shape, including rings, necklaces, writing implementations, fountain pens, dolls, toys, bags, records, etc. ([0051]), and the object may include a picture of the donor DNA and DNA band strips ([0022]-0029]; [0052]). Yong-Bin discloses these objects may be funeral implements ([0068]).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KAITLYN L MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685