DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 2-9, 11-15, 17-18, and 20-21 are as previously presented. Claim 19 is cancelled. Claims 1, 10, and 16. are amended. Therefore, claims 1-18 and 20-21 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by English (US 11,813,490).
Regarding claim 1, English discloses a sprinkler (Fig. 1B, 10), comprising;
a body (Fig. 1A, 14), comprising:
an opening (Fig. 1A, 18) arranged around a sprinkler axis (Fig. 1A, X);
a frame (Fig. 1A, 12) coupled with the body;
a button (Fig. 1B, 52) comprising a slanted surface (Annotated Fig. 1B) to be received in the opening (Fig. 2); and
a support bridge (Fig. 2A & 2B, 250’); comprising:
a center (Fig. 2A & 2B, 252a extending along the sprinkler axis “X’ to surface 272 where further shown in annotated Fig. 2B where a center is defined as “the middle or central portion of anything, [1913 Webster]” by dict.org.);
a first arm (Fig. 2B, 258a) extending from the center to a first end (Annotated Fig. 2A);
a second arm (Fig. 2B, 258b) extending from the center, opposite the first arm, to a second end (Annotated Fig. 2A); and
an arch (Fig. 2A & 2B, {272, 252b, & 252c} ) extending from the first end of the first arm in a circumferential direction (The dictionary definition of circumferential is “of, at, or near the circumference; surrounding; lying along the outskirts” as defined by dictionary.com and the dictionary definition of circumference is “the outer boundary, especially of a circular area; perimeter” as defined by dictionary.com. Fig. 2A shows the arch extending around the perimeter of support bridge.) around the sprinkler axis to the second end of the second arm (Fig. 2A & 2B), a first axis (Annotated Fig. 2A & 2B) that is perpendicular to the sprinkler axis extends through the center and the arch.
Annotated Figures
Regarding claim 3, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising:
the button comprises a base (Fig. 1A; Surface numeral 18 is pointing toward.) to couple with an activation element (Fig. 1A, 210).
Regarding claim 4, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising:
an activation element (Fig. 1A, 210) to couple with the button and the support bridge (Fig. 1A, utilizing the embodiment of 250’ instead of 250.), the activation element to exert a force on the button such that the button forms a fluid seal with the opening of the body (Col. 11: Ln. 11 to Col. 12: Ln. 5 describes the button (52) and a washer (54) forming a fluid tight engagement with the sealing surface of the frame which is shown as the opening (18) in Fig. 2A-2B via the activation element, which must exert a force to form a fluid seal by retaining the button, and this limitation shown in the same manner Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 7, and Fig. 8 of the applicant’s specification.).
Regarding claim 6, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising:
a washer (Fig. 1B, 54) coupled with the button (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 7, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising:
the support bridge is configured to be positioned within the frame (Fig. 1A, utilizing the embodiment of 250’ instead of 250.), such that the support bridge is configured to be movably coupled to the frame and act as a lever (Col. 9: Ln. 8-16).
Regarding claim 8, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising:
the button and the center of the support bridge are aligned with the sprinkler axis (Fig. 1B, utilizing the embodiment of 250’ instead of 250; Fig. 2A & 2B); and
the arch extends further outward from the sprinkler axis than the center (Fig. 2A & 2B).
Regarding claim 9, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising:
the button comprises a base (Annotated Fig. 1B) and an upper portion (Annotated Fig. 1B) extending from the base, the upper portion to be received by the opening of the body (Fig. 1A).
Annotated Figure(s)
Regarding claim 10, English discloses a sprinkler (Fig. 1B, 10), comprising:
a body (Fig. 1A, 14) comprising an opening (Fig. 1A, 18) arranged around a sprinkler axis (Fig. 1A, X) and a frame (Fig. 1A, 12) coupled with an inferior portion of the body (Annotated Fig. 1A);
a button (Fig. 1B, 52) including a slanted surface (Annotated Fig. 1B of claim 1) coupled with the body;
an activation element (Fig. 1A, 210) coupled with the button (Fig. 1A); and
a support bridge (Fig. 2A & 2B, 250’); comprising:
a center (Fig. 2A & 2B, 252a extending along the sprinkler axis “X’ to surface 272 where further shown in annotated Fig. 2B of claim 1 where a center is defined as “the middle or central portion of anything, [1913 Webster]” by dict.org.);
a first arm (Fig. 2B, 258a) extending from the center to a first end (Annotated Fig. 2A of claim 1);
a second arm (Fig. 2B, 258b) extending from the center, opposite the first arm, to a second end (Annotated Fig. 2A of claim 1); and
an arch (Fig. 2A & 2B, {272, 252b, & 252c} ) extending from the first end of the first arm in a circumferential direction (The dictionary definition of circumferential is “of, at, or near the circumference; surrounding; lying along the outskirts” as defined by dictionary.com and the dictionary definition of circumference is “the outer boundary, especially of a circular area; perimeter” as defined by dictionary.com. Fig. 2A shows the arch extending around the perimeter of support bridge.) around the sprinkler axis to the second end of the second arm (Fig. 2A & 2B), a first axis (Annotated Fig. 2A & 2B of claim 1.) that is perpendicular to the sprinkler axis extends through the center and the arch.
Annotated Figures
Regarding claim 11, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising: the button comprises a base (Fig. 1A; Surface numeral 18 is pointing toward.) to receive an activation element (Fig. 1B, 210).
Regarding claim 13, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising the support bridge movably coupled to with the frame to act as a lever (Col. 9: Ln. 8-16).
Regarding claim 14, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising: the button and the support bridge are aligned with the sprinkler axis (Fig. 1B, utilizing the embodiment of 250’ instead of 250; Fig. 2A & 2B) and are to be driven away from the sprinkler axis responsive to activation of the activation element (Col. 9: Ln. 8-16; Col. 9: Ln. 33-39 describes the button being ejected and an unencumbered fluid column is discharged to the fluid deflection member and thus must be driven away from the sprinkler axis.).
Regarding claim 15, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising: the button comprises a base (Annotated Fig. 1B of Claim 9) and an upper portion (Annotated Fig. 1B of Claim 9) extending from the base, the upper portion to be received by the opening of the body (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 16, English discloses a method of providing a sprinkler (Fig. 1B, 10), comprising:
providing a body (Fig. 1A, 14) comprising an opening (Fig. 1A, 18) arranged around a sprinkler axis (Fig. 1A, X);
providing a frame (Fig. 1A, 12) coupled with the body (Fig.1A);
providing a button (Fig. 1B, 52) within the body (Fig. 1A & Fig. 1B); and
providing a support bridge (Fig. 2A & 2B, 250’); comprising:
a center (Fig. 2A & 2B, 252a extending along the sprinkler axis “X’ to surface 272 where further shown in annotated Fig. 2B of claim 1 where a center is defined as “the middle or central portion of anything, [1913 Webster]” by dict.org.);
a first arm (Fig. 2B, 258a) extending from the center to a first end (Annotated Fig. 2A of claim 1);
a second arm (Fig. 2B, 258b) extending from the center, opposite the first arm, to a second end (Annotated Fig. 2A of claim 1); and
an arch (Fig. 2A & 2B, {272, 252b, & 252c} ) extending from the first end of the first arm in a circumferential direction (The dictionary definition of circumferential is “of, at, or near the circumference; surrounding; lying along the outskirts” as defined by dictionary.com and the dictionary definition of circumference is “the outer boundary, especially of a circular area; perimeter” as defined by dictionary.com. Fig. 2A shows the arch extending around the perimeter of support bridge.) around the sprinkler axis to the second end of the second arm (Fig. 2A & 2B), a first axis (Annotated Fig. 2A & 2B of claim 1.) that is perpendicular to the sprinkler axis extends through the center and the arch..
Additionally with regards to a method of providing, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 2112.02-I.
Regarding claim 17, English discloses a method of providing a sprinkler 16, and further discloses the method comprising:
providing an activation element (Fig. 1A, 210) to be coupled with the button and the support bridge such that the activation element exerts exerting a force on the button such that the button forms a fluid seal with the opening of the body (Col. 11: Ln. 11 to Col. 12: Ln. 5 describes the button (52) and a washer (54) forming a fluid tight engagement with the sealing surface of the frame which is shown as the opening (18) in Fig. 2A-2B via the activation element, which must exert a force to form a fluid seal by retaining the button, and this limitation shown in the same manner Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 7, and Fig. 8 of the applicant’s specification.).
Additionally with regards to a method of providing, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 2112.02-I.
Regarding claim 18, English discloses a method of providing a sprinkler 16, and further discloses the method comprising:
providing an activation element (Fig. 1A, 210) to be changed from a first state that prevents fluid flow out of the sprinkler to a second state that permits fluid flow of the sprinkler (Col. 9: Ln. 33-39) responsive to a fire condition (Col. 12: Ln. 13-16).
Additionally with regards to a method of providing, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 2112.02-I.
Regarding claim 20, English discloses a method of providing a sprinkler 16, and further discloses the method comprising:
coupling the support bridge with the button (Fig. 1A) to enable the support bridge to change state responsive to operation of the button (Col. 9: Ln. 33-39; When button operates {discharges due to the thermal activation element}, the bridge changes from a state of supporting the button to not supporting the button).
Regarding claim 21, English discloses a sprinkler of claim 1 and further discloses the sprinkler comprising: the arch is rectangular (Fig. 2A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English in view of Orr (9,265,981).
Regarding claim 2, English discloses the sprinkler of claim 1, but does not disclose the sprinkler comprising: the center comprises an aperture and an outer flange extending from an upper surface of the center.
However, Orr teaches a prior art comparable device (Ab – “a sprinkler assembly”) comprising a center (Fig. 2, 56 & 58) comprises an aperture (Fig, 2 60) and an outer flange (Annotated Fig. 2) extending from an upper surface of the center (Annotated Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique (the center comprises an aperture and an outer flange extending from an upper surface of the center) as taught by Orr, into the device disclosed by English to reduce the possibility of the button hanging up on the support bridge (Col. 4: Ln. 33-35) and yielding the predictable result of supporting the button.
Annotated Figure(s)
Regarding claim 5, English discloses the sprinkler of claim 1, and further discloses the sprinkler comprising: an activation element to couple with the button and the support bridge (Fig. 1A).
English does not disclose a loading screw to threadably couple to the center such that the loading screw engages the activation element.
However, Orr teaches a prior art comparable device (Ab – “a sprinkler assembly”) comprising a loading screw (Fig. 2, 26) to threadably couple to a center (Fig. 2, 58) such that the loading screw engages an activation element (Fig. 2, 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique (a loading screw to threadably couple to the center such that the loading screw engages the activation element) as taught by Orr, into the device disclosed by English to reduce the possibility of the button hanging up on the support bridge (Col. 4: Ln. 33-35) and yielding the predictable result of supporting the activation element and the button.
Regarding claim 12, English discloses the sprinkler of claim 10, and further discloses the sprinkler comprising:
the activation element to exert a force on the button such that the button forms a fluid seal with the opening of the body (Col. 11: Ln. 11 to Col. 12: Ln. 5 describes the button and a washer (54) forming a fluid tight engagement with the sealing surface of the frame which is shown as the opening (18) in Fig. 2A via the activation element, which must exert a force to form a fluid seal by retaining the button, and this limitation shown in the same manner as Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 7, and Fig. 8 of the applicant’s specification.); and
the activation element breaks in response to an external temperature being greater than a threshold temperature (Col. 12: Ln. 13-16; Col. 6: Ln. 25-28; A frangible glass bulb breaks in response to an external temperature being greater than a threshold temperature.).
English does not disclose a loading screw threadably coupled to an aperture of the center of the support bridge, the loading screw to engage with the activation element.
However, Orr teaches a loading screw (Fig. 2, 26) threadably coupled to an aperture (Fig. 2, 60) of the center (Fig. 2, 14A) of the support bridge (Fig. 2, 58), the loading screw to engage with an activation element (Fig. 2, 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique (a loading screw threadably coupled to an aperture of the center of the support bridge, the loading screw to engage with the activation element) as taught by Orr, into the device disclosed by English to reduce the possibility of the button hanging up on the support bridge (Col. 4: Ln. 33-35) and yielding the predictable result of supporting the activation element and the button.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 on page 7-8 the added limitation for claims 1, 10, and 16 of “a first axis that is perpendicular to the sprinkler axis extends through the center and the arch” was rendered anticipated as outlined in the office action.
Conclusion
/ANDREW DOMENIC ONDREJCAK/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 June 5, 2026
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752