Detailed Action
Claims 111-144 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (Claims 111-144, drawn to Compounds of Formulae I, II, II-1, and II-2) and the elected species
in the reply filed on 1/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 142-143 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to unelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, Claims 111-141 and 144 are being examined on the merits herein.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
Claim Objections
Claim 123 is objected to because of the following informalities:
R1 is defined twice. One of the duplicate definitions should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 111, 113-116, 118, 120-122, and 144 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lindenthal (US20060252748).
Lindenthal teaches CDK inhibitors (Abstract). Lindenthal teaches compound 145 as a CDK inhibitor on Page 35:
, in which the following definitions of examined Formula I apply: X is N; R3 is Br; R4 is H; L1 is
, wherein n is 0; R1 is SO2NH2; L2 is a bond; L3 is a 1-membered heteroalkylene, NH2; and R2 is
. Compounds of the inventions are to be formulated with various excipients in various dosage forms, or pharmaceutical compositions (Para 100-105).
Claims 111, 113-114, 117-118, 120-122 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behenna (US20180044344, 11/03/2023 IDS).
Behenna teaches the following intermediate in the synthesis of example 6 (Page 56, Para 1010):
((±)-(lR*,2R*)-2-[(5-bromo-2-{[l- (methylsulfonyl)piperidin-4-yl]amino}pyrimidin-4-yl) amino]-l-methylcyclopentanol), in which the following definitions of examined Formula I apply: X is N; R3 is Br; R4 is H; L1-R1 is
; L2 is a bond; L3 is a 1-membered heteroalkylene, NH2; and R2 is
.
Claims 123-124 and 128-131 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Finlay (WO2009022171).
Finlay teaches ALK5 inhibitors (Abstract). Finaly teaches Example 117 on Page 128:
, in which the following definitions of examined Formula II apply: X is CR13, wherein R13 is H; R3 and R4 are both H; L1-R1 is
; L2 is O; L3 is a bond; Ring A is a methyl substituted heteroarylene/heterocyclylene; and Q is a C1 alkyl, methyl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 113-124, 126, 129-132, 134, 136-138, and 144 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindenthal (US20060252748).
Lindenthal teaches CDK inhibitors (Abstract). Lindenthal teaches compound 145 as a CDK inhibitor on Page 35:
, in which the following definitions of examined Formula I apply: X is N; R3 is Br; R4 is H; L1 is
, wherein n is 0; R1 is SO2NH2; L2 is a NH2 ; L3 is a bond; and R2 is
. Compounds of the inventions are to be formulated with various excipients in various dosage forms, or pharmaceutical compositions (Para 100-105).
Lindenthal teaches that the instant L2 position—X in formula I of Lindenthal—may instead be an oxygen (Para 16). One of skill in the art seeking to form CDK inhibitors would find it obvious to make the modification to Compound 145 using the alternative embodiment to position X as suggested by Lindenthal before the filing date of the instant application. The same artisan would expect the successful modification of the compound because of the limited acceptable embodiments of X and Lindenthal teaching that compounds of the genus of formula I, including a modified Compound 145, are acceptable CDK inhibitors.
Claims 111-116, 118-122, and 144 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindenthal (US20060252748).
Lindenthal teaches CDK inhibitors (Abstract). Lindenthal teaches Compound 144 as a CDK inhibitor on Page 35:
, in which the following definitions of examined Formula I apply: X is N; R3 is Br; R4 is H; L1 is
, wherein n is 0; R1 is SO2NH2; L2 is O; L3 is a bond; and R2 is
. Compounds of the inventions are to be formulated with various excipients in various dosage forms, or pharmaceutical compositions (Para 100-105).
Lindenthal teaches that the instant R2 position—also R2 in formula I of Lindenthal—may be C1-C10 cycloalkyl (interrupted by O) (Para 14). One of skill in the art seeking to form CDK inhibitors would find it obvious to expand the 6-membered heteroalkyl,
, to yield the R2,
, as claimed. The same artisan would expect the successful modification of the compound because Lindenthal teaches that compounds of the genus of formula I, including a modified Compound 144, are acceptable CDK inhibitors. Further, Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09.
Claims 132-134 and 136-138 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindenthal (US20060252748).
Lindenthal teaches CDK inhibitors (Abstract). Lindenthal teaches Compound 144 as a CDK inhibitor on Page 35:
, in which the following definitions of examined Formula I apply: X is N; R3 is Br; R4 is H; L1 is
, wherein n is 0; R1 is SO2NH2; L2 is O; L3 is a bond; and R2 is
. No equivalent Q substituent is taught.
Lindenthal teaches R2—also R2 in the equivalent position of formula I in Lindethal—may be substituted by “halogen, hydroxy, C1-C6- alkyl, C1-C6-alkoxy”, among others (Para 14). Any of the above substituents added to a carbon adjacent to the ester linkage would render the compounds of Formulae II-1 and II-2 obvious. One of skill in the art seeking to form CDK inhibitors before the filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to substitute the R2 ring as taught by Lindenthal. One would expect success in doing so because the modification is explicitly suggested by Lindenthal to form CDK inhibitors of formula I. Further, regarding the exchange of an H for CH3 (or CH2H) specifically, compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09.
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
1. Claims 111-141 and 144 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of anticipatory nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 17-38 of copending Application No. 18670469 (hereinafter referred to as Allorion).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to the same compounds and pharmaceutical compositions thereof. For example, both applications teach the elected species:
.
Method claims require the existence of the claimed compounds.
Since both applications teach the same species, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Allorion.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2. Claims 111-140 and 144 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of anticipatory nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-41 of copending Application No. 18958484 (hereinafter referred to as Allorion).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to overlapping genera of kinase inhibitors and pharmaceutical compositions thereof. Allorion teaches more narrow genera of Formulae I, II, II-1, and II-2, where R10 in particular is limited to aromatic carbocycles and heterocycles. The same compounds are also taught; e.g.,
(Claim 34). Methylene homologs are also taught:
(instant Claim 140) vs.
(copending Claim 39). Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09.
Method claims require the existence of the claimed compounds.
Since both applications teach overlapping genera, similar compounds, and the same compounds, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Allorion.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
3. Claims 111-138 and 144 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-31 of copending Application No. 19431098 (hereinafter referred to as Allorion).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to inhibitor isotopes and compositions thereof.
Allorion teaches deuterated isotopes of the elected species, wherein the isotope is not the elected species of the instant application. However, Allorion teaches any of the three deuterium may instead be hydrogen. The substitution taught by Allorion at any of the deuterium of the elected species would render obvious the claims of the instant application.
Method claims require the existence of the claimed genera of formulae.
Since both applications teach inhibitor isotopes, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Allorion.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627