DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the weight ratio (b1):(b2)" . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the weight ratio (b):(c)" . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
“wherein: copolymer (a)” is indefinite because it must be changed to ‘the at least one copolymer (a)”. Whenever a component is introduced with the phrase “at least one” preceding it, any further recitation of that component must have “at least one” preceding it. This applies to claims 19, 20 and 29 as well.
Claims 33 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “outdoor application” is indefinite. The metes and bounds of “application” are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabuse et al. (JP 2003-165885A).
Regarding claims 18 and 21-28: Tabuse et al. teach a thermoplastic molding composition comprising the claimed amount [Examples; Table 1] of a copolymer of 50 wt% methyl methacrylate and styrene [0010-0013; Examples], 0.1 parts by weight of B-1 (Tinuvin 770; claimed LMW-HALS) or 0.4 parts by weight of B-2 (Chimassorb 944; claimed HMW-HALS), and 0.05 parts (0.05 wt%) of the UV absorber Tinuvin P [Example 1; Table 1]. Tabouse et al. teach using a mixture of two hindered amine stabilizers [0017].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a combination of 0.1 parts of Tinuvin 770 and 0.4 parts Chimassorb 944 as the hindered amine-based stabilizer in Tabouse et al. It is obvious to combine separately taught prior art ingredients which perform the same function; it is logical that they would produce the same effect and supplement each other. In re Crockett 126 USPQ 186. See MPEP 2144.06.
The weight ratio of (b1):(b2) is 4:1. Tabouse et al. teach an example using a weight ratio of (b):(c) of 0.1:0.05 or 5:1 [Example 1; Table 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of use the same ratio of the UV absorber for the combination of Tinuvin 770 and Chimassorb 944.
Regarding claims 19-20: Tabouse et al. teach a copolymer of 50 wt% methyl methacrylate and 50 wt% styrene [0010-0013; Examples]. The amount of 50 wt% methyl methacrylate is very close to the claimed amount of 49 wt%, and the amount of 50 wt% styrene is very close to the claimed amount of 51 wt% styrene. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 29: Tabouse et al. teach a process of mixing the components [Examples].
Regarding claim 30: Tabouse et al. teach injection molding [Examples].
Regarding claim 31: Tabouse et al. teach a shaped article [Examples].
Regarding claims 32 and 35: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed properties. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claims 33 and 36: Tabouse et al. teach an article for outdoor applications [0002].
Regarding claims 34 and 37: Tabouse et al. teach an exterior automotive part [0002].
Double Patenting
Claims 18-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-36 of copending Application No. 18/692186. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other,
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763