Claim amendments filed 6/12/2026 are acknowledged. Claims 1-5, 7, 11-16, 18, 20, 24, 26, and 27 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 6/12/2026 have been considered.
The new limitations and claims will be addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-16, 18, 20, 26, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al. (US 2004/0166018) in view of Grimm (DE 10 2004 021 585)(English machine translation).
With regards to claim 1, Clark teaches an air cleaning system comprising: a ducting section (1504) comprising an inlet (1508) and an outlet (1509) and a plurality of walls (it is generally a rectangular prism); at least one source of UV radiation (lamps 1503) into an interior volume of the ducting section, the interior volume between the inlet and the outlet; and a reflective surface (at least one surface is lined with a diffuse reflective material) arranged to reflect UV radiation emitted by the source of the UV radiation within the interior volume of the ducting section, wherein the reflective surface is capable of reflecting at least 60% of the incident UV radiation (para [0019], [0121], [0122]; fig 5; abstract).
Clark teaches further comprising a removable casing (lamp multiplier box 1502; is removable with at least enough effort), wherein the source of UV light is disposed within the removable casing (fig 5).
Clark teaches that the ducting section has a plurality of walls (it is a box shape; fig 5) that define the interior volume but does not teach multiple of the removable casings each with a source of UV radiation.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have duplicated the number of casings (box 1502) with UV lamps in order to provide the predictable result of more UV light energy in the treatment zone as desired. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have placed the duplicated casings and lamps on different walls as desired in order to get the desired irradiation from multiple angles/directions for uniform/complete coverage.
Clark does not teach a plurality of corner members, wherein each corner member extends along a join between two perpendicular walls of the plurality of walls, wherein each corner member is capped at each end, thereby forming a hollow member at each corner of the ducting section.
Grimm teaches an air sterilizer using UV light (abstract). Grimm teaches adding reflectors (17) including ones that are corner members (ones shown at 45 degrees making a triangle with the corners of the chamber housing 10) (fig 1, 2a, and 3). This reduces dead zones in the sterilizer (second to last paragraph of the description). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have added corner pieces as taught by Grimm in order to reduce dead zones in the air sterilizer.
The combination results in a plurality of corner members (one on each corner making a generally octagonal cross-section inside the chamber), wherein each corner member extends along a join between two perpendicular walls of the plurality of walls (between a vertical and horizontal wall), wherein each corner member is capped at each end (by the end walls of the chamber at inlet and outlet side), thereby forming a hollow member at each corner of the ducting section (there is a space behind the corner member and the duct section (housing) formed by cutting off the corner with the corner member).
With regards to claim 2, wherein the at least one source of UV radiation is provided in a recess (lamp multiplier box 1507) so as to mitigate obstruction of airflow through the ducting section (is offset to the side) (fig 5; para [0121], [0122]).
With regards to claims 3-5, the reflective surface can be made of PTFE (para [0019]) which the instant specification says is a material that can reflect about 97% of incident UV radiation (page 11, lines 23-25). Additionally, Clark teaches DRP with 99.4-99.9% reflectivity (para [0064], [0122]).
With regards to claim 7, the removable casings further comprises the reflective surface (para [0122]).
With regards to claim 11, each of the sources of UV light includes multiple UV lamps (fig 5B; para [0122]).
With regards to claim 12, adjacent ones of the plurality of UV lamps are spaced apart from one another to provide a gap between adjacent ones of the plurality of UV lamps (fig 5).
With regards to claim 13, a portion of the reflective surface is exposed to the UV radiation through the gap between the adjacent ones of the plurality of lamps (all of the duct and box can have reflective lining including the box wall behind the lamps; this results in the same arrangement as seen in fig 5B as that in the instant application fig 5 showing the gap arrangement).
With regards to claims 14 and 15, fig 5B shows gaps between spaced apart UV lamps but Clark does not specify the ratio of gaps to lamp area. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have sized the box (including the reflective back wall) as desired in order to achieve the desired sized treatment device. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have sized the UV lamps as desired in order to achieve the desired amount of lamps in the desired space. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have optimized the number of UV lamps in order to provide the desired amount of UV light.
All of these obvious modifications effect the ratio of gap to lamp area and thus the claims are obvious.
With regards to claim 16, each of the plurality of UV lamps comprises a longitudinal axis, therein the longitudinal axis of each of the plurality is parallel to a flow path from inlet to outlet (air flow arrow is parallel to the long length of the lamps; fig 5).
With regards to claims 18 and 20, Clark teaches that the UV light emits in the overlapping range of 200nm to 300nm light to kill microorganisms and destroy harmful chemicals (para [0147]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used UV wavelengths within the taught range motivated by an expectation of successfully killing microorganisms and destroying harmful chemicals.
With regards to claim 24, Clark teaches the system of claim 1 (as above) as part of an HVAC duct (fig 5). It is not clear whether it is replacing a duct of an air handler system or if it is just part of the system. Clark does teach that one of the benefits of the system is retrofitting it into buildings (para [0009]). In the background, it is discussed that air sterilizers can replace one or more sections of duct in an air duct (para [0006]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have replaced a regular duct in a retrofit or when making a new air handler system with the air cleaning system of Clark (fig 5) in order to kill microorganisms and destroy harmful chemicals in the air.
The modification results in a method of constructing an air handling system as claimed.
With regards to claim 26, the reflective surface extends over the surface of each corner member that faces the interior volume of the ducting section (Grimm fig 3, second to last paragraph of description).
With regards to claim 27, Grimm teaches the corner pieces meeting the top and side walls at angles (fig 3 and second to last paragraph of description). In order to make the corner pieces meet at an angle as taught, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to miter or bevel them in order to make the taught angles.
Additional and alternative rejection
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-16, 18, 20, 24, 26, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al. (US 2004/0166018) in view of Zhang (US 2004/0213714).
With regards to claim 1, Clark teaches an air cleaning system comprising: a ducting section (1504) comprising an inlet (1508) and an outlet (1509) and a plurality of walls (it is generally a rectangular prism); at least one source of UV radiation (lamps 1503) into an interior volume of the ducting section, the interior volume between the inlet and the outlet; and a reflective surface (at least one surface is lined with a diffuse reflective material) arranged to reflect UV radiation emitted by the source of the UV radiation within the interior volume of the ducting section, wherein the reflective surface is capable of reflecting at least 60% of the incident UV radiation (para [0019], [0121], [0122]; fig 5; abstract).
Clark teaches further comprising a casing (lamp multiplier box 1502), wherein the source of UV light is disposed within the removable casing (fig 5).
Clark teaches that the ducting section has a plurality of walls (it is a box shape; fig 5) that define the interior volume but does not teach multiple of the removable casings each with a source of UV radiation.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have duplicated the number of casings (box 1502) with UV lamps in order to provide the predictable result of more UV light energy in the treatment zone as desired. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have placed the duplicated casings and lamps on different walls as desired in order to get the desired irradiation from multiple angles/directions for uniform/complete coverage.
As to making the casing removable, Zhang teaches an external mounting housing for a UV sterilizer and teaches making the external housing of the lamp removable in order to allow for replacement of the lamp as needed (para [0024] and fig 1). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have made the lamp casings removable in order to allow for repair and replacement of the lamps.
Clark does not teach a plurality of corner members, wherein each corner member extends along a join between two perpendicular walls of the plurality of walls, wherein each corner member is capped at each end, thereby forming a hollow member at each corner of the ducting section.
Grimm teaches an air sterilizer using UV light (abstract). Grimm teaches adding reflectors (17) including ones that are corner members (ones shown at 45 degrees making a triangle with the corners of the chamber housing 10) (fig 1, 2a, and 3). This reduces dead zones in the sterilizer (second to last paragraph of the description). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have added corner pieces as taught by Grimm in order to reduce dead zones in the air sterilizer.
The combination results in a plurality of corner members (one on each corner making a generally octagonal cross-section inside the chamber), wherein each corner member extends along a join between two perpendicular walls of the plurality of walls (between a vertical and horizontal wall), wherein each corner member is capped at each end (by the end walls of the chamber at inlet and outlet side), thereby forming a hollow member at each corner of the ducting section (there is a space behind the corner member and the duct section (housing) formed by cutting off the corner with the corner member).
With regards to claim 2, wherein the at least one source of UV radiation is provided in a recess (lamp multiplier box 1507) so as to mitigate obstruction of airflow through the ducting section (is offset to the side) (fig 5; para [0121], [0122]).
With regards to claims 3-5, the reflective surface can be made of PTFE (para [0019]) which the instant specification says is a material that can reflect about 97% of incident UV radiation (page 11, lines 23-25). Additionally, Clark teaches DRP with 99.4-99.9% reflectivity (para [0064], [0122]).
With regards to claim 7, the removable casings further comprises the reflective surface (para [0122]).
With regards to claim 11, each of the sources of UV light includes multiple UV lamps (fig 5B; para [0122]).
With regards to claim 12, adjacent ones of the plurality of UV lamps are spaced apart from one another to provide a gap between adjacent ones of the plurality of UV lamps (fig 5).
With regards to claim 13, a portion of the reflective surface is exposed to the UV radiation through the gap between the adjacent ones of the plurality of lamps (all of the duct and box can have reflective lining including the box wall behind the lamps; this results in the same arrangement as seen in fig 5B as that in the instant application fig 5 showing the gap arrangement).
With regards to claims 14 and 15, fig 5B shows gaps between spaced apart UV lamps but Clark does not specify the ratio of gaps to lamp area. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have sized the box (including the reflective back wall) as desired in order to achieve the desired sized treatment device. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have sized the UV lamps as desired in order to achieve the desired amount of lamps in the desired space. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have optimized the number of UV lamps in order to provide the desired amount of UV light.
All of these obvious modifications effect the ratio of gap to lamp area and thus the claims are obvious.
With regards to claim 16, each of the plurality of UV lamps comprises a longitudinal axis, therein the longitudinal axis of each of the plurality is parallel to a flow path from inlet to outlet (air flow arrow is parallel to the long length of the lamps; fig 5).
With regards to claims 18 and 20, Clark teaches that the UV light emits in the overlapping range of 200nm to 300nm light to kill microorganisms and destroy harmful chemicals (para [0147]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used UV wavelengths within the taught range motivated by an expectation of successfully killing microorganisms and destroying harmful chemicals.
With regards to claim 24, Clark teaches the system of claim 1 (as above) as part of an HVAC duct (fig 5). It is not clear whether it is replacing a duct of an air handler system or if it is just part of the system. Clark does teach that one of the benefits of the system is retrofitting it into buildings (para [0009]). In the background, it is discussed that air sterilizers can replace one or more sections of duct in an air duct (para [0006]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have replaced a regular duct in a retrofit or when making a new air handler system with the air cleaning system of Clark (fig 5) in order to kill microorganisms and destroy harmful chemicals in the air.
The modification results in a method of constructing an air handling system as claimed.
With regards to claim 26, the reflective surface extends over the surface of each corner member that faces the interior volume of the ducting section (Grimm fig 3, second to last paragraph of description).
With regards to claim 27, Grimm teaches the corner pieces meeting the top and side walls at angles (fig 3 and second to last paragraph of description). In order to make the corner pieces meet at an angle as taught, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to miter or bevel them in order to make the taught angles.
Conclusion
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799