DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments combined with the claim amendments have been fully considered and are found persuasive with respect to the previous rejection(s); however, upon further search and consideration due to the change in scope, an updated grounds of rejection is presented below, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In considering patentability of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Claims 1-6, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruce et al. (US 2013/0144190; hereinafter “Bruce”) in view of Kahn et al. (USP# 10,791,986; hereinafter “Kahn”).
Regarding claim 1, Bruce teaches a method comprising: receiving physiological data associated with a sleep session of a user (e.g. ¶¶ 16); identifying a triggering event based at least in part on the physiological data (e.g. ¶¶ 47 – “snoring”; 28 – “analysis on a portion (e.g., a suspected snore event) of the data”); generating image data in response to identifying the triggering event, the image data being reproducible as one or more images of at least a portion of the user (e.g. ¶¶ 47 – “trigger video capture”); determining that the user is no longer experiencing the triggering event based at least in part on the physiological data and ceasing generating the image data in response to determining that the user is no longer experiencing the triggering event (e.g. ¶¶ 28, 33, 45, etc. – where once the snoring is over the data is transmitted and image data is no longer recorded or relevant to that episode); and causing at least a portion of the image data to be communicated to the user subsequent to the sleep session (e.g. ¶¶ 16 – “the computer or server can generate reports of the sleep data and analysis that can in a controllable manner be shared with the user”).
Bruce fails to expressly disclose that the image data captures at least a portion of the triggering event. In the same field of endeavor, Kahn teaches monitoring sleep apnea via video camera with the options to turn on when sleep transition has occurred or when snoring is detected, or continuously (e.g. Col 3, ll 1-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify Bruce to monitor continuously as taught by Kahn or looped as is common in video recording, in order to yield the predictable results of providing the ability to record at least a portion of the triggering snoring event on video.
Regarding claim 2, Bruce discloses identifying the triggering event includes determining that the user is experiencing an event, wherein the event includes snoring, an apnea, a central apnea, an obstructive apnea, a mixed apnea, a hypopnea, a restless leg, a sleeping disorder, choking, labored breathing, an asthma attack, an epileptic episode, a seizure, or any combination thereof (e.g. ¶¶ 47 – snoring).
Regarding claim 3, Bruce discloses identifying the triggering event includes predicting the user is about to experience an event, wherein the event includes snoring, an apnea, a central apnea, an obstructive apnea, a mixed apnea, a hypopnea, a restless leg, a sleeping disorder, choking, labored breathing, an asthma attack, an epileptic episode, a seizure, or any combination thereof (e.g. ¶¶ 47 – snoring is predicting an apnea event).
Regarding claim 4, Bruce discloses receiving audio data reproducible as one or more sounds associated with the user during at least a portion of the sleep session (e.g. ¶¶ 18).
Regarding claim 5, Bruce discloses identifying the triggering event is based at least in part on the audio data. (e.g. ¶¶ 18 – where snoring is detected from the microphone).
Regarding claim 6, Bruce discloses a first portion of the audio data is received prior to the identifying the triggering event and a second portion of the audio data is received in response to identifying the triggering event (e.g. ¶¶ 20-25).
Regarding claim 9, Bruce discloses modifying the audio data and communicating the modified audio data to the user subsequent to the sleep session, wherein the modifying the audio data includes adding one or more sound effects, modifying a playback speed of the audio data, applying one or more filters, or any combination thereof (e.g. ¶¶ 26).
Regarding claim 11, Bruce discloses the image data is generated using a camera (e.g. ¶¶ 5 – “detecting video signals from the human”).
Claims 12-14, 18, 22, 24, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruce in view of Kahn, further in view of Matsuoka et al. (US 2019/0026062; hereinafter “Matsuoka”).
Regarding claims 12-14 and 18, Bruce fails to expressly disclose prompting the user to position or modify the camera position such that the user is within a field of view. In the same field of endeavor, Matsuoka discloses the positioning of cameras within the sleep environment to ensure the user is within a field of view for observation, in order to acquire the appropriate data (e.g. ¶¶ 112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to use the known technique of prompting the user to position or modify the camera position such that the user is within a field of view, as taught by Matsuoka, to improve the similar device of Bruce, in the same manner.
Regarding claims 22, 24, and 26, Bruce fails to expressly disclose analyzing image data and modifying the data to be communicated to the user. In the same field of endeavor, Matsuoka discloses analyzing image data and modifying the data to be communicated to the user (e.g. ¶¶ 110 – “filter out large motions that are not indicative of vital signs, such as users walking in front of the camera, or non-monitored subjects moving in the room”, “image can be scaled by a scaling factor to exaggerate the breathing motions of an infant”, etc.) to more effectively show the status of the user/patient/individual. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to use the known technique of analyzing image data and modifying the data to be communicated to the user, as taught by Matsuoka, to improve the similar device of Bruce, in the same manner.
Regarding claim 27, Bruce fails to expressly disclose modifying an ambient lighting to aid in generating the image data. In the same field of endeavor, Matsuoka discloses modifying an ambient lighting to aid in generating the image data (e.g. ¶¶ 56-57) to improve visual displays of the user/patient/individual. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to use the known technique of modifying an ambient lighting to aid in generating the image data, as taught by Matsuoka, to improve the similar device of Bruce, in the same manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796