DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/16/2026 and 8/17/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 3/10/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “at least 4 [[g]].” It is unclear what is meant by “4 [[g]],” and if “g” is supposed to be removed. For purposes of examination the limitation is read as “at least 4g.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamerbeek (US20160068335) in view of Kim (WO2003073896A1) and further in view of Safai (US20130045307A1).
Fig. 2 of Kammerbeek
Regarding claim 1, Kamerbeek teaches A capsule (2) for preparing a beverage comprising
a capsule body (2) having a circumferential sidewall (14) extending around an inner space (23) of the capsule, the inner space configured to be at least partially filled with a beverage ingredient suitable for preparing the beverage ([0074] inner space 23 comprising the beverage ingredient such as roast and ground coffee),
a rigid base wall (16), integral with the capsule body (2), the base wall (16) covering the inner space (23) at a first end of the sidewall (14);
a flange (15) arranged circumferentially around an open side of the capsule (2) at a second end of the sidewall (14) of the base body opposite the base wall (16);
a carrier disk (24),
the carrier disk (24) comprising multiple preformed outlet openings (25) suitable for draining the prepared beverage from the inner space (23) towards the outside of the capsule (2) when the capsule is used in the beverage preparation device (1); and
the carrier disk comprising between 50 and 150 outlet openings ([0076] multilayer foil 24 preferably comprises 50-250 openings 25)
and the open surface ratio of the carrier disk is higher than 4% ([0019, 0042] open surface of the foil formed by a total surface of the exit openings is between 0.4-49.1 mm² where given that the total closed surface of the carrier disk has a diameter of 28-30 mm, with an area of 615.8-706.9 mm²), the ratio of total surface of exit opening to the area of the carrier disk that does not have an exit opening (566.7 to 706.5 mm²) is greater than 4%, and ranges from 0.07% to 6.945%).
Kammerbeek is silent on a lid covering the inner space and the open side of the capsule at a second end of the sidewall opposite the base wall and tightly closing the capsule, the lid being removably attached to the flange for use of the capsule in a beverage preparation device, and
a filter element positioned in the inner space of the capsule between the beverage ingredient and the lid; and
a carrier disk provided in the inner space of the capsule,
the carrier disk is positioned in the inner space of the capsule between the lid and the filter.
Fig. 2a-2b and 2f of Kim
Kim teaches a lid (59) covering the inner space (inner space of body 20) and the open side of the capsule at a second end of the sidewall opposite the base wall (Fig. 2a-2b) and tightly closing the capsule (Pg. 7 lines 5-15 screen 59 strongly bonded to the body 20),
the lid (59) being removably attached to the flange (22) for use of the capsule (20) in a beverage preparation device (Pg. 11 lines 1-10 screen 59 is removed during extraction of the contents), and
a filter element (71) positioned in the inner space (inner space of 20) of the capsule (20) between the beverage ingredient (coffee grounds, Fig. 2f) and the lid (59); and
the carrier disk (30) is positioned in the inner space of the capsule between the lid (59) and the filter (71, Fig. 2f).
Kammerbeek and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of beverage capsules. It would have been obvious to have modified Kammerbeek to incorporate the teachings of Kim to have a removable lid for isolating the contents of the capsule until the beverage is ready to be brewed (Kim Pg. 5 lines 10-17) and to have a filter and a carrier disk between the filter and the lid in order to reduce a discharge amount of unnecessary substances by absorbing coffee oil remaining inside coffee as well as provide the filtering function (Kim Pg. 17 lines 1-15).
Kammerbeek and Kim are silent on the carrier disk is positioned in the inner space of the capsule.
Fig. 3 of Safai
Safai teaches the carrier disk (70) is positioned in the inner space (3) of the capsule (10, Fig. 3).
Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of beverage capsules. It would have been obvious to have modified Kammerbeek and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Safai to have the carrier disk in the inner space of the capsule to provide additional support for the capsule to prevent deformation and allowing for flow of the brewed beverage out of the capsule (Safai [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the carrier disk comprises preferably between 70 and 120 outlet openings ([0076] multilayer foil 24 preferably comprises 50-250 openings 25).
Regarding claim 3, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the open surface ratio of the carrier disk is comprised between 4% and 15% ([0019, 0042] open surface of the foil formed by a total surface of the exit openings is between 0.4-49.1 mm²; where given that the total closed surface of the carrier disk has a diameter of 28-30 mm, with an area of 615.8-706.9 mm²), the ratio of total surface of exit opening to the area of the carrier disk that does not have an exit opening (566.7 to 706.5 mm²) ranges from 0.07% to 6.945%).
Fig. 10B of Kammerbeek
Regarding claim 4, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the outlet openings (25) are calibrated circular or oblong openings (Fig. 10b shown to be circular).
Regarding claim 5, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the outlet openings have a diameter between 0.4 mm and 3 mm ([0076] an average opening diameter may be between 0.1 mm and 0.5 mm).
Regarding claim 6, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the outlet openings (25) are homogeneously distributed on the surface of the carrier disk ([0085] Fig. 10b homogenously distributed).
Regarding claim 7, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein each outlet opening is spaced apart from anadjacent outlet opening ([0085] Fig. 10b), but does not teach wherein each outlet opening is spaced apart from adjacent outlet opening of a distance between 0.5 mm and 3 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention as taught by the combination of Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai to have a distance between adjacent outlets be between 0.5 mm and 3 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of XXXX would not operate differently with the claimed distance given the parameters of the outlets and the diameter of the carrier are within the same parameters and diameters of the instant application. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter “may” be within the claimed ranges (specification pp. [0138]).
Regarding claim 8, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches further comprising an extraction plate (10, 30, 32) with tearing surfaces (30),
wherein less than 10% of the outlet openings (25) of the carrier disk (24) are directly facing the tearing surfaces (30) of the extraction plate (10, Fig. 2 where 5 tearing surfaces are shown, so less than 10% of the 50-250 could face the tearing surfaces).
Regarding claim 9, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the carrier disk (24) has a generally circular shape (Fig. 10b) with a diameter comprised between 28.5 mm and 30.5 mm ([0042] diameter of the inner space near the foil is about 28-30 mm).
Regarding claim 10, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 9, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the carrier disk (24) is void of outlet openings on its external perimeter over a distance of at least 1 mm (Fig. 10A,B [0097-0098] void of outlets in a space between D' and F' where D' has a diameter of 22.5 mm and F' has a diameter 24mm, so the space between is 1.5mm).
Regarding claim 11, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the thickness of the carrier disk (24) is between 0.05 mm and 1.5 mm ([0011] filter layer may have a thickness of approximately between 10 μm-1 mm).
Regarding claim 12, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, but Kammerbeek and Safai are silent on wherein the carrier disk is made of aluminum.
Kim teaches wherein the carrier disk is made of aluminum (Pg. 4 line 24- Pg. 5 line 15 the cover being made of aluminum, aluminum/plastic composite, aluminum/plastic/paper composite).
It would have been obvious to have modified Kammerbeek and Safai to incorporate the teachings of Kim to have the carrier disk be made of aluminum so that it is impermeable against oxygen and fluid (Kim Pg. 5 lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 13, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, but Kammerbeek and Safai are silent on wherein the capsule body, the lid, and the carrier disk are each made from aluminum.
Kim teaches wherein the capsule body, the lid (Pg. 11 lines 1-13 screen 59 is made of aluminum films or sheets, or a multilayer film), and the carrier disk are each made from aluminum (Pg. 4 line 24- Pg. 5 line 15 the body and the cover being made of aluminum, aluminum/plastic composite, aluminum/plastic/paper composite).
It would have been obvious to have modified Kammerbeek and Safai to incorporate the teachings of Kim to have the capsule body, lid, and carrier disk be made of aluminum so that they are impermeable against oxygen and fluid (Kim Pg. 5 lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 14, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the carrier disk is made of plastic or of a laminated plastic element ([0014] filter layer 24 material may comprise a plastic).
Regarding claim 15, Kammerbeek, Kim, and Safai teach the capsule for preparing a beverage according to claim 1, and Kammerbeek teaches where in the beverage ingredient comprises ground coffee in an amount of at least 4 g ([0074] capsule body may be filled with approximately 4-11 grams of roast and ground coffee).
Regarding claim 16, Kammerbeek teaches system for preparing the beverage system comprising:
and a beverage preparation device with a fluid dispensing device (5) and a brewing chamber (6),
an exchangeable capsule (2) for use in the beverage preparation device,
the fluid dispensing device being configured to feed and amount of fluid (13) with a pressure between 0.1 bar and 20 bar to the capsule ([0109] being extracted with a fluid under a pressure of 4-20 bar),
the brewing chamber (6) comprising a first part (8) for holding the capsule (2) and a second part (10) for closing the brew chamber (6, Fig. 2),
the exchangeable capsule (2) comprising:
a rigid capsule body (2) having a circumferential sidewall (14) extending around an inner space (23) of the capsule, said inner space being at least partially filled with a beverage ingredient suitable for preparing the beverage ([0074] inner space 23 comprising the beverage ingredient such as roast and ground coffee),
a rigid base wall (16), integral with the capsule body (2), the base wall (16) covering the inner space (23) at a first end of the sidewall (14), the base wall (16) configured to be pierced in use by at least one knife (12) of the fluid dispensing device (5) for the beverage preparation device for feeding the amount of fluid ([0073]) into the inner space of the exchangeable capsule (2),
a flange (15) arranged circumferentially around an open side of the capsule (2) at a second end of the sidewall (14) of the base body opposite the base wall (16),
a carrier disk (24)
said carrier disk (24) comprising multiple preformed outlet openings (25) suitable for draining the prepared beverage from the inner space (23) towards the outside of the capsule (2) when the capsule is used in the beverage preparation device (1); and
the carrier disk comprises between 50 and 150 outlet openings ([0076] multilayer foil 24 preferably comprises 50-250 openings 25)
and the open surface ratio of the carrier disk is higher than 4% ([0019, 0042] open surface of the foil formed by a total surface of the exit openings is between 0.4-49.1 mm²) where given that the total closed surface of the carrier disk has a diameter of 28-30 mm, with an area of 615.8-706.9 mm²), the ratio of total surface of exit opening to the area of the carrier disk that does not have an exit opening (566.7 to 706.5 mm²) is greater than 4%, and ranges from 0.07% to 6.945%)
wherein the second part (10) of the brewing chamber comprises an extraction plate (10, 30, 32) for engaging with the exchangeable capsule (2) at the second end of the sidewall when the brew chamber (6) holding the exchangeable capsule is closed,
the extraction plate (10) comprising a tearing surface (30) with pyramidal elements facing, in use, the carrier disk (24) at the second end of the capsule (2), and
wherein, in use, less than 10% of the outlet openings (25) of the carrier disk (24) are directly facing the pyramidal elements (30) of the tearing surface of the extraction plate (10, Fig. 2 where 5 tearing surfaces are shown, so less than 10% of the 50-250 could face the tearing surfaces).
Kammerbeek is silent on a lid covering the inner space and the open side of the capsule at a second end of the sidewall opposite the base wall and tightly closing the capsule, the lid being removably attached to the flange for use of the capsule in a beverage preparation device, and
a filter element positioned in the inner space of the capsule between the beverage ingredient and the lid; and
a carrier disk provided in the inner space of the capsule,
the carrier disk is positioned in the inner space of the capsule between the lid and the filter.
the exchangeable capsule comprising a lid covering the inner space at a second end of the circumferential wall opposite the base wall and tightly closing the capsule before use,
wherein the lid is removed from the capsule when the capsule is used in the beverage preparation device
and a carrier disk positioned in the inner space of the capsule.
Kim teaches a lid (59) covering the inner space (inner space of body 20) and the open side of the capsule at a second end of the sidewall opposite the base wall (Fig. 2a-2b) and tightly closing the capsule (Pg. 7 lines 5-15 screen 59 strongly bonded to the body 20),
the lid (59) being removably attached to the flange (22) for use of the capsule (20) in a beverage preparation device (Pg. 11 lines 1-10 screen 59 is removed during extraction of the contents), and
a filter element (71) positioned in the inner space (inner space of 20) of the capsule (20) between the beverage ingredient (coffee grounds, Fig. 2f) and the lid (59); and
the carrier disk (30) is positioned in the inner space of the capsule between the lid (59) and the filter (71, Fig. 2f),
the exchangeable capsule comprising a lid (59) covering the inner space (inner space of body 20) and the open side of the capsule at a second end of the sidewall opposite the base wall (Fig. 2a-2b) and tightly closing the capsule (Pg. 7 lines 5-15 screen 59 strongly bonded to the body 20),
wherein the lid (59) is removed from the capsule (1) when the capsule is used in the beverage preparation device (Pg. 11 lines 1-10 screen 59 is removed during extraction of the contents),
It would have been obvious to have modified Kammerbeek to incorporate the teachings of Kim to have a removable lid for isolating the contents of the capsule until the beverage is ready to be brewed (Kim Pg. 5 lines 10-17) and to have a filter and a carrier disk between the filter and the lid in order to reduce a discharge amount of unnecessary substances by absorbing coffee oil remaining inside coffee as well as provide the filtering function (Kim Pg. 17 lines 1-15).
Kammerbeek and Kim are silent on the carrier disk is positioned in the inner space of the capsule and a carrier disk positioned in the inner space of the capsule.
Safai teaches the carrier disk (70) is positioned in the inner space (3) of the capsule (10, Fig. 3) and a carrier disk (70) is positioned in the inner space (3) of the capsule (10, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to have modified Kammerbeek and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Safai to have the carrier disk in the inner space of the capsule to provide additional support for the capsule to prevent deformation and allowing for flow of the brewed beverage out of the capsule (Safai [0031]).
Regarding claim 17, Kammerbeek, Kim and Safai teach the system for preparing a beverage according to claim 16, and Kammerbeek teaches wherein the extraction of the beverage ingredient is an extraction at a pressure below 8 bars ([0109] being extracted with a fluid under a pressure of 4-20 bar).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Kamerbeek, Kim, and Safai do not teach the limitation of claim 1, in view of carrier disk, applicant first makes arguments towards Kim, but refers to Figs. 1A-D of Kim. However, the embodiments relied upon in the rejection is found from Figs. 2A-F of Kim. Kim is used to teach that the carrier disk (30) is between the lid (59) and the filter (71), as shown in Fig. 2f, where the carrier disk is the portion in Fig. 2F shown with holes 57. Kim recites the orientation as “The cover 30 of FIG. 2a has a number of the outlets 57 of small diameter to discharge extracted liquid, and the filter 71 attached on the inside of the cover 30. The screen 59 seals the outlets 57. FIG. 2c is a top view of the screen 59 mounted on the outlets 57” (Pg. 8 lines 20-27 Kim). Further, Safai modifies Kim as a change in location of the carrier disk to be in the inner space of the capsule, as shown in Fig. 3 of Safai, where the carrier disk 70 is Safai is in the inner space of capsule 10.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/20/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761