Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “the password generated is always the same for a given device”. The examiner agrees that a password is hardcoded once generated. However, the examiner contends that Venigalla discloses the new limitation “wherein the obtaining said at least one second datum and the generating the third datum are performed such that, for the first datum, at least two different passwords can be generated” based on several teachings. 1.) Venigalla discloses a first datum being representative of symbol (character/number/special character/etc) in paragraphs 30-31 where the user enters an alphanumeric symbol 2.) Venigalla discloses obtaining a second datum as a function of the first datum in paragraph 31 where the password generation system generates at least three variables for each alphanumeric symbol 3.) The claim states “at least two different passwords can be generated” and Venigalla discloses the character string generator is a random character alphanumeric/keyboard character string generator (paragraph 20). It is shown that the password “1$dG&89%kl6TrU#$15Gr897” is generated from the string “ABCD” according to paragraph 28. Given that the variables are generated randomly, one could assert that at a different time, the keyboard can generate a different password for the same input at the generation stage or before being hardcoded. 4.) In addition, even if Venigalla were to use the same variables for the same alphanumeric character which would assume no randomness. An input string of “DCBA” would generate a different password than “ABCD”.
As the arguments above have made clear, Venigalla discloses “wherein the obtaining said at least one second datum and the generating the third datum are performed such that, for the first datum, at least two different passwords can be generated” both when considering that each alphanumeric character has variables that are generated randomly or when taking into account that the first datum can be in a different position thereby generating a different password.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites: “dependent upon and order” when it is believed to be “an order”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites: “with the at symbol” when it is believed to be “with the at least one symbol”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Venigalla (US 20170155635) hereafter Venigalla.
1. Venigalla discloses a method for generating a password for accessing a service, said method being performed on a password generating device connected to a terminal of a user and comprising:
obtaining a first datum representative of at least one symbol (para 30-31, prompts the user to input the simple input identifier for the password);
as a function of the first datum obtained, obtaining at least one second datum comprising at least two symbols for one symbol of the first datum (para 31, password generation system generates at least three variables for each digit of the simple input identifier. The variables generated must contain at least two capital letters and at least two special characters [the 3 variable for each digit]);
generating a third datum, called the password, from said at least one second datum, wherein the obtaining said at least one second datum and the generating the third datum are performed such that, for the first datum, at least two different passwords can be generated (para 31; see further para 20, 28); and
transmitting said password to the terminal (para 32).
2. Venigalla disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising, prior to the transmitting, verifying the first datum obtained (para 31, password generation system then sees if the user has entered the requirements for the simple input identifier).
3. Venigalla discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising, prior to the transmitting, verifying the password generated (para 29, modify the parameters of the password being generated [verifying that the password generated will match the scheme required]).
4. Venigalla discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising performing an unlocking step prior to obtaining a first symbol of the first datum (para 26).
5. Venigalla discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, furthermore comprising initializing the device, comprising recording a series of at least two symbols of the second datum in association with at least one symbol of the first datum (para 28).
Claims 6 and 12 are similar in scope to claim 1 and are rejected under similar rationale.
7. Venigalla discloses the device for generating a password as claimed in claim 6, furthermore comprising a human-machine interface for obtaining said at least one first datum (para 20).
8. Venigalla discloses the device for generating a password as claimed in claim 7, in which the human-machine interface is a keyboard (para 20).
9. Venigalla discloses the device for generating a password as claimed in claim 6, in which the transmitter comprises a serial interface (para 26).
10. Venigalla discloses the device for generating a password as claimed in claim 6, in which the transmitter comprises a radio interface (para 26).
13. Venigalla discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein: the first datum is representative of a plurality of symbols entered into the password generating device by the user (para 30-31); the obtaining the at least one second datum comprises, generating a respective second datum for each of the plurality of symbols, and at least one of the second datums is dependent upon and order of the plurality of symbols or a recurrence of a symbol of the plurality of symbols (para 31).
14. Venigalla discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: storing in a database, for each of a plurality of symbols that can be entered by the user, an association of the symbol with at least one respective second datum, each respective second datum comprising at least two symbols (para 31; see further fig. 5 and corresponding text), wherein the first datum is obtained from the at least one symbol, which is entered into the password generating device by the user (para 30-31; see further fig. 5 and corresponding text); wherein obtaining the at least one second datum comprises, for each of the at least one symbol entered by the user, obtaining one of the at least one respective second datum that is associated with the at symbol entered by the user (fig. 5 and corresponding text).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439