DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 5/26/23, 7/12/23, 11/3/23, /24/24, 1/21/25, 1/23/25, 1/29/25, and 8/6/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spahr et al. (US 2018/0155552).
Regarding claim 1, Spahr teaches carbon black having a specific surface area of, for example, 209 m2/g and a ratio (OAN/cOAN) of 1.79 (Example CB3, Table 1).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the oil absorption of Spahr is tested using paraffin rather than dibutyl phthalate. The examiner finds that the oil used in the test does not change the structure of the carbon black, and therefore the structure in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims and claimed properties (i.e. DBP and cDBP absorption) are presumed to be inherent. MPEP 2112.01 I
As for claim 2, Spahr teaches an OAN of 283 mL/100g (Example CB3, Table 1).
Regarding claim 5, Spahr teaches a slurry comprising the carbon black and a dispersion medium ([0058]).
With regard to claim 7, Spahr teaches the carbon black as an electrode in a lithium ion battery ([0021], [0133]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahr.
The teachings of Spahr as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Spahr teaches the slurry of claim 1 including the slurry having a viscosity at a shear rate of 13 s-1 of below 2500 mPa∙s, and that it is favorable for the slurry to have a low viscosity ([0058]).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range completely encompasses the claimed range. Absent any additional and more specific information, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 I
Additionally, the examiner finds that the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, and therefore it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to discover workable ranges for the viscosity of the claimed conditions by routine experimentation in order to form a favorably low viscosity slurry. MPEP 2144.05 II A
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahr as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagai et al. (WO 2019/216275, published 11/14/2019, with US 2021/0119206 used as translation).
The teachings of Spahr as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Spahr teaches the carbon black of claim 1 but is silent on the ash content.
Nagai teaches that the ash content of carbon black is preferably small, specifically 0.04mass% or less, in order to suppress side reactions ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the carbon black of Spahr having an ash content of 0.04mass% or less as suggested by Nagai in order to suppress side reactions.
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range completely encompasses the claimed range. Absent any additional and more specific information, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 I
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahr as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Honma et al. (US 2016/0190594).
The teachings of Spahr as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Spahr teaches the carbon black of claim 1 but is silent on the iron content.
Honma teaches that the iron content of carbon black is, for example, 0.1 ppm (i.e. 100 ppb), in order to have appropriate purification efficiency ([0052]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the carbon black of Spahr having an iron content of 100 ppb as suggested by Honma in order to have appropriate purification efficiency.
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729