DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on June 26, 2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claims 1, 10 and 11.
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-11 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the patent issued to Min et al (PN. 10,921,752) in light of the US patent application publication by Bouchal et al (US 2020/0249626 A1) and the US patent application publication by Lam et al (US 2022/0113672 A1).
Claim 1 has been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Min et al teaches, with regard to claim 1, a self-interference digital holographic printing system, (please see Figures 3, 4, 7 and 10) that is comprised of a light source for illuminating an object (10, Figure 8) to make the object serves as the light source for the holographic system, a geometric phase lens (100) serves as the geometric phase holographic element having a first phase retardation, (please see Figures 2A to 2C) and configured to transmit or modulate an incident light incident from the light source. The printing system further comprises an image sensor (200, Figures 1, 7 and 8), serves as the optical member, for sensing and recording a wavefront comprising an interference pattern resulted from the self-interference of light transmitted through the geometric phase holographic element.
The recording of the wavefront self-interference pattern by the sensor (200) implies the copying and printing of the wavefront through self-interference of the light beams transmitted through the geometric phase holographic element. The self-interference digital holographic system therefore serves as a holographic printing system.
Min et al teaches that the holographic printing system is a self-interference holographic printing system which implicitly means that the geometric phase holographic element (100) and the optical member (200) are spaced part by a distance sufficient to enable the self-interference of the incident light that has transmitted through the geometric phase holographic element.
The reference has met all the limitations of the claims. With regard to the previously amended phrase “a geometric phase holographic element having a first phase retardation of l/4, as shown Figure 2C of Min et al, the geometric phase holographic element would covert the incident light (L) with linear polarization into light beams of circular polarizations (LCP, RCP or L1 and L2). It is known in the art that a linear polarized beam would be converted to circular polarized light by a retarder plate having a phase retardation of l/4. This therefore suggests that the geometric phase holographic element would have phase retardation that with a value of l/4.
Claim 1 also includes the phrase “an incoherent light source”. Min et al teaches that the light source is an object (10, Figures 1, 3, 4, 7 and 8) that is illuminated, which may serve as incoherent light source. Bouchal et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a polarization adapted interferometric system that is comprised of an incoherent light source (1, Figures 1-4, paragraph [0038]) that is incident on a geometric phase grating (4, please see paragraph [0043]) to generate self-interference pattern. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Bouchai et al to modify the holographic printing system to specifically use an incoherent light source for the benefit of allowing different light sources could be used in the printing system.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “an optical anisotropic element coated on the optical element”.
Min et al further teaches to include a patterned or space division phase shifter (700, Figures 7 and 8) to change the polarization state of the interfering light, (please see column 11, line 63 to column 12, line 14). This reference however does not teach explicitly that the phase shifter is an optical anisotropic element with a thickness of the optical anisotropic element determined to have a second phase retardation of l/2 and does not teach explicitly that the phase shifter is coated on the optical element.
Lam et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a holographic printing system with a geometric phase element wherein the recording medium structure for recording the interference of the recording beams (940 and 942, Figure 9B) is comprised of a recording medium layer (910, Figure 9A) coated on a substrate (905, please see paragraph [0152]). Lam et al teaches that the recording medium layer (910) may comprise an anisotropic layer (please see paragraph [0155]) or an optical anisotropic film (915) may be coated on the medium layer (910, please see paragraph [0156]). Lam et al teaches that the thickness of the anisotropic plate corresponding to a half wave plate (i.e. l/2, please see paragraph [0051]).
It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Lam et al to modify the holographic printing system to alternatively make the recording medium structure to include an optical member (such as the substrate) and an optical anisotropic element coated on the optical element for the benefit of using art well-known recording medium structure as recording medium for the holographic printing system.
With regard to claim 2, Min et al teaches that the holographic printing system is based on a polarization self-interference in which the incoherent light source (10), the geometric phase holographic element (100) and the optical member (200 or 20) are disposed in a line, (please see Figures 1, 7 and 8).
With regard to claim 4, both Min et al and Lam et al teaches that the incident light after passes the geometric phase hologram will be modulated to create circularly polarized light with orthogonal handiness (i.e. left hand and right hand circular polarization states), which implicitly means that it has a first phase retardation of quarter wavelength (l/4). This implicitly enable the holographic printing on the optical member by transmitting 50% of the incident light from the incoherent light source as a first polarized component as the incident light and transmitting remaining 50% of the incident light from the incoherent light source as a second polarized component modulated from the incident light to have self-polarization interference, (please see Figure 2C of Min et al).
With regard to claim 7, Min et al teaches that the geometric phase holographic element forms interference patterns by using one beam and modulation of the one beam, (please see Figures 1, 7 and 8).
With regard to claim 8, the self-interference holographic system taught by Min et al implicitly includes the method for performing holographic printing using the system. The method comprises the step of aligning the light source (10, Figures 1, 7 and 8), the geometric phase holographic element (100) and the optical member (20 or 200), sending light into the geometric phase holographic element through the light source, performing holographic printing on the optical member through self-interference of the incident light that has transmitted through the geometric phase holographic element and performing post processing on the optical member, such as the sensor, (please see the abstract).
With regard to claim 9, Min et al teaches that the optical member is disposed at a position at which a plurality of light beams generated at the geometrical phase holographic element forms an interference pattern by meeting again.
With regard to amended claim 10 and in light of the amendment to claim 1 (which is the independent claim), Min et al teaches that the phase shifter (700, Figure 7) may be formed on the sensor (200). Lam et al teaches that the recording structure may comprise an anisotropic element or layer (910 or 915, Figures 9A-9C) coated on an optical member wherein the anisotropic element or layer has a thickness corresponds to a half wave plate which has second phase retardation of half wave.
With regard to claim 11, Min et al teaches that the geometric phase holographic element forms interference patterns by using one beam and modulation of the one beam, (please see Figures 1, 7 and 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended claims have been fully considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments are mainly drawn to the newly amended claims that have been fully addressed for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872