DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12, 14-17 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 29 June 2026. The examiner notes that claims 14-16 are withdrawn by the examiner as reading on different species which teach the stop and fins.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-11, 13-14, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “injection of at least one substance in a fluid or liquid state and/or for insertion of at least one substance and one element”, and the claim also recites “pierce said plunger so as to allow the at least one element to reach…” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation as it requires the optional at least one element. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 6, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations of “said capsule or gasket”.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “possibly in a removable way” which is optional language. It is unclear whether this limitation is or is not required by the claimed invention. The examiner will interpret this limitation as optional and not required.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “a medical substance such as…” in which all language following the “such as” appears to be optional. It is unclear whether these materials are or are not required. The examiner will interpret all particular materials as optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, 13, 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 3,489,147 to Shaw (Shaw hereinafter) in view of U.S. Patent 3,570,486 to Engelsher et al. (Engelsher).
Regarding claim 1, Shaw teaches a kit for injection of at least one substance in a fluid or liquid state and/or for insertion of at least one substance (80) and at least one element (81) in an injection or insertion site of a human body, the kit comprising: a first syringe element (73, 77); and at least one second syringe element (76, 78, 79), wherein said first syringe element comprises: an internally hollow cylindrical body (73) with an outlet (74) and a plunger (77) in which said plunger is adapted in use to slide inside said cylindrical body, said plunger comprising a head facing, in use, said outlet and an internally hollow stem (76a), wherein said at least one second syringe element comprises: a piston (79); and a second needle (83),wherein the at least one substance (80) and/or said at least one element is inserted inside said cylindrical body (see Fig. 1), wherein said first syringe element is adapted in use to at least partially house in its inner part said at least one second syringe element, and said second needle is adapted in use to pass through said plunger (see Fig. 2), and to pierce said plunger so as to allow the at least one element to reach in proximity of the outlet (74). Shaw does not explicitly teach a first needle associated with the outlet (74) of the first syringe. Engelsher teaches another multiple syringe assembly generally, and particularly teaches a hypodermic needle (96) provided for administering the contents to a patient. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a hypodermic first needle as taught by Engelsher to the syringe assembly of Shaw in order to administer the contents thereof directly to a patient.
Regarding claim 4, Shaw teaches that the internal stem is coaxial with its passage. As best understood by the examiner this is sufficient to render claim 4 obvious.
Regarding claim 5, Shaw teaches that the plunger has a conical portion (77a) and a tubular portion (beneath 77a) which both house the channel.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood by the examiner, Shaw teaches an apical area opposite the second needle which is discoidal and acts as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, the first and second needles as taught by Engelsher and Shaw respectively are hollow.
Regarding claim 8, Shaw teaches a first end (74) and a cavity opposite thereto.
Regarding claim 9, Shaw teaches a sidewall (76), a tip (82) and an internal space (containing 81) and a distal end open to the plunger (79).
Regarding claim 10, Shaw teaches a plunger (77) with a conical conformation (77a).
Regarding claim 11, Shaw teaches a passage for the second needle (formed by the needle itself).
Regarding claim 13, Shaw teaches a medical substance (col. 1, ln. 34, “two-ingredient mixture”).
Regarding claim 18, Shaw teaches a first internal chamber (holding 80) and a second internal chamber (holding 81).
Regarding claim 21, Engelsher teaches a first needle facing an injection site and Shaw teaches a second coaxial needle facing the outlet (74) where the first needle is provided per the combination.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 23 September 2026