DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 8/12/2026 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. (JP 2015-110361 A) in view of Cheon et al. (U.S. 2020/0331444).
Regarding claim 1, Shimada discloses (figs. 2-3) A method for controlling a brake system (1) having a linear actuator (13) and a hydraulic pump (26f) comprising:
monitoring a braking request signal (pgh. 0051, “emergency braking determination unit 41”, monitoring for emergency brake signal EB);
switching the linear actuator and the hydraulic pump into synchronous operation when a rate of change of the braking request signal is greater than a threshold value (pgh. 0052, corresponding to the emergency brake signal, in combination with “the pump motor 26f and the motor drive cylinder 13 may be driven based on this added or increased target brake fluid pressure”),
wherein, in synchronous operation, the linear actuator and the hydraulic pump are operated simultaneously (see pgh. 0052) to convey hydraulic volume into at least one wheel brake (7) in order to build up a brake pressure in the wheel brake (to actuate the brake, as described).
wherein the hydraulic pump and the linear actuator are connected in parallel (both can boost pressure to the wheel 7, so they provide pressure in “parallel”),
Shimada does not appear to disclose the suction side of the hydraulic pump is connected to a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir. In the same field of endeavor of electrohydraulic brake systems, Cheon teaches (see fig. 6) a brake system (1) including a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir (118) and a hydraulic pump (50), wherein the suction side of the hydraulic pump is connected to a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir (as shown). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the suction side of the hydraulic pump to a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir to ensure continuous braking performance even when another component malfunctions such as the linear actuator (see pgh. 0074 of Cheon).
Regarding claim 13, Shimada discloses A brake system for motor vehicles comprising:
at least one wheel brake (one of 7); a linear actuator (13); and a hydraulic pump (26f),
wherein the linear actuator and the hydraulic pump are configured to switch into synchronous operation when a rate of change of a braking request signal (from 10a) is greater than a threshold value (pgh. 0052, corresponding to the emergency brake signal, in combination with “the pump motor 26f and the motor drive cylinder 13 may be driven based on this added or increased target brake fluid pressure”),
wherein, in synchronous operation, the linear actuator and the hydraulic pump are configured to operate simultaneously (see pgh. 0052) to convey hydraulic volume into the at least one wheel brake (one of 7) in order to build up a brake pressure in the wheel brake (to actuate the brake, as described);
wherein the hydraulic pump and the linear actuator are connected in parallel (both can boost pressure to the wheel 7, so they provide pressure in “parallel”).
Shimada does not appear to disclose the suction side of the hydraulic pump is connected to a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir. In the same field of endeavor of electrohydraulic brake systems, Cheon teaches (see fig. 6) a brake system (1) including a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir (118) and a hydraulic pump (50), wherein the suction side of the hydraulic pump is connected to a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir (as shown). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the suction side of the hydraulic pump to a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir to ensure continuous braking performance even when another component malfunctions such as the linear actuator (see pgh. 0074 of Cheon).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Shimada discloses one of a brake sensor (10a) and a driving assistance system generating the braking request signal (standard brake sensor operation).
Regarding claim 15, Shimada discloses the hydraulic pump and the linear actuator are connected in series, by opening a hydraulic valve (e.g. one of 26b, 26d, 26e) between a suction side of the hydraulic pump and an outlet of the linear actuator (as shown, suction side of the pump is “upstream” from the outlet of the linear actuator).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Shimada discloses controlling the linear actuator with a first control unit (11) and the hydraulic pump with a second control unit (26a), wherein the first control unit and the second control unit communicate with one another via a communication interface (fig. 3, dashed line between 11 and 26a).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Shimada discloses evaluating the braking request signal with the first control unit (fig. 3, 41 part of 11) and sending a command for activating the hydraulic pump to the second control unit when a detected rate of change of the braking request signal is greater than the threshold value (pgh. 0052, both the hydraulic pump and linear actuator are activated under this condition).
Regarding claim 11, Shimada discloses a hydraulic valve (26e) is arranged in parallel with the hydraulic pump (as shown) and in series between the linear actuator and a wheel brake (one of 7), and the hydraulic valve is open or closed in synchronous operation (these are the only two options so the valve is in one of these two states during synchronous operation).
Regarding claim 12, Shimada discloses the brake system comprises two subcircuits (front wheels and rear wheels), wherein two wheel brakes (4 total, as shown) and a hydraulic pump (left and right connected to 26f as shown) are assigned to each subcircuit and, in synchronous operation, both pumps are activated (via 26f) and the linear actuator is connected to only one subcircuit or both subcircuits (as shown, connected to both).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-10 and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten to overcome any 112(b) rejections, as appropriate.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/17/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant contends at the bottom of page 7 and the top of page 8 of the remarks that it would not have been obvious to substitute the non-pressurized reservoir connection of Choen for the pressurized reservoir 26c of Shimada, due to reasons of rendering Shimada unsuitable for its intended purposes. However, the rejection does not present this as the proposed modification. The proposed modification is that “it would have been obvious… to have connected the suction side of the hydraulic pump to a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir” (Non-Final Rejection, page 4). As shown, the rejection does not suggest deleting or substituting this connection for the non-pressurized connection of Choen. Rather, the rejection merely suggests connecting the suction side of the pump to a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir. In other words, the rejection suggests adding this feature to the structure already present in Shimada. When combined in this manner, Shimada is not rendered unsuitable for its intended purposes. Nevertheless, the test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.01). In the present case, the combination suggests that the suction side of the hydraulic pump to a non-pressurized hydraulic reservoir, as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616