DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group 1 and Species A, claims 1-6, 11 and 17-18 in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 7-10, 12-16 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-6, 11 and 17-18 are currently under examination on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:”sulfenamide” should read “sulfonamide”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asada et al (JP 2000355415, of record, ‘415 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 11 and 17-18, ‘415 discloses a rubber composition comprising ethylene-propylene-diene rubber as a rubber component (100parts/ 100parts, [0008], [0017], Examples); a rubber-metal adhesion promoter being a metal salt of aliphatic carboxylic acid with Zinc or Zirconium, wherein the carboxylic acid can be a neodecanoic acid or the like (0010], [0022], [0023]); and a vulcanization accelerator which can be a sulfonamide-based vulcanization accelerator or a thiazole-based vulcanization ([0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asada et al (JP 2000355415, of record, ‘415 hereafter) in view of Musha et al (US 2016/0122944, ‘944 hereafter).
Regarding claim 2, ‘415 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘415 also discloses that the rubber composition may comprise EPDM and other rubber component ([0017]), but does not specifically set forth other rubber component being natural rubber, acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber or butadiene rubber. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘944 discloses a rubber composition for making a metal cord-rubber composite which has excellent adhesion properties and water and oxygen resistance ([0011]-[0017]), wherein the composition may comprise EPDM, natural rubber, acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber, butadiene rubber or combination thereof ([0035]-[0037]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a combination of these rubber components, including the combination as presently claimed, to render a rubber composition of ‘415 having desired properties. Case low holds that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (See MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 18, modified ‘415 teaches all the limitations of claim 2, ‘415 also discloses that rubber-metal adhesion promoter being a metal salt of aliphatic carboxylic acid, wherein the carboxylic acid can be C2-C20 aliphatic carboxylic acid such as neodecanoic acid or the like (0010], [0022], [0023]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asada et al (JP 2000355415, of record, ‘415 hereafter) in view of Otsuki et al (US 2017/0253722, ‘722 hereafter).
Regarding claim 3, ‘415 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘415 also discloses the rubber-metal adhesion promoter being a metal salt of aliphatic carboxylic acid (0010], [0022], [0023]), but does not specifically set forth that the metal is bismuth. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘722 discloses that the bismuth salt of carboxylic acid can be used in a rubber composition to enhance adhesion between rubber and metal ([0006]-[0013]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use bismuth salt of aliphatic carboxylic acid as taught by ‘722, to modify the rubber composition of ‘415, in order to render a rubber composition having better adhesion to a metal.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asada et al (JP 2000355415, of record, ‘415 hereafter) in view of Musha et al (US 2016/0122944, ‘944 hereafter) as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of Otsuki et al (US 2017/0253722, ‘722 hereafter).
Regarding claim 17, modified ‘415 teaches all the limitations of claim 2, ‘415 also discloses that rubber-metal adhesion promoter being a metal salt of aliphatic carboxylic acid (0010], [0022], [0023]), but does not specifically set forth that the metal is bismuth. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘722 discloses that bismuth salt of carboxylic acid can be used in a rubber composition to enhance adhesion between rubber and metal ([0006]-[0013]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use bismuth salt of aliphatic carboxylic acid as taught by ‘722, to modify the rubber composition of ‘415, in order to render a rubber composition having better adhesion to a metal.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782