DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed on June 18, 2026, claims 15, 17 and 20 have been amended, claim 14 has been canceled and claim 31 has been added. Accordingly, claims 15-31 are pending and claims 15-21 and 31 are under examination. Claims 22-30 are directed to unelected Species (see applicant’s response to election/restriction requirement filed on March 2, 2026) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Response to Arguments
As to prior art rejections, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, all prior art rejections in the most recent Office action are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fastening mechanism” in claim 15, line 15.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 17. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polanskyj Stockert et al. (US 5,662,675, hereinafter “Polanskyj”) in view of KorKuch et al. (US 2021/0236783, hereinafter “KorKuch”) and further in view of Ness et al. (US 2018/0318077, hereinafter “Ness”).
Referring to claims 15 and 21, Polanskyj discloses a delivery system 300 (FIGS. 9-11, FIGS. 9-10 are reproduced below) configured for a vessel of a patient, comprising:
an interventional device (inner tubular member 312 and tip 318 as shown in FIGS. 9-10. The inner tubular member 312 for storing components of implant system 100 as shown in FIGS. 3D-4) comprising a distal end portion, and
an introducer 302 (FIGS. 9-11) configured to insert the interventional device 312 into the vessel of the patient, wherein the introducer comprises a tubular sheath 302 extending along a longitudinal axis (z), wherein the sheath surrounds a lumen configured to guide the interventional device 312 into the vessel (FIGS. 3A-3F), wherein the interventional device extends through the lumen of the sheath, wherein said distal end portion forms a dilator (tip 318 as shown in FIGS. 9-11) configured to insert the sheath of the introducer into the vessel
wherein the introducer 302 comprises a fastening mechanism (“A thumbscrew 328 in T-handle 306 may be actuated to engage stabilizer tube 326, thereby locking tubular member 312 in place with respect to sheath 302.” (col. 11, ln. 67 to col. 12, ln. 3)) configured to releasably fasten the introducer to the interventional device to prevent movement of the introducer with respect to the interventional device along the longitudinal axis (z).
Polanskyj discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for disclosing (1) wherein the sheath of the introducer is configured to be expanded from a first state to a second state, wherein an inner diameter (D1) of the sheath in the first state is smaller than an inner diameter (D2) of the sheath in the second state and (2) wherein the fastening mechanism comprises a clamp connected to a hub, which clamp is configured to clamp the introducer to the interventional device to fasten the introducer to the interventional device.
As to (1), however, in the same field of endeavor, which is an implant delivery system, Ness discloses an expandable introducer sheath 110 wherein the sheath of the introducer is configured to be expanded from a first state to a second state, wherein an inner diameter (D1) of the sheath in the first state is smaller than an inner diameter (D2) of the sheath in the second state (¶ [0041]: “Preferably, distal sheath 110 is expandable from a first diameter to a larger second diameter. In this and other embodiments described herein, it is preferable that the outer diameter of sheath 110 in the reduced diameter configuration is about 4 mm (12 French), while the inside diameter of the sheath is about 6.67 mm (20 French) in the expanded diameter configuration.”). Apparently, the advantage of providing an expandable sheath is to allow the surgeon to insert other interventional device with a diameter larger than the diameter of interventional device 312 to work at the surgical site before deployment of the implant device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application to have made the tubular sheath 302 as an expandable sheath so that it too would have the same advantage.
As to (2) Korkuch discloses a clamp mechanism 250 is used to connect dilator hub 230 of dilator assembly 200 to hub 110 of an expandable sheath assembly 100 (FIGS. 1-2 and 4-7, FIG. 7 is reproduced below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have substitute the screw mechanism with the clamp mechanism 250 of Korkuch since it has been held that substitute of one known component/mechanism with another to obtain predictable result is well known in the art (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Referring to claim 16, the modified system of Polanskyj discloses the delivery system according to claim 15, wherein the introducer 302 is pre-mounted on the interventional device 312 such that the interventional device 312 extends through the lumen of the sheath and protrudes out of the lumen with said distal end portion of the interventional device (FIGS. 9-11).
Referring to claim 17, the modified system of Polanskyj discloses the delivery system according to claim 15, wherein the introducer 302 comprises a hub (T-handle 306 as shown in FIGS. 9-11) connected to a proximal end of the sheath 302 wherein the hub comprises an opening configured to insert the interventional device 312 into the lumen of the sheath (FIGS. 9-11) or to remove the interventional device from the lumen of the sheath of the introducer. Polanskyj fails to disclose wherein the hub comprises a hemostatic valve configured to seal the opening when the interventional device is removed from the sheath of the introducer. However, Korkuch discloses “A hemostatic valve (not shown) may also be included within hub 110, the hemostatic valve being configured to prevent blood from leaking outside of the patient during insertion and/or removal of an intracardiac blood pump or other components.” (para. [0042]). Ness also discloses “A housing 130 connected to proximal sheath 120 may include additional components including, for example, a flush port 140 and one or more seals or hemostasis valves (not illustrated) to prevent blood from flowing proximally out of introducer 100.” (para. [0041]). In view of Korkuch and Ness’ teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the T-handle 306 of Planskyj to include a hemostasis valve to prevent blood from flowing proximally out of the introducer sheath 302.
Referring to claim 18, the modified system of Polanskyj discloses the delivery system according to claim 15, wherein in the second state of the sheath (expanded state of the sheath), the distal end portion of the interventional device is allowed to pass through the lumen of the sheath upon removal of the interventional device from the sheath of the introducer (Ness: para. [0046]: “Once the prosthetic heart valve has been implanted, delivery device 10 may be removed from sheath 110A and the patient, at which point the first end 113A of coil 111A may be released, enabling the coil to revert to the reduced diameter configuration and the sheath to be removed from the patient.” Thus, when the sheath is in an expanded state the tip 318 of the interventional device 312 is capable to pass through the lumen of the sheath in the proximal direction).
Referring to claim 20, the modified system of Polanskyj discloses the delivery system according to claim 15, wherein the introducer comprises a hub (the T-handle 306) connected to a proximal end of the sheath, wherein the hub comprises an opening configured to insert the interventional device into the lumen of the sheath or to remove the interventional device from the lumen of the sheath of the introducer, wherein the hub comprises a hemostatic valve configured to seal the opening when the interventional device is removed from the sheath of the introducer (see rejection of claim 17 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TUAN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771