DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 2, FIGS. 8-9, in the reply filed on March 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 22-30, which are new claims, are directed to unelected Species (see applicant’s Remarks) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 17, which is dependent on claim 15, recites “the hub” in line 2. Examiner contends that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that applicant intended to recite “a hub.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fastening mechanism” in claim 14, line 5 and claim 15, line 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ness et al. (US 2018/0318077, hereinafter “Ness”).
Referring to claim 14, Ness discloses a delivery system (FIG. 1, ¶ [0036]) configured for a vessel of a patient, comprising:
an interventional device 10 (FIG. 1, ¶ [0036]: “FIG. 1 shows a prosthetic heart valve delivery device 10 assembled to an introducer 100, while FIGS. 2A-B show the general features of delivery device 10. Generally, delivery device 10 includes a catheter assembly 16 for delivering the heart valve to, and deploying the heart valve at, a target location, and an operating handle 20 for controlling the deployment of the valve from the catheter assembly.”), and
an introducer 100 (FIGS. 1 and 3, ¶ [0036]) configured to introduce the interventional device into the vessel of the patient, wherein the introducer comprises a fastening mechanism configured to releasably fasten the introducer to the interventional device to prevent movement of the introducer with respect to the interventional device along a longitudinal axis (z) (FIG. 2A shows hooks 28 on handle for mating with a latching element 132 on introducer 100 (FIG. 3, ¶ [0041]: “Housing 130 may also include a latching element 132 for mating with latching element 28 of handle 20. For example, latching element 132 may be a groove, snap, aperture, or other mechanism configured to couple with latching element 28.”)).
Referring to claim 15, Ness discloses a delivery system (FIG. 1, ¶ [0036]) configured for a vessel of a patient, comprising:
an interventional device 10 (FIG. 1, ¶ [0036]: “FIG. 1 shows a prosthetic heart valve delivery device 10 assembled to an introducer 100, while FIGS. 2A-B show the general features of delivery device 10. Generally, delivery device 10 includes a catheter assembly 16 for delivering the heart valve to, and deploying the heart valve at, a target location, and an operating handle 20 for controlling the deployment of the valve from the catheter assembly.”) comprising a distal end portion, and
an introducer 100 (FIGS. 1 and 3, ¶ [0036]) configured to insert the interventional device into the vessel of the patient, wherein the introducer comprises a tubular sheath 110 extending along a longitudinal axis (z), wherein the sheath surrounds a lumen configured to guide the interventional device 10 into the vessel, wherein the interventional device 10 extends through the lumen of the sheath, wherein said distal end portion forms a dilator 14 (FIG. 1, ¶ [0037]) configured to insert the sheath of the introducer into the vessel (examiner notes that when the introducer 100 is locked to the handle 20 of the interventional device 10, the handle of the interventional device 10 is capable of facilitating the insertion of the sheath into the vessel), and wherein the sheath of the introducer is configured to be expanded from a first state to a second state, wherein an inner diameter (D1) of the sheath in the first state is smaller than an inner diameter (D2) of the sheath in the second state (¶ [0041]: “Preferably, distal sheath 110 is expandable from a first diameter to a larger second diameter. In this and other embodiments described herein, it is preferable that the outer diameter of sheath 110 in the reduced diameter configuration is about 4 mm (12 French), while the inside diameter of the sheath is about 6.67 mm (20 French) in the expanded diameter configuration.”), wherein the introducer comprises a fastening mechanism configured to releasably fasten the introducer to the interventional device to prevent movement of the introducer with respect to the interventional device along the longitudinal axis (z) (FIG. 2A shows hooks 28 on handle 20 for mating with a latching element 132 on introducer 100 (FIG. 3, ¶ [0041]: “Housing 130 may also include a latching element 132 for mating with latching element 28 of handle 20. For example, latching element 132 may be a groove, snap, aperture, or other mechanism configured to couple with latching element 28.”)).
Referring to claim 16, Ness discloses the delivery system according to claim 15, wherein the introducer 100 is pre-mounted on the interventional device 10 such that the interventional device 10 extends through the lumen of the sheath and protrudes out of the lumen with said distal end portion of the interventional device (FIG. 1 shows introducer 100 is attached to handle 20 of the interventional device 10).
Referring to claim 17, Ness discloses the delivery system according to claim 15, wherein the introducer 100 comprises a hub 130 (FIG. 3, ¶ [0041]) connected to a proximal end of the sheath 110, 120, wherein the hub comprises an opening configured to insert the interventional device 10 into the lumen of the sheath (FIG. 1) or to remove the interventional device 10 from the lumen of the sheath of the introducer, and wherein the hub comprises a hemostatic valve configured to seal the opening when the interventional device is removed from the sheath of the introducer (¶ [0041]: “A housing 130 connected to proximal sheath 120 may include additional components including, for example, a flush port 140 and one or more seals or hemostasis valves (not illustrated) to prevent blood from flowing proximally out of introducer 100.”).
Referring to claim 18, Ness discloses the delivery system according to claim 15, wherein in the second state of the sheath (expanded state of the sheath), the distal end portion of the interventional device 10 is allowed to pass through the lumen of the sheath upon removal of the interventional device from the sheath of the introducer 100 (¶ [0046]: “Once the prosthetic heart valve has been implanted, delivery device 10 may be removed from sheath 110A and the patient, at which point the first end 113A of coil 111A may be released, enabling the coil to revert to the reduced diameter configuration and the sheath to be removed from the patient.”).
Referring to claim 19, Ness discloses the delivery system according to claim 15, wherein the interventional device 10 is a delivery catheter configured to deliver an implant (prosthetic heart valve) to an implantation site, wherein the distal end portion of the interventional device comprises a slidable capsule 24 (FIG. 1) configured to carry the implant (¶ [0036]: “Catheter assembly 16 includes an outer shaft 22 extending from operating handle 20 and a distal sheath 24 connected to the distal end of the outer shaft. A compartment 23 defined around an inner shaft 26 in catheter assembly 16 is configured to receive a prosthetic heart valve (not shown), which is held in a collapsed condition when distal sheath 24 covers the compartment.”).
Referring to claim 20, Ness discloses a delivery system (FIG. 1, ¶ [0036]) configured for a vessel of a patient, comprising:
an interventional device 10 comprising a distal end portion (FIG. 1, ¶ [0036]: “FIG. 1 shows a prosthetic heart valve delivery device 10 assembled to an introducer 100, while FIGS. 2A-B show the general features of delivery device 10. Generally, delivery device 10 includes a catheter assembly 16 for delivering the heart valve to, and deploying the heart valve at, a target location, and an operating handle 20 for controlling the deployment of the valve from the catheter assembly.”), and
an introducer 100 (FIGS. 1 and 3, ¶ [0036]) configured to introduce the interventional device 10 into a vessel of the patient, wherein the introducer comprises a tubular sheath extending along a longitudinal axis (z), wherein the sheath is configured to be inserted into the vessel and surrounds a lumen configured to guide the interventional device into the vessel, wherein the interventional device extends through the lumen of the sheath, wherein said distal end portion forms a dilator 14 (FIG. 1, ¶ [0037]) configured to insert the sheath of the introducer into the vessel (examiner notes that when the introducer 100 is locked to the handle 20 of the interventional device 10, the handle of the interventional device 10 is capable of facilitating the insertion of the sheath into the vessel), and wherein the introducer 100 comprises a hub 130 (FIG. 3, ¶ [0041]) connected to a proximal end of the sheath, wherein the hub comprises an opening configured to insert the interventional device 10 into the lumen of the sheath or to remove the interventional device from the lumen of the sheath of the introducer, wherein the hub comprises a hemostatic valve configured to seal the opening when the interventional device is removed from the sheath of the introducer (¶ [0041]: “A housing 130 connected to proximal sheath 120 may include additional components including, for example, a flush port 140 and one or more seals or hemostasis valves (not illustrated) to prevent blood from flowing proximally out of introducer 100.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ness et al. in view of KorKuch et al. (US 2021/0236783, hereinafter “KorKuch”).
Referring to claim 21, Ness discloses the delivery system according to claim 15, wherein the fastening mechanism comprises hook mechanism 28 connected to a hub 130, which clamp is configured to clamp the introducer 100 to the interventional device 10 to fasten the introducer to the interventional device (¶ [0040]: “The distal end of handle 20 may include a latching element configured to latch or otherwise lock onto a complementary latching element of introducer 100. Although shown in FIGS. 2A-B as a pair of hooks 28, any other suitable latching mechanism, including snaps, knobs, or similar mechanisms may be used”). Ness fails to disclose the fastening mechanism is a clamp.
Referring again to claim 21, however, in the same field of endeavor, which is a delivery system for delivering an implant, Korkuch discloses a clamp mechanism 250 is used to connect dilator hub 230 of dilator assembly 200 to hub 110 of an expandable sheath assembly 100 (FIGS. 1-2 and 4-7, FIG. 7 is reproduced below).
Referring still to claim 21, since Ness discloses that other suitable latching mechanism or similar mechanism may be used, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have substitute the hook mechanism of Ness with the clamp mechanism of Korkuch. Furthermore, it has been held that simple substitution of one known element/mechanism for another to obtain predictable results is well known in the art (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Conclusion
/TUAN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771