DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed 27 March 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 7 are amended; no claims are cancelled; no claims are withdrawn; claims 10-20 are new.
Claims 1-20 are examined on the merits herein.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. In particular, the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are MAINTAINED rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowler (US 2010/0234230; of record) in view of Li (US 2015/0105254; of record) as evidenced by ExxonMobil (“ISOPAR V SDS”; of record) and Summers et al. (Fuel, 2022, Vol. 324, 124817; of record).
Claims 10-20 are NEWLY rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowler (US 2010/0234230; of record) in view of Li (US 2015/0105254; of record) as evidenced by ExxonMobil (“ISOPAR V SDS”; of record) and Summers et al. (Fuel, 2022, Vol. 324, 124817; of record).
Claim 1 is drawn to a pesticidal composition comprising a compound represented by formula (I), an herbicidal active salt, an organic solvent having a water solubility at 25°C of 10 mass% or less, a surfactant, and water, wherein
the surfactant comprises one or more nonionic surfactants selected from a group (A),
[Formula I]
group (A): the group including polyoxyethylene polyoxypropylene block copolymers having 15 or more added EO groups.
Claim 2 is drawn to the pesticidal composition of claim 1, wherein the herbicidal active salt comprises an herbicidal active carboxylate.
Claim 7 is drawn to the pesticidal composition of claim 1, wherein the surfactant is one or more nonionic surfactants selected from the group (A)
Fowler teaches pesticidal compositions (Abstract) including composition G (Table 1 on pg. 12) which comprises K glyphosate (i.e., an herbicidal active carboxylate salt); the organic solvent IsoparTM V; herbicide (I), corresponding to a compound of instantly claimed formula (I); and water. As evidenced by ExxonMobil, IsoparTM V has negligible solubility in water (Sec. 9 on pg. 6), overlapping with the instantly claimed range of 10 mass% or less.
As such, Fowler teaches a pesticidal composition comprising a compound represented by formula (I), an herbicidal active carboxylate salt, an organic solvent having a water solubility at 25°C of 10mass% or less, and water.
The composition of Fowler differs from the instantly claimed composition in the following ways:
the composition of Fowler does not comprise a non-ionic surfactant of instantly claimed group (A).
Yet, as to 1: Fowler further teaches the compositions further comprising surfactants at higher levels to maximize the biological efficacy of the pesticides (Par. [0085]), indicating that a surfactant can improve the efficacy of the pesticides.
Li teaches similar pesticide compositions comprising a water-soluble salt of an herbicide and a water-insoluble pesticide (Abstract). Li further teaches the compositions comprising a surfactant (Par. [0012]), including polyoxyethylene polyoxypropylene block copolymers (Par. [0070]). While Li does not explicitly teach the number of polyoxyethylene groups in the block copolymer surfactant, Li further teaches the use of the ABA block polymer surfactant AtloxTM 4912 (Par. [0071]). As evidenced by Summers et al. in Fig. 1 (pg. 2), AtloxTM 4912 comprises a polyoxyethylene fatty acid ester having 34 ethylene oxide units, indicating that surfactants with large numbers of ethylene oxide groups are suitable for the pesticide compositions.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Fowler to include a polyoxyethylene polyoxypropylene block copolymer surfactant having more than 15 EO groups. It would have been obvious to combine the known pesticide composition with the known surfactant suitable for use in similar pesticide compositions to yield the predictable result of a pesticidal composition with higher efficacy, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Based on all of the foregoing, claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 8 is drawn to the pesticidal composition of claim 1, wherein the pesticidal composition contains an aqueous phase and particles of an oil phase dispersed in the aqueous phase, wherein
the oil phase contains the organic solvent and the compound represented by the formula (I) dissolved or suspended in the organic solvent.
Fowler further teach in Example 5 (Par. [0138]) dispersing the herbicide of formula (I) in the organic solvent IsoparTM V and forming an emulsion of the organic solvent in water.
As such, Fowler teaches the composition comprising an aqueous phase and particles of an oil phase dispersed in the aqueous phase, wherein the oil phase contains the organic solvent and the compound represented by the formula (I) suspended in the organic solvent.
As such, claim 8 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 9 is drawn to the pesticidal composition of claim 1, wherein the organic solvent comprises an aromatic hydrocarbon.
Fowler further teaches the organic solvent comprising an aromatic solvent such as toluene, xylene, and naphthalene (Par. [0041]).
As such, claim 9 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 10 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the organic solvent is present in an amount of 0.1 mass% to 45 mass%, based on a total mass of the composition.
Fowler further teaches composition G comprising 12.6% by weight of the organic solvent IsoparTM V (Table 1 on pg. 12), overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 10 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 11 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the organic solvent is selected from the group including C10-15 alkyl naphthalenes.
Fowler teaches the organic solvent comprising aromatics including naphthalene. Fowler does not teach C10-15 alkyl naphthalenes.
However, Li teaches that alkyl naphthalenes are suitable organic solvents for pesticidal compositions (Par. [0076]). While Li does not explicitly teach C10-15 alkyl naphthalenes, as discussed in MPEP 2144.09 (II), “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).” In the instant case, the alkyl naphthalenes of Li and the instantly claimed C10-15 alkyl naphthalenes only differ regularly by the successive addition of -CH2- groups. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would presume that these compounds possess similar properties due to their close structural similarity.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Fowler to include a C10-15 alkyl naphthalene. It would have been obvious to substitute one organic solvent suitable for use in pesticidal compositions with another to obtain the predictable result of a pesticidal composition, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claim 11 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 12 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the surfactant is present in an amount of 0.5 mass% to 30 mass%, based on a total mass of the composition.
Fowler further teaches that the amount of surfactant in the composition has an impact on the biological efficacy of the pesticide (Par. [0085]), indicating that the concentration of the surfactant is a result effective variable.
And, as discussed by MPEP 2144.05, “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical” (see also In re Aller (220 F.2d 454)): “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation…” Indeed, as further discussed by the court, “[s]uch experimentation is no more than the application of the expected skill of the [ordinarily skilled artisan] and failure to perform such experiments would, in our opinion, show a want of the expected skill”; see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2005): “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” and “[o]nly if the ‘results of optimizing a variable’ are ‘unexpectedly good’ can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range” (quoting In re Antonie (559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977))).
In the instant case, the concentration of the surfactant is clearly a result-effective variables, determining the biological efficacy of the pesticide. Accordingly, it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal concentration of the surfactant in order to best achieve the desired results.
As such, claim 12 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 13 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the water is present in an amount of 30 mass% to 95 mass% based on a total mass of the composition.
Fowler teaches in Table 1 (pg. 12) composition G comprising water to 100%, corresponding to 53.64 wt% water as calculated by examiner, overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 13 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 14 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising at least one formulation aid selected from the group consisting of a thickener, an antifoaming agent, an antifreezing agent, and an antiseptic.
Fowler further teaches in Par. [0115] the composition further including thickeners, antifoaming agents, biocides (i.e., antiseptics), and freeze protecting agents.
As such, claim 14 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 15 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising a thickener present in an amount of greater than 0.00 mass% to 5 mass%, based on a total mass of the composition.
Fowler further teaches in Table 1 (pg. 12) composition G comprising 0.08% Rhodopol 23, additionally teaching Rhodopol 23 as a viscosity modifying agent (Par. [0133]).
As such, claim 15 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 16 is drawn of the composition of claim 1, further comprising an antifoaming agent present in an amount of 0.01 mass% to 1 mass%, based on a total mass of the composition.
Fowler teaches the composition comprising an antifoaming agent (par. [0115]), further teaching in composition F of Table 1 (pg. 12) 0.01 wt% Antifoam being a suitable concentration of antifoaming agent in the composition.
As such, claim 16 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 17 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising an antifreezing agent present in an amount of 1 mass% to 10 mass%, based on a total mass of the composition.
Fowler further teaches the composition comprising freeze protecting agents such as glycerol (par. [0115]). Fowler does not teach the amount of freeze protecting agent in the composition.
However, as discussed by MPEP 2144.05, “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical” (see also In re Aller (220 F.2d 454)): “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation…” Indeed, as further discussed by the court, “[s]uch experimentation is no more than the application of the expected skill of the [ordinarily skilled artisan] and failure to perform such experiments would, in our opinion, show a want of the expected skill”; see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2005): “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” and “[o]nly if the ‘results of optimizing a variable’ are ‘unexpectedly good’ can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range” (quoting In re Antonie (559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977))).
In the instant case, the concentration of the freeze protecting agent is clearly a result-effective variables, determining the degree to which the composition is protected against freezing. Accordingly, it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal concentration of the freeze protecting agent in order to best achieve the desired results.
As such, claim 17 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 18 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising an antiseptic present in an amount of 0.05 mass% to 0.5 mass%, based on a total mass of the composition.
Fowler further teach in Table 1 (pg. 12) composition G comprising 0.08 wt% Proxel GXL, further teaching Proxel GXL as a biocide (Par. [0115]) i.e., an antiseptic.
As such, claim 18 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the composition is in the form of an emulsion including an aqueous phase and particles of an oil phase.
Fowler further teach in Example 5 (par. [0138]) composition G being an emulsion having a dispersed oil phase.
As such, claim 19 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 20 is drawn to the composition of claim 19, wherein the particles of the oil phase have a median diameter of 0.01 µm to 20 µm.
Fowler further teach in Example 5 (par. [0138]) composition G being mixed at high shear until the target oil droplet size was reached, but does not explicitly teach the target size. However, Fowler teaches in Examples 1 and 4 (pars. [0134] and [0137]) the target size being between 4.6 and 6.5 micron, overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 20 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowler and Li as applied to claims 1-2 and 7-20 above, and further in view of Sada (US 2019/0142005; of record).
The teachings of Fowler and Li have been set forth above.
Claims 3-6 are drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the herbicidal active salt comprises dicamba diglycolamine.
Fowler and Li do not teach the herbicidal active salt comprising dicamba diglycolamine.
However, Sada teaches herbicidal compositions comprising ethyl [3-[2-chloro-4-fluoro-5-(1-methyl-6-trifluoromethyl-2,4-dioxo-1,2,3,4-tetrahydropyrimidin-3-yl)phenoxy]-2-pyridyloxy]acetate (i.e., the compound of instantly claimed formula (I); Abstract, Par. [0019])). Sada further teaches the compound of formula (I) having excellent control efficacy on weeds when combined with dicamba diglycolamine salt (Par. [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the composition of Fowler and Li to comprise dicamba diglycolamine salt. It would have been obvious to combine the known composition with the known combination of ethyl [3-[2-chloro-4-fluoro-5-(1-methyl-6-trifluoromethyl-2,4-dioxo-1,2,3,4-tetrahydropyrimidin-3-yl)phenoxy]-2-pyridyloxy]acetate and dicamba diglycolamine to yield the predictable result of a composition with excellent control efficacy on weeds, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claims 3-6 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/255,080 in view of Li. (US 2015/0105254) as evidenced by Summers et al. (Fuel, 2022, Vol. 324, 124817).
Claim 1 of Application No. ‘080 recites a composition comprising a compound represented by formula (I), an herbicidal active salt, an organic solvent having a water solubility at 25°C of 10 max% or less, a surfactant, and water. Claim 2 of Application No. ‘080 recites the composition of claim 1, wherein the surfactant comprises a nonionic surfactant. Application No. ‘080 does not teach the surfactant belonging to group (A).
However, Li teaches similar pesticidal compositions (Abstract) comprising a surfactant (Par. [0012]), including polyoxyethylene polyoxypropylene block copolymers (Par. [0070]). While Li does not explicitly teach the number of polyoxyethylene groups in the block copolymer surfactant, Li further teaches the use of the ABA block polymer surfactant AtloxTM 4912 (Par. [0071]). As evidenced by Summers et al. in Fig. 1 (pg. 2), AtloxTM 4912 comprises a polyoxyethylene fatty acid ester having 34 ethylene oxide units, indicating that surfactants with large numbers of ethylene oxide groups are suitable for the pesticide compositions.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Application No. ‘080 to include a polyoxyethylene polyoxypropylene block copolymer surfactant having more than 15 EO groups. It would have been obvious to combine the known pesticide composition with the known surfactant suitable for use in similar pesticide compositions to yield the predictable result of a pesticidal composition with higher efficacy, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Based on all of the foregoing, instant claims 1 and 7 are obvious over claims 1-2 of Application No. ‘080 in view of Li.
Claims 4-8 of Application No. ‘080 are drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the herbicidal salt comprises dicamba diglycolamine, rendering instant claims 2-6 obvious.
Claim 9 of Application No. ‘080 recites the composition of claim 1, wherein the composition contains an aqueous phase and particles of an oil phase dispersed in the aqueous phase, and wherein the oil phase contains the organic solvent and the compound represented by formula (I) dissolved in the organic solvent, rendering instant claims 8 and 19 obvious.
Claim 10 of Application No. ‘080 recites the composition of claim 9 wherein the volume median diameter of the particles of the oil phase is 1 nm or larger and smaller than 100 nm (i.e., smaller than 0.1 µm), overlapping with the instantly claimed range of 0.01 µm to 20 µm, rendering instant claim 20 obvious.
Claim 3 of Application No. ‘080 recites the composition of claim 1, wherein the organic solvent comprises an aromatic hydrocarbon, rendering instant claim 9 obvious. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 7 of the remarks that Li does not teach a polyoxyethylene fatty acid ester surfactant, and as such Fowler in view of Li does not teach all of the limitations of claim 1.
This argument is not persuasive as the surfactants taught by Li also read on the instantly claimed polyoxyethylene polyoxypropylene block copolymers. As such, Fowler in view of Li renders instant claim 1 prima facie obvious as discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/PAUL HOERNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1611