Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lighting element of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 2, and 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 5 recite a door with a single metal bar that is a finishing support frame. The claim further defines that the metal bar does not have any further support components and that it has a finishing locking wall. This appears to be combining two embodiments together, figure 10a shows a metal bar without any support components while figure 10 shows a metal bar with finishing locking walls (211’, 221’, 231’). Therefore, the examiner considers that claim 1 and 5 are directed to an undisclosed embodiment that is not described in the original disclosure. In addition, the examiner considers these to be mutual exclusive features and it is unclear how they could be combined into a single embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1,2, and 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "preferential" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites that the finishing support frame has finishing locking walls and is a metal bar that has no support components. These appear to be mutually exclusive features and therefore renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "preferential" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 5 recites that the finishing support frame has finishing locking walls and is a metal bar that has no support components. These appear to be mutually exclusive features and therefore renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2008/051159 to Nordell.
Nordell teaches
1. A door for a piece of furniture, rotatably anchorable to the piece of furniture, said door comprising: an outer panel (5) made of a transparent or translucent material (page 2, line 23), said outer panel comprising a support frame (107) joined to the outer panel: a printed sheet (3), comprising a depiction or a decoration (page , line 23), a finishing support frame (110) comprising a finishing locking wall (1) and, one or more fixing elements (10), being fixed onto said support frame, the one or more fixing elements being suitable for fixing the outer panel to the finishing locking wall in a removable manner (magnets), said printed sheet being anchored to the support frame by means of the one or more fixing elements, wherein the finishing support frame is a single metal bar (metal strip for being attracted to magnets) having preferential extension in a first extension direction and which does not have any further support components
6. wherein the outer panel is made of one of stone, metal, stoneware, medium-density fiberboard (MDF), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), and glass (Page 2, lines 22-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2008/051159 to Nordell
Nordell discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except is silent on dimensions of the outer panel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the outer panel 25 mm or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 16, Nordell teaches
16. wherein the outer panel is made of one of stone, metal, stoneware, medium-density fiberboard (MDF), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), and glass (Page 2, lines 22-34).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication WO 2008/051159 to Nordell in view of US Patent Publication 2016/0058180 to Kane as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of European Patent EP 176701 to Klein.
Nordell in view of Kane discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except a lighting element. Klein teaches a light element (40) attached to a support producing light on a transparent outer panel (30). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the door of Nordell in view of Kane by adding lights as taught by Klein to change colors for aesthetic value.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 2013/0337220 to Janke in view of US Patent Publication 2016/0058180 to Kane
Janke teaches
1. A door (22) for a piece of furniture, rotatably anchorable to the piece of furniture, said door comprising: an outer panel (54) made of a transparent or translucent material (par 32), said outer panel comprising a support frame (26) joined to the outer panel: a printed sheet (46), comprising a depiction or a decoration (par 32), a finishing locking wall (48) and, one or more fixing elements (24,30), being fixed onto said support frame, the one or more fixing elements being suitable for fixing the outer panel to the finishing locking wall in a removable manner (as best seen in figures 1-9), said printed sheet being anchored to the support frame by means of the one or more fixing elements,
Janke does not expressly disclose a finishing support frame.
Kane teaches a drawer having a finishing locking wall (44) and a fishing support frame (148) as best seen in figures 10-15. The finishing support frame is a metal bar.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the drawer front (door) of Janke by adding a metal bar that is a finishing support frame to the finishing locking wall as taught by Kane to allow for easier replacement and attachment of the drawer front.
Regarding claim 2, Janke teaches
2. wherein the printed sheet comprises anchoring openings (as best seen in figures 5, 8, and 9) suitable for being crossed by the one or more fixing elements.
Regarding claim 5, Janke in view of Kane teaches
5. A door rotatably anchorable to a piece of furniture, said door comprising: an outer panel (Janke 54, 46) comprising a depiction or a decoration (Janke, par 32), a finishing support frame (metal bar taught by Kane) comprising a finishing locking wall (Janke, 48), wherein said finishing support frame is a metal bar (taught by Kane) having preferential extension in a first extension direction and which does not have any further support components, and one or more fixing elements being fixed onto said outer panel, the one or more fixing elements removably fixing the outer panel to the finishing locking wall, said outer panel having a thickness lower than or equal to twenty-five millimeters (par 39 and 40).
Regarding claims 6 and 16,
Janke in view of Kane is silent to the material of the outer panel and therefore does not expressly disclose the outer panel is made of one of stone, metal, stoneware, medium-density fiberboard (MDF), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), and glass. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the outer panel from PVC, metal, mdf, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material (pvc, steel, aluminum, mdf, wood, paper, etc.) on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (durability, cost, aesthetics, ability to add a design, transparency, etc.) as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 2013/0337220 to Janke in view of US Patent Publication 2016/0058180 to Kane as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of European Patent EP 176701 to Klein.
Janke in view of Kane discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except a lighting element. Klein teaches a light element (40) attached to a support producing light on a transparent outer panel (30). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the door of Janke in view of Kane by adding lights as taught by Klein to change colors for aesthetic value.
Claim(s) 8, 11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 2013/0337220 to Janke in view of US Patent Publication 2016/0058180 to Kane as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication 2017/0238701 to Ryner.
Janke in view of Kane discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except the details of furniture structure.
Ryner teaches
8. A piece of furniture, comprising at least two modular units (figures 1-4), each modular unit of said two modular units comprising: a bottom panel (95,96), a right panel (41), and a left panel (73), made of a thin metal sheet and coupled to one another defining an open box-shaped inner cavity, each of said right and left panels comprising an inner panel face, facing the inner cavity, and an outer panel face, not facing the inner cavity and extending mainly according to a first extension direction (X) and a second extension direction (Y) perpendicular to the first extension direction and extending much less in a third extension direction (Z) perpendicular to the first and second extension directions, having a small thickness in the third extension direction, wherein each of said right and left panels comprises at least one upper panel edge and a lower panel edge that delimit an extension of the panel along the first extension direction, wherein, close to said upper and lower panel edges, each panel comprises a fold of the metal sheet comprising a locking wall (32) extending along the first extension direction much less than the extension of the entire panel along the first extension direction and being spaced apart from the outer panel face, fixing openings (30,31) being formed on said locking wall for removably fixing an equal modular unit, wherein the at least two modular units are joined to each other by module fixing elements inserted into one or more of the fixing openings and/or auxiliary fixing openings of each of said at least two modular units, and wherein said piece of furniture comprises at least one door (7) rotatably anchored to at least one of the two modular units (1, 1A).
11. wherein the fixing openings and the auxiliary fixing openings are eyelets (35, figure 5) comprising a reduced section region compared to a normal section region to allow a head of a screw or of a nail to pass from the normal section region and prevent the screw or the nail from exiting the reduced section region.
13. wherein the at least one elastic element comprises an elastic element eyelet having a reduced section region compared to a normal section region to allow the head of the screw or of the nail to pass from the normal section region of the elastic element eyelet and prevent the screw or the nail from exiting the reduced section region of the elastic element eyelet.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the assembly of Janke in view of Kane to use with the furniture carcass structure as taught by Ryner to allow for a modular system.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 2013/0337220 to Janke in view of US Patent Publication 2016/0058180 to Kane as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 7,882,594 to Ramsauer.
Janke in view of Kane discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except elastic elements.
Ramsauer teaches a handle (10, 216, 16/28) attached to a drawer front (14) with elastic member (42) biasing holding elements (36). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the furniture of Janke in view of Kane by attaching the handle with an elastic member
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 12, and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the specification expressly discloses the lighting element. The examiner agrees that the details of the lighting element are sufficiently disclosed and therefore there isn’t a 112 rejection. However, the examiner still considers that if the lighting element is to be claimed, then a drawing of that structure is still required.
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.A/ Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637