DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2, 4 and 7) in the reply filed on January 5, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3, 5-6 and 8-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, applicant has not indicated what “b” is in the structures.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 7, this claim depends from claim 2 and in claim 2, it appears that there are only acrylamides present in both block A and B. However, claim 7 has a number of structures which are not acrylamides in both blocks:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everaerts et al (US 2004/0097658).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4, Everaerts teaches a deblock ([0033]) block copolymer comprising: a block which has methacrylamide ([0061]) which reads on the recited block A and a second block which contains n-octyl acrylamide ([0051]) which reads on recited block B (N-alkyl acrylamide having an alkyl moiety with 8 carbon atoms).
Everaerts fails to specifically exemplify the recited copolymer. However, Everaerts discloses each of the components of the blocks, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in a copolymer. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the copolymers suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the copolymers suggested by Everaerts, including the claimed copolymer. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of Everaerts to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would have been nothing more than using known monomers in a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 7, Everaerts teaches the following structure:
Everaerts teaches that the portion with the methacrylamide has a molecular weight of between 30,000 to about 500,000 ([0067]). Given that methacrylamide has a molecular weight of 85.1, x of the above formula can be calculated to range from 352-5882. And the block that contains the N-octyl acrylamide has a molecular weight of below 100,000 ([0056]) and the N-octyl acrylamide makes up, at most 50 molar % ([0053]). Given that the molecular weight of n-octyl acrylamide is 183.29, the value of y will overlap the claimed amount.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-2, 4 and 7 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-2, 4 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/558,920 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764