This office action is in response to remarks filed on 04/17/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-13 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 12-13 are amended. Claims 4 and 11 are canceled.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 12-13 have been considered based on amendments.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US20210153210A1) (hereinafter "Li") in view of Guo et al (US20210266904A1) (hereinafter "Guo").
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
receiving, by a receiving station (STA), a beacon frame from a transmitting STA through a first 320 MHz channel ([0159] For example, the first frame may be a beacon frame, and is periodically sent by an AP. The beacon frame is used to indicate the BSS bandwidth and the location of the operating channel of the BSS, that is, information about a maximum operating bandwidth supported by the BSS such that a station that receives the beacon frame is enabled to learn of a size and the location of the operating channel of the BSS. … In this case, the AP may communicate with the station using a channel whose bandwidth does not exceed 320 MHz, and the bandwidth may be one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz.);
receiving, by the receiving STA, an Extreme High Throughput (EHT) Operating Mode (OM) field from the transmitting STA through the first 320 MHz channel; and ([0202] FIG. 12 shows that the beacon frame is periodically sent, and EHT Operation may be placed in the beacon frame to describe a bandwidth capability of the BSS. For example, an AP of an EHT notifies, using EHT operation information, the station that the maximum bandwidth supported by the BSS to which the AP belongs is 320 MHz.)
receiving, by the receiving STA, the beacon frame from the transmitting STA through a second 320 MHz channel ([0199] This embodiment of this application can resolve a problem of how to indicate a size and the location of the operating channel of the BSS after a 320 MHz bandwidth mode is introduced. A CCFS3 field and a CCFS4 field are introduced into the EHT operation information field, and the CCFS3 field and the CCFS4 field, together with CCFS0 and CCFS1, indicate a bandwidth mode above 160 MHz. CCFS0 and CCFS1 may be CCFS0 and CCFS1 in the VHT operation information field, or may be newly added fields in EHT operation information. [0200] A beacon frame is periodically sent by an AP, and the beacon frame carries the BSS bandwidth, that is, information about a maximum operating bandwidth supported by the BSS such that a station that receives the beacon frame is enabled to learn of the size and the location of the operating channel of the BSS.).
Li fails to disclose a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is
changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon
frame and the EHT OM field,
wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels,
wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes information
on a channel center frequency index,
wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices,
wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of a primary 160 MHz channel shared
by the first and second 320 MHz channels,
wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel,
wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel, and
wherein the first and second 320 MHz channels are configured such that the primary 160
MHz channel indicated by the first index is maintained while a secondary 160 MHz channels are
changed based on the second index and the third index.
However, Guo discloses a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is
changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon
frame and the EHT OM field ([0165] For example, the first frame may be a beacon frame that is periodically sent by an AP. The beacon frame is used to indicate the starting frequency of the second band in which the BSS works, so that a station that receives the beacon frame is enabled to know the starting frequency of the second band in which the BSS works. [0197] In some embodiments of this application, an example in which the first frame is a beacon frame is used. FIG. 7 is another schematic structural composition diagram of a beacon frame according to an embodiment of this application. The channel center frequency segment field in the first frame may be specifically a channel center frequency segment (CCFS for short) field. Specifically, the first channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 3, the second channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 4, the third channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 5, and the fourth channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 6. The position of the working channel of the BSS may be indicated by using the CCFS 3, the CCFS 4, the CCFS 5, and the CCFS 6. For example, a channel index number of a center frequency of each working channel may be indicated, and then an actual center frequency of each working channel may be calculated with reference to a starting frequency of a band. The beacon frame may include an EHT operation element field. The EHT operation element field may include an element identifier field, a length field, and an EHT operation information field. The EHT operation information field may include an operating class field, a multi-band aggregation mode field, a channel bandwidth field, a CCFS 3, a CCFS 4, a CCFS 5, and a CCFS 6.),
wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0015] In a possible implementation of the first aspect or the second aspect, the first frame further includes a channel bandwidth field, and the channel bandwidth field is used to indicate a BSS bandwidth. ... When a value of the channel bandwidth field is 4, the channel bandwidth field is used to indicate that the BSS bandwidth is 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 80+80+160 MHz, 160+80+80 MHz, 80+160+80 MHz, 80+80+80+80 MHz, 240+80 MHz, 80+240 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz, 80+160 MHz, or 80+80+80 MHz. ... . A position of a working channel of the BSS may be determined by using the first channel center frequency segment field, the second channel center frequency segment field, the third channel center frequency segment field, and the fourth channel center frequency segment field.),
wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes information
on a channel center frequency index ([0227] The first frame may include two operation element fields: the first operation element field and the second operation element field. The first operation element field may be specifically an EHT operation information field. The first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field are in the first operation element field. For example, the first channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 3, and the second channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 4. The fifth channel center frequency segment field and the sixth channel center frequency segment field are in the second operation element field. The second operation element field may be specifically a VHT operation information field. The fifth channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 0, and the sixth channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 1. By using the two different operation element fields, four channel center frequency segment fields may be carried in the first frame, to implement BSS bandwidth indication when a maximum bandwidth is 320 MHz or 240 MHz. [0228] In some embodiments of this application, an example in which the first frame is a beacon frame is used. FIG. 9 is another schematic structural composition diagram of a beacon frame according to an embodiment of this application. The EHT operation information field includes a multi-band aggregation mode field, a channel bandwidth field, an operating class field, a CCFS 3, and a CCFS 4.),
wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices ([0222] In some embodiments of this application, an example in which the first frame is a beacon frame is used. FIG. 8 is a schematic structural composition diagram of an EHT operation information field according to an embodiment of this application. The EHT operation information field includes a channel bandwidth field, a first operating class field, a CCFS 3, a CCFS 4, a CCFS 5, a CCFS 6, a second operating class field, a CCFS 7, a CCFS 8, a CCFS 9, and a CCFS 10. The first operating class field is used to indicate the CCFS 3, the CCFS 4, the CCFS 5, and the CCFS 6 of the first band, and the second operating class field is used to indicate the CCFS 7, the CCFS 8, the CCFS 9, and the CCFS 10 of the second band. In this implementation scenario, the first frame does not need to include the multi-band aggregation mode field.),
wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of a primary 160 MHz channel shared
by the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0240] Further, in some embodiments of this application, the fifth channel center frequency segment field is used to indicate a center frequency of an 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located. [0274] In some embodiments of this application, the first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field are two contiguous frequency segments.),
wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel ([0237] The fifth channel center frequency segment field and the sixth channel center frequency segment field are used to indicate two frequency segments, in the first band, in which the BSS works.),
wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel, and ([0229] In some embodiments of this application, the first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field are used to indicate two frequency segments, in the second band, in which the BSS works.)
wherein the first and second 320 MHz channels are configured such that the primary 160
MHz channel indicated by the first index is maintained while a secondary 160 MHz channels are
changed based on the second index and the third index ([0241] The sixth channel center frequency segment field is used to: when the 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located is in one contiguous 160 MHz frequency segment, indicate a center frequency of the contiguous 160 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located; or when the 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located is not in one contiguous 160 MHz frequency segment, indicate a center frequency of a second 80 MHz frequency segment in addition to the 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located. [0290] In a first case, a bandwidth value of each frequency segment is always 160 MHz. In this case, a channel bandwidth greater than 160 MHz may be only contiguous 320 MHz and 160+160 MHz. Therefore, a value needs to be assigned to a channel bandwidth (channel bandwidth, CW) field to indicate the bandwidths of 320 MHz and 160+160 MHz, as shown in Table 6. [0292] In a first method, the CCFS 3 and the CCFS 4 indicate center frequencies of two 160 MHz bandwidths, as shown in Table 7.).
Li and Guo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to implement band indication in a multi-band aggregation scenario.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li with Guo to create a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising: wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field, wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes information on a channel center frequency index, wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices, wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of a primary 160 MHz channel shared by the first and second 320 MHz channels, wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel, wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel, and wherein the first and second 320 MHz channels are configured such that the primary 160 MHz channel indicated by the first index is maintained while a secondary 160 MHz channels are changed based on the second index and the third index..
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve resource utilization efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses a receiving station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the receiving STA comprising:
a memory ([0254] The device is a first communications device, and the first communications device may include a processor 131 (for example, a central processing unit (CPU)), a memory 132, a transmitter 134, and a receiver 133.);
a transceiver; and ([0254] The device is a first communications device, and the first communications device may include a processor 131 (for example, a central processing unit (CPU)), a memory 132, a transmitter 134, and a receiver 133.)
a processor operatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver ([0254] The device is a first communications device, and the first communications device may include a processor 131 (for example, a central processing unit (CPU)), a memory 132, a transmitter 134, and a receiver 133.),
wherein processor is configured to:
receive a beacon frame from a transmitting STA through a first 320 MHz channel ([0159] For example, the first frame may be a beacon frame, and is periodically sent by an AP. The beacon frame is used to indicate the BSS bandwidth and the location of the operating channel of the BSS, that is, information about a maximum operating bandwidth supported by the BSS such that a station that receives the beacon frame is enabled to learn of a size and the location of the operating channel of the BSS. … In this case, the AP may communicate with the station using a channel whose bandwidth does not exceed 320 MHz, and the bandwidth may be one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz.);
receive an Extreme High Throughput (EHT) Operating Mode (OM) field from the transmitting STA through the first 320 MHz channel; and ([0202] FIG. 12 shows that the beacon frame is periodically sent, and EHT Operation may be placed in the beacon frame to describe a bandwidth capability of the BSS. For example, an AP of an EHT notifies, using EHT operation information, the station that the maximum bandwidth supported by the BSS to which the AP belongs is 320 MHz.)
receive the beacon frame from the transmitting STA through a second 320 MHz channel; wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs ischanged from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field ([0199] This embodiment of this application can resolve a problem of how to indicate a size and the location of the operating channel of the BSS after a 320 MHz bandwidth mode is introduced. A CCFS3 field and a CCFS4 field are introduced into the EHT operation information field, and the CCFS3 field and the CCFS4 field, together with CCFS0 and CCFS1, indicate a bandwidth mode above 160 MHz. CCFS0 and CCFS1 may be CCFS0 and CCFS1 in the VHT operation information field, or may be newly added fields in EHT operation information. [0200] A beacon frame is periodically sent by an AP, and the beacon frame carries the BSS bandwidth, that is, information about a maximum operating bandwidth supported by the BSS such that a station that receives the beacon frame is enabled to learn of the size and the location of the operating channel of the BSS.).
Li fails to disclose a receiving station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the receiving STA comprising:
wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is
changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon
frame and the EHT OM field,
wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels,
wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes information
on a channel center frequency index,
wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices,
wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of a primary 160 MHz channel shared
by the first and second 320 MHz channels,
wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel,
wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel, and
wherein the first and second 320 MHz channels are configured such that the primary 160
MHz channel indicated by the first index is maintained while a secondary 160 MHz channels are
changed based on the second index and the third index.
However, Guo discloses a receiving station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the receiving STA comprising:
wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is
changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon
frame and the EHT OM field ([0165] For example, the first frame may be a beacon frame that is periodically sent by an AP. The beacon frame is used to indicate the starting frequency of the second band in which the BSS works, so that a station that receives the beacon frame is enabled to know the starting frequency of the second band in which the BSS works. [0197] In some embodiments of this application, an example in which the first frame is a beacon frame is used. FIG. 7 is another schematic structural composition diagram of a beacon frame according to an embodiment of this application. The channel center frequency segment field in the first frame may be specifically a channel center frequency segment (CCFS for short) field. Specifically, the first channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 3, the second channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 4, the third channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 5, and the fourth channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 6. The position of the working channel of the BSS may be indicated by using the CCFS 3, the CCFS 4, the CCFS 5, and the CCFS 6. For example, a channel index number of a center frequency of each working channel may be indicated, and then an actual center frequency of each working channel may be calculated with reference to a starting frequency of a band. The beacon frame may include an EHT operation element field. The EHT operation element field may include an element identifier field, a length field, and an EHT operation information field. The EHT operation information field may include an operating class field, a multi-band aggregation mode field, a channel bandwidth field, a CCFS 3, a CCFS 4, a CCFS 5, and a CCFS 6.),
wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0015] In a possible implementation of the first aspect or the second aspect, the first frame further includes a channel bandwidth field, and the channel bandwidth field is used to indicate a BSS bandwidth. ... When a value of the channel bandwidth field is 4, the channel bandwidth field is used to indicate that the BSS bandwidth is 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 80+80+160 MHz, 160+80+80 MHz, 80+160+80 MHz, 80+80+80+80 MHz, 240+80 MHz, 80+240 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz, 80+160 MHz, or 80+80+80 MHz. ... . A position of a working channel of the BSS may be determined by using the first channel center frequency segment field, the second channel center frequency segment field, the third channel center frequency segment field, and the fourth channel center frequency segment field.),
wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes information
on a channel center frequency index ([0227] The first frame may include two operation element fields: the first operation element field and the second operation element field. The first operation element field may be specifically an EHT operation information field. The first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field are in the first operation element field. For example, the first channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 3, and the second channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 4. The fifth channel center frequency segment field and the sixth channel center frequency segment field are in the second operation element field. The second operation element field may be specifically a VHT operation information field. The fifth channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 0, and the sixth channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 1. By using the two different operation element fields, four channel center frequency segment fields may be carried in the first frame, to implement BSS bandwidth indication when a maximum bandwidth is 320 MHz or 240 MHz. [0228] In some embodiments of this application, an example in which the first frame is a beacon frame is used. FIG. 9 is another schematic structural composition diagram of a beacon frame according to an embodiment of this application. The EHT operation information field includes a multi-band aggregation mode field, a channel bandwidth field, an operating class field, a CCFS 3, and a CCFS 4.),
wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices ([0222] In some embodiments of this application, an example in which the first frame is a beacon frame is used. FIG. 8 is a schematic structural composition diagram of an EHT operation information field according to an embodiment of this application. The EHT operation information field includes a channel bandwidth field, a first operating class field, a CCFS 3, a CCFS 4, a CCFS 5, a CCFS 6, a second operating class field, a CCFS 7, a CCFS 8, a CCFS 9, and a CCFS 10. The first operating class field is used to indicate the CCFS 3, the CCFS 4, the CCFS 5, and the CCFS 6 of the first band, and the second operating class field is used to indicate the CCFS 7, the CCFS 8, the CCFS 9, and the CCFS 10 of the second band. In this implementation scenario, the first frame does not need to include the multi-band aggregation mode field.),
wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of a primary 160 MHz channel shared
by the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0240] Further, in some embodiments of this application, the fifth channel center frequency segment field is used to indicate a center frequency of an 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located. [0274] In some embodiments of this application, the first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field are two contiguous frequency segments.),
wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel ([0237] The fifth channel center frequency segment field and the sixth channel center frequency segment field are used to indicate two frequency segments, in the first band, in which the BSS works.),
wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel, and ([0229] In some embodiments of this application, the first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field are used to indicate two frequency segments, in the second band, in which the BSS works.)
wherein the first and second 320 MHz channels are configured such that the primary 160
MHz channel indicated by the first index is maintained while a secondary 160 MHz channels are
changed based on the second index and the third index ([0241] The sixth channel center frequency segment field is used to: when the 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located is in one contiguous 160 MHz frequency segment, indicate a center frequency of the contiguous 160 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located; or when the 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located is not in one contiguous 160 MHz frequency segment, indicate a center frequency of a second 80 MHz frequency segment in addition to the 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located. [0290] In a first case, a bandwidth value of each frequency segment is always 160 MHz. In this case, a channel bandwidth greater than 160 MHz may be only contiguous 320 MHz and 160+160 MHz. Therefore, a value needs to be assigned to a channel bandwidth (channel bandwidth, CW) field to indicate the bandwidths of 320 MHz and 160+160 MHz, as shown in Table 6. [0292] In a first method, the CCFS 3 and the CCFS 4 indicate center frequencies of two 160 MHz bandwidths, as shown in Table 7.).
Li and Guo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to implement band indication in a multi-band aggregation scenario.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li with Guo to create a method in a receiving station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the receiving STA comprising: wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field, wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes information on a channel center frequency index, wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices, wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of a primary 160 MHz channel shared by the first and second 320 MHz channels, wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel, wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel, and wherein the first and second 320 MHz channels are configured such that the primary 160 MHz channel indicated by the first index is maintained while a secondary 160 MHz channels are changed based on the second index and the third index..
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve resource utilization efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
transmitting, by a transmitting station (STA), a beacon frame to a receiving STA through a first 320 MHz channel ([0159] For example, the first frame may be a beacon frame, and is periodically sent by an AP. The beacon frame is used to indicate the BSS bandwidth and the location of the operating channel of the BSS, that is, information about a maximum operating bandwidth supported by the BSS such that a station that receives the beacon frame is enabled to learn of a size and the location of the operating channel of the BSS. … In this case, the AP may communicate with the station using a channel whose bandwidth does not exceed 320 MHz, and the bandwidth may be one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz.);
transmitting, by the transmitting STA, an Extreme High Throughput (EHT) Operating Mode (OM) field to the receiving STA through the first 320 MHz channel; and ([0202] FIG. 12 shows that the beacon frame is periodically sent, and EHT Operation may be placed in the beacon frame to describe a bandwidth capability of the BSS. For example, an AP of an EHT notifies, using EHT operation information, the station that the maximum bandwidth supported by the BSS to which the AP belongs is 320 MHz.)
transmitting, by the transmitting STA, the beacon frame to the receiving STA through a second 320 MHz channel ([0199] This embodiment of this application can resolve a problem of how to indicate a size and the location of the operating channel of the BSS after a 320 MHz bandwidth mode is introduced. A CCFS3 field and a CCFS4 field are introduced into the EHT operation information field, and the CCFS3 field and the CCFS4 field, together with CCFS0 and CCFS1, indicate a bandwidth mode above 160 MHz. CCFS0 and CCFS1 may be CCFS0 and CCFS1 in the VHT operation information field, or may be newly added fields in EHT operation information. [0200] A beacon frame is periodically sent by an AP, and the beacon frame carries the BSS bandwidth, that is, information about a maximum operating bandwidth supported by the BSS such that a station that receives the beacon frame is enabled to learn of the size and the location of the operating channel of the BSS.).
Li fails to disclose a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is
changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon
frame and the EHT OM field,
wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels,
wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes information
on a channel center frequency index,
wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices,
wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of a primary 160 MHz channel shared
by the first and second 320 MHz channels,
wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel,
wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel, and
wherein the first and second 320 MHz channels are configured such that the primary 160
MHz channel indicated by the first index is maintained while a secondary 160 MHz channels are
changed based on the second index and the third index.
However, Guo discloses a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is
changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon
frame and the EHT OM field ([0165] For example, the first frame may be a beacon frame that is periodically sent by an AP. The beacon frame is used to indicate the starting frequency of the second band in which the BSS works, so that a station that receives the beacon frame is enabled to know the starting frequency of the second band in which the BSS works. [0197] In some embodiments of this application, an example in which the first frame is a beacon frame is used. FIG. 7 is another schematic structural composition diagram of a beacon frame according to an embodiment of this application. The channel center frequency segment field in the first frame may be specifically a channel center frequency segment (CCFS for short) field. Specifically, the first channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 3, the second channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 4, the third channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 5, and the fourth channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 6. The position of the working channel of the BSS may be indicated by using the CCFS 3, the CCFS 4, the CCFS 5, and the CCFS 6. For example, a channel index number of a center frequency of each working channel may be indicated, and then an actual center frequency of each working channel may be calculated with reference to a starting frequency of a band. The beacon frame may include an EHT operation element field. The EHT operation element field may include an element identifier field, a length field, and an EHT operation information field. The EHT operation information field may include an operating class field, a multi-band aggregation mode field, a channel bandwidth field, a CCFS 3, a CCFS 4, a CCFS 5, and a CCFS 6.),
wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0015] In a possible implementation of the first aspect or the second aspect, the first frame further includes a channel bandwidth field, and the channel bandwidth field is used to indicate a BSS bandwidth. ... When a value of the channel bandwidth field is 4, the channel bandwidth field is used to indicate that the BSS bandwidth is 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 80+80+160 MHz, 160+80+80 MHz, 80+160+80 MHz, 80+80+80+80 MHz, 240+80 MHz, 80+240 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz, 80+160 MHz, or 80+80+80 MHz. ... . A position of a working channel of the BSS may be determined by using the first channel center frequency segment field, the second channel center frequency segment field, the third channel center frequency segment field, and the fourth channel center frequency segment field.),
wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes information
on a channel center frequency index ([0227] The first frame may include two operation element fields: the first operation element field and the second operation element field. The first operation element field may be specifically an EHT operation information field. The first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field are in the first operation element field. For example, the first channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 3, and the second channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 4. The fifth channel center frequency segment field and the sixth channel center frequency segment field are in the second operation element field. The second operation element field may be specifically a VHT operation information field. The fifth channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 0, and the sixth channel center frequency segment field may be a CCFS 1. By using the two different operation element fields, four channel center frequency segment fields may be carried in the first frame, to implement BSS bandwidth indication when a maximum bandwidth is 320 MHz or 240 MHz. [0228] In some embodiments of this application, an example in which the first frame is a beacon frame is used. FIG. 9 is another schematic structural composition diagram of a beacon frame according to an embodiment of this application. The EHT operation information field includes a multi-band aggregation mode field, a channel bandwidth field, an operating class field, a CCFS 3, and a CCFS 4.),
wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices ([0222] In some embodiments of this application, an example in which the first frame is a beacon frame is used. FIG. 8 is a schematic structural composition diagram of an EHT operation information field according to an embodiment of this application. The EHT operation information field includes a channel bandwidth field, a first operating class field, a CCFS 3, a CCFS 4, a CCFS 5, a CCFS 6, a second operating class field, a CCFS 7, a CCFS 8, a CCFS 9, and a CCFS 10. The first operating class field is used to indicate the CCFS 3, the CCFS 4, the CCFS 5, and the CCFS 6 of the first band, and the second operating class field is used to indicate the CCFS 7, the CCFS 8, the CCFS 9, and the CCFS 10 of the second band. In this implementation scenario, the first frame does not need to include the multi-band aggregation mode field.),
wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of a primary 160 MHz channel shared
by the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0240] Further, in some embodiments of this application, the fifth channel center frequency segment field is used to indicate a center frequency of an 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located. [0274] In some embodiments of this application, the first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field are two contiguous frequency segments.),
wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel ([0237] The fifth channel center frequency segment field and the sixth channel center frequency segment field are used to indicate two frequency segments, in the first band, in which the BSS works.),
wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel, and ([0229] In some embodiments of this application, the first channel center frequency segment field and the second channel center frequency segment field are used to indicate two frequency segments, in the second band, in which the BSS works.)
wherein the first and second 320 MHz channels are configured such that the primary 160
MHz channel indicated by the first index is maintained while a secondary 160 MHz channels are
changed based on the second index and the third index ([0241] The sixth channel center frequency segment field is used to: when the 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located is in one contiguous 160 MHz frequency segment, indicate a center frequency of the contiguous 160 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located; or when the 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located is not in one contiguous 160 MHz frequency segment, indicate a center frequency of a second 80 MHz frequency segment in addition to the 80 MHz frequency segment in which the primary channel is located. [0290] In a first case, a bandwidth value of each frequency segment is always 160 MHz. In this case, a channel bandwidth greater than 160 MHz may be only contiguous 320 MHz and 160+160 MHz. Therefore, a value needs to be assigned to a channel bandwidth (channel bandwidth, CW) field to indicate the bandwidths of 320 MHz and 160+160 MHz, as shown in Table 6. [0292] In a first method, the CCFS 3 and the CCFS 4 indicate center frequencies of two 160 MHz bandwidths, as shown in Table 7.).
Li and Guo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to implement band indication in a multi-band aggregation scenario.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li with Guo to create a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising: wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field, wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes information on a channel center frequency index, wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices, wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of a primary 160 MHz channel shared by the first and second 320 MHz channels, wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel, wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel, and wherein the first and second 320 MHz channels are configured such that the primary 160 MHz channel indicated by the first index is maintained while a secondary 160 MHz channels are changed based on the second index and the third index..
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve resource utilization efficiency.
Claims 2, 3, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Guo, and further in view of Verma et al (US20190116545A1) (hereinafter "Verma").
Regarding claim 2, Li, as modified by Guo, fails to disclose the method,
wherein the EHT OM field includes information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed,
wherein when the information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed is set to 1, the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STA is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel at a preset time point.
However, Verma discloses the method, wherein the EHT OM field includes information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed ([0006] the method may include generating a frame including a first change sequence field, one or more secondary change sequence fields, and a critical update flag subfield. In some instances, the first change sequence field may carry a value of the most-recent critical update for the first AP of the AP MLD [0007] the frame may be one of a beacon frame … The most-recent critical update for the first AP may correspond to a change in one or more operation parameters of a basic service set (BSS) associated with the first AP of the AP MLD ... the one or more operation parameters may include at least one of a channel switch announcement (CSA), an extended CSA, a wide bandwidth CSA, enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters, multi-user (MU) EDCA parameters, a quiet time element, a direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) parameter set, a contention free (CF) parameter set, operating mode (OM) parameters … target wait time (TWT) parameters, basic service set (BSS) color change … or an extremely high-throughput (EHT) operation),
wherein when the information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed is set to 1, the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STA is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel at a preset time point ([0283] the most-recent critical update for the first communication link and the first AP corresponds to a change in one or more operation parameters of a basic service set (BSS) associated with the first communication link or the first AP [0289] the AP MLD may update the flag or change indicator by transitioning a bit carried in the critical update flag subfield from a first logic state to a second logic state, for example, where the first logic state of the bit indicates no change in the critical updates for the respective AP and associated communication link, and the second logic state of the bit indicates there has been a change in the critical updates for the respective AP and associated communication link. In this way, a wireless communication device (such as the STA MLD) receiving a frame that carries a critical update flag or an indicator bit set to the second logic state may determine that one or more operation parameters of the respective AP and associated communication link have changed.).
Li, as modified by Guo, and Verma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multi-link aggregation in wireless local area networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li, as modified by Guo, with Verma to create the method, wherein the EHT OM field includes information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed, wherein when the information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed is set to 1, the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STA is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel at a preset time point.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase network capacity and maximize the utilization of available resources.
Regarding claim 3, Li, as modified by Guo, fails to disclose the method,
wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes a capability field and a current BSS field,
wherein the capability field includes information on whether the transmitting STA supports a change between the first and second 320 MHz channels,
wherein the current BSS field includes information on a current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs.
However, Verma discloses the method, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes a capability field and a current BSS field ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency … The channel number (also referred to as the primary channel number) may indicate the channel number of the operating channel (also referred to as the primary channel) for the BSS associated with the AP 105. The channel width (bandwidth) may indicate the operating channel width (which also may be referred to as operating channel bandwidth or operating bandwidth) and the corresponding frequency segment composition, including the number of segments. The operating channel width may indicate the maximum channel width (or the maximum operating bandwidth) and the corresponding frequency segment composition that the devices may utilize in the BSS (including the number of segments)),
wherein the capability field includes information on whether the transmitting STA supports a change between the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0063] a WLAN device (such as a STA 115 or an AP 105) may transmit a management frame (such as the management frame 501) that includes an EHT Capabilities IE. The EHT Capabilities IE may be one of the IEs 525 of the management frame 501 shown in FIG. 5, and the Bandwidth Support field of the EHT Capabilities IE may be one of the fields 555. [0064] the Bandwidth Support field of the EHT Capabilities IE (also referred to herein as a physical layer (PHY) capabilities IE) may indicate whether or not the WLAN device supports a 320 MHz bandwidth),
wherein the current BSS field includes information on a current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency … The channel number (also referred to as the primary channel number) may indicate the channel number of the operating channel (also referred to as the primary channel) for the BSS associated with the AP 105.),
Li, as modified by Guo, and Verma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multi-link aggregation in wireless local area networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li, as modified by Guo, with Verma to create the method, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes a capability field and a current BSS field, wherein the capability field includes information on whether the transmitting STA supports a change between the first and second 320 MHz channels, wherein the current BSS field includes information on a current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase network capacity and maximize the utilization of available resources.
Regarding claim 9, Li, as modified by Guo, fails to disclose the method,
wherein the EHT OM field includes information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed,
wherein when the information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed is set to 1, the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STA is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel at a preset time point.
However, Verma discloses the method, wherein the EHT OM field includes information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed ([0006] the method may include generating a frame including a first change sequence field, one or more secondary change sequence fields, and a critical update flag subfield. In some instances, the first change sequence field may carry a value of the most-recent critical update for the first AP of the AP MLD [0007] the frame may be one of a beacon frame … The most-recent critical update for the first AP may correspond to a change in one or more operation parameters of a basic service set (BSS) associated with the first AP of the AP MLD ... the one or more operation parameters may include at least one of a channel switch announcement (CSA), an extended CSA, a wide bandwidth CSA, enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters, multi-user (MU) EDCA parameters, a quiet time element, a direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) parameter set, a contention free (CF) parameter set, operating mode (OM) parameters … target wait time (TWT) parameters, basic service set (BSS) color change … or an extremely high-throughput (EHT) operation),
wherein when the information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed is set to 1, the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STA is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel at a preset time point ([0283] the most-recent critical update for the first communication link and the first AP corresponds to a change in one or more operation parameters of a basic service set (BSS) associated with the first communication link or the first AP [0289] the AP MLD may update the flag or change indicator by transitioning a bit carried in the critical update flag subfield from a first logic state to a second logic state, for example, where the first logic state of the bit indicates no change in the critical updates for the respective AP and associated communication link, and the second logic state of the bit indicates there has been a change in the critical updates for the respective AP and associated communication link. In this way, a wireless communication device (such as the STA MLD) receiving a frame that carries a critical update flag or an indicator bit set to the second logic state may determine that one or more operation parameters of the respective AP and associated communication link have changed.).
Li, as modified by Guo, and Verma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multi-link aggregation in wireless local area networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li, as modified by Guo, with Verma to create the method, wherein the EHT OM field includes information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed, wherein when the information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed is set to 1, the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STA is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel at a preset time point.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase network capacity and maximize the utilization of available resources.
Regarding claim 10, Li, as modified by Guo, fails to disclose the method, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes a capability field and a current BSS field,
wherein the capability field includes information on whether the transmitting STA supports a change between the first and second 320 MHz channels,
wherein the current BSS field includes information on a current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs.
However, Verma discloses the method, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes a capability field and a current BSS field ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency … The channel number (also referred to as the primary channel number) may indicate the channel number of the operating channel (also referred to as the primary channel) for the BSS associated with the AP 105. The channel width (bandwidth) may indicate the operating channel width (which also may be referred to as operating channel bandwidth or operating bandwidth) and the corresponding frequency segment composition, including the number of segments. The operating channel width may indicate the maximum channel width (or the maximum operating bandwidth) and the corresponding frequency segment composition that the devices may utilize in the BSS (including the number of segments)),
wherein the capability field includes information on whether the transmitting STA supports a change between the first and second 320 MHz channels (such as a STA 115 or an AP 105) may transmit a management frame (such as the management frame 501) that includes an EHT Capabilities IE. The EHT Capabilities IE may be one of the IEs 525 of the management frame 501 shown in FIG. 5, and the Bandwidth Support field of the EHT Capabilities IE may be one of the fields 555. [0064] the Bandwidth Support field of the EHT Capabilities IE (also referred to herein as a physical layer (PHY) capabilities IE) may indicate whether or not the WLAN device supports a 320 MHz bandwidth),
wherein the current BSS field includes information on a current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency … The channel number (also referred to as the primary channel number) may indicate the channel number of the operating channel (also referred to as the primary channel) for the BSS associated with the AP 105.).
Li, as modified by Guo, and Verma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multi-link aggregation in wireless local area networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li, as modified by Guo, with Verma to create the method, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes a capability field and a current BSS field, wherein the capability field includes information on whether the transmitting STA supports a change between the first and second 320 MHz channels, wherein the current BSS field includes information on a current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase network capacity and maximize the utilization of available resources.
Claims 5, 6, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Guo, and further in view of Kim et al (US9699715B2) (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 5, Li, as modified by Guo, fails to disclose the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel (Col. 14, Ln. 25-34: The first embodiment relates to a method for determining a first channel on the basis of a timestamp. In a broad sense, the first channel may be determined on the basis of a beacon frame. More particularly, N most significant bits (MSBs) (where N is a natural number) of a timestamp may indicate a plurality of channels (e.g., channels #1, #6, and #1) including Channel #1. In other words, channel numbers to be switched may be mapped to different bit values of N MSBs of a timestamp field contained in the beacon frame. Col. 14, Ln. 58-66: Furthermore, after lapse of a predetermined time after reception of the beacon frame including the timestamp, channel switching can be performed.).
Li, as modified by Guo, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless local area network channel discovery and switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li, as modified by Guo, with Kim to create the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce times needed for channel discovery and switching.
Regarding claim 6, Li, as modified by Guo, fails to disclose the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel (Col. 14, Ln. 25-34: The first embodiment relates to a method for determining a first channel on the basis of a timestamp. In a broad sense, the first channel may be determined on the basis of a beacon frame. More particularly, N most significant bits (MSBs) (where N is a natural number) of a timestamp may indicate a plurality of channels (e.g., channels #1, #6, and #1) including Channel #1. In other words, channel numbers to be switched may be mapped to different bit values of N MSBs of a timestamp field contained in the beacon frame. Col. 14, Ln. 58-66: Furthermore, after lapse of a predetermined time after reception of the beacon frame including the timestamp, channel switching can be performed.).
Li, as modified by Guo, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless local area network channel discovery and switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li, as modified by Guo, with Kim to create discloses the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce times needed for channel discovery and switching.
Regarding claim 12, Li, as modified by Guo, fails to disclose the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel (Col. 14, Ln. 25-34: The first embodiment relates to a method for determining a first channel on the basis of a timestamp. In a broad sense, the first channel may be determined on the basis of a beacon frame. More particularly, N most significant bits (MSBs) (where N is a natural number) of a timestamp may indicate a plurality of channels (e.g., channels #1, #6, and #1) including Channel #1. In other words, channel numbers to be switched may be mapped to different bit values of N MSBs of a timestamp field contained in the beacon frame. Col. 14, Ln. 58-66: Furthermore, after lapse of a predetermined time after reception of the beacon frame including the timestamp, channel switching can be performed.).
Li, as modified by Guo, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless local area network channel discovery and switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li, as modified by Guo, with Kim to create the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce times needed for channel discovery and switching.
Regarding claim 13, Li, as modified by Guo, fails to disclose the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel (Col. 14, Ln. 25-34: The first embodiment relates to a method for determining a first channel on the basis of a timestamp. In a broad sense, the first channel may be determined on the basis of a beacon frame. More particularly, N most significant bits (MSBs) (where N is a natural number) of a timestamp may indicate a plurality of channels (e.g., channels #1, #6, and #1) including Channel #1. In other words, channel numbers to be switched may be mapped to different bit values of N MSBs of a timestamp field contained in the beacon frame. Col. 14, Ln. 58-66: Furthermore, after lapse of a predetermined time after reception of the beacon frame including the timestamp, channel switching can be performed.).
Li, as modified by Guo, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless local area network channel discovery and switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Li, as modified by Guo, with Kim to create the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce times needed for channel discovery and switching.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seok et al (US20120026997A1) discloses a method of accessing a channel in a wireless local area network. The method includes receiving, by a device, an operation element for setting up or switching at least one channel from an access point, the operation element including a channel type field indicating whether the at least one channel is either a single channel or multiple channels, and the operation element including two channel center frequency segment fields indicating channel center frequency of a primary channel and a secondary channel.
Song et al (US20220110119A1) discloses a method for transmitting data in a wireless LAN system. Specifically, an AP transmits a band switch announcement element through a first band supported by a first and a second RF. The AP changes the first band, supported by the second RF, to a second band on the basis of the band switch announcement element. The AP transmits first data to an STA through the first band supported by the first RF and the second band supported by the second RF. The first data is transmitted through a multiple band in which the first band and the second band are combined.
Huang et al (US20230164676A1) discloses methods for basic service set channel operation. The methods include decoding a first frame, the first frame comprising an extremely-high throughput (EHT) operation information field, the EHT operation information field comprising a channel width subfield and a channel center frequency segment, the channel width subfield indicating a basic service set (BSS) contiguous channel width, and the channel center frequency segment indicating a channel center frequency for the BSS channel width on which the BSS operates in 6 GHz.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419