This office action is in response to remarks filed on 11/06/2025.
Claims 1-13 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 4, 7-8, and 11 are amended.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, and 11 have been considered based on amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al (US20190116545A1) (hereinafter "Verma") in view of Zhou et al (US20190150214A1) (hereinafter "Zhou"), Das et al (US20160330743A1) (hereinafter "Das"), and Lu et al (US20210345404A1) (hereinafter "Lu").
Regarding claim 1, Verma discloses a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
receiving, by a receiving station (STA), a beacon frame from a transmitting STA through a first 320 MHz channel ([0034] In some implementations, the AP may advertise the 320 MHz operating bandwidth of the BSS to the one or more STAs of the BSS by transmitting a management frame, such as a Beacon Frame, a Probe Response Frame, or an Association Response Frame.);
receiving, by the receiving STA, an Extreme High Throughput (EHT) Operating Mode (OM) field from the transmitting STA through the first 320 MHz channel; and ([0037] The management frame exchange and bandwidth signaling and related operations described in this disclosure allows EHT devices (such as APs and STAs) that support a 320 MHz operating bandwidth to exchange capabilities and operating bandwidth information. An AP can send an EHT Operation IE to the STAs of a BSS to advertise a 320 MHz operating bandwidth for the BSS, the corresponding frequency segment composition, and the center frequency associated with each of the segments of the selected frequency segment composition.)
Verma fails to disclose a method comprising: receiving, by the receiving STA, the beacon frame from the transmitting STA through a second 320 MHz channel; wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field.
However, Zhou discloses a method comprising: receiving, by the receiving STA, the beacon frame from the transmitting STA through a second 320 MHz channel ([0091] wireless device 305-a and wireless device 305-b may establish a multi-link session … During the multi-link session, a first set of packets may be sent via a first wireless link and a second set of packets may be sent via a second wireless link. [0092] In some examples, a first wireless link of the multi-link session may be a first size (e.g., a 320 MHz link, or an 80 MHz link), and a second wireless link of the multi-link session may be a second size (e.g., a 20 MHz link, an 80 MHz link, or a 40 MHz link). Thus, the first and second wireless links may be the same size or may be different sizes. [0068] To support the described multi-link aggregation techniques, APs 105 and STAs 115 may exchange supported aggregation capability information (e.g., supported aggregation type, supported frequency bands, etc.). In some cases, the exchange of information may occur via a beacon);
wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field ([0082] the primary channel may be static (e.g., always link 205-a) or the primary channel may float (e.g., the primary channel may dynamically switch between link 205-a and link 205-b). By contrast, multiple primary channels may contend for access to each link (e.g., links 205-a and 205-b) independently of one another. [0069] APs 105 and STAs 115 may exchange or advertise their capability through management signaling. Management signaling may include management frames carrying information elements (IEs) such as a high throughput (HT) capability element, … , or a new element such as an extremely high throughput (EHT) capabilities element or multi-link aggregation capability element. If the support of certain types of aggregation is dynamic, then APs 105 and STAs 115 may exchange or advertise their capability through an operating element such as HT operation element, VHT operation element, HE operation element, EHT operation element, or a new element such as a multi-link aggregation operation element.).
Verma and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multi-link aggregation in wireless local area networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Zhou to create a method comprising: receiving, by the receiving STA, the beacon frame from the transmitting STA through a second 320 MHz channel; wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase network capacity and maximize the utilization of available resources.
Verma fails to disclose a method comprising:
wherein primary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels, and
wherein secondary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels.
However, Lu discloses a method comprising: wherein primary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels , and ([0006] In next-generation wireless systems such as a wireless local area network (WLAN) under the IEEE 802.11be specification, operations in wider bandwidths, such as 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz, 160 MHz and 80+80 MHz, are supported and, as such, there may be situations in which some smaller-bandwidth devices (e.g., 80-MHz devices) are associated with a wideband-access point (AP) (e.g., a 320-MHz AP).)
wherein secondary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0006] In next-generation wireless systems such as a wireless local area network (WLAN) under the IEEE 802.11be specification, operations in wider bandwidths, such as 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz, 160 MHz and 80+80 MHz, are supported and, as such, there may be situations in which some smaller-bandwidth devices (e.g., 80-MHz devices) are associated with a wideband-access point (AP) (e.g., a 320-MHz AP).).
Verma and Lu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting device access in a wireless local area network wideband system, which includes multiple narrow bands/channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Lu to create a method comprising: wherein primary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels, and wherein secondary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase spectral efficiency.
Verma fails to disclose a method comprising:
wherein channels overlap each other, and
are only changed without changing the primary 160 MHz channel.
However, Das discloses a method comprising: overlap each other, and ([0053] In the situation where the current transmission channel overlaps with the new channel allocation, the AP 212 may maintain the current transmission channel to avoid having to switch frequencies. [0089] Further, the AP 212 may determine that only the secondary channels should have their frequencies changed. During the transition period starting when the existing channel grant expires at step 1108, the AP 212 may maintain the primary channels in connection 1110, but discontinue at least one secondary channel in the connection. At step 1112, the AP 212 may configure the radio to transmit using the new frequency for the secondary channels. After the secondary channels are reestablished at the new frequency, the connection 1114 may again comprise both primary and secondary channels. Thus any disruption to the transmission may be limited to only the secondary channels.)
are only changed without changing the primary 160 MHz channel ([0088] As shown in FIGS. 11 and 12, the connections 1102, 1202 between the AP 212 and the UEs may comprise multiple carrier channels, each at a different frequency. Furthermore, these “aggregated” frequency channels within a single connection may be separated into primary channels and secondary channels. [0089] In such instances, the AP 212 may have different options depending on which channels should be switched. FIG. 11 shows an exemplary sequence of steps that may be performed to switch the frequencies of secondary channels in the connections 1102, 1202. … The AP 212 may determine that only a subset of the frequencies that are currently active needs to be switched. Further, the AP 212 may determine that only the secondary channels should have their frequencies changed. During the transition period starting when the existing channel grant expires at step 1108, the AP 212 may maintain the primary channels in connection 1110, but discontinue at least one secondary channel in the connection. At step 1112, the AP 212 may configure the radio to transmit using the new frequency for the secondary channels. After the secondary channels are reestablished at the new frequency, the connection 1114 may again comprise both primary and secondary channels. Thus any disruption to the transmission may be limited to only the secondary channels.).
Verma and Das are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for efficient dynamic allocation of spectrum.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Das to create a method comprising: wherein channels overlap each other, and are only changed without changing the primary 160 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to facilitate switching of frequencies in a dynamic spectrum environment.
Regarding claim 2, Verma discloses the method, wherein the EHT OM field includes information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed ([0006] the method may include generating a frame including a first change sequence field, one or more secondary change sequence fields, and a critical update flag subfield. In some instances, the first change sequence field may carry a value of the most-recent critical update for the first AP of the AP MLD [0007] the frame may be one of a beacon frame … The most-recent critical update for the first AP may correspond to a change in one or more operation parameters of a basic service set (BSS) associated with the first AP of the AP MLD ... the one or more operation parameters may include at least one of a channel switch announcement (CSA), an extended CSA, a wide bandwidth CSA, enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters, multi-user (MU) EDCA parameters, a quiet time element, a direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) parameter set, a contention free (CF) parameter set, operating mode (OM) parameters … target wait time (TWT) parameters, basic service set (BSS) color change … or an extremely high-throughput (EHT) operation),
wherein when the information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed is set to 1, the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STA is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel at a preset time point ([0283] the most-recent critical update for the first communication link and the first AP corresponds to a change in one or more operation parameters of a basic service set (BSS) associated with the first communication link or the first AP [0289] the AP MLD may update the flag or change indicator by transitioning a bit carried in the critical update flag subfield from a first logic state to a second logic state, for example, where the first logic state of the bit indicates no change in the critical updates for the respective AP and associated communication link, and the second logic state of the bit indicates there has been a change in the critical updates for the respective AP and associated communication link. In this way, a wireless communication device (such as the STA MLD) receiving a frame that carries a critical update flag or an indicator bit set to the second logic state may determine that one or more operation parameters of the respective AP and associated communication link have changed.).
Verma fails to disclose the method, wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels.
However, Zhou discloses the method wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0068] the AP 105 may transmit beacons (e.g., which may contain less information) on other channels or links for discovery purposes.).
Verma and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multi-link aggregation in wireless local area networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Zhou to create the method, wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase network capacity and maximize the utilization of available resources.
Regarding claim 3, Verma discloses the method, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes a capability field, a current BSS field, and information on a BSS channel ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency … The channel number (also referred to as the primary channel number) may indicate the channel number of the operating channel (also referred to as the primary channel) for the BSS associated with the AP 105. The channel width (bandwidth) may indicate the operating channel width (which also may be referred to as operating channel bandwidth or operating bandwidth) and the corresponding frequency segment composition, including the number of segments. The operating channel width may indicate the maximum channel width (or the maximum operating bandwidth) and the corresponding frequency segment composition that the devices may utilize in the BSS (including the number of segments)),
wherein the capability field includes information on whether the transmitting STA supports a change between the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0063] a WLAN device (such as a STA 115 or an AP 105) may transmit a management frame (such as the management frame 501) that includes an EHT Capabilities IE. The EHT Capabilities IE may be one of the IEs 525 of the management frame 501 shown in FIG. 5, and the Bandwidth Support field of the EHT Capabilities IE may be one of the fields 555. [0064] the Bandwidth Support field of the EHT Capabilities IE (also referred to herein as a physical layer (PHY) capabilities IE) may indicate whether or not the WLAN device supports a 320 MHz bandwidth),
wherein the current BSS field includes information on a current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency … The channel number (also referred to as the primary channel number) may indicate the channel number of the operating channel (also referred to as the primary channel) for the BSS associated with the AP 105.),
wherein the information on the BSS channel includes a channel bandwidth, a primary channel, and a channel center frequency index for the current BSS channel ([0069] In some implementations, the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency.).
Regarding claim 4, Verma discloses the method, wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency. [0070] The segment 0-3 channel center frequency information may indicate a respective channel center frequency for each frequency segment of the frequency segment composition selected by the AP 105 for the BSS.),
wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of the primary 160 MHz channel ([0070] When the operating bandwidth is set to 160 MHz and the frequency segment composition has two 80 MHz segments, the subfield associated with the 80+80 MHz bandwidth of the segment 0 channel center frequency may indicate the CCFI of the lowest 80 MHz segment, and the subfield associated with the 80+80 MHz bandwidth of the segment 1 channel center frequency may indicate the CCFI of the highest 80 MHz segment.);
wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel ([0070] when the operating bandwidth is set to 320 MHz and the frequency segment composition has a single 320 MHz segment, the subfield associated with the 20/40/60/80/160/320 MHz bandwidths of the segment 0 channel center frequency may indicate the channel center frequency index (CCFI) of the 320 MHz segment.),
wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel ([0070] when the operating bandwidth is set to 320 MHz and the frequency segment composition has a single 320 MHz segment, the subfield associated with the 20/40/60/80/160/320 MHz bandwidths of the segment 0 channel center frequency may indicate the channel center frequency index (CCFI) of the 320 MHz segment.).
Regarding claim 7, Verma discloses a receiving station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the receiving STA comprising:
a memory ([0055] The STA 115 includes a processor 310, a memory 320, at least one transceiver 330, and at least one antenna 340.);
a transceiver; and ([0055] The STA 115 includes a processor 310, a memory 320, at least one transceiver 330, and at least one antenna 340.)
a processor operatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver, wherein processor is configured to: ([0055] The STA 115 includes a processor 310, a memory 320, at least one transceiver 330, and at least one antenna 340.)
receive a beacon frame from a transmitting STA through a first 320 MHz channel ([0034] In some implementations, the AP may advertise the 320 MHz operating bandwidth of the BSS to the one or more STAs of the BSS by transmitting a management frame, such as a Beacon Frame, a Probe Response Frame, or an Association Response Frame.);
receive an Extreme High Throughput (EHT) Operating Mode (OM) field from the transmitting STA through the first 320 MHz channel; and ([0037] The management frame exchange and bandwidth signaling and related operations described in this disclosure allows EHT devices (such as APs and STAs) that support a 320 MHz operating bandwidth to exchange capabilities and operating bandwidth information. An AP can send an EHT Operation IE to the STAs of a BSS to advertise a 320 MHz operating bandwidth for the BSS, the corresponding frequency segment composition, and the center frequency associated with each of the segments of the selected frequency segment composition.).
Verma fails to disclose a receiving STA configured to: receive the beacon frame from the transmitting STA through a second 320 MHz channel; wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving ST As is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field.
However, Zhou discloses a receiving STA configured to: receive the beacon frame from the transmitting STA through a second 320 MHz channel ([0091] wireless device 305-a and wireless device 305-b may establish a multi-link session … During the multi-link session, a first set of packets may be sent via a first wireless link and a second set of packets may be sent via a second wireless link. [0092] In some examples, a first wireless link of the multi-link session may be a first size (e.g., a 320 MHz link, or an 80 MHz link), and a second wireless link of the multi-link session may be a second size (e.g., a 20 MHz link, an 80 MHz link, or a 40 MHz link). Thus, the first and second wireless links may be the same size or may be different sizes. [0068] To support the described multi-link aggregation techniques, APs 105 and STAs 115 may exchange supported aggregation capability information (e.g., supported aggregation type, supported frequency bands, etc.). In some cases, the exchange of information may occur via a beacon);
wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field ([0082] the primary channel may be static (e.g., always link 205-a) or the primary channel may float (e.g., the primary channel may dynamically switch between link 205-a and link 205-b). By contrast, multiple primary channels may contend for access to each link (e.g., links 205-a and 205-b) independently of one another. [0069] APs 105 and STAs 115 may exchange or advertise their capability through management signaling. Management signaling may include management frames carrying information elements (IEs) such as a high throughput (HT) capability element, … , or a new element such as an extremely high throughput (EHT) capabilities element or multi-link aggregation capability element. If the support of certain types of aggregation is dynamic, then APs 105 and STAs 115 may exchange or advertise their capability through an operating element such as HT operation element, VHT operation element, HE operation element, EHT operation element, or a new element such as a multi-link aggregation operation element.)..
Verma and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multi-link aggregation in wireless local area networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Zhou to create a receiving STA configured to: receive the beacon frame from the transmitting STA through a second 320 MHz channel; wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving ST As is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase network capacity and maximize the utilization of available resources.
Verma fails to disclose a receiving STA configured to:
wherein primary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels, and
wherein secondary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels.
However, Lu discloses a receiving STA configured to: wherein primary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels , and ([0006] In next-generation wireless systems such as a wireless local area network (WLAN) under the IEEE 802.11be specification, operations in wider bandwidths, such as 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz, 160 MHz and 80+80 MHz, are supported and, as such, there may be situations in which some smaller-bandwidth devices (e.g., 80-MHz devices) are associated with a wideband-access point (AP) (e.g., a 320-MHz AP).)
wherein secondary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0006] In next-generation wireless systems such as a wireless local area network (WLAN) under the IEEE 802.11be specification, operations in wider bandwidths, such as 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz, 160 MHz and 80+80 MHz, are supported and, as such, there may be situations in which some smaller-bandwidth devices (e.g., 80-MHz devices) are associated with a wideband-access point (AP) (e.g., a 320-MHz AP).).
Verma and Lu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting device access in a wireless local area network wideband system, which includes multiple narrow bands/channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Lu to create a receiving STA configured to: wherein primary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels, and wherein secondary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase spectral efficiency.
Verma fails to disclose a receiving STA configured to:
wherein channels overlap each other, and
are only changed without changing the primary 160 MHz channel.
However, Das discloses a receiving STA configured to: overlap each other, and ([0053] In the situation where the current transmission channel overlaps with the new channel allocation, the AP 212 may maintain the current transmission channel to avoid having to switch frequencies. [0089] Further, the AP 212 may determine that only the secondary channels should have their frequencies changed. During the transition period starting when the existing channel grant expires at step 1108, the AP 212 may maintain the primary channels in connection 1110, but discontinue at least one secondary channel in the connection. At step 1112, the AP 212 may configure the radio to transmit using the new frequency for the secondary channels. After the secondary channels are reestablished at the new frequency, the connection 1114 may again comprise both primary and secondary channels. Thus any disruption to the transmission may be limited to only the secondary channels.)
are only changed without changing the primary 160 MHz channel ([0088] As shown in FIGS. 11 and 12, the connections 1102, 1202 between the AP 212 and the UEs may comprise multiple carrier channels, each at a different frequency. Furthermore, these “aggregated” frequency channels within a single connection may be separated into primary channels and secondary channels. [0089] In such instances, the AP 212 may have different options depending on which channels should be switched. FIG. 11 shows an exemplary sequence of steps that may be performed to switch the frequencies of secondary channels in the connections 1102, 1202. … The AP 212 may determine that only a subset of the frequencies that are currently active needs to be switched. Further, the AP 212 may determine that only the secondary channels should have their frequencies changed. During the transition period starting when the existing channel grant expires at step 1108, the AP 212 may maintain the primary channels in connection 1110, but discontinue at least one secondary channel in the connection. At step 1112, the AP 212 may configure the radio to transmit using the new frequency for the secondary channels. After the secondary channels are reestablished at the new frequency, the connection 1114 may again comprise both primary and secondary channels. Thus any disruption to the transmission may be limited to only the secondary channels.).
Verma and Das are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for efficient dynamic allocation of spectrum.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Das to create a receiving STA configured to: wherein channels overlap each other, and are only changed without changing the primary 160 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to facilitate switching of frequencies in a dynamic spectrum environment.
Regarding claim 8, Verma discloses a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
transmitting, by a transmitting station (STA), a beacon frame to a receiving STA through a first 320 MHz channel ([0034] In some implementations, the AP may advertise the 320 MHz operating bandwidth of the BSS to the one or more STAs of the BSS by transmitting a management frame, such as a Beacon Frame, a Probe Response Frame, or an Association Response Frame.);
transmitting, by the transmitting STA, an Extreme High Throughput (EHT) Operating Mode (OM) field to the receiving STA through the first 320 MHz channel; and ([0037] The management frame exchange and bandwidth signaling and related operations described in this disclosure allows EHT devices (such as APs and STAs) that support a 320 MHz operating bandwidth to exchange capabilities and operating bandwidth information. An AP can send an EHT Operation IE to the STAs of a BSS to advertise a 320 MHz operating bandwidth for the BSS, the corresponding frequency segment composition, and the center frequency associated with each of the segments of the selected frequency segment composition.)
Verma fails to disclose a method comprising: transmitting, by the transmitting STA, the beacon frame to the receiving STA through a second 320 MHz channel, wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving ST As is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field.
However, Zhou discloses a method comprising: transmitting, by the transmitting STA, the beacon frame to the receiving STA through a second 320 MHz channel ([0091] wireless device 305-a and wireless device 305-b may establish a multi-link session … During the multi-link session, a first set of packets may be sent via a first wireless link and a second set of packets may be sent via a second wireless link. [0092] In some examples, a first wireless link of the multi-link session may be a first size (e.g., a 320 MHz link, or an 80 MHz link), and a second wireless link of the multi-link session may be a second size (e.g., a 20 MHz link, an 80 MHz link, or a 40 MHz link). Thus, the first and second wireless links may be the same size or may be different sizes. [0068] To support the described multi-link aggregation techniques, APs 105 and STAs 115 may exchange supported aggregation capability information (e.g., supported aggregation type, supported frequency bands, etc.). In some cases, the exchange of information may occur via a beacon),
wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field ([0082] the primary channel may be static (e.g., always link 205-a) or the primary channel may float (e.g., the primary channel may dynamically switch between link 205-a and link 205-b). By contrast, multiple primary channels may contend for access to each link (e.g., links 205-a and 205-b) independently of one another. [0069] APs 105 and STAs 115 may exchange or advertise their capability through management signaling. Management signaling may include management frames carrying information elements (IEs) such as a high throughput (HT) capability element, … , or a new element such as an extremely high throughput (EHT) capabilities element or multi-link aggregation capability element. If the support of certain types of aggregation is dynamic, then APs 105 and STAs 115 may exchange or advertise their capability through an operating element such as HT operation element, VHT operation element, HE operation element, EHT operation element, or a new element such as a multi-link aggregation operation element.).
Verma and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multi-link aggregation in wireless local area networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Zhou to create a method comprising: transmitting, by the transmitting STA, the beacon frame to the receiving STA through a second 320 MHz channel, wherein a Basic Service Set (BSS) channel of the transmitting and receiving ST As is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel based on the beacon frame and the EHT OM field.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase network capacity and maximize the utilization of available resources.
Verma fails to disclose a method comprising:
wherein primary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels, and
wherein secondary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels.
However, Lu discloses a method comprising: wherein primary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels , and ([0006] In next-generation wireless systems such as a wireless local area network (WLAN) under the IEEE 802.11be specification, operations in wider bandwidths, such as 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz, 160 MHz and 80+80 MHz, are supported and, as such, there may be situations in which some smaller-bandwidth devices (e.g., 80-MHz devices) are associated with a wideband-access point (AP) (e.g., a 320-MHz AP).)
wherein secondary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0006] In next-generation wireless systems such as a wireless local area network (WLAN) under the IEEE 802.11be specification, operations in wider bandwidths, such as 320 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 240 MHz, 160+80 MHz, 160 MHz and 80+80 MHz, are supported and, as such, there may be situations in which some smaller-bandwidth devices (e.g., 80-MHz devices) are associated with a wideband-access point (AP) (e.g., a 320-MHz AP).).
Verma and Lu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting device access in a wireless local area network wideband system, which includes multiple narrow bands/channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Lu to create a method comprising: wherein primary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels, and wherein secondary 160 MHz channels of the first and second 320 MHz channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase spectral efficiency.
Verma fails to disclose a method comprising:
wherein channels overlap each other, and
are only changed without changing the primary 160 MHz channel.
However, Das discloses a method comprising: overlap each other, and ([0053] In the situation where the current transmission channel overlaps with the new channel allocation, the AP 212 may maintain the current transmission channel to avoid having to switch frequencies. [0089] Further, the AP 212 may determine that only the secondary channels should have their frequencies changed. During the transition period starting when the existing channel grant expires at step 1108, the AP 212 may maintain the primary channels in connection 1110, but discontinue at least one secondary channel in the connection. At step 1112, the AP 212 may configure the radio to transmit using the new frequency for the secondary channels. After the secondary channels are reestablished at the new frequency, the connection 1114 may again comprise both primary and secondary channels. Thus any disruption to the transmission may be limited to only the secondary channels.)
are only changed without changing the primary 160 MHz channel ([0088] As shown in FIGS. 11 and 12, the connections 1102, 1202 between the AP 212 and the UEs may comprise multiple carrier channels, each at a different frequency. Furthermore, these “aggregated” frequency channels within a single connection may be separated into primary channels and secondary channels. [0089] In such instances, the AP 212 may have different options depending on which channels should be switched. FIG. 11 shows an exemplary sequence of steps that may be performed to switch the frequencies of secondary channels in the connections 1102, 1202. … The AP 212 may determine that only a subset of the frequencies that are currently active needs to be switched. Further, the AP 212 may determine that only the secondary channels should have their frequencies changed. During the transition period starting when the existing channel grant expires at step 1108, the AP 212 may maintain the primary channels in connection 1110, but discontinue at least one secondary channel in the connection. At step 1112, the AP 212 may configure the radio to transmit using the new frequency for the secondary channels. After the secondary channels are reestablished at the new frequency, the connection 1114 may again comprise both primary and secondary channels. Thus any disruption to the transmission may be limited to only the secondary channels.).
Verma and Das are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for efficient dynamic allocation of spectrum.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Das to create a method comprising: wherein channels overlap each other, and are only changed without changing the primary 160 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to facilitate switching of frequencies in a dynamic spectrum environment.
Regarding claim 9, Verma discloses the method, wherein the EHT OM field includes information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed ([0006] the method may include generating a frame including a first change sequence field, one or more secondary change sequence fields, and a critical update flag subfield. In some instances, the first change sequence field may carry a value of the most-recent critical update for the first AP of the AP MLD [0007] the frame may be one of a beacon frame … The most-recent critical update for the first AP may correspond to a change in one or more operation parameters of a basic service set (BSS) associated with the first AP of the AP MLD ... the one or more operation parameters may include at least one of a channel switch announcement (CSA), an extended CSA, a wide bandwidth CSA, enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters, multi-user (MU) EDCA parameters, a quiet time element, a direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) parameter set, a contention free (CF) parameter set, operating mode (OM) parameters … target wait time (TWT) parameters, basic service set (BSS) color change … or an extremely high-throughput (EHT) operation),
wherein when the information that the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is changed is set to 1, the BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STA is changed from the first 320 MHz channel to the second 320 MHz channel at a preset time point ([0283] the most-recent critical update for the first communication link and the first AP corresponds to a change in one or more operation parameters of a basic service set (BSS) associated with the first communication link or the first AP [0289] the AP MLD may update the flag or change indicator by transitioning a bit carried in the critical update flag subfield from a first logic state to a second logic state, for example, where the first logic state of the bit indicates no change in the critical updates for the respective AP and associated communication link, and the second logic state of the bit indicates there has been a change in the critical updates for the respective AP and associated communication link. In this way, a wireless communication device (such as the STA MLD) receiving a frame that carries a critical update flag or an indicator bit set to the second logic state may determine that one or more operation parameters of the respective AP and associated communication link have changed.).
Verma fails to disclose the method, wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels.
However, Zhou discloses the method, wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels ([0068] the AP 105 may transmit beacons (e.g., which may contain less information) on other channels or links for discovery purposes.).
Verma and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multi-link aggregation in wireless local area networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma and Zhou to create the method, wherein the beacon frame includes information on the first and second 320 MHz channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase network capacity and maximize the utilization of available resources.
Regarding claim 10, Verma discloses the method, wherein the information on the first and second 320 MHz channels includes a capability field, a current BSS field, and information on a BSS channel ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency … The channel number (also referred to as the primary channel number) may indicate the channel number of the operating channel (also referred to as the primary channel) for the BSS associated with the AP 105. The channel width (bandwidth) may indicate the operating channel width (which also may be referred to as operating channel bandwidth or operating bandwidth) and the corresponding frequency segment composition, including the number of segments. The operating channel width may indicate the maximum channel width (or the maximum operating bandwidth) and the corresponding frequency segment composition that the devices may utilize in the BSS (including the number of segments)),
wherein the capability field includes information on whether the transmitting STA supports a change between the first and second 320 MHz channels (such as a STA 115 or an AP 105) may transmit a management frame (such as the management frame 501) that includes an EHT Capabilities IE. The EHT Capabilities IE may be one of the IEs 525 of the management frame 501 shown in FIG. 5, and the Bandwidth Support field of the EHT Capabilities IE may be one of the fields 555. [0064] the Bandwidth Support field of the EHT Capabilities IE (also referred to herein as a physical layer (PHY) capabilities IE) may indicate whether or not the WLAN device supports a 320 MHz bandwidth),
wherein the current BSS field includes information on a current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency … The channel number (also referred to as the primary channel number) may indicate the channel number of the operating channel (also referred to as the primary channel) for the BSS associated with the AP 105.),
wherein the information on the BSS channel includes a channel bandwidth, a primary channel, and a channel center frequency index for the current BSS channel ([0069] In some implementations, the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency.).
Regarding claim 11, Verma discloses the method, wherein the channel center frequency index includes first to third indices ([0069] the Operation Bandwidth field 655 of the EHT Operation IE may include a channel number, a channel width (bandwidth), a segment 0 channel center frequency, a segment 1 channel center frequency, a segment 2 channel center frequency, and a segment 3 channel center frequency. [0070] The segment 0-3 channel center frequency information may indicate a respective channel center frequency for each frequency segment of the frequency segment composition selected by the AP 105 for the BSS.),
wherein the first index indicates a center frequency of the primary 160 MHz channel ([0070] When the operating bandwidth is set to 160 MHz and the frequency segment composition has two 80 MHz segments, the subfield associated with the 80+80 MHz bandwidth of the segment 0 channel center frequency may indicate the CCFI of the lowest 80 MHz segment, and the subfield associated with the 80+80 MHz bandwidth of the segment 1 channel center frequency may indicate the CCFI of the highest 80 MHz segment.);
wherein the second index indicates a center frequency of the first 320 MHz channel ([0070] when the operating bandwidth is set to 320 MHz and the frequency segment composition has a single 320 MHz segment, the subfield associated with the 20/40/60/80/160/320 MHz bandwidths of the segment 0 channel center frequency may indicate the channel center frequency index (CCFI) of the 320 MHz segment.),
wherein the third index indicates a center frequency of the second 320 MHz channel ([0070] when the operating bandwidth is set to 320 MHz and the frequency segment composition has a single 320 MHz segment, the subfield associated with the 20/40/60/80/160/320 MHz bandwidths of the segment 0 channel center frequency may indicate the channel center frequency index (CCFI) of the 320 MHz segment.).
Claims 5-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma in view of Zhou, Das, and Lu, and further in view of Kim et al (US9699715B2) (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 5, Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, fails to disclose the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel (Col. 14, Ln. 25-34: The first embodiment relates to a method for determining a first channel on the basis of a timestamp. In a broad sense, the first channel may be determined on the basis of a beacon frame. More particularly, N most significant bits (MSBs) (where N is a natural number) of a timestamp may indicate a plurality of channels (e.g., channels #1, #6, and #1) including Channel #1. In other words, channel numbers to be switched may be mapped to different bit values of N MSBs of a timestamp field contained in the beacon frame. Col. 14, Ln. 58-66: Furthermore, after lapse of a predetermined time after reception of the beacon frame including the timestamp, channel switching can be performed.).
Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless local area network channel discovery and switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, with Kim to create the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce times needed for channel discovery and switching.
Regarding claim 6, Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, fails to disclose the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel (Col. 14, Ln. 25-34: The first embodiment relates to a method for determining a first channel on the basis of a timestamp. In a broad sense, the first channel may be determined on the basis of a beacon frame. More particularly, N most significant bits (MSBs) (where N is a natural number) of a timestamp may indicate a plurality of channels (e.g., channels #1, #6, and #1) including Channel #1. In other words, channel numbers to be switched may be mapped to different bit values of N MSBs of a timestamp field contained in the beacon frame. Col. 14, Ln. 58-66: Furthermore, after lapse of a predetermined time after reception of the beacon frame including the timestamp, channel switching can be performed.).
Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless local area network channel discovery and switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, with Kim to create discloses the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce times needed for channel discovery and switching.
Regarding claim 12, Verma, as modified by Zhou, fails to disclose the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel (Col. 14, Ln. 25-34: The first embodiment relates to a method for determining a first channel on the basis of a timestamp. In a broad sense, the first channel may be determined on the basis of a beacon frame. More particularly, N most significant bits (MSBs) (where N is a natural number) of a timestamp may indicate a plurality of channels (e.g., channels #1, #6, and #1) including Channel #1. In other words, channel numbers to be switched may be mapped to different bit values of N MSBs of a timestamp field contained in the beacon frame. Col. 14, Ln. 58-66: Furthermore, after lapse of a predetermined time after reception of the beacon frame including the timestamp, channel switching can be performed.).
Verma, as modified by Zhou, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless local area network channel discovery and switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, with Kim to create the method, wherein until the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 0, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the first 320 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce times needed for channel discovery and switching.
Regarding claim 13, Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, fails to disclose the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel (Col. 14, Ln. 25-34: The first embodiment relates to a method for determining a first channel on the basis of a timestamp. In a broad sense, the first channel may be determined on the basis of a beacon frame. More particularly, N most significant bits (MSBs) (where N is a natural number) of a timestamp may indicate a plurality of channels (e.g., channels #1, #6, and #1) including Channel #1. In other words, channel numbers to be switched may be mapped to different bit values of N MSBs of a timestamp field contained in the beacon frame. Col. 14, Ln. 58-66: Furthermore, after lapse of a predetermined time after reception of the beacon frame including the timestamp, channel switching can be performed.).
Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of wireless local area network channel discovery and switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Verma, as modified by Zhou, Das, and Lu, with Kim to create the method, wherein after the preset time point, the current BSS field is set to 1, and the current BSS channel of the transmitting and receiving STAs is the second 320 MHz channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce times needed for channel discovery and switching.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419