DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after July 01, 2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ claimed invention filed on 07/01/2025 in the matter of Application N° 18/255,035. Said documents are entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Thus, claims 1-6 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the specification, as originally filed, does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor was in possession of the claimed subject matter at the time of filing with respect to the negative limitation excluding phosphate ester salts or sulfate ester salts.
The claim recites, in relevant part, wherein the composition excludes phosphate ester salts and sulfate ester salts. However, the specification does not provide any description, explicit or implicit, that supports the exclusion of these particular salts. The originally filed disclosure lacks: any mention of phosphate ester salts or sulfate ester salts, any teaching suggesting these salts are undesirable, any indication that the inventor intended to omit or avoid these salts, or any listing of alternatives or preferences from which such an exclusion could be inferred. Here, the absence of phosphate ester salts or sulfate ester salts in the examples or preferred embodiments does not amount to an affirmative disclosure of their exclusion. The specification also does not contain language such as “excluding,” “free of”, “does not include,” or any teaching that would convey possession of a composition that intentionally omits these salts.
Accordingly, the negative limitation lacks written description support because a person of ordinary skill in the art would not understand from the originally filed disclosure that the inventor had possession of compositions characterized by the absence of phosphate ester salts or sulfate ester salts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US20150111860), in view of Fowler. (US20100234230).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 5, Tanaka teaches suspoemulsions of agrochemicals that include a liquid agrochemical active that is poorly soluble in water; a solid agrochemical active that is poorly soluble in water at room temperature, such as the claimed flumioxazin or mesotrione; a polyoxyalkylene block copolymer, specifically the claimed polyoxyethylene, polyoxypropylene, block copolymer (applicant’s first surfactant); water; hydrophobic organic solvent, etc. ligninsulfonates (the applicant’s second surfactant), water, hydrophobic organic solvent, etc., and wherein the first ingredient, a liquid agrochemical active that is poorly soluble in water, is dissolved or suspended in the hydrophobic organic solvent that is dispersed in the water, and wherein one or more of the solid agrochemical active that is poorly soluble in water at room temperature is dispersed or suspended in the water (See Abstract; claims; and paragraphs [0037-0040]; [0048-0052]; [0005-0011]; [0029]; [0032]; [0035]; and [0068]. Additionally, Tanaka do not explain how the scope of a weakly water-soluble liquid agrochemical active (ingredient 1) is especially limited as long as it is poorly water-soluble (See paragraphs 0015-0017); and (0068). Tanaka teaches how a solid agrochemical active that is weakly soluble in water at room temperature, such as the purported flumioxazin or mesotrione, is suspended in water because, for example, in production examples 2 and 3. Tanaka teaches how to suspend clothianidin, a solid agrochemical active that is poorly water soluble at room temperature, in the water/aqueous phase. Specifically, they teach how to suspend ingredient 2, the solid agrochemical active that is poorly water soluble at room temperature, into ingredient 6, which is water (See production examples 2-3, and paragraph (0032); Abstract; and (0068).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka disclose how the claimed aromatic hydrocarbons can be used as a hydrophobic organic solvent (See paragraphs 0024); and (0078-0079).
Tanaka does not provide the applicant’s formula (I) for the weakly water-soluble liquid agrochemical active in claims 1-5. However, Fowler addresses this limitation in Tanaka.
According to Fowler it was known in the art to build the applicant’s compound of formula (I) as an emulsion. Since the compound of formula (I) is dissolved or solubilized in a hydrophobic organic solvent, it can be used as an ingredient (I) in Tanaka. (See paragraphs 0043 and 0002, example 5, and claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have chosen the applicant’s formula I as taught by Fowler for ingredient (1) in the suspoemulsions of Tanaka. since suspoemulsion are a known effective formulation type that enables the combination of poorly soluble liquids and solids to be used for herbicidal or other pesticidal applications, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this in order to form effective pesticidal combinations with other poorly water-soluble active agents that are solids at room temperature. Initially it is clear that combining two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be beneficial for the same purpose, in order to create a third composition that will be utilized for the exact same reason. Since they were taught separately in the earlier art, it makes sense to combine them. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F .2d846,850, 205, USPQ 1069, 1072, (CCPA 1980).
The examiner concludes that, in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the subject matter specified by the aforementioned claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 3-6 of copending Application No. 18/255,005 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims disclose a biocompatible membrane comprising a first layer having pores with a maximum pore size (MPS) less than about | micron and a first thickness less than about 10 microns; and a second layer having solid features, wherein a majority of the solid features has a solid feature spacing less than about 50 microns, wherein the solid features each comprise a representative minor axis, a representative major axis, and a solid feature depth, and wherein a majority of the solid features of the second layer has at least two of the representative minor axis, the representative major axis, and the solid feature depth are greater than about 5 microns; and a cell encapsulation device comprising said biocompatible membrane.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KIMBERLY BARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615