DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because:
Figure(s) 1 - 38 is/are not properly labeled. See 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1). Note the required use of FIG., not Fig.
The lettering is not of proper size, uniform density, and well-defined in Figure(s) 1 - 38. See 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1) – (5). (“Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm (1/8 inch) in height.”)
The margins are not of proper size in Figure(s) 1 - 38. See 37 CFR 1.84(g).
In Figure(s) 1 – 14A, 14C – 2-, and 20C - 38 the reference characters, sheet numbers, and view numbers are not all oriented in the same direction so as to avoid having to rotate the sheet. See 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1).
The numbering of the sheets of drawings bearing FIG(s). 1 - 38 is not in compliance with all aspects of 37 CFR 1.84(t). Note that sheet numbering is to occur at the top of the page, but not in the margin, which is at least 1 inch.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO EFFECT DRAWING CHANGES
Replacement Drawing Sheets
Drawing changes must be made by presenting replacement sheets which incorporate the desired changes and which comply with 37 CFR 1.84. An explanation of the changes made must be presented either in the drawing amendments section, or remarks, section of the amendment paper. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). A replacement sheet must include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of the amended drawing(s) must not be labeled as “amended.” If the changes to the drawing figure(s) are not accepted by the examiner, applicant will be notified of any required corrective action in the next Office action. No further drawing submission will be required, unless applicant is notified.
Identifying indicia, if provided, should include the title of the invention, inventor’s name, and application number, or docket number (if any) if an application number has not been assigned to the application. If this information is provided, it must be placed on the front of each sheet and within the top margin.
Annotated Drawing Sheets
A marked-up copy of any amended drawing figure, including annotations indicating the changes made, are required by the examiner. The annotated drawing sheet(s) must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheet” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings.
Timing of Corrections
Applicant is required to submit acceptable corrected drawings within the time period set in the Office action. See 37 CFR 1.85(a). Failure to take corrective action within the set period will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
If corrected drawings are required in a Notice of Allowability (PTOL-37), the new drawings MUST be filed within the THREE MONTH shortened statutory period set for reply in the “Notice of Allowability.” Extensions of time may NOT be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136 for filing the corrected drawings after the mailing of a Notice of Allowability.
Claim Interpretation
Attention is directed to MPEP 904.01 [R-08.2012].
The breadth of the claims in the application should always be carefully noted; that is, the examiner should be fully aware of what the claims do not call for, as well as what they do require. During patent examination, the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 44 USPQ2d 1023 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2111 - § 2116.01 for case law pertinent to claim analysis.
It is noted with particularity that narrowing limitations found in the specification cannot be inferred in the claims where the elements not set forth in the claims are linchpin of patentability. In re Philips Industries v. State Stove & Mfg. Co, Inc., 186 USPQ 458 (CA6 1975). While the claims are to be interpreted in light of the specification, it does not follow that limitations from the specification may be read into the claims. On the contrary, claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. See Ex parte Oetiker, 23 USPQ2d 1641 (BPAI, 1992). In added support of this position, attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-11.2013], where, citing In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969), is stated:
The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” The court found that applicant was advocating the latter, i.e., the impermissible importation of subject matter from the specification into the claim.
Additionally, attention is directed to MPEP 2111.01 [R-01.2024], wherein is stated:
II. IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION
“Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2111.02 II [R-07.2022]. As stated herein:
II. PREAMBLE STATEMENTS RECITING PURPOSE OR INTENDED USE
The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")… (Emphasis added)
Attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). (Emphasis added).
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
Breadth of a claim is not to be equated with indefiniteness. In re Miller, 441 F.2d 689, 169 USPQ 597 (CCPA 1971); In re Gardner, 427 F.2d 786, 788, 166 USPQ 138, 140 (CCPA 1970) ("Breadth is not indefiniteness."). A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim). (Emphasis added)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Second Paragraph / (b)
Standard for Definiteness.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2171 [R-11.2013]:
Two separate requirements are set forth in 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, namely that:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant.
The first requirement is a subjective one because it is dependent on what the inventor or a joint inventor for a patent regards as his or her invention. Note that although pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, uses the phrase "which applicant regards as his invention," pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.41(a) provides that a patent is applied for in the name or names of the actual inventor or inventors.
The second requirement is an objective one because it is not dependent on the views of the inventor or any particular individual, but is evaluated in the context of whether the claim is definite — i.e., whether the scope of the claim is clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.02 I [R-01.2024]:
During prosecution, applicant has an opportunity and a duty to amend ambiguous claims to clearly and precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. The claim places the public on notice of the scope of the patentee’s right to exclude. See, e.g., Johnson & Johnston Assoc. Inc. v. R.E. Serv. Co., 285 F.3d 1046, 1052, 62 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (en banc). As the Federal Circuit stated in Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008):
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”
***
During examination, after applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, if the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are not clear, the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. Packard, 751 F.3d at 1310 (“[W]hen the USPTO has initially issued a well-grounded rejection that identifies ways in which language in a claim is ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention, and thereafter the applicant fails to provide a satisfactory response, the USPTO can properly reject the claim as failing to meet the statutory requirements of § 112(b).”); Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.02 III B [R-01-2024], which states in part:
To comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, applicants are required to make the terms that are used to define the invention clear and precise, so that the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant can be ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(a), subsection I. It is important that a person of ordinary skill in the art be able to interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement of the patent that ultimately issues from the application being examined. See MPEP § 2173.02, subsection II (citing Morton Int ’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1993)); see also Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1249, 85 USPQ2d at 1658 (“Otherwise, competitors cannot avoid infringement, defeating the public notice function of patent claims.”). Examiners should bear in mind that “[a]n essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.” Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322 [Fed. Cir. 1989]. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10-2019], which states in part:
A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim)
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1-4, 6, 23-26, 39-42, 53-54, 57-59, and 122-136 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite with regard to what constitutes the metes and bounds of both “a target RNA” and “a candidate guide RNA”. While both of the “target RNA” and the “guide RNA” are recognized as being an RNA, it is less than clear as to what constitutes the metes and bounds of “a target RNA” and “a candidate guide RNA”. For example, it is less than clear if the “candidate guide RNA” can also be “a target RNA” and/or an mRNA, rRNA, or tRNA. It is less than clear as to what distinguishes one from the other.
Claims 2-4, 6, 23-26, 39-42, 53-54, and 57-59, which depend from claim 1, fail to overcome these issues and are similarly rejected.
Claim 1 is indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of “an RNA editing entity”. Claim 1 is indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of “edit a base”. Claims 6, 23-26, 39-42, 53-54, 57-59, 122, and 125-136, which depend from claim 1, fail to overcome this issue and are similarly rejected.
The term "about" in claims 39, 57-59, 130, and 136 is a relative term which renders the claim(s) indefinite. The term "about” is not defined by the claim(s), the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.05(b) III A, which states in part:
In determining the range encompassed by the term "about", one must consider the context of the term as it is used in the specification and claims of the application. Ortho-McNeil Pharm., Inc. v. Caraco Pharm. Labs., Ltd., 476 F.3d 1321, 1326, 81 USPQ2d 1427, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 2007). In< W. L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), the court held that a limitation defining the stretch rate of a plastic as “exceeding about 10% per second” is definite because infringement could clearly be assessed through the use of a stopwatch. However, the court held that claims reciting “at least about” were invalid for indefiniteness where there was close prior art and there was nothing in the specification, prosecution history, or the prior art to provide any indication as to what range of specific activity is covered by the term “about.” Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
"The use of the word 'about,' avoids a strict numerical boundary to the specified parameter." Ortho-McNeil Pharmaceutical, Inc. v. Caraco Pharmaceutical Laboratories, Ltd., 476 F.3d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (quoting Pall Corp. v. Micron Separations, Inc., 66 F.3d 1211, 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1995)); see also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("[U]se of the term 'about' shows that the applicants did not intend to limit the claimed ranges to their exact end-points."). However, "the word 'about' does not have a universal meaning in patent claims[;]" rather, "the meaning depends on the technological facts of the particular case." Pall Corp., 66 F.3d at 1217; see also Eiselstein v. Frank, 52 F.3d 1035, 1040 (Fed. Cir. 1995) ("The meaning of the word 'about' is dependent on the facts of a case, the nature of the invention, and the knowledge imparted by the totality of the... disclosure to those skilled in the art."). Thus, in evaluating the scope of the "about," it is appropriate to look how the Specification and other claims use the term, as well as considering the effects of varying the parameter described by the term. Pall Corp., 66 F.3d at 1217.
Claim 122 is indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of both “a respective target RNA” and “a respective candidate guide RNA”. While both of the “respective target RNA” and the “respective guide RNA” are recognized as being an RNA, it is less than clear as to what constitutes the metes and bounds of each. It is less than clear if the “respective candidate guide RNA” can also be “a respective target RNA”. It is less than clear as to what distinguishes one from the other.
Claims 123-136, which depend from claim 122, fail to overcome the above identified issues and are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 Written Description
Standard for Written Description.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2163.02 Standard for Determining Compliance With the Written Description Requirement [R-07-2022]:
An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also set directed to MPEP 2161.01 I [R-07-2022], wherein is stated:
For instance, generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349-50, 94 USPQ2d at 1171 ("[A]n adequate written description of a claimed genus requires more than a generic statement of an invention’s boundaries.") (citing Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1405-06); Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that generic claim language appearing in ipsis verbis in the original specification did not satisfy the written description requirement because it failed to support the scope of the genus claimed); Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1170, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (rejecting the argument that "only similar language in the specification or original claims is necessary to satisfy the written description requirement").
As set forth in Fiers v. Revel 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1604-5 (CAFC, January 1993):
We thus determined that, irrespective of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation employed, conception of a DNA, like conception of any chemical substance, requires a definition of that substance other than by its functional utility.
Fiers' attempt to distinguish Amgen therefore is incorrect. We also reject Fiers' argument that the existence of a workable method for preparing a DNA establishes conception of that material. (Emphasis added)
Conception of a substance claimed per se without reference to a process requires conception of its structure, name, formula, or definitive chemical or physical properties...
The difficulty that would arise if we were to hold that a conception occurs when one has only an idea of a compound, defining it by its hoped-for function, is that would-be inventors would file patent applications before they had made their inventions and before they could describe them. That is not consistent with the statute or the policy behind the statute, which is to promote disclosure of inventions.
As set forth in the en banc decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly and Company, 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) at 1171:
We held that a sufficient description of a genus instead requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus. Id. at 1568-69. We explained that an adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or other properties, of species falling within the genus sufficient to distinguish the genus from other materials. Id. at 1568 (quoting Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1171 [25 USPQ2d 1601] (Fed. Cir. 1993)). We have also held that functional claim language can meet the written description requirement when the art has established a correlation between structure and function. See Enzo, 323 F.3d at 964 (quoting 66 Fed. Reg. 1099 (Jan. 5, 2001)). But merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species.
***
In Fiers, we rejected the argument that “only similar language in the specification or original claim is necessary to satisfy the written description requirement.” 984 F.2d at 1170 (emphasis added). Rather, we held that original claim language to “a DNA coding for interferon activity” failed to provide an adequate written description as it amounted to no more than a “wish” or “plan” for obtaining the claimed DNA rather than a description of the DNA itself. Id. at 1170-71. That Fiers applied § 112, first paragraph, during an interference is irrelevant for, as we stated above, the statute contains no basis for ignoring the description requirement outside of this context. And again in Enzo we held that generic claim language appearing in ipsis verbis in the original specification does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed. 323 F.3d at 968. We concluded that “[a] claim does not become more descriptive by its repetition, or its longevity.” Id. at 969.
***
The written description requirement also ensures that when a patent claims a genus by its function or result, the specification recites sufficient materials to accomplish that function—a problem that is particularly acute in the biological arts.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2163 Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or Pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, “Written Description” Requirement [R-01-2024], at part II ii):
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. See Juno Therapeutics, Inc. v. Kite Pharma, Inc., 10 F.4th 1330, 1337, 2021 USPQ2d 893 (Fed. Cir. 2021) ( "[T]he written description must lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the inventor possessed the entire scope of the claimed invention. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353–54 ('[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor's contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.' (internal quotation marks omitted).") (Emphasis added)
Acknowledgement is made of the fact that the claims are to a method and not to a product. However, it is well settled that in order to satisfy the written description for a method, one must also disclose the molecules required to perform the method. In support of this position attention is directed to University of Rochester V. G.D. Searle & Co. 68 USPQ2D 1424 (W.D.N.Y. 2003) at 1433 (affirmed; University of Rochester V. G.D. Searle & Co. 69 USPQ2d 1886 (Fed. Cir. 2004)):
Plaintiff also argues that the requirements for written descriptions of claims to chemical compounds are irrelevant to this case because the '850 patent does not claim a compound, but a method of treatment by targeting PGHS-2 activity over PGHS-1 activity. Virtually any compound claim could be transformed into a method claim, however, simply by means of wording the claim in terms of a method of using the compound. With respect to the issue before the Court, then, this is little more than a semantic distinction without a difference. The claimed method depends upon finding a compound that selectively inhibits PGHS-2 activity. Without such a compound, it is impossible to practice the claimed method of treatment. It means little to "invent" a method if one does not have possession of a substance that is essential to practicing that method. Without that substance, the claimed invention is more theoretical than real; it is, as defendants argue, akin to "inventing" a cure for cancer by utilizing a substance that attacks and destroys cancer cells while leaving healthy cells alone. Without possession of such a substance, such a "cure" is illusory, and there is no meaningful possession of the method. (Emphasis added)
***
What the inventors did not do, however, is succeed in taking the last, critical step of actually isolating such a compound, or at least of developing a process through which one skilled in the art would be directly led to such a compound. Absent that step, their discoveries, valuable though they might have been, did not blossom into a full-fledged, complete invention. Scientific discoveries, and theories based on those discoveries, frequently lay the groundwork for later inventions, but that does not make the discoverer the inventor as well.
Attention is also directed to the decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. V. Eli Lilly & Co. (Fed Cir. 2010) 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1175, which states:
In accordance with Rochester, the ?516 patent must adequately describe the claimed methods for reducing NF-?B activity, including adequate description of the molecules that Ariad admits are necessary to perform the methods. (Emphasis added)
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1-4, 6, 23-26, 39-42, 53-54, 57-59, and 122-136 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For convenience, independent claims 1 and 122, as well as dependent claims 2, 3, 4, and 123-125 are reproduced below.
As evidenced above, the claimed method is directed to the identification of “a guide RNA suitable for editing a target RNA”. For purposes of examination, the “target RNA” has been construed as encompassing any RNA produced in any organism. As can be seen in dependent claims 2-4 and 124 and 125, the method requires the use of an “RNA editing entity”, which can be “an ADAR variant”, “a catalytically active deaminase domain” as well as “a fusion protein comprising any one of (a) – (c).” As can be seen in dependent claims 3 and 124, “the RNA editing entity comprises human ADAR (hADAR)”, which is further limited in claims 4 and 125 to “ADAR1 and/or ADAR2”.
It is well settled that in order to satisfy the written description for a method, one must also disclose the molecules required to perform the method. In support of this position attention is directed to University of Rochester V. G.D. Searle & Co. 68 USPQ2D 1424 (W.D.N.Y. 2003) at 1433 (affirmed; University of Rochester V. G.D. Searle & Co. 69 USPQ2d 1886 (Fed. Cir. 2004)):
Plaintiff also argues that the requirements for written descriptions of claims to chemical compounds are irrelevant to this case because the '850 patent does not claim a compound, but a method of treatment by targeting PGHS-2 activity over PGHS-1 activity. Virtually any compound claim could be transformed into a method claim, however, simply by means of wording the claim in terms of a method of using the compound. With respect to the issue before the Court, then, this is little more than a semantic distinction without a difference. The claimed method depends upon finding a compound that selectively inhibits PGHS-2 activity. Without such a compound, it is impossible to practice the claimed method of treatment. It means little to "invent" a method if one does not have possession of a substance that is essential to practicing that method. Without that substance, the claimed invention is more theoretical than real; it is, as defendants argue, akin to "inventing" a cure for cancer by utilizing a substance that attacks and destroys cancer cells while leaving healthy cells alone. Without possession of such a substance, such a "cure" is illusory, and there is no meaningful possession of the method. (Emphasis added)
***
What the inventors did not do, however, is succeed in taking the last, critical step of actually isolating such a compound, or at least of developing a process through which one skilled in the art would be directly led to such a compound. Absent that step, their discoveries, valuable though they might have been, did not blossom into a full-fledged, complete invention. Scientific discoveries, and theories based on those discoveries, frequently lay the groundwork for later inventions, but that does not make the discoverer the inventor as well.
Attention is also directed to the decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. V. Eli Lilly & Co. (Fed Cir. 2010) 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1175, which states:
In accordance with Rochester, the ?516 patent must adequately describe the claimed methods for reducing NF-?B activity, including adequate description of the molecules that Ariad admits are necessary to perform the methods. (Emphasis added)
A review of the disclosure does identify a Sequence Listing. The Sequence Listing is found to comprise some 318 sequences, all of which are either DNA or RNA and are all identified as being an “Artificial Sequence”. The disclosure has not been found to provide the nucleotide sequence for any “target RNA” that occurs in any organism, much less have a specific and substantial utility. Likewise, the disclosure has not been found to provide the amino acid sequence for any of the embodiments recited in claims 2 and 123- “(a) an adenosine deaminase acting on RNA (ADAR)”, “(b) an ADAR variant”, “(c) a catalytically active deaminase domain”, or “a fusion protein comprising any one of (a)-(c)” (claims 2 and 124).
Likewise, the disclosure has not been found to provide the amino acid sequence for “human ADAR (hADAR)” (claims 3 and 124), much less ADAR1 or ADAR2 (claims 4 and 125). Applicant’s nondisclosure of such essential materials has not been found to reasonably suggest that applicant, as of the effective filing date (12/1/2020), was in possession of the claimed method. Given such, and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 1-4, 6, 23-26, 39-42, 53-54, 57-59, and 122-136 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 122-125 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0202981 A1 (Methods for Designing Guide Sequences for Guide Nucleases, Sanjana et al.) in view of US 2019/0093098 A1 (Stafforst et al.) and US 2020/0190487 A1 (Zhang et al.).
Sanjana et al., teach:
[0029] The terms “guide molecule” and “guide RNA” are used interchangeably herein to refer to RNA-based molecules that are capable of forming a complex with a CRISPR-Cas protein and comprises a guide sequence having sufficient complementarity with a target nucleic acid sequence to hybridize with the target nucleic acid sequence and direct sequence-specific binding of the complex to the target nucleic acid sequence. The guide molecule or guide RNA specifically encompasses RNA-based molecules having one or more chemically modifications (e.g., by chemical linking two ribonucleotides or by replacement of one or more ribonucleotides with one or more deoxyribonucleotides), as described herein.
[0030] As used herein, the term “crRNA” or “guide RNA” or “single guide RNA” or “sgRNA” or “one or more nucleic acid components” of a Type V or Type VI CRISPR-Cas locus effector protein comprises any polynucleotide sequence having sufficient complementarity with a target nucleic acid sequence to hybridize with the target nucleic acid sequence and direct sequence-specific binding of a nucleic acid-targeting complex to the target nucleic acid sequence.
[0032] As used herein, the term “crRNA” or “guide RNA” or “single guide RNA” or “sgRNA” or “one or more nucleic acid components” of a Type V or Type VI CRISPR-Cas locus effector protein comprises any polynucleotide sequence having sufficient complementarity with a target nucleic acid sequence to hybridize with the target nucleic acid sequence and direct sequence-specific binding of a nucleic acid-targeting complex to the target nucleic acid sequence. (Emphasis added)
[0039]… In the context of formation of a CRISPR complex, “target sequence” refers to a sequence to which a guide sequence is designed to have complementarity, where hybridization between a target sequence and a guide sequence promotes the formation of a CRISPR complex. The section of the guide sequence through which complementarity to the target sequence is important for cleavage activity is referred to herein as the seed sequence. A target sequence may comprise any polynucleotide, such as DNA or RNA polynucleotides. (Emphasis added)
The aspect of having the guide RNA being linked to CRISPR-Cas is deemed to fairly suggest the imitation of the guide RNA being coupled to “an RNA editing entity”.
Sanjana et a., at paragraph [0123], teach:
In an aspect, the invention also provides a method and algorithm for identifying improved dead guide RNAs that effectively promote CRISPRP system function in DNA binding and gene regulation while not promoting DNA cleavage. (Emphasis added)
Sanjana et al., at paragraph [0046], discloses the incorporation of linkers. As disclosed therein:
In an embodiment of the invention, a guide is modified to comprise a chemical moiety at its 3′ and/or 5′ end. Such moieties include, but are not limited to amine, azide, alkyne, thio, dibenzocyclooctyne (DBCO), Rhodamine, peptides, nuclear localization sequence (NLS), peptide nucleic acid (PNA), polyethylene glycol (PEG), triethylene glycol, or tetraethyleneglycol (TEG). In certain embodiment, the chemical moiety is conjugated to the guide by a linker, such as an alkyl chain. In certain embodiments, the chemical moiety of the modified guide can be used to attach the guide to another molecule, such as DNA, RNA, protein, or nanoparticles. (Emphasis added)
The aspect of using a linker to attach an RNA molecule to the guide RNA is deemed to fairly suggest the linkage of a target RNA to the candidate guide RNA.
Sanjana et al., have not been found to teach or suggest the following limitation of claim 1:
“when the candidate guide RNA hybridizes to the target RNA, a hairpin loop is formed, that comprises at least part of the linker”.
Sanjana et al., have also not been found to teach using any version of ADAR, including human forms of same (hADAR, hADAR1 and hADAR2)
Stafforst et al., in their abstract, teach:
The invention relates to methods and substances for the targeted alteration of genetic information on an RNA level. The substances are artificially produced guide RNAs, which are capable of recruiting endogenous editing enzymes, such as hADAR enzymes, in particular hADAR2 and hADAR1, in order to introduce targeted point mutations in selected mRNAs. The guide RNA consists of multiple segments and is constructed in such a way that individual nucleotides from different segments pair to form a double helix, and the nucleotides of a determined segment form a hairpin structure within the guide RNA. The invention also relates to the method for directed RNA editing, wherein the guide RNA is transfected into the cells in which the RNA editing is to be carried out. The substances and the method can be used for repairing individual, e.g. disease-relevant point mutations, such as those leading to premature stop signals. An advantage of the invention is that endogenous editing enzymes are also used in order to introduce targeted point mutations into the RNA. Only the short guide RNA, used for recruiting endogenous editing enzymes, must be artificially produced for each specific problem and ectopically expressed.
The above showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of dependent claims 2-4 and 123-125.
Zhang et al., in paragraph [1234] teach including linkers in a guide RNA (gRNA), and that upon formation of a loop, the loop may include linkers. As stated therein:
[1234] sgRNAs comprising tracers sequences having lengths from about 159 nucleotides (sgRNA_6) to about 218 nucleotides (sgRNA_9) joined at the 3′ end by a linker to short crRNA sequences were designed and tested. Exemplary linkers comprise about 4 to 5 nucleotides, including 3-4 A nucleotides and one or two U nucleotides, designed to be the loop nucleotides of a stem-loop formed by base-pairing of the short crRNA with the 3′ region of the tracer. (Emphasis added)
As evidenced above, the inclusion, size and designed loop properties of linkers is well developed and arguably a matter of obvious design choices. Given such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Sanjana et al., whereby the guide RNA comprised the linker of Zhang et al., whereby the loop, when formed, comprised sequences of the linker. It would have also been obvious to said ordinary artisan to have employed any of the RNA editing means such as human ADAR, hADAR1 and hADAR2 as disclosed by Stafforst et al.
In view of the above presentation and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 1-4 and 122-125 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0202981 A1 (Methods for Designing Guide Sequences for Guide Nucleases, Sanjana et al.) in view of US 2019/0093098 A1 (Stafforst et al.) and US 2020/0190487 A1 (Zhang et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0345483 A1 (Church et al.), at paragraph [0067] teach:
One of skill based on the present disclosure will readily be able to identify or design guide RNAs and Cas9 proteins which co-localize to a DNA including a target nucleic acid. (Emphasis added)
Church et al., have not been found to teach that the candidate guide RNA will form a loop, much less a hairpin loop (claim 1). Likewise, Church et al., have not been found to teach using ADAR, hADAR, ADAR1, ADAR2.
US 2020/0291383 A1 (Mandel et al.), in paragraph [0011], teach:
In certain embodiments, the methods comprise administering to the subject a nucleic acid molecule encoding a guide RNA, wherein the guide RNA comprises a sequence(s) and/or structure(s) specifically recognized by an endogenous human deaminase such as Adenosine Deaminase Acting on RNA (ADAR), and wherein the guide RNA specifically hybridizes with methyl CpG binding protein 2 (MECP2) RNA and comprises a mismatch at the mutant nucleotide of the endogenous MECP2 RNA. (Emphasis added)
/Bradley L. Sisson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682