Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (figure 6) and species b (figures 13 and 14) in the reply filed on 1/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Full consideration was given to claims 1-8.
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 5/31/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 5/31/2023, 7/23/2024, 8/29/2024, 12/10/2024, 3/20/2025 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 5/31/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kim (WO 2019/235800, using US 2021/0151780 for translation and citation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a fuel cell membrane humidifier comprising: a middle case 110 having a module insertion portion 210 formed therein;
a cap case 120 coupled to the middle case; a hollow fiber membrane module C inserted into the module insertion portion; and
an active pressure buffer formed between the middle case 110 and the module insertion portion 210 to prevent the module insertion portion from expanding due to a pressure difference between the inside and the outside of the middle case or eliminate a pressure difference, depending on an output situation of a fuel cell. See figure 9 and [0049-0050].
Regarding claim 8, the hollow fiber membrane module includes at least one hollow fiber membrane bundle in which a plurality of hollow fiber membranes are integrated or at least one hollow fiber membrane cartridge C in which a plurality of hollow fiber membranes are accommodated [0043].
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/264777. Claim 1 of the copending Application No. 18/264777 discloses all the elements of claim 1 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/264793. Claim 1 of the copending Application No. 18/264793 discloses all the elements of claim 1 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is Kim (WO 2019/235800, using US 2021/0151780 for translation and citation).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the module insertion portion includes an outer partition wall 110a formed to be spaced apart from an inner wall 212 of the middle case 110, but does not disclose nor suggest “the active pressure buffer portion includes a sliding structure formed between the outer partition wall and the inner wall of the middle case.”
Claims 3-7 depend from claim 2.
Pertinent Prior Art
Ahn (WO 2021/107679, using US 2022/0344684 as translation) – Ahn discloses an active pressure buffer portion between the middle case and the module insertion portion in a fuel cell membrane humidifier. The active pressure buffer portion includes protrusions, but does not disclose protrusions in a sliding structure.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751