DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the silicon" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of this office action, claim 6 will be interpreted as depending from claim 3, which defines silicon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 2019/0326645) in view of Ohtomo et al. (US 2016/0036091).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Suzuki et al. discloses in Figs 1-9, a solid-state battery (ref 100B, [0035]) that includes a stack including a cathode layer (ref 2), a solid electrolyte layer (ref 1), and an anode layer (ref 3) containing an alloy-based anode active material ([0035]), wherein the anode layer (ref 3) in a stacking direction (Figs 4-6) comprises voids (refs 3b, Figs 4-6).
While Suzuki et al. does not explicitly disclose the vol% of voids in the anode layer as greater than 36% or 55-100%, the change in the vol% of voids in the anode layer is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. Suzuki et al. (see [0035], [0065]) teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention that varying the amount of voids in the anode layer will vary the ability of the anode layer to absorb volume change / structural integrity of said anode layer. Therefore the ability of the anode layer to absorb volume change / structural integrity is a variable that can be modified, among others, by varying the amount of voids in the anode layer. For that reason, the amount of voids in the anode layer, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. As such, without showing unexpected results, the amount of voids in the anode layer cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of voids in the anode layer in the anode layer of Suzuki et al. to obtain the desired ability of the anode layer to absorb volume change / structural integrity (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Suzuki et al. does not explicitly disclose the anode current collector has surface roughness Rz of 0.8 4.0 microns.
Ohtomo et al. discloses in Figs 1-8, an all-solid secondary battery ([0001]-[0003], ref 10) including an anode current collector (ref 1) having a surface roughness of 1.8 – 2.5 microns ([0019]). This configuration suppresses short-circuiting of the battery during operation, thereby enhancing battery safety and performance ([0018]-[0020]).
Ohtomo et al. and Suzuki et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the anode collector of Suzuki et al. at the surface roughness of Ohtomo et al. to suppress short-circuiting of the battery during operation, thereby enhancing battery safety and performance.
Regarding claim 3, modified Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the alloy- based anode active material contains silicon ([0095], [0096]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the silicon is a particle ([0097]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the silicon is a thin film ([0097]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the solid electrolyte layer (ref 1) contains a sulfide solid electrolyte ([0098], [0103]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 2019/0326645) in view of Ohtomo et al. (US 2016/0036091) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2019/0157723).
Regarding claim 5, modified Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the particle of the silicon has a particle diameter D50 of at most 1 micron.
Suzuki et al. discloses in Figs 1-10, an all solid secondary battery including an anode (ref 220) electrode including an active material (ref 122) layer comprising silicon ([0015], [0017], [0087]) having a D50 particle size of 10 – 100 nm ([0087]). This configuration enhances the charge capacity and performance of the battery ([0005], [0087]-[0090]).
Suzuki et al. and Suzuki et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the silicon of Suzuki et al. at the D50 particle size of Suzuki et al. to enhance charge capacity and overall battery performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tajima et al. (US 2016/0013469) discloses in Figs 1-13, a secondary battery ([0052]) including a negative electrode layer including a plurality of slits therein to absorb active material volume change during battery use ([0113]-[0114]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725