Claim Status
Claims 1-9 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification (see [0009]-[0010]) is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (I-SceI-mediated scarless gene modification via allelic exchange in Clostridium. J Microbiol Methods. 2015 Jan;108:49-60).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang et al. teach a plasmid for transformation (see pg. 50, 2.3 Plasmid construction; Fig. 1), comprising a site into which a gene of interest is to be incorporated (see Fig. 1, site between H1 & H2), a pair of homologous recombination sequences sandwiching the site (see Fig. 1, H1 & H2 sites), and a pair of endonuclease target sequences sandwiching the pair of homologous recombination sequences (see Fig 1, I-SceI sites surrounding Hi & H2 sites).
Regarding Claims 6-9, Zhang et al. teach transformation methods utilizing the plasmid (see pg. 50-51, 2.4-2.6; Fig. 1, target gene integration).
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Gorsuch et al. (WO 2020/146807 A1; published 16 July 2020).
Regarding Claim 1, Gorsuch et al. teach a plasmid for transformation (see pg. 103-105, Example 3; Fig. 7A & B), comprising a site into which a gene of interest is to be incorporated (see Fig. 7A & B, site between HA sites), a pair of homologous recombination sequences sandwiching the site (see Fig. 7A & B, HA sites), and a pair of endonuclease target sequences sandwiching the pair of homologous recombination sequences (see Fig. 7A & B, TFN sites).
Regarding Claims 2 and 5, Gorsuch et al. teach an endonuclease under the control of a promoter (see Fig. 7A & B, TFN nuclease).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Gorsuch et al. teach homing endonucleases under the control of a promoter (see pg. 52, I-CreI, I-Tev1). Applicant’s specification characterizes “homing endonucleases” as including endonucleases encoded by an intron (with the prefix “I-“) (see [0027]).
Regarding Claims 6-9, Gorsuch et al. teach transformation methods utilizing the plasmid (see pg. 103-105, Example 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (I-SceI-mediated scarless gene modification via allelic exchange in Clostridium. J Microbiol Methods. 2015 Jan;108:49-60) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gorsuch et al. (WO 2020/146807 A1; published 16 July 2020).
The teachings of Zhang et al. have been outlined above (see 102 rejection). In addition, Zhang et. al teaches a homing endonuclease (see Fig 1, I-SceI sites surrounding Hi & H2 sites). Zhang et al. does not appear to teach a single plasmid including both the endonuclease target sites and the endonuclease under control of a promoter.
The teachings of Gorsuch et al. have been outlined above (see 102 rejection).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan at the time filing to incorporate the particular endonuclease under the control of a promoter into the plasmid of Zhang et al. for clear simplicity reasons. A skilled artisan would have recognized that incorporation of the endonuclease under the control of a promoter would reduce experimental time and materials by negating the need for a separate plasmid carrying the endonuclease. A skilled artisan would have expected the modified plasmid construct to function successfully because Gorsuch et al. demonstrated successful transformation with a similar plasmid construct.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-21 of copending Application No. 18/258799.
The reference claims encompass essentially the same plasmid product as the instant claims, including: a site into which a gene of interest is to be incorporated, a pair of homologous recombination sequences sandwiching the site, a pair of endonuclease target sequences sandwiching the pair of homologous recombination sequences, and a homing endonuclease under the control of a promoter. The reference claims also include a counter selection marker. Thus, while being different scope, the reference claims nonetheless anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/258909.
The reference claims encompass essentially the same plasmid product (and methods thereof) as the instant claims, including: a site into which a gene of interest is to be incorporated, a pair of homologous recombination sequences sandwiching the site, a pair of endonuclease target sequences sandwiching the pair of homologous recombination sequences, and a homing endonuclease under the control of a promoter. The reference claims also include a counter selection marker. Thus, while being slightly different in scope, the reference claims nonetheless anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang and Li et al. (Efficient precise knockin with a double cut HDR donor after CRISPR/Cas9-mediated double-stranded DNA cleavage. Genome Biol. 2017 Feb 20;18(1):35). This reference also teaches a plasmid construct encompassed by Claim 1, using the CRISPR/Cas system (see Fig 2(a), pD-mCherry-sg).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M BABIC/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1633