Claims 1-4, 8, 11-13, 15, 16 & 21-30 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202110468840.0, filed on 4/28/2021.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 11, 12, 21 & 26 have been amended.
Rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC 112(b) has been introduced based on amendments to this claim.
Rejection of claims 1-4, 8, 11-13, 15, 16 & 21-30 under 35 USC 102 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 11, 12, 21 & 26. However, after further consideration, rejections to these claims under 35 USC 103 have been introduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 1/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-4, 8, 11-13, 15, 16 & 21-30 under 35 USC 102 based on Li et al. (WO 2019173936)(herein after “Li”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made under 35 USC 103 based on Li et al. (WO 2019173936)(herein after “Li”) in view of new references Xu et al. (US 2016/0014630)(herein after “Xu”), and Yang et al. (WO 2016/173212)(herein after “Yang”) and Siomina et al. (US 2014/0128057)(herein after “Siomina”) and Kimba et al. (WO 2019/047784)(herein after “Kimba”) and Wu et al. (WO 2021218672)(herein after “Wu”), and Lunardi et al. (US 2024/0089819)(herein after “Lunardi”) .
Regarding claim 1, applicant submits that amendments to claim 1 traverse the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 102 based on Li. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 based on Li. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on Li in view of Xu and further in view of Yang and Siomina and Kimba. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Based on the above discussion, examiner withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 based on Li, but introduces rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on Li in view of Xu and further in view of Yang and Siomina and Kimba.
Regarding claims 2-4 & 8, applicant submits that these claims traverse the 35 USC 102 rejection of these claims based on amendments and arguments made for claim 1 above and due to their dependency on claim 1. Examiner agrees, and withdraws rejection of these claims under 35 USC 102 based on Li. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of the these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Li in view of Xu and further in view of Yang and Siomina and Kimba.
Regarding claim 11, applicant submits that amendments to claim 11 traverse the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 102 based on Li. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 102 based on Li. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 103 based on Li in view of Wu and further in view of Lunardi. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Based on the above discussion, examiner withdraws rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 102 based on Li, but introduces rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 103 based on Li in view of Wu and further in view of Lunardi.
Regarding claims 12, 13, 15, 16 & 30, applicant submits that these claims traverse the 35 USC 102 rejection of these claims based on amendments and arguments made for claim 11 above and due to their dependency on claim 11. Examiner agrees, and withdraws rejection of these claims under 35 USC 102 based on Li. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of the these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Li in view of Wu and further in view of Lunardi.
Regarding claim 21, applicant submits that amendments to claim 21 are similar to those of claims 1 & 11 and for the same arguments made above traverse the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 102 based on Li. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC 102 based on Li. However, after further consideration, and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 21 under 35 USC 103 based on Li in view of Xu and further in view of Yang and Siomina and Kimba and Wu and Lunardi.
Regarding claims 22-29, applicant submits that these claims traverse the 35 USC 102 rejection of these claims based on amendments and arguments made for claim 21 above and due to their dependency on claim 21. Examiner agrees, and withdraws rejection of these claims under 35 USC 102 based on Li. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of the these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Li in view of Xu and further in view of Yang and Siomina and Kimba and Wu and Lunardi.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C”. For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B or C (see MPEP §2117).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitations “in response to the electronic device being a first network element”, “in response to the electronic device being a second network element”, “in response to the electronic device being a third network element” and “in response to the electronic device being a fourth network element”. It is unclear what triggers a response to an electronic device being a first, second, third or fourth network element and there is no explanation in the current application specification explaining what triggers such a response. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting these limitations in claim 21 as “when the electronic device is acting as a first network element”, “when the electronic device is acting as a second network element”, “when the electronic device is acting as a third network element” and “when the electronic device is acting as a fourth network element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2019173936)(herein after “Li”) in view of Xu et al. (US 2016/0014630)(herein after “Xu”), and further in view of Yang et al. (WO 2016/173212)(herein after “Yang”) and Siomina et al. (US 2014/0128057)(herein after “Siomina”) and Kimba et al. (WO 2019/047784)(herein after “Kimba”).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method for minimization of driver test, comprising: sending, by a first network element, measurement configuration information to a second network element, wherein the measurement configuration information is used for the second network element to perform minimization of driver test (Page 5, 3rd paragraph discloses a method for MDT, implemented by a first wireless communication node comprising transmitting configuration information for MDT measurement to a second wireless communication node. Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs disclose an example where a Master Node (MN) acts as the first network element and a Secondary Node (SN) acts as the second network element, wherein the MN gives positioning measurement configuration to the SN and the SN uses the positioning measurement configuration information to collect measurement results of the terminal (i.e. performs MDT).); and
performing, by the first network element, minimization of driver test (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses that the MN may allocate base station side measurement configuration of the MDT for the MN base station to implement and collect measurement results of the terminal (i.e. the MN performs MDT); or
receiving, by a second network element, measurement configuration information sent by a first network element, and performing, by the second network element, minimization of driver test according to the measurement configuration information (Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs discloses the SN receives positioning measurement configuration from the MN and the SN uses the positioning measurement configuration information to collect measurement results of the terminal (i.e. performs MDT) based on the positioning measurement configuration information.);
wherein the measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration (Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs discloses that the positioning measurement configuration information comprises MDT configuration for MDT measurements to be completed and collected by the SN and reported to the MN.);
Li fails to disclose but Xu teaches wherein the minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range ([0185] discloses MDT configuration information including a measurement range.), and
wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a cell list ([0185] discloses MDT configuration information including a measurement range that is a cell list of an E-UTRAN.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for MDT wherein measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration, as disclosed by Li, wherein the minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range, and wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of a cell list, as taught by Xu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for MDT that configures a UE to only provide MDT measurements within a range of cells in a cell list in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Li fails to disclose but Siomina further teaches wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area list ([0029] & [0033] discloses an MDT measurement configuration where a UE logs measurements as long as the UE is within a configured logging area (i.e. within a measurement range), wherein the logging area may consist of eight tracking areas (i.e. a tracking area list).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for MDT wherein measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration, wherein the minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range, as disclosed by Li in view of Xu, wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area list, as further taught by Siomina. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for MDT that configures a UE to only provide MDT measurements within a range of tracking areas in a tracking area list in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Li fails to disclose but Yang further teaches wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area identifier ([0163] discloses terminal MDT measurements to be made based on a tracking area identifier list.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for MDT wherein the measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration, wherein minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range, as disclosed by Li in view of Xu, wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area identifier, as further taught by Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for MDT that configures a UE to only provide MDT measurements within a range of tracking area identifiers in a tracking area identifier list in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Li fails to disclose but Kimba further teaches wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a network slicing list ([0064]-[0065] discloses an MDT measurement area parameter that indicates an area (i.e. a range) where MDT measurements are to be performed by a terminal that includes a network slice information list.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for MDT wherein measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration, wherein the minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range, as disclosed by Li in view of Xu, wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area identifier, as further taught by Kimba. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for MDT that configures a UE to only provide MDT measurements within a range of network slices in a network slicing list in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba disclose the method of claim 1.
Li discloses wherein the measurement configuration information further comprises at least one of: an activated or deactivated measurement trace identifier (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a Trace Collection Entity (TCE) identifier.);
an activated or deactivated trace reference identifier (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a Trace Collection Entity (TCE) identifier.);
an activated or deactivated trace recording session reference identifier (optional);
a trace collection entity internet protocol address or a trace collection entity uniform resource identifier (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a TCE address.);
a terminal identifier allocated by the first network element (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses configuration information for MDT may be allocated by an MN (i.e. first network element). Page 8, 3rd paragraph discloses an eNB (i.e. a MN) selects a suitable UE and transmits MDT configuration information to the selected UE. Page 8, 3rd paragraph & page 9, 1st paragraph discloses activation of signaling-based MDT where the MDT signaling designates an IMSI or IMEI (i.e. terminal identifier).);
a terminal identifier allocated by the second network element (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses that each NE (i.e. first and second NE) can allocate part of MDT measurements to other NEs. Example disclosed is a SN (i.e. second NE) allocating terminal side measurements to a terminal. Page 8, 3rd paragraph & page 9, 1st paragraph discloses activation of signaling-based MDT where the MDT signaling designates an IMSI or IMEI (i.e. terminal identifier).).
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba disclose the method of claim 2.
Li discloses wherein the minimization of driver test configuration further comprises at least one of:
at least one of uplink data volume measurement configuration or downlink data volume measurement configuration (Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses MDT configuration parameters comprising M4 measured values (i.e. uplink and downlink data volume).); or
a type of minimization of driver test measurement configuration (Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information may include different types of MDT configuration parameters including M1 (i.e. RSRP & RSRQ measurements), M3 (i.e. received Interference Power measurements), M5 (i.e. IP Throughput measurements, M6 (i.e. Packet Delay measurements) and M7 (i.e. Packet Loss rate measurements), all representing parameters used to determine QOE.).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba disclose the method of claim 1.
Li discloses further comprising: sending, by the first network element, a measurement result of the minimization of driver test to a trace collection entity (TCE), wherein the measurement result of the minimization of driver test is used for the TCE to determine evaluation of the measurement result of the minimization of driver test for a terminal (Fig 3 and Page 11, last paragraph discloses an MDT reporter as part of the MN that may report (i.e. send) MDT measurement results to a trace collection entity (TCE). Page 1, 3rd paragraph & page 2, 1st paragraph disclose that the measurement information reported to the TCE is used for network optimization such as discovering and solving network coverage issues (i.e. for evaluation of the measurement results).).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba disclose the method of claim 1.
Li discloses further comprising: sending, by the second network element, a measurement result of the minimization of driver test to TCE, wherein the measurement result of the minimization of driver test is used for the TCE to determine evaluation of the measurement result of the minimization of driver test for a terminal (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses that after MDT measurement is completed an SN collects the measurement results and reports the measurement results to a TCE device. Page 1, 3rd paragraph & page 2, 1st paragraph disclose that the measurement information reported to the TCE is used for network optimization such as discovering and solving network coverage issues (i.e. for evaluation of the measurement results).).
Claims 11-13, 15, 16 & 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2019173936)(herein after “Li”) in view of Wu et al. (WO 2021218672)(herein after “Wu”), and further in view of Lunardi et al. (US 2024/0089819)(herein after “Lunardi”).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses a method for minimization of driver test, comprising: sending, by a first network element, quality of experience (QOE) measurement assisted configuration information to a second network element, wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information is used for the second network element to perform minimization of driver test (Page 5, 3rd paragraph discloses a method for MDT, implemented by a first wireless communication node comprising transmitting configuration information for MDT measurement to a second wireless communication node. Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs disclose an example where a Master Node (MN) acts as the first network element and a Secondary Node (SN) acts as the second network element, and the SN uses the configuration information for MDT measurement to perform positioning MDT. Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information may include MDT configuration parameters comprising M1 (i.e. RSRP & RSRQ measurements), M3 (i.e. received Interference Power measurements), M5 (i.e. IP Throughput measurements, M6 (i.e. Packet Delay measurements) and M7 (i.e. Packet Loss rate measurements), all representing parameters used to determine QOE.); or
receiving, by a second network element, quality of experience (QOE) measurement assisted configuration information sent by a first network element, and performing, by a second network element, minimization of driver test according to the QOE measurement assisted configuration information (Page 5, 3rd paragraph discloses a method for MDT, implemented by a second wireless communication node comprising receiving configuration information for MDT measurement from a first wireless communication node. Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs disclose an example where a Master Node (MN) acts as the first network element and a Secondary Node (SN) acts as the second network element, and the SN uses the configuration information for MDT measurement to perform positioning MDT. Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information may include MDT configuration parameters comprising M1 (i.e. RSRP & RSRQ measurements), M3 (i.e. received Interference Power measurements), M5 (i.e. IP Throughput measurements, M6 (i.e. Packet Delay measurements) and M7 (i.e. Packet Loss rate measurements), all representing parameters used to determine QOE.);
wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information comprises QOE configuration (Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information may include MDT configuration parameters comprising M1 (i.e. RSRP & RSRQ measurements), M3 (i.e. received Interference Power measurements), M5 (i.e. IP Throughput measurements, M6 (i.e. Packet Delay measurements) and M7 (i.e. Packet Loss rate measurements), all representing parameters used to determine QOE.);
Li fails to disclose, but Wu teaches wherein the QOE configuration comprises at least one of: a measurement configuration container of an application layer ([0146] discloses a QOE configuration wherein application layer measurements for collection by a terminal can be sent from a CN or OAM network element to a base station network element in a form of encapsulation of a transparent container.); or a measurement range ([0146] discloses a QOE configuration, wherein the configuration information may include an area range of QoE measurements.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for MDT comprising sending, by a first network element, quality of experience (QOE) measurement assisted configuration information to a second network element, wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information is used for the second network element to perform minimization of driver test, as disclosed by Li, wherein the QOE configuration comprises at least one of: a measurement configuration container of an application layer; or a measurement range, as taught by Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for MDT where a CN or OAM network element sends QOE configuration information to a base station network element using a container of an application layer so that the base station can transparently send the QOE configuration information to a UE without needing to interpret the QOE configuration information and avoiding the need for the base station to redesign RRC messages for every new application layer parameter.
Li fails to disclose but Lunardi further teaches wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information further comprises an activated or deactivated QOE measurement reference identifier ([0159]-[0163] disclose QOE measurement configuration information for a wireless terminal being sent between two RAN nodes that comprise QoE reference IDs associated with the configured QOE measurements. [0169] discloses that the QoE reference IDs can be used to indicate if respective QoE measurements are activated or deactivated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for MDT comprising sending, by a first network element, quality of experience (QOE) measurement assisted configuration information to a second network element, wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information is used for the second network element to perform minimization of driver test, wherein the QOE configuration comprises at least one of: a measurement configuration container of an application layer; or a measurement range, as disclosed by Li in view of Wu, wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information further comprises an activated or deactivated QOE measurement reference identifier, as further taught by Lunardi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for MDT where a CN or OAM network element sends QOE configuration information to a base station network element using a container of an application layer which includes an activated or deactivated QOE measurement reference ID so that the base station can transparently send the QOE configuration information to a UE without needing to interpret the QOE configuration information and the UE can MDT measurements only when the CN or OAM activates the collecting of MDT measurements in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Wu and Lunardi disclose the method of claim 11.
Li discloses wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information further comprises at least one of: an activated or deactivated trace reference identifier (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a TCE identifier.);
an internet protocol address of a measurement collection entity or a resource position of a measurement collection entity (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a TCE address.);
a terminal identifier allocated by the first network element (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses configuration information for MDT may be allocated by an MN (i.e. third network element). Page 8, 3rd paragraph discloses an eNB (i.e. a MN) selects a suitable UE and transmits MDT configuration information to the selected UE. Page 8, 3rd paragraph & page 9, 1st paragraph discloses activation of signaling-based MDT where the MDT signaling designates an IMSI or IMEI (i.e. terminal identifier).);
a terminal identifier allocated by the second network element (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses that each NE (i.e. third & fourth NE) can allocate part of MDT measurements to other NEs. Example is a SN (i.e. fourth NE) allocating terminal side measurements to a terminal. Page 8, 3rd paragraph & page 9, 1st paragraph discloses activation of signaling-based MDT where the MDT signaling designates an IMSI or IMEI (i.e. terminal identifier).); or
a trace identifier of minimization of driver test for an auxiliary QOE (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a TCE identifier.).
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Wu and Lunardi disclose the method of claim 12.
Li discloses wherein the QOE configuration further comprises a QOE service type (Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information includes MDT configuration parameters comprising different QOE service types such as M1 (signal quality), M2 (Power Headroom), M3 (Received Interference Power), M5 (IP Throughput), M6 (Packet Delay) and M7 (Packet Loss Rate).).
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Wu and Lunardi disclose the method of claim 11.
Li discloses further comprising: sending, by the second network element, a measurement result of the minimization of driver test to a measurement collection entity (MCE) (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses an SN that, after MDT measurement in completed, collects the measurement results and sends them to the MN (i.e. the MN is acting as an MCE).).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Wu and Lunardi disclose the method of claim 11.
Li discloses further comprising: sending, by the second network element, a measurement result of the minimization of driver test to an MCE and a trace collection entity (TCE) (Page 15, last paragraph discloses an MDT reporter 526 as part of an SN that, after executing MDT and receiving MDT measurement results, may report the measurement results to a TCE and may report the measurement results to an MN which will report the measurement results to the same TCE.).
Regarding claim 30, Li in view of Wu and Lunardi disclose the method of claim 11.
Li discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the method for minimization of driver test, such as the method of claim 11 (Fig 3 & Page 9, 2nd to 4th paragraphs disclose processor 304 and memory 306 where processor 304 can execute programs stored in NVRAM (i.e. a computer-readable storage medium) in memory 306 to control the operation of MN 300, and MN 300 can be configured to implement the methods disclosed by Li that disclose the method for MDT, such as the method of claim 11. Page 3, 5th paragraph discloses that the computer-readable medium may be a non-transitory computer readable medium.).
Claims 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2019173936)(herein after “Li”) in view of Xu et al. (US 2016/0014630)(herein after “Xu”), and further in view of Yang et al. (WO 2016/173212)(herein after “Yang”) and Siomina et al. (US 2014/0128057)(herein after “Siomina”) and Kimba et al. (WO 2019/047784)(herein after “Kimba”) and Wu et al. (WO 2021218672)(herein after “Wu”) and Lunardi et al. (US 2024/0089819)(herein after “Lunardi”).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory, which is configured to store one or more programs (Fig 3 & page 9, 2nd paragraph discloses a master node 300 including a processor 304 and memory 306. The master node 300 also includes a system clock 302, power module 308 and transceiver 310 and thus is an electronic device. Page 9, 4th paragraph discloses that memory 306 can store program instructions.);
wherein, in response to the electronic device being a first network element, the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement (Page 9, 2nd to 4th paragraphs disclose that processor 304 can execute programs stored in memory 306 to control the operation of MN 300, and MN 300 can be configured to implement the methods of a first network element disclosed by Li.):
sending, measurement configuration information to a second network element, wherein the measurement configuration information is used for the second network element to perform minimization of driver test, and performing minimization of driver test (Page 5, 3rd paragraph discloses a method for MDT, implemented by a first wireless communication node comprising transmitting configuration information for MDT measurement to a second wireless communication node. Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs disclose an example where a Master Node (MN) acts as the first network element and a Secondary Node (SN) acts as the second network element, wherein the MN gives positioning measurement configuration to the SN and the SN uses the positioning measurement configuration information to collect measurement results of the terminal (i.e. performs MDT).); or
wherein in response to the electronic device being a second network element, the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement (Page 9, 2nd to 4th paragraphs disclose that processor 304 can execute programs stored in memory 306 to control the operation of MN 300, and MN 300 can be configured to implement the methods of a second network element disclosed by Li.):
receiving, measurement configuration information sent by a first network element, and performing minimization of driver test according to the measurement configuration information (Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs discloses the SN receives positioning measurement configuration from the MN and the SN uses the positioning measurement configuration information to collect measurement results of the terminal (i.e. performs MDT) based on the positioning measurement configuration information.), wherein the measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration (Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs discloses that the positioning measurement configuration information comprises MDT configuration for MDT measurements to be completed and collected by the SN and reported to the MN.); or
wherein in response to the electronic device being a third network element, the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement (Page 9, 2nd to 4th paragraphs disclose that processor 304 can execute programs stored in memory 306 to control the operation of MN 300, and MN 300 can be configured to implement the methods of a third network element disclosed by Li.):
sending quality of experience (QOE) measurement assisted configuration information to a fourth network element, wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information is used for the fourth network element to perform minimization of driver test (Page 5, 3rd paragraph discloses a method for MDT, implemented by a first wireless communication node comprising transmitting configuration information for MDT measurement to a fourth wireless communication node. Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs disclose an example where a Master Node (MN) acts as the third network element and a Secondary Node (SN) acts as the fourth network element, and the SN uses the configuration information for MDT measurement to perform positioning MDT. Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information may include MDT configuration parameters comprising M1 (i.e. RSRP & RSRQ measurements), M3 (i.e. received Interference Power measurements), M5 (i.e. IP Throughput measurements, M6 (i.e. Packet Delay measurements) and M7 (i.e. Packet Loss rate measurements), all representing parameters used to determine QOE.); or,
wherein in response to the electronic device being a fourth network element, the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement (Page 9, 2nd to 4th paragraphs disclose that processor 304 can execute programs stored in memory 306 to control the operation of MN 300, and MN 300 can be configured to implement the methods of a fourth network element disclosed by Li.):
receiving quality of experience (QOE) measurement assisted configuration information sent by a third network element, and performing minimization of driver test according to the QOE measurement assisted configuration information (Page 5, 3rd paragraph discloses a method for MDT, implemented by a fourth wireless communication node comprising receiving configuration information for MDT measurement from a third wireless communication node. Page 6, 1st and 2nd paragraphs disclose an example where a Master Node (MN) acts as the third network element and a Secondary Node (SN) acts as the fourth network element, and the SN uses the configuration information for MDT measurement to perform positioning MDT. Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information may include MDT configuration parameters comprising M1 (i.e. RSRP & RSRQ measurements), M3 (i.e. received Interference Power measurements), M5 (i.e. IP Throughput measurements, M6 (i.e. Packet Delay measurements) and M7 (i.e. Packet Loss rate measurements), all representing parameters used to determine QOE.);
wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information comprises QOE configuration (Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information may include MDT configuration parameters comprising M1 measured values (i.e. signal quality and quality experienced by a UE).);
Li fails to disclose but Xu teaches wherein the minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range ([0185] discloses MDT configuration information including a measurement range.), and
wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a cell list ([0185] discloses MDT configuration information including a measurement range that is a cell list of an E-UTRAN.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device for performing MDT wherein measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration, as disclosed by Li, wherein the minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range, and wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of a cell list, as taught by Xu. The motivation to do so would have been to have an electronic device that configures a UE to only provide MDT measurements within a range of cells in a cell list in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Li fails to disclose but Siomina further teaches wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area list ([0029] & [0033] discloses an MDT measurement configuration where a UE logs measurements as long as the UE is within a configured logging area (i.e. within a measurement range), wherein the logging area may consist of eight tracking areas (i.e. a tracking area list).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device that can perform MDT wherein measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration, wherein the minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range, as disclosed by Li in view of Xu, wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area list, as further taught by Siomina. The motivation to do so would have been to have an electronic device that configures a UE to only provide MDT measurements within a range of tracking areas in a tracking area list in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Li fails to disclose but Yang further teaches wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area identifier ([0163] discloses terminal MDT measurements to be made based on a tracking area identifier list.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device that can perform MDT wherein the measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration, wherein minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range, as disclosed by Li in view of Xu, wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area identifier, as further taught by Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to have an electronic device that configures a UE to only provide MDT measurements within a range of tracking area identifiers in a tracking area identifier list in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Li fails to disclose but Kimba further teaches wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a network slicing list ([0064]-[0065] discloses an MDT measurement area parameter that indicates an area (i.e. a range) where MDT measurements are to be performed by a terminal that includes a network slice information list.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device that can perform MDT wherein measurement configuration information comprises minimization of driver test configuration, wherein the minimization of driver test configuration comprises a measurement range, as disclosed by Li in view of Xu, wherein the measurement range comprises at least one of: a tracking area identifier, as further taught by Kimba. The motivation to do so would have been to have an electronic device that configures a UE to only provide MDT measurements within a range of network slices in a network slicing list in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Li fails to disclose, but Wu teaches wherein the QOE configuration comprises at least one of: a measurement configuration container of an application layer ([0146] discloses a QOE configuration wherein application layer measurements for collection by a terminal can be sent from a CN or OAM network element to a base station network element in a form of encapsulation of a transparent container.); or a measurement range ([0146] discloses a QOE configuration, wherein the configuration information may include an area range of QoE measurements.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device that can perform MDT comprising sending quality of experience (QOE) measurement assisted configuration information to a fourth network element, wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information is used for the fourth network element to perform minimization of driver test, as disclosed by Li, wherein the QOE configuration comprises at least one of: a measurement configuration container of an application layer; or a measurement range, as taught by Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to have an electronic device that can perform MDT where a CN or OAM network element sends QOE configuration information to a base station network element using a container of an application layer so that the base station can transparently send the QOE configuration information to a UE without needing to interpret the QOE configuration information and avoiding the need for the base station to redesign RRC messages for every new application layer parameter.
Li fails to disclose but Lunardi further teaches wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information further comprises an activated or deactivated QOE measurement reference identifier ([0159]-[0163] disclose QOE measurement configuration information for a wireless terminal being sent between two RAN nodes that comprise QoE reference IDs associated with the configured QOE measurements. [0169] discloses that the QoE reference IDs can be used to indicate if respective QoE measurements are activated or deactivated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for MDT comprising sending quality of experience (QOE) measurement assisted configuration information to a fourth network element, wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information is used for the fourth network element to perform minimization of driver test, wherein the QOE configuration comprises at least one of: a measurement configuration container of an application layer; or a measurement range, as disclosed by Li in view of Wu, wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information further comprises an activated or deactivated QOE measurement reference identifier, as further taught by Lunardi. The motivation to do so would have been to have an electronic device that can perform MDT where a CN or OAM network element sends QOE configuration information to a base station network element using a container of an application layer which includes an activated or deactivated QOE measurement reference ID so that the base station can transparently send the QOE configuration information to a UE without needing to interpret the QOE configuration information and the UE can MDT measurements only when the CN or OAM activates the collecting of MDT measurements in order to optimize resource management and reduce data volume and analysis overhead in performing MDT.
Regarding claim 22, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba disclose the method of claim 1.
Li discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the method for minimization of driver test, such as the method of claim 1 (Fig 3 & Page 9, 2nd to 4th paragraphs disclose processor 304 and memory 306 where processor 304 can execute programs stored in NVRAM (i.e. a computer-readable storage medium) in memory 306 to control the operation of MN 300, and MN 300 can be configured to implement the methods disclosed by Li that disclose the method for MDT, such as the method of claim 1. Page 3, 5th paragraph discloses that the computer-readable medium may be a non-transitory computer readable medium.).
Regarding claim 23, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba and Wu and Lunardi disclose the electronic device of claim 21.
Li discloses wherein the measurement configuration information further comprises at least one of:
an activated or deactivated measurement trace identifier (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a Trace Collection Entity (TCE) identifier.);
an activated or deactivated trace reference identifier (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a Trace Collection Entity (TCE) identifier.);
an activated or deactivated trace recording session reference identifier (optional);
a trace collection entity internet protocol address or a trace collection entity uniform resource identifier (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a TCE address.);
a terminal identifier allocated by the first network element (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses configuration information for MDT may be allocated by an MN (i.e. first network element). Page 8, 3rd paragraph discloses an eNB (i.e. a MN) selects a suitable UE and transmits MDT configuration information to the selected UE. Page 8, 3rd paragraph & page 9, 1st paragraph discloses activation of signaling-based MDT where the MDT signaling designates an IMSI or IMEI (i.e. terminal identifier).); or,
a terminal identifier allocated by the second network element (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses that each NE (i.e. first and second NE) can allocate part of MDT measurements to other NEs. Example disclosed is a SN (i.e. second NE) allocating terminal side measurements to a terminal. Page 8, 3rd paragraph & page 9, 1st paragraph discloses activation of signaling-based MDT where the MDT signaling designates an IMSI or IMEI (i.e. terminal identifier).).
Regarding claim 24, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba and Wu and Lunardi disclose the electronic device of claim 23.
Li discloses wherein the minimization of driver test configuration further comprises at least one of:
at least one of uplink data volume measurement configuration or downlink data volume measurement configuration (Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses MDT configuration parameters comprising M4 measured values (i.e. uplink and downlink data volume).); or,
a type of minimization of driver test measurement configuration (Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information may include different types of MDT configuration parameters including M1 (i.e. RSRP & RSRQ measurements), M3 (i.e. received Interference Power measurements), M5 (i.e. IP Throughput measurements, M6 (i.e. Packet Delay measurements) and M7 (i.e. Packet Loss rate measurements), all representing parameters used to determine QOE.).
Regarding claim 25, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba and Wu and Lunardi disclose the electronic device of claim 21.
Li discloses wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement (Page 9, 2nd to 4th paragraphs disclose that processor 304 can execute programs stored in memory 306 to control the operation of MN 300, and MN 300 can be configured to implement the methods disclosed by Li.):
sending, a measurement result of the minimization of driver test to a trace collection entity (TCE), wherein the measurement result of the minimization of driver test is used for the TCE to determine evaluation of the measurement result of the minimization of driver test for a terminal (Fig 3 and Page 11, last paragraph discloses an MDT reporter as part of the MN that may report (i.e. send) MDT measurement results to a trace collection entity (TCE). Page 1, 3rd paragraph & page 2, 1st paragraph disclose that the measurement information reported to the TCE is used for network optimization such as discovering and solving network coverage issues (i.e. for evaluation of the measurement results).).
Regarding claim 26, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba and Wu and Lunardi disclose the electronic device of claim 21.
Li discloses wherein the QOE measurement assisted configuration information further comprises at least one of: an activated or deactivated trace reference identifier (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a TCE identifier.);
an internet protocol address of a measurement collection entity or a resource position of a measurement collection entity (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a TCE address.);
a terminal identifier allocated by the first network element (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses configuration information for MDT may be allocated by an MN (i.e. third network element). Page 8, 3rd paragraph discloses an eNB (i.e. a MN) selects a suitable UE and transmits MDT configuration information to the selected UE. Page 8, 3rd paragraph & page 9, 1st paragraph discloses activation of signaling-based MDT where the MDT signaling designates an IMSI or IMEI (i.e. terminal identifier).);
a terminal identifier allocated by the second network element (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses that each NE (i.e. third & fourth NE) can allocate part of MDT measurements to other NEs. Example is a SN (i.e. fourth NE) allocating terminal side measurements to a terminal. Page 8, 3rd paragraph & page 9, 1st paragraph discloses activation of signaling-based MDT where the MDT signaling designates an IMSI or IMEI (i.e. terminal identifier).); or
a trace identifier of minimization of driver test for an auxiliary QOE (Page 9, 1st paragraph discloses measurement configuration information comprising an activation message including trace reference information. Page 18, 4th paragraph & page 19, 1st paragraph discloses parameters of the measurement configuration information include a TCE identifier.).
Regarding claim 27, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba and Wu and Lunardi disclose the electronic device of claim 26.
Li discloses wherein the QOE configuration further comprises a QOE service type (Page 18, 4th paragraph discloses the MDT measurement information may include MDT configuration parameters comprising different QOE service types such as M1 (i.e. RSRP & RSRQ measurements), M3 (i.e. received Interference Power measurements), M5 (i.e. IP Throughput measurements, M6 (i.e. Packet Delay measurements) and M7 (i.e. Packet Loss rate measurements), all representing parameters used to determine QOE.).
Regarding claim 28, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba and Wu and Lunardi disclose the electronic device of claim 21.
Li discloses wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement (Page 9, 2nd to 4th paragraphs disclose that processor 304 can execute programs stored in memory 306 to control the operation of MN 300, and MN 300 can be configured to implement the methods disclosed by Li.):
sending a measurement result of the minimization of driver test to a measurement collection entity (MCE) (Page 6, 2nd paragraph discloses an SN that, after MDT measurement in completed, collects the measurement results and sends them to the MN (i.e. the MN is acting as an MCE).).
Regarding claim 29, Li in view of Xu and Siomina and Yang and Kimba and Wu and Lunardi disclose the electronic device of claim 21.
Li discloses wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement (Page 9, 2nd to 4th paragraphs disclose that processor 304 can execute programs stored in memory 306 to control the operation of MN 300, and MN 300 can be configured to implement the methods disclosed by Li.):
sending a measurement result of the minimization of driver test to an MCE and a TCE (Page 15, last paragraph discloses an MDT reporter 526 as part of an SN that, after executing MDT and receiving MDT measurement results, may report the measurement results to a TCE and may report the measurement results to an MN which will report the measurement results to the same TCE.).
Conclusion
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419