DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 07OCT2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Benefit of domestic priority of application 63/119,788 filed on 12/01/2020 under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 119e is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Various terms are discussed in the spec. at P10-13. More specifically:
“enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome” refers to the culturing of a microbiome in a medium including a hydrocarbon for selection of microorganisms with increased tolerance and degradation capabilities for the hydrocarbon (spec. P10/L15-25). It is noted that such enrichment is equivalent to engineered/mutated microorganisms for oil or hydrocarbon degradation.
“aggregates” refers to the combination of a microbiome and a carrier that are agglomerated via a biofilm. Spec. P13-7-14; P17/L8-15.
“carrier” refers to a suitable substrate for a microbiome aggregate. Spec. P13/L12-14.
Product-by-Process Claims
Note that product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. (See MPEP §2113). Claims 6-11 are interpreted as product-by-process claims and will be examined upon the merits of such claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 line(s) 1 sets forth the limitation “The composition or claim 2”, which should be corrected to - - The composition [[or]] of claim 2 - -
Regarding claim 2, the claim further specifies “a carrier”, which is part of the definition of “enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome aggregates” (see claim interpretation above). Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 2 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-4,6-9,11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ROWSELL (US 5342525) in view of BARBATO et. al. 2019 “Cultivable hydrocarbon degrading bacteria have low phylogenetic diversity but highly versatile functional potential”.
Regarding claims 1-3,13, ROWSELL teaches a method for aiding microbial degradation of spilled oil (title) including a composition comprising:
a plurality of enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome aggregates (mutated oil or hydrocarbon-consuming microorganisms with clay carriers; C1/L25-26,42-43,C2/L19-22,66-67 or elective cultures with screening for hydrocarbon digestion; C16/L38-44);
a carrier (e.g. a clay; C2/L66-67); and
a fluid medium (e.g. a liquid carrier or medium; C10/L25-27,49-51) wherein the carrier and the plurality of enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome aggregates are suspended (a clay/microorganism formulation including a liquid carrier or medium will be a suspension or slurry, C17/L25, as small particles in a liquid such as water C11/L5-12; C13/L31-33,58-60);
whereby the composition is a dynamic microbiome composition wherein numbers of a plurality of microbial species are increasing and/or decreasing (note that live cultures are constantly growing and/or dying; see also C6/L5-6).
While ROWSELL does not specify a biofilm (see definition of enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome aggregates above), it is noted that many micoorganisms attach to solid surfaces (such as clay particles) and form biofilms, especially in hostile conditions including pollutants (see BARBATO 2019 P46/right C/fourth paragraph). If not apparent that ROWSELL’s microbiome aggregates include a biofilm, it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide for a biofilm to allow for easier and more efficient pollutant degradation (BARBATO 2019 P46/right C/fourth paragraph). The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of microbial bioremediation. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claim 4, ROWSELL teaches a C5-40 hydrocarbon (e.g. bioremediated cyclohexane, which is a C6 hydrocarbon; C5/L43-49).
Regarding claims 6-9,11-12, ROWSELL teaches e.g. a seawater (C9/L15) supplemented with a C5-40 hydrocarbon (e.g. cyclohexane or other oils such as crude oil; C5/L43-49) and a biofilm (see rejection of claims 1-3 above) including e.g. Pseudomonas (abstract). Note that the claims are directed towards a composition, not a method of making the composition (see product-by-process claims above).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ROWSELL (US 5342525) in view of BARBATO et. al. 2019 “Cultivable hydrocarbon degrading bacteria have low phylogenetic diversity but highly versatile functional potential” and evidenced by EPA EDBAC 2011.
Regarding claim 5, ROWSELL teaches e.g. a surfactant (e.g. alkyl dimethyl benzyl ammonium chloride; C9/L4-5; see EPA EDBAC P5: “The ADBAC (Alkyl Dimethyl Benzyl Ammonium Chlorides) Category chemicals are similar to other cationic surfactants”).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ROWSELL (US 5342525) in view of BARBATO et. al. 2019 “Cultivable hydrocarbon degrading bacteria have low phylogenetic diversity but highly versatile functional potential” and BASSERES (US 5618725).
Regarding claim 10, ROWSELL does not teach the liquid medium is e.g. marine broth. However, BASSERES teaches oleophilic biodegrading additive and method of treating hybrocarbon polluted medium (title) including microorganisms that biodegrade of hydrocarbons (abstract; C2/L38-39) in a liquid medium including marine broth (C7/L34-35).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of ROWSELL with marine broth as taught by BASSERES in order to improve the growth of hydrocarbon-degradating microorganisms. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of microbial bioremediation. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ROWSELL (US 5342525) in view of BARBATO et. al. 2019 “Cultivable hydrocarbon degrading bacteria have low phylogenetic diversity but highly versatile functional potential”, and RAHSEPARA et. al. 2017 “Oil biodegradation: Interactions of artificial marine snow, clay particles, oil and Corexit” evidenced by JACKSON et. al. 2015. “Simulating aggregate dynamics in ocean biogeochemical models”.
Regarding claims 14-15, ROWSELL does not teach carrier comprises copepod carcasses or fecal matter etc. and/or krill carcasses or fecal matter etc. (collectively “marine snow”). However, RAHSEPARA teaches oil biodegradation: Interactions of artificial marine snow, clay particles, oil and Corexit (title) and that marine snow can enhance oil biodegradation in the abundance of dissolved oxygen by enhancing mass transfer by bringing the oil phase to the oil-degrading bacteria (“conclusion” P190/right C).
Note that marine snow includes copepod or krill carcasses or fecal matter etc. (see JACKSON P55/left C/second paragraph).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of ROWSELL with marine snow as taught by RAHSEPARA in order to improve bioremediation by hydrocarbon-degradating microorganisms. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of microbial bioremediation. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Telephonic Inquiries
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777
/Liam Royce/ Examiner, Art Unit 1777