DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed 23APR2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every claim objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 24OCT2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 23APR2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the carrier, ROWSELL teaches a clay (abstract), which is may be a carrier for the microorganisms C2/L66-67). Independent claim 2 claims that a clay may be a carrier.
Regarding the inoculation and biofilm, see the explanation below.
Product-by-Process Claims
Note that product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. (See MPEP §2113). Claims 2-5,11-12,51-54 are interpreted as product-by-process claims and will be examined upon the merits of such claims (note “microbial species that are selected for degrading hydrocarbons […] inoculated on particles”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 51-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 51, the specification as originally filed does not describe “the enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome comprises a plurality of further microbial species that do not degrade hydrocarbons”.
Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. Any claim containing a negative limitation which does not have basis in the original disclosure should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. See MPEP 2173.05(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 2-4,11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ROWSELL (US 5342525) in view of BARBATO et. al. 2019 “Cultivable hydrocarbon degrading bacteria have low phylogenetic diversity but highly versatile functional potential”.
Regarding claims 2-3, ROWSELL teaches a method for aiding microbial degradation of spilled oil (title) including a composition comprising:
a plurality of enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome aggregates that comprise a plurality of microbial species that are selected for degrading hydrocarbons (oil or hydrocarbon-consuming microorganisms with clay carriers that are elective cultures with screening for hydrocarbon digestion; C1/L25-26,42-43,C2/L19-22,66-67; C16/L38-44);
a carrier (e.g. a clay; C2/L66-67); and
a fluid medium (e.g. a liquid carrier or medium; C10/L25-27,49-51) wherein the carrier and the plurality of enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome aggregates are suspended (a clay/microorganism formulation including a liquid carrier or medium will be a suspension or slurry, C17/L25, as small particles in a liquid such as water C11/L5-12; C13/L31-33,58-60);
whereby the composition is a dynamic microbiome composition wherein numbers of a plurality of microbial species are increasing and/or decreasing (note that live cultures are constantly growing and/or dying; see also C6/L5-6).
While ROWSELL does not specify a biofilm, it is noted that many microorganisms attach to solid surfaces (such as clay particles) and form biofilms, especially in hostile conditions including pollutants (see BARBATO 2019 P46/right C/fourth paragraph). If not apparent that ROWSELL’s microbiome aggregates include a biofilm, it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide for a biofilm to allow for easier and more efficient pollutant degradation (BARBATO 2019 P46/right C/fourth paragraph). The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of microbial bioremediation. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Note that the limitation “the plurality of microbial species are inoculated on particles of the particulate carrier” sets forth a method of making the composition. Note that the claims are directed towards a composition, not a method of making the composition (see product-by-process claims above).
Whether the microbes are inoculated on particles of the particulate carrier or not, generally microorganisms will attach to substrates such as clays (see also BARBATO P46/left C/ “Coherently with its capability to grow attached to oil sorbent materials” ... “A. venustensis and A. dieselolei were isolated from different sites, both from seawater and sediments”; P49/right C/ “bacteria able to move reaching the HC source and enrich those able to attach to the substrate growing in the form of biofilm”).
Regarding claim 4, ROWSELL teaches the a C5-40 hydrocarbon (e.g. bioremediated cyclohexane, which is a C6 hydrocarbon; C5/L43-49).
Regarding claim 11, ROWSELL teaches an enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome comprises e.g. Pseudomonas (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, ROWSELL teaches the fluid medium is a volume of a marine water (C21/L46-50).
Regarding claims 51-54, ROWSELL teaches the enriched hydrocarbon-degrading microbiome comprises a plurality of microbial species selected to grow, survive, and degrade hydrocarbons (C22/L5-8). ROWSELL’s microbial species are selected as a mixture of microorganisms to obtain a broad spectrum of degradability (C16/L67-C17/L13). ROWSELL is silent as to the microbiome comprising a plurality of further microbial species that do not degrade hydrocarbons.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand this may be the case depending on how the selection is made and may also be advantageous when mixed cultures of different origin and contamination history is applied with different enrichment strategies to enhance their metabolic diversification (BARBATO abstract; see also BARBATO Left C/first full paragraph starting with “In the perspective to develop enrichment strategies” and the enrichment method of “2.1. Microcosm enrichments and bacteria isolation”). See also above regarding microorganisms producing biofilm.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of ROWSELL to including other microorganism that do not degrade hydrocarbons as taught by BARBATO and generally known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ROWSELL (US 5342525) in view of BARBATO et. al. 2019 “Cultivable hydrocarbon degrading bacteria have low phylogenetic diversity but highly versatile functional potential” and evidenced by EPA EDBAC 2011.
Regarding claim 5, ROWSELL teaches e.g. a surfactant (e.g. alkyl dimethyl benzyl ammonium chloride; C9/L4-5; see EPA EDBAC P5: “The ADBAC (Alkyl Dimethyl Benzyl Ammonium Chlorides) Category chemicals are similar to other cationic surfactants”).
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KUMAR (US 9272933) discloses a bio-augmentation composition and use thereof for improving efficiency of effluent treatment in hydrocarbon processing plant including microorganisms capable of degrading hydrocarbons are developed by a selective enrichment technique including a microbial mixed consortium.
Telephonic Inquiries
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777