DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on May 21, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because the identifier “(14)” in an “electrical energy store (14)” (emphasis added) should be “(12).” See e.g. instant specification, at e.g. ¶ 0039 and 43. Appropriate correction is respectfully required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al (US 2013/0011713).
Regarding independent claim 11, Harada teaches a power supply apparatus (e.g. item 100) housed within a battery case (e.g. item 5), said power supply apparatus including a cooling structure that can efficiently cool a plurality of battery modules (e.g. items 1), said power supply apparatus (e.g. item 100) comprising:
(i) said plurality of battery modules (e.g. items 1), such as six (6) battery modules, each battery module comprising a plurality of e.g. lithium-ion secondary battery cells (e.g. items 10) connected to each other, said battery cells may be e.g. prismatic cells or e.g. cylindrical cells,
wherein within each of said battery module (e.g. items 1), said plurality of battery cells, such as four (4) cells per module, are stacked on one another in a z-direction on one side surface of a cooling plate (e.g. item 15A), such that bottoms of each of said battery cells contact said cooling plate;
(ii) said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A) is sandwiched between two sets of said battery modules, each set including three battery modules aligned one after another in a flow direction,
said cooling plate having a refrigerant channel (e.g. item 14) in which a refrigerant circulates,
said refrigerant channel is formed of a heat transfer pipe (e.g. item 200A) incorporated into said cooling plate,
wherein said refrigerant channel improves heat transfer by including deceleration parts that decelerate said refrigerant and acceleration parts that accelerate said refrigerant,
within said cooling plate from said perspective of refrigerant flow—includes from a refrigerant inlet (e.g. item 40A) to a refrigerant outlet (e.g. item 50A)—four (4) piping sets including the following sections:
a small diameter pipe (e.g. item 202A) having an inner diameter d1, then
a widening pipe (e.g. item 203) having an inner diameter that gradually increases from said small diameter pipe (e.g. item 202A) to a large diameter pipe (e.g. item 201A), then
said large diameter pipe (e.g. item 201A) having an inner diameter d2 (d2>d1), then
a thinning pipe (e.g. item 204) having an inner diameter that gradually decreases from said large diameter pipe (e.g. item 201A) to a next small diameter pipe (e.g. item 202A), then
wherein said refrigerant within said heat transfer pipe is repetitively accelerated or decelerated to suppress development of a thermal boundary layer, thereby equalizing a temperature distribution in said flow direction of said cooling plate so that temperatures of said plurality of cells that thermally contact said cooling plate may be equalized, which thereby reduces variability in a state of charge-discharge and lifetimes of said battery cells
(e.g. ¶¶ 0002, 06-10, 16-17, 50, 53, 72-77, 83-100, 106, 126, 130 plus e.g. Figures 1-5, 16, 19, 24-25),
said power supply apparatus (e.g. item 100) (including at least said cooling plate) corresponding with the claimed “temperature control device (20);”
said taught battery module (e.g. item 1) corresponding with the claimed “cell block (14);”
said taught plurality of battery modules (e.g. items 1) corresponding with the claimed “electrical energy store (12);”
said taught plurality of battery cells (e.g. items 10) corresponding with the claimed “plurality of battery cells (16);
said taught refrigerant channel (e.g. item 14) and/or heat transfer pipe (e.g. item 200A) corresponding with the claimed “temperature control channel (24);”
reading on “temperature control device (20) for controlling a temperature of a cell block (14) of an electrical energy store (14),” said apparatus comprising:
(1) said refrigerant channel (e.g. item 14) in which said refrigerant circulates, wherein said refrigerant channel is formed of said heat transfer pipe (e.g. item 200A) incorporated into said cooling plate (e.g. supra), reading on “a temperature control channel (24);” and
(2) refrigerant circulating in said refrigerant channel (e.g. item 14) / said heat transfer pipe (e.g. item 200A), wherein said refrigerant is repetitively accelerated or decelerated to suppress development of said thermal boundary layer, thereby equalizing said temperature distribution in said flow direction of said cooling plate so that temperatures of said plurality of cells that thermally contact said cooling plate may be equalized (e.g. supra), reading on “a temperature control fluid (22) which is guided in the temperature control channel (24) for controlling the temperature of the cell block (14),” and “the temperature control fluid (22)…controls the temperature of the cell block (14);” and,
(3) said plurality of battery modules (e.g. items 1), such as six (6) battery modules, wherein within each of said battery module, said plurality of battery cells, such as four (4) cells per module, are stacked on one another in said z-direction on one side surface of said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A), such that bottoms of each of said battery cells contact said cooling plate; and, said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A) is sandwiched between two sets of said battery modules, each set including three battery modules aligned one after another in said flow direction (e.g. supra), reading on “a plurality of battery cells (16) of the cell block (14) are disposed next to each other at least in areas viewed in the direction of flow (26),”
within said cooling plate from said perspective of refrigerant flow—includes from said refrigerant inlet (e.g. item 40A) to said refrigerant outlet (e.g. item 50A)—four (4) piping sets including the following sections
said small diameter pipe (e.g. item 202A) having said inner diameter d1, then
said widening pipe (e.g. item 203) having said inner diameter that gradually increases from said small diameter pipe (e.g. item 202A) to said large diameter pipe (e.g. item 201A), then
said large diameter pipe (e.g. item 201A) having said inner diameter d2 (d2>d1), then
said thinning pipe (e.g. item 204) having said inner diameter that gradually decreases from said large diameter pipe (e.g. item 201A) to said next small diameter pipe (e.g. item 202A), then
wherein a first piping set of said refrigerant channel is provided adjacent to a first cell region (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16);
wherein a second and third piping set of said refrigerant channel is provided adjacent to a second cell region (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16);
wherein a fourth piping set of said refrigerant channel is provided adjacent to a third cell region (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16)
(e.g. supra plus further e.g. Annotated Figures 5 and 16), reading on “the temperature control channel (24) has a changing cross-section viewed in a direction of flow (26) of the temperature control fluid (22);”
said taught first thinning pipe of said first set of said refrigerant channel (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “the temperature control channel (22) tapers in the direction of flow (26);”
said first cell region (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “first battery cell of the plurality of battery cells;”
said taught second and third sets of said refrigerant channel (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “predetermined section;” and,
said taught last widening pipe of said fourth set of said refrigerant channel (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “the temperature control channel (24) widens after the predetermined section (28),”
reading on “the temperature control channel (22) tapers in the direction of flow (26) from a first battery cell (16) of the plurality of battery cells (16) to a predetermined section (28) of the temperature control channel (24),” and “the temperature control channel (24) widens after the predetermined section (28),”
Harada teaches said refrigerant circulating in said refrigerant channel (e.g. item 14) and/or heat transfer pipe (e.g. item 200A), wherein said refrigerant is repetitively accelerated or decelerated to suppress development of said thermal boundary layer, thereby equalizing said temperature distribution in said flow direction of said cooling plate so that temperatures of said plurality of cells that thermally contact said cooling plate may be equalized (e.g. supra), but does not expressly teach said refrigerant “directly” controls the temperature of said plurality of cells of said battery modules.
However, Harada teaches a substantially identical refrigerant channel and cooling plate (see supra, compared with instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0006, 21, 31, and 43-44), establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the limitation “the temperature control fluid (22) directly controls the temperature of the cell block (14); and/or, a method of operating an apparatus does not patentably distinguish an apparatus from the art, see also e.g. MPEP § 2114.
Regarding claim 12, Harada teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein said power supply apparatus (e.g. item 100) is housed within said battery case (e.g. item 5),
wherein said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A) is sandwiched between two sets of said battery modules, each set including three battery modules aligned one after another in a flow direction,
wherein within each of said battery module (e.g. items 1), said plurality of battery cells, such as four (4) cells per module, are stacked on one another in said z-direction on one side surface of said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A), such that bottoms of each of said battery cells contact said cooling plate (e.g. supra),
said taught refrigerant channel (e.g. item 14) and/or heat transfer pipe (e.g. item 200A) corresponding with the claimed “temperature control channel (24);”
a wall of said taught battery case (e.g. item 5) (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “a housing wall (18) of a housing of the electrical energy store (12);” and,
an interface surface (in a y-z direction) between an interior set of said battery modules and cooling plate (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “sealing plane (30),”
reading on “the temperature control channel (24) is formed between a sealing plane (30) on the plurality of battery cells (16), which is formed in the direction of flow (26), and a housing wall (18) of a housing of the electrical energy store (12).”
Regarding claims 14-16, Harada teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein said power supply apparatus (e.g. item 100) is housed within said battery case (e.g. item 5),
wherein said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A) is sandwiched between two sets of said battery modules, each set including three battery modules aligned one after another in a flow direction,
wherein within each of said battery module (e.g. items 1), said plurality of battery cells, such as four (4) cells per module, are stacked on one another in said z-direction on one side surface of said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A), such that bottoms of each of said battery cells contact said cooling plate
said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A) having said refrigerant channel (e.g. item 14) in which said refrigerant circulates, wherein said refrigerant channel is formed of said heat transfer pipe (e.g. item 200A) incorporated into said cooling plate,
within said cooling plate from said perspective of refrigerant flow—includes from said refrigerant inlet (e.g. item 40A) to said refrigerant outlet (e.g. item 50A)—four (4) piping sets including the following sections: said small diameter pipe (e.g. item 202A) having said inner diameter d1, then said widening pipe (e.g. item 203) having said inner diameter that gradually increases from said small diameter pipe (e.g. item 202A) to said large diameter pipe (e.g. item 201A), then said large diameter pipe (e.g. item 201A) having said inner diameter d2 (d2>d1), then said thinning pipe (e.g. item 204) having said inner diameter that gradually decreases from said large diameter pipe (e.g. item 201A) to said next small diameter pipe (e.g. item 202A) (e.g. supra),
said taught refrigerant channel (e.g. item 14) and/or heat transfer pipe (e.g. item 200A) corresponding with the claimed “temperature control channel (24);”
a wall of said taught battery case (e.g. item 5) (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “a housing wall (18) of a housing of the electrical energy store (12);”
an interface surface (in a y-z direction) between an interior set of said battery modules and cooling plate (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “a first sealing wall (38);” and
an interface surface (in a y-z direction) between an interior set of said battery modules and cooling plate (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “a second sealing wall (40),”
reading on “the temperature control channel (24) is formed in an interior in a sealing plane (30) on the plurality of battery cells (16) and wherein the sealing plane is formed in the direction of flow (26)” (claim 14); “the sealing plane (30) has a first sealing wall (38) and a second sealing wall (40) opposite the first sealing wall (38), wherein the first sealing wall (38) and the second sealing wall (40) are formed in the direction of flow (26), and wherein the changing cross-section is formed on at least one of the first sealing wall (38) and the second sealing wall (40)” (claim 15); and, “the changing cross-section is formed on both the first sealing wall (38) and the second sealing wall (40)” (claim 16).
Regarding claim 17, Harada teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein within each of said battery module, said plurality of battery cells are stacked on one another in said z-direction on one side surface of said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A), such that bottoms of each of said battery cells contact said cooling plate,
wherein said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A) is sandwiched between two sets of said battery modules, each set including three battery modules aligned one after another in said flow direction,
said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A) having said refrigerant channel (e.g. item 14) in which said refrigerant circulates, wherein said refrigerant channel is formed of said heat transfer pipe (e.g. item 200A) incorporated into said cooling plate,
within said cooling plate from said perspective of refrigerant flow—includes from said refrigerant inlet (e.g. item 40A) to said refrigerant outlet (e.g. item 50A)—four (4) piping sets including the following sections (e.g. supra),
said taught second and third sets of said refrigerant channel (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5 and/or 16) corresponding with the claimed “predetermined section,”
reading on “the predetermined section (28) is formed on the plurality of battery cells (16) viewed centrally in the direction of flow (26).”
Regarding claim 18, Harada teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein said cooling structure efficiently cools said plurality of battery modules (e.g. items 1), wherein within each of said battery module (e.g. items 1), said plurality of battery cells are stacked on one another in said z-direction on one side surface of said cooling plate (e.g. item 15A), such that bottoms of each of said battery cells contact said cooling plate (e.g. supra), reading on “the temperature control device (20) is formed for carrying out sheath temperature control and/or top temperature control and/or base temperature control.”
Regarding claim 19, Harada teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein said plurality of e.g. lithium-ion secondary battery cells (e.g. items 10) may be e.g. prismatic cells or e.g. cylindrical cells (e.g. supra), reading on “the battery cell (16) is formed as a prismatic battery cell and/or as a cylindrical battery cell and/or as a pouch cell.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and intervening claim 12.
None of the timely art of record teaches or suggests the claimed relationship of the changing cross-section of the temperature control channel being formed on the claimed housing wall and the claimed relationship of intervening claim 12 in conjunction with the limitations of independent claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yun et al (US 2008/0299449); and,
Yagi et al (US 2005/0153199).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723