DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-20 and 75-77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya et al. (US 5,906,156, hereafter Shibuya) in view of Quintana et al. (JP 2000326648, hereafter Quintana)
With respect to claim 1, Shibuya teaches a method for manufacturing a decor paper or foil, the method comprising: providing a paper layer or a foil (paper web R); providing the paper layer or the foil with a first printed motif, wherein the first printed motif is provided by a first printing technique (offset printing using rotary press 1); providing a second printed motif above the first printed motif, wherein the second printed motif is provided by a second printing technique, wherein the second printing technique is different from the first printing technique. (ink jet printing, 34, using additional printing apparatus 30) (col. 5, line 60 – col. 6, line 37, Figs. 1, 4)
Shibuya does not explicitly teach providing the paper layer or the foil with an ink receiver layer between the first printed motif and the second printed motif; wherein the ink receiver layer is transparent and/or translucent; wherein the ink receiver layer is free from any pigment or wherein the first printed motif has an average color variation (ΔE) (Lab CIELAB) that is below 1.
However, it is well known to provide an ink receiver layer before printing. For example, Quintana teaches providing a transparent ink receiver layer (ink receiver coating 24), free from any pigment, before ink jet printing. (translation page 3, Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Shibuya to include providing an ink receiver layer, as taught by Quintana, in order to provide a more precise printed image. Although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the ink receiver layer is provided between the first printed motif and the second printed motif, this would be an obvious modification of the process in order to provide the ink receiver directly before the inkjet printing.
In regard to the average color variation, although Shibuya, a modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach the color variations of the printed products, this would be controlled by the specific parameters of the system used to produce a desired aesthetic result and therefore the optimum color variations could be readily determined through routine experimentation.
With respect to claims 4 and 16-18, as above, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach the color variations of the printed products, this would be controlled by the specific parameters of the system used to produce a desired aesthetic result and therefore the optimum color variations could be readily determined through routine experimentation.
With respect to claim 5, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the ink receiver layer comprises a binder and an ink destabilizing agent, these are common elements of ink receiver layers and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 6, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, teaches wherein the ink receiver layer is free from any pigment or water absorbing substance.
With respect to claim 8, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, inherently teaches wherein the ink receiver layer is provided according to a predetermined pattern, as the layer is provided in a predetermined manner it must have a predetermined pattern.
With respect to claim 9, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, inherently teaches wherein the predetermined pattern is in register with the first printed motif and/or with the second printed motif, as a consistent movement through the printing apparatus will provide this registration.
With respect to claim 11, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, teaches one of the printing techniques is an analog printing technique. (Shibuya, col. 5, line 60 – col. 6, line 37, Figs. 1, 4)
With respect to claim 12, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the first printed motif is a solid color motif, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 13, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the first printed motif is a wood or stone imitating pattern, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 14, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first printed motif and the second printed motif comprises metallic, pearlescent, and/or white pigments, these have a desirable appearance and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 15, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first printed motif and the second printed motif comprises a homogeneous distribution of pigment over the entire paper layer, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 19, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the first printed motif is obtained by printing at least a first ink that penetrates the paper layer or the foil such that the paper layer or the foil is fully colored by the first ink, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 20, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the first ink comprises a dye and/or a pigment and a wetting agent, these are common elements of inks and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 75, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana does not explicitly teach wherein the second printed motif is a wood or stone imitating pattern, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 76, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, teaches wherein the first printed motif and the second printed motif together form a decorative pattern on the décor paper or foil.
With respect to claim 77, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, inherently teaches wherein the second printed motif is in register with the first printed motif, as a consistent movement through the printing apparatus will provide this registration
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that “Quintana does not teach or suggest “an ink receiver layer between the first printed motif and the second printed motif, the examiner has considered applicant’s response to the examiner’s arguments.
In response to applicant’s argument that “Quintana is no more relevant than Shibuya” because Quintana teaches that the ink receiver coating is provided before applying the first image, the examiner again responds that the rejection is not based on the references individually and therefore applicant’s arguments that they do not teach this individually are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that a reference must be considered in its entirety, applicant is reminded that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In this case, as discussed above, neither of the references expressly suggest the claimed invention. Quintana, however, teaches that it is advantageous to apply an ink receiver layer before applying an ink-jet image. Shibuya teaches applying two images. The first is by transfer printing and the second is by ink-jet printing. Therefore, the application of an ink receiver layer in the invention of Shibuya directly before printing the only ink-jet image is a reasonable combination of the teachings. Neither reference suggests that printing the ink-receiving layer before printing the transfer-printed image would have any particular positive effect.
In response to applicant’s argument with respect to the motivation of providing a more precise printed image, applicant’s arguments with respect to the type of paper used are not persuasive. Quintana teaches that the use of an ink-receiving layer can improve the quality of an inkjet printed image. As noted above, there does not need to be a bodily incorporation of one reference into another. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the advantage suggested by Quintana and be readily able to combine the teachings in such a way that the advantage is maintained.
In response to applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended subject matter, a reliance on the content of printed matter is not sufficient to distinguish an invention over the prior art. The particular colors chosen to be printed do not affect the steps of the claimed process and cannot be considered to define the invention. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the potential cost savings based on ink consumption are not persuasive, as this is directly related to the image that is chosen to be printed and can be determined by the applicant through experimentation and again, as discussed, does not materially change the printing method as it is claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853