DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-20 and 75-77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya et al. (US 5,906,156, hereafter Shibuya) in view of Quintana et al. (JP 2000326648, hereafter Quintana)
With respect to claim 1, Shibuya teaches a method for manufacturing a decor paper or foil, the method comprising: providing a paper layer or a foil (paper web R); providing the paper layer or the foil with a first printed motif, wherein the first printed motif is provided by a first printing technique (offset printing using rotary press 1); providing a second printed motif above the first printed motif, wherein the second printed motif is provided by a second printing technique, wherein the second printing technique is different from the first printing technique. (ink jet printing, 34, using additional printing apparatus 30) (col. 5, line 60 – col. 6, line 37, Figs. 1, 4)
Shibuya does not explicitly teach providing the paper layer or the foil with an ink receiver layer between the first printed motif and the second printed motif; wherein the ink receiver layer is transparent and/or translucent; and wherein the ink receiver layer is free from any pigment.
However, it is well-known to provide an ink receiver layer before printing. For example, Quintana teaches providing a transparent ink receiver layer (ink receiver coating 24), free from any pigment, before ink jet printing. (translation page 3, Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Shibuya to include providing an ink receiver layer, as taught by Quintana, in order to provide a more precise printed image. Although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the ink receiver layer is provided between the first printed motif and the second printed motif, this would be an obvious modification of the process in order to provide the ink receiver directly before the inkjet printing.
With respect to claims 4 and 16-18, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach the color variations of the printed products, this would be controlled by the specific parameters of the system used to produce a desired aesthetic result and therefore the optimum color variations could be readily determined through routine experimentation.
With respect to claim 5, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the ink receiver layer comprises a binder and an ink destabilizing agent, these are common elements of ink receiver layers and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 6, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, teaches wherein the ink receiver layer is free from any pigment or water absorbing substance.
With respect to claim 8, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, inherently teaches wherein the ink receiver layer is provided according to a predetermined pattern, as the layer is provided in a predetermined manner it must have a predetermined pattern.
With respect to claim 9, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, inherently teaches wherein the predetermined pattern is in register with the first printed motif and/or with the second printed motif, as a consistent movement through the printing apparatus will provide this registration.
With respect to claim 11, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana teaches one of the printing techniques is an analog printing technique. (Shibuya, col. 5, line 60 – col. 6, line 37, Figs. 1, 4)
With respect to claim 12, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the first printed motif is a solid color motif, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 13, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana does not explicitly teach wherein the first printed motif is a wood or stone imitating pattern, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 14, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first printed motif and the second printed motif comprises metallic, pearlescent, and/or white pigments, these have a desirable appearance and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 15, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first printed motif and the second printed motif comprises a homogeneous distribution of pigment over the entire paper layer, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 19, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the first printed motif is obtained by printing at least a first ink that penetrates the paper layer or the foil such that the paper layer or the foil is fully colored by the first ink, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 20, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, does not explicitly teach wherein the first ink comprises a dye and/or a pigment and a wetting agent, these are common elements of inks and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 75, although Shibuya, as modified by Quintana does not explicitly teach wherein the second printed motif is a wood or stone imitating pattern, this is a common design and therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to provide the desired printed product.
With respect to claim 76, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, teaches wherein the first printed motif and the second printed motif together form a decorative pattern on the décor paper or foil.
With respect to claim 77, Shibuya, as modified by Quintana, inherently teaches wherein the second printed motif is in register with the first printed motif, as a consistent movement through the printing apparatus will provide this registration
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Shibuya does not necessarily teach the second printed motif is provided “above” the first printed motif but merely in alignment with the printed motif, the examiner is not persuaded. Generally, in printing terminology, printing is considered to be in layers, with a second printed layer “above” the first printed layer, and therefore applicant’s claim language does not necessarily require that the images are printed directly on top of one another. Also, the printing of layered images is very well known.
In response to applicant’s arguments with respect to the method of Quintana, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the examiner has only relied upon the teaching of applying an ink receiver coating before applying an image. The arguments regarding the printing of a second image are moot because the reference is not relied upon for teaching of printing a second image.
Conclusion
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853