DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response filed on August 4, 2026 to the Non-Final rejection mailed on May 8, 2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
This Application filed on 05/31/2023 is a 371 of PCT/CA2021/051722 filed on 12/02/2021, which has a provisional 63/121714 filed on 12/04/2020.
Claims 1-3, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 17-19 are herein acted on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments over the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 17-19 over Hwan Lee et al. (KR 20190096109 - IDS) in view of Miller et al. (CA 2929998 A1) is not persuasive. The rejection is herewith maintained. Applicant argues “ While Lee appears to disclose methylsulfonylmethane and a sugar alcohol, it does not teach a composition comprising inter alia a eutectic solubilizing matrix comprising methylsulfonylmethane and a sugar alcohol, where these two components exist in a specific ration such that the eutectic matrix has a melting point lower than each of the melting point of the methylsulfonylmethane and the melting point of the sugar alcohol, as is required by the subject matter encompassed by the present claims.” “A eutectic matrix is not merely a physical mixture of two ingredients. Rather, it is a distinct material characterized by a specific phase relationship and composition that exhibits physiochemical properties different from those of individual components or an ordinary blend.” “The Office's position appears to assume that because Lee discloses methylsulfonylmethane and a sugar alcohol, they inherently form a eutectic matrix. However, inherency cannot be established by mere possibility or probability.”
In response, the Examiner points out that the ratio taught in the prior art falls within that claimed by Applicant. It is unclear how a composition comprising identical components that is - methylsulfonylmethane and sugar alcohols in the ratio claimed reads away from the claimed invention. The Examiner points out that the Applicant has not claimed a eutectic solubilizing matrix, but has claimed a composition comprising the eutectic solubilizing matrix comprising methylsulfonylmethane and sugar alcohols and particles of a nutraceutical in the eutectic solubilizing matrix. Since the prior art teaches the same mixture of MSM and a sugar alcohol in the same ratio can be dissolved in the same solvent, and drying techniques and then dissolved in a liquid component, it is expected that the combination would have an organized structure and can behave as a eutectic mixture in the composition, as claimed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 5/21/26 is in compliance with the provisions of S7 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwan Lee et al. (KR 20190096109 - IDS) in view of Miller et al. (CA 2929998 A1).
Hwan Lee et al. teaches health food compositions having improved absorption profiles, prepared by steps that include coprecipitating a powder comprising methylsulfonylmethane (MSM) and mannitol (a sugar alcohol). The MSM and the mannitol are combined and heated so as to form a 1: 1 adduct. Since the prior art teaches the same mixture of MSM and a sugar alcohol can be dissolved in the same solvent, and drying techniques and then dissolved in a liquid component, it is expected that the combination would have an organized structure and can behave as a eutectic mixture. That is, the matrix has a melting point lower than each of the melting point of the methylsulfonylmethane and the melting point of the sugar alcohol. Hwan Lee et al. teaches the combination with xylitol, as well as nutraceutical components, such as coffee and black currant seed oil. (Both coffee and black currant seed oil contain quercetin and saponins). Other suitable nutraceuticals that may be included are fatty acids, antioxidants, and vitamins. Exemplified is a gummy formulation.
Hwan Lee et al. fails to teach an enteric coating or medium chain triglyceride.
Miller et al. teaches the use of enteric coatings and medium chain triglycerides in dietary supplement formations comprising fatty acids. The reference teaches the medium chain triglycerides as solubilizers and enteric coatings for delayed release.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add an enteric coating or medium chain triglyceride to the health food formulation of Hwan Lee et al. The motivation to add an enteric coating or medium chain triglyceride is because Miller et al. teaches medium chain triglycerides act as solubilizers and enteric coatings are used for delayed release. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results.
With respect to claim 19, the overlapping method of making is expected to produce a formulation with the properties (i)-(iv) recited.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
The arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is made FINAL.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622