DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, Applicant recites “wherein an upper surface of the fourth layer has a curved surface convex in a direction away from the substrate” in lines 1-2. However, Examiner notes that a written description of the subject matter of “the fourth layer has a curved surface convex in a direction away from the substrate” is not disclosed in the Specification, and therefore, does not comply with the written description requirement. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “wherein an upper surface of the fourth layer has a curved surface convex in a direction away from the substrate” will be broadly interpreted as “wherein an upper surface of the fourth layer has a surface in a direction away from the substrate.”
Claims 3-4, 9, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the shield layer" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “wherein the shield layer…” will be broadly interpreted as “wherein a shield layer….”
Claim 4 recites the limitation "each bridge portion" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “wherein a length of each bridge portion…” will be broadly interpreted as “wherein a length of a bridge portion….”
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the bridge portions” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “the bridge portions are disposed…” will be broadly interpreted as “a bridge portion is disposed….”
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the bridge portions” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “the bridge portions support…” will be broadly interpreted as “the bridge portion supports….”
Claim 18 recites the limitation “each bridge portion” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “a width of each bridge portion…” will be broadly interpreted as “a width of the bridge portion….”
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the bridge portions” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “an end of the bridge portions” will be broadly interpreted as “an end of the bridge portion.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sano et al. (U.S. 2015/0302987).
Regarding claim 1, Sano discloses a coil member (Fig. 14; page 6, para [0119]) comprising:
a substrate (602, Fig. 14; page 7, para [0119]) including a first surface (upper surface of 602 to the left of 604, Fig. 14) and a second surface (upper surface of 602 to the right of 604, Fig. 14) opposite to the first surface (since the first surface comprising upper surface of 602 to the left of 604 is opposite to the second surface comprising the upper surface of 602 to the right of 604 with respect to 604 as broadly interpreted, Fig. 14); and
a circuit pattern (combination of: Layer1-Layer6 and 612, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0116]; page 7, para [0119]) disposed on the first surface (such as Layer1-Layer5 on upper surface of 602 to the left of 604, Fig. 15),
wherein the circuit pattern (combination of: Layer1-Layer6 and 612, Fig. 15) includes a first layer (such as Layer1/606 to the far left of 604, Fig. 15), a second layer (combination of: Layer2 contacting Layer3 to the far left of 604 above 606, Fig. 15), a third layer (combination of: Layer4 contacting Layer5 to the far left of 604 above Layer3, Fig. 15), and a fourth layer (612 to the left of 604, Fig. 15) that are sequentially stacked on the substrate (far left Layer1/606, far left Layer2/Layer3, far left Layer4/Layer5, and portion of 612 between far left Layer5 and 600 are sequentially stacked on 602, Fig. 15), and
wherein the fourth layer (such as portion of 612 to the left of 604, Fig. 15) is in contact with the top and side surfaces of the third layer (612 to the left of 604 is in contact with the top and side surfaces of the third layer of the combination of: far left Layer4/Layer5, Fig. 15) and spaced apart from the substrate (portions of 612 above 606 is spaced apart from the substrate 602, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 2, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses
a plurality of bridge portions (such as rightmost 606 and rightmost Layer1-Layer6, Fig. 15) disposed protruding from an end of the substrate (rightmost 606 and rightmost Layer1-Layer6 protrude vertically from a right end portion of 602, Fig. 15); and
a shield layer (600, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0119]) disposed on the bridge portions (600 disposed on rightmost 606 and rightmost Layer1-Layer6, Fig. 15),
wherein the bridge portions are integrally formed with the substrate (rightmost 606 and rightmost Layer1-Layer6 are integrally formed with substrate 602, Fig. 15),
wherein the bridge portions include a first bridge portion (rightmost 606, Fig. 15) and a second bridge portion (rightmost Layer1-Layer6, Fig. 15), and
wherein the first bridge portion (rightmost 606, Fig. 15) and the second bridge portion (rightmost Layer1-Layer6, Fig. 15) are disposed to face each other (rightmost 606 and rightmost Layer1-Layer6 face each other, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 3, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses a protective layer (600, Fig. 15; page 7, para [0119]) disposed on the circuit pattern (combination of: Layer1-Layer6 and 612, Fig. 15),
wherein the circuit pattern (combination of: Layer1-Layer6 and 612, Fig. 15) includes a wiring pattern (left portion of Layer1-Layer6 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), a plating pattern (rightmost portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), and a dummy pattern (center portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15) disposed on the substrate (602, Fig. 15),
wherein the protective layer (600, Fig. 15) is disposed on the wiring pattern (left portion of Layer1-Layer6 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), the plating pattern (rightmost portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), and the dummy pattern (center portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), and
wherein a shield layer (604, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0119]) and the protective layer (600, Fig. 15) are integrally formed.
Regarding claim 4, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 3 above and further discloses wherein a length of a bridge portion (horizontal length of rightmost 606, Fig. 15) is smaller than a distance between an end of the substrate (rightmost end of 602, Fig. 15) and an outermost wiring pattern of the wiring pattern (right lateral edge of left portion of Layer1-Layer6 to the right of 604, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 5, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses a protective layer (rightmost 606 contacting 600, Fig. 15; page 7, para [0119]) disposed on the circuit pattern (combination of: Layer1-Layer6 and 612, Fig. 15),
wherein the circuit pattern (combination of: Layer1-Layer6 and 612, Fig. 15) includes a wiring pattern (left portion of Layer1-Layer6 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), a plating pattern (rightmost portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), and a dummy pattern (center portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15) disposed on the substrate (602, Fig. 15),
wherein the protective layer (rightmost 606 contacting 600, Fig. 15) is disposed on the wiring pattern (since the rightmost 606 contacting 600 is laterally disposed on right side of Layer1-Layer6 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), the plating pattern (since the rightmost 606 contacting 600 is laterally disposed on right side of rightmost Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), and the dummy pattern (since the rightmost 606 contacting 600 is laterally disposed on right side of center portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15),
wherein a shield layer (604, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0119]) and the protective layer (rightmost 606 contacting 600, Fig. 15) are integrally formed (since the shield layer 604 and the protective layer comprising the rightmost 606 contacting 600 are integrally formed with 602, Fig. 15), and
wherein the protective layer (rightmost 606 contacting 600, Fig. 15) is disposed between the substrate (602, Fig. 15) and the circuit pattern (such as portion of circuit pattern comprising rightmost 612 above rightmost 606, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 6, Sano disclose a coil member with all the limitations of claim 3 above and further discloses wherein the protective layer (600, Fig. 15) includes a first region (left vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) close to an end of the substrate (left end of 602, Fig. 15) and a second region (right vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) farther from the end of the substrate (left end of 602, Fig. 15) than the first region (left vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15), and
wherein the first region has a thickness (such as a vertical thickness of left vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) greater than a thickness of the second region (such as a horizontal thickness of right vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 8, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 2 above and further discloses wherein a thickness of each bridge portion decreases as each bridge portion extends to an end thereof (such as a vertical thickness of rightmost 606 that horizontally extends further to the right end of 602 is decreased relative to the vertical thickness of rightmost Layer1-Layer6, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 9, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 3 above and further discloses wherein a bridge portion (rightmost 606, Fig. 15) is disposed at a position overlapping the plating pattern (rightmost 606 is disposed at a position overlapping the plating pattern comprising the rightmost portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604 in a horizontal direction, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 11, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 6 above and further discloses wherein the first region (left vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) has a maximum thickness (such as maximum vertical thickness of left vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) greater than that of the second region (such as maximum horizontal thickness of right vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 12, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 3 above and further discloses wherein the protective layer (600, Fig. 15) and the shield layer (604, Fig. 15) include the same material (such as a magnetic material of 600 and 604, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0119]).
Regarding claim 13, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 3 above and further discloses wherein the protective layer (600, Fig. 15) includes a first protective layer (such as left vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) disposed on the first surface (upper surface of 602 to the left of 604, Fig. 15) and a second protective layer (such as right vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) disposed on the second surface (upper surface of 602 to the right of 604, Fig. 15),
wherein the first protective layer (left vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) and the second protective layer (right vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) have different thicknesses (since a horizontal thickness of the left vertical portion of 600 is different than a vertical thickness of the right vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 14, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 13 above and further discloses wherein the thickness of the first protective layer (such as the horizontal thickness of left vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) is smaller than the thickness of the second protective layer (such as the vertical thickness of right vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 15, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 3 above and further discloses wherein the wiring pattern (left portion of Layer1-Layer6 to the right of 604, Fig. 15) includes the first layer (such as Layer1, Fig. 15), the second layer (such as Layer2/Layer3, Fig. 15), the third layer (such as Layer4/Layer5, Fig. 15), and the fourth layer (such as portion 612 contacting Layer4/Layer5, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 16, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein an upper surface of the fourth layer (such as upper surface of 612 between far left Layer5 and 600, Fig. 15) has a surface in a direction away from the substrate (since the upper surface of 612 between far left Layer5 and 600 is in a direction away from the substrate 602, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 17, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 9 above and further discloses wherein the bridge portion (rightmost 606, Fig. 15) supports the plating pattern (since the rightmost 606 supports the right lateral edge of the plating pattern comprising the rightmost portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604 in a horizontal direction, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 18, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 9 above and further discloses wherein a width of the bridge portion (such as a horizontal width of rightmost 606, Fig. 15) is equal to a width of the plating pattern (such as a horizontal width of the plating pattern comprising the rightmost portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 19, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 9 above and further discloses wherein an end of the plating pattern (such as a right end portion of the plating pattern comprising the rightmost portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15) is disposed inside an end of the bridge portion (such as a right end of rightmost 606, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 20, Sano disclose a coil member with all the limitations of claim 9 above and further discloses wherein the shield layer (604, Fig. 15) is disposed on the plating pattern (since the shield layer 604 is disposed laterally on a left side portion of the plating pattern comprising the right portion of Layer1-Layer6 to the right of 604 as broadly interpreted, Fig. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (U.S. 2015/0302987) as applied to claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 7, Sano discloses a coil member with all the limitations of claim 3 above and further discloses wherein the protective layer (600, Fig. 15) includes a first region (rightmost vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) close to an end of the substrate (rightmost end of 602, Fig. 15) and a second region (leftmost vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) farther from the end of the substrate (rightmost end of 602, Fig. 15) than the first region (rightmost vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15).
Sano does not expressly disclose wherein the first region (rightmost vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) and the second region (leftmost vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) have different colors. However, Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to configure the first region (rightmost vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) and the second region (leftmost vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) of the protective layer (600, Fig. 15) to have different colors in order to obtain the benefits of designating the side of the protective layer (such as side of 600 to the right of 604, Fig. 15) having the wiring pattern (left portion of Layer1-Layer6 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), the plating pattern (rightmost portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), and the dummy pattern (center portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15). One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to configure the first region (rightmost vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) to have a different color than the second region (leftmost vertical portion of 600, Fig. 15) of the protective layer (600, Fig. 15) in order to obtain the benefits of optimizing the ability to distinguish which region of the coil member (Fig. 15) comprises the wiring pattern (left portion of Layer1-Layer6 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), the plating pattern (rightmost portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15), and the dummy pattern (center portion of Layer1-Layer5 to the right of 604, Fig. 15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art as presently searched does not disclose the camera module of claim 10 (having all the combination of features including a first mover disposed on a side surface of a lens unit to move the lens unit; a second mover positioned to face the first mover on a side surface of the first mover; a stator positioned to face a lower side of the second mover and configured to move the second mover and having a through-hole corresponding to the lens unit formed in a center thereof; and a base supporting the stator and the second mover and having a hollow hole corresponding to a through-hole of the second mover formed in a center thereof, wherein the stator includes a circuit board and a coil member disposed on the circuit board, wherein the coil member includes: a substrate including a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface; a first circuit pattern disposed on the first surface; and a plurality of bridge portions disposed protruding from an end of the substrate, wherein the bridge portions are integrally formed with the substrate, and a shield layer is disposed on the bridge portions).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection as necessitated by amendment does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In particular, the newly cited prior art reference of Sano et al. (U.S. 2015/0302987) discloses all the recited limitations as presented in the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871