The amendment filed October 15, 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grbic (US 2017/0057169) in view of Scanlan (Comparison of 3D Echocardiogram-Derived 3D Printed Valve Models to Molded Models for Simulated Repair of Pediatric Atrioventricular Valves. Pediatr Cardiol 39, 538–547 (2018)).
Claim 1: Grbic discloses a method for manufacturing a mold for a cardiac valve prosthesis (abstract; ¶¶ 17, 30, 26, 32-33, 38-49, 58-63); the method including providing 3D imaging data of an impaired cardiac valve of an individual, wherein the 3D imaging data has been previously obtained by an appropriate imaging method including ultrasound (¶¶ 17, 20, 26), 3D reconstructing the 3D imaging data, thereby at least partially correcting impairments of the impaired cardiac valve so as to obtain reconstructed 3D imaging data representing a virtual cardiac valve having a performance that better matches the performance of a non-impaired cardiac valve than the performance of the impaired cardiac valve (¶¶ 20, 22, 38-41); using the reconstructed 3D imaging data to generate a virtual 3D mold for an individually personalized cardiac valve prosthesis (¶¶ 41-46); and using the virtual 3D mold to manufacture a real mold for a cardiac valve prosthesis (¶¶ 20, 32-33, 38-49, 51, 58-63).
Grbic is silent as to the mold including a first part and a second part that can be fit into each other, wherein the first part and the second part act together as negative and positive forms of a cardiac valve prosthesis to be manufactured. However, in the same field of endeavor, Scanlan discloses a method for manufacturing a mold for a cardiac valve prosthesis that includes providing 3D imaging data, 3D reconstructing the data, using the data to generate a virtual and real mold, wherein the real mold includes a first part and a second part that can be fit into each other, wherein the first part and the second part act together as negative and positive forms of a cardiac valve prosthesis to be manufactured. As taught by Scanlan, a two-piece mold effectively forms a cardiac valve prosthesis (p. 540). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have produced a two-piece mold in the method of Grbic to effectively form a cardiac valve prosthesis, as taught by Scanlan.
Claim 2: Grbic discloses after step b) a step of simulating the performance of the virtual cardiac valve in terms of at least pressure fields and gradients across the virtual cardiac valve (¶¶ 43-54).
Claims 3-4: Grbic discloses the data being from a human patient (¶¶ 1, 17).
Claim 5: Grbic discloses virtually excising and repairing the area to have an appearance of healthy tissue (¶¶ 31-33).
Claim 6: Grbic discloses the real mold is manufactured by 3D printing (¶¶ 49, 63).
Claim 7: Grbic discloses the mold is for an aortic valve prosthesis (fig. 3; ¶¶ 35-36).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754