DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 03/01/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-14 are cancelled. Claims 1, 7, and 12 are amended. Claims 1-12 and 15 are presented for examination on the merits for patentability.
Rejection(s) not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections presently being applied to the instant application.
Modified Rejection As Necessitated by the Amendment Filed 03/01/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zajac, P. (WO 2004/047551 A1), in view of Fernandez-Lopez et al. (Microbiology (2005), 151, 3517–3526, cited in IDS), hereinafter Fernandez-Lopez, as evidenced by Dorman (Of record).
Zajac teaches feed additives and manufacturing feed additives having unsaturated fatty acids (Abstract). Manufacturing process of the feed additive is intended for obtaining fatty acids salts, especially from linseed oil containing a-linolenic acid at amounts ~48-60% w/w (p. 1). Zajac also teaches that an exemplary feed additive containing palmitic acid at amount of up to 25% w/w and stearic acid at amount of up to 15% w/w and other fatty acids in amounts providing sum of linolenic and linoleic acids in total amount from 15% to 50% w/w is known (p. 4, 2nd paragraph). Zajac describes ways of protecting the fatty acids in animal feeds for eventual consumption by people in a daily diet, and teaches incorporation of antioxidant vitamins and n-6 and n-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids at proper mutual ratio as conjugated linoleic acid (CLA) (p. 17, 1st and 2nd paragraphs). The feed additive contains salts of conjugated linoleic acid, tocopherol, and smell and taste corrigents, such vanillin (p. 18). As such, Zajac teaches the linoleic acid, which reads on the first conjugate comprising conjugation inhibitor in Claim 1, and also renders Claim 4 obvious; Zajac teaches vanillin, stearic and palmitic acid, which reads on the second conjugate in Claim 1. The Examiner notes that the instant Specification labels vanillin, stearic and palmitic acid as conjugation inert ingredient (p. 6, lines 3-10).
Zajac teaches antioxidants including α-tocopherol, but is silent on their Trolox Equivalent (TE) (p. 21, line 1; p. 24, Table and 1st paragraph; p, 26 entirety). However, the TE of α-tocopherol is 30.71, as evidenced by Dorman (Table II).
Regarding the claim recitation of “the feed additive reduces conjugation in bacteria to below the conjugation observed when bacteria are not exposed to compounds affecting the conjugation level”, Zajac does not teach the feed additive reduces bacterial conjugation.
Fernandez-Lopez discloses a high-throughput study identifying substances that reduce the frequency of conjugation in gram-negative bacteria (Abstract). Fernandez-Lopez relates that bacterial conjugation is an adaptive mechanism which allows bacteria to exchange genetic information, for example transferring antibiotic resistance genes to pathogenic species (Introduction, 1st paragraph). Two inhibitory compounds were identified as true conjugation inhibitors, linoleic acid and oleic acid, along with an atypical fatty acid dehydrocrepenynic acid (DHCA), which inhibited E. coli plasmid R388-mediated conjugation (p. 3520, L. Col., last paragraph; Table 2; p. 3523, R. Col., 3rd paragraph).
Zajac already teaches linoleic acid. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Fernandez-Lopez and use the linoleic acid in targeting bacterial conjugation in order to prevent bacteria in exchanging genetic information, thereby decreasing chances of developing antibiotic resistance. As such, Claim 12 is also obvious.
Regarding Claim 2, Zajac’s feed additive comprising antioxidants would necessarily have anti-oxidation activity than a feed additive without them. Furthermore, Zajac teaches that its CLA also has antioxidative functions (p. 26, 1st paragraph).
Regarding Claim 3, the claim is drawn to a feed additive comprising the same materials as Zajac, which are the exact same first conjugate and second conjugate as claimed and necessarily must have the same antimicrobial properties.
Regarding Claim 6, Zajac teaches manufacturing the feed additive with a treated vegetable fat emulsion, preferably linseed oil in water (Claim 9).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zajac, in view of Fernandez-Lopez, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Rossi (Of record).
Zajac and Fernandez-Lopez does not expressly teach the recited conjugation enhancer carvacrol, citral, eugenol, methyl thymol and thymol.
Regarding Claim 5, Rossi is in the same field of endeavor, disclosing animal feed additive compositions (Abstract). Rossi teaches that animal feed often contain volatile compounds inter alia thymol and eugenol for improvement of digestibility, taste etc. (Col. 1, lines 6-11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Rossi with Zajac and incorporate volatile compounds thymol and eugenol in the feed additive of Zajac to give the feed increased palatability and improved digestibility.
Claims 7-8, 10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zajac, in view of Fernandez-Lopez, as applied to Claims 1-4 and 6 above, and further in view of Heindl (Of Record), and Rossi (Of record).
The teachings of Zajac and Fernandez-Lopez have been set forth supra.
Regarding Claims 7-8, Rossi teaches vegetable carriers such as carboxymethylcellulose, sawdust, etc. and/or mineral carriers such as vermiculite, expanded silica, kaolin, etc. as absorbing carrier usable in the invention (Col. 1, lines 60-63). Rossi teaches that the feed additives adsorbed/coated with carriers have the advantage that they do not allow rapid evaporation of the volatile products that they contain ( (Col. 1, line 65 to Col. 2, line 2; Col. 4, lines 15-19).
Heindl relates the use of precipitated silica as carrier materials (Col. 1, lines 16-18). Heindl recognizes the use of carrier materials in the production of animal feeds and animal feed additives in order, for example, to convert liquid or resinous active ingredients to a free-flowing and storage-stable form (Col. 1, lines 21-27). The precipitated silicas can be used to produce absorbates, the substances absorbed preferably being flavorings, aromas and fragrances, animal feeds or animal feed additives etc. (Col. 7, lines 38-57). The precipitated silica has a d50 of 230-600µm, which overlaps with the d50 in Claim 10 (Col. 1). Heindl contemplates that the high moisture content of the precipitated silicas ensures sufficient penetration into the pores of the precipitated silicas and sufficient hardening (Col. 4, lines 19-28). The precipitated silicas have notably high porosity and better-stabilized pore walls, i.e. higher mechanical stability and a high absorption capacity (Col. 2, lines 32-36).
Both Rossi and Heindl teach silica as carrier for feed additive. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Heindl and Rossi with Zajac for use as porous carrier on the feed additive. One would have been motivated to use the porous precipitated silica with high moisture content that would allow the mixture to penetrate into the pores of the precipitated silicas because the precipitated silica has higher mechanical stability and absorption capacity according to Heindl. One would add the protective coating of Rossi to the carrier to reduce the evaporation contact area.
Regarding Claim 15, Rossi teaches an example wherein animal feed contain 0.3-3% of its additive composition, which overlaps with the claimed range (Examples 3-4). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zajac, in view of Fernandez-Lopez, Rossi and Heindl, as applied to Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 15 above, and further in view of Gately et al. (Of record), hereinafter Gately.
While Zajac teaches vegetable oils, i.e. mixed with CLA in the dry feed (Claim 11), Zajac does not teach the vegetable or animal oil as protective coating.
Gately is in the related field of animal feed, and discloses a ruminant feed composition, comprising: a granulated core comprising at least one active substance; and at least one layer of a coating material, wherein the coating material is vegetable oil (Claims 1, 4, 21-25). Gately recognizes coating animal feed additives containing biologically active substances with fatty acids, hardened animal oils, and hardened vegetable oil, which are stable in the rumen; suitable vegetable oils include palm oil, soybean oil, rapeseed oil etc. ([0011], [0047]). Gately teaches hydrogenated vegetable and animal fats and waxes such as rice bran wax as coatings that survive the rumen but are disrupted in the intestinal tract [0014].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to coat the feed additive of Zajac in the porous carrier taught by Rossi and Heindl, with the protective vegetable oil coating taught by Gately to be stable in the rumen but disrupted in the intestinal tract to release the active components in the feed additive.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zajac in view of Fernandez-Lopez, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Aebi (Of record).
Regarding the amount in Claim 11, Zajac teaches a feed composition with 4-12% w/w of the feed additive (Claim 16). This is outside the claimed range. However, while the exact amount of feed additive is not disclosed by Zajac, it is generally noted that differences in amounts and concentrations do not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such amount is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Given that applicant did not point out the criticality of the exact amount of feed additive, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of ranges is the optimum amount of feed additive in the feed. NOTE: MPEP 2144.05.
Aebi also discloses an animal feed or drinking water supplement comprising a substance containing a mixture of guaiacol, thymol, eugenol, capsaicin, tannin and at least one cresol for the alleviation, cure or prevention of diseases caused by clostridium spin the intestinal tracts of animals (Claims 1-2).
Aebi teaches an animal feed containing 1-500 ppm of the mixture, which corresponds to 0.0001-0.05%, which overlaps with the claimed range (Claim 4).
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See also Dystar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick, 464 F.3d 1356, 1368, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1651 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In the instant case, one would start with the smallest amount of feed additive to incorporate in the feed of Zajac for cost consideration and therefore start with the small amount range taught by Aebi for guidance, and optimize as needed.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant amends independent Claims 1, 7 and 12 to require that the feed additive reduces conjugation in bacteria to below the conjugation observed when bacteria are not exposed to compounds affecting the conjugation level.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment now relies on Zajac as primary art. Previous primary art Aebi is only relied on to teach the amount of feed additive in a feed composition.
Applicant argued that Aebi’s and Rossi’s disclosure of the combination of tannin and thymol does not lead to a reduction of the conjugation frequency and that tannin is not a conjugation inhibitor; that thymol and tannic acid leads to a strong conjugation frequency. The Applicant pointed to Example 1 and Comparative Example A in Table 5 of the Specification to show that only tannic acid and oleic acid serve as a conjugation inhibitor.
The Examiner has considered the argument and found it confusing because Claim 4 recites “….wherein the conjugation inhibitor is selected from the group consisting of oleic acid, linoleic acid, linalool and tannic acid”, indicating that tannic acid is a one of the conjugation inhibitors listed. The Examiner maintains that, as written, the claims are rendered obvious by Aebi’s teaching of thymol and tannic acid as a conjugation inhibitor in combination with a conjugation enhancer or conjugation inert compound. However, in order to move prosecution forward, the Examiner gives patentable weight to the amendment language reciting “the feed additive reduces conjugation in bacteria to below the conjugation observed when bacteria are not exposed to compounds affecting the conjugation level”, which Aebi does not teach.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Natalia et al. Journal of Molecular Catalysis B: Enzymatic 133 (2016) S475–S481.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.Y.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792