DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The amendment filed on 1/02/2026 in response to the Non-Final Office Action of 10/02/2025 is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 15-17, 19-21, 23-25, 27, 29-30 and 54 are currently pending and under consideration.
Rejections Withdrawn in view of Amendments:
The rejection of Claims 19, 21 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of Applicants arguments.
Rejections Maintained, amended in view of amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Blueprint Medicines Corporation (WO2017/079140A1, 2017-11-05, IDS) referred to herein as Blueprint.
Blueprint teaches the synthesis of a compound referred to as compound 130, wherein two diastereomers were isolated from the mixture having the structures
in 10% and 46% yield respectfully (page 52). With the synthesis of a compound 130, Blueprint teaches the following intermediates
wherein the chloro compound would read on an activated R group (page 51). While the prior art does not specifically teach the specific diastereomers of
, the claimed limitation would appear to be present in the generic teachings of the racemate since the compound is chiral and therefore, all enantiomers would necessarily exist in the racemate.
In response to the rejection, Applicants contend that while the ‘140 publication discloses on page 50, the following compound
, the ‘140 publication does not disclose the isomers
. Moreover, Applicants contend that contrary to the PTO’s allegation in the office Action that “the claimed limitation would appear to be present in the generic teachings of the racemate since the compound is chiral and therefore, all enantiomers would necessarily exist in the racemate”, the Federal Circuit ruled that claims to a single enantiomer pharmaceutical compound were not anticipated. See Forest Labs., Inc. v. Ivax Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 501 F.3d 1263 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
These arguments have been carefully considered, but are not found persuasive.
In the instant case, the Examiner does not dispute that a single enantiomer pharmaceutical compound were not anticipated. However, the Examiner recognizes that this ruling was for pharmaceutical compounds wherein Forest presented evidence demonstrating the difficulty in separating the enantiomers and the unexpected properties of (+)-citalopram. In the instant case, no evidence has been submitted discussing the difficulties in separating these enantiomers and further, the instant compounds is an intermediate and no biological activity exists on record.
Thus, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
New Rejections Necessitated by the amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15, which depends from claim 1, recites “… wherein the compound is a compound of formula (V):
”. However, compound V was amended out of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Conclusion
Claims 2-3, 5-6 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-21, 23-25, 27, 29-30 and 54 appear to be in condition for allowance.
The closest prior art was discussed in the prior office action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626