DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 34-66 are pending in this application.
Claims 34 and 45 are presented as currently amended claims.
No claims are newly presented.
No claims are newly cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34-35, 37-41, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draexlmaier (DE 202015103992 U1) in view of Kim (US 20210364810 A1) in view of Morita (US 6249744 B1) (the combination of which will be referred to as 'combination Draexlmaier' hereinafter). As regards the individual claims:
Regarding claim 34, Draexlmaier teaches a dashboard control system of a vehicle comprising:
. . . and a user device communicatively coupled to the vehicle; and (Draexlmaier: ¶ 110; possible to use your own mobile devices (e.g. B. smartphones, tablets, etc.) in the vehicle display device) a dashboard assembly positioned in the vehicle facing a rider of the vehicle, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 096; display device 8 is directly visible to the driver) the dashboard assembly comprising at least one visor unit coupled (Draexlmaier: ¶ 044; a cover 12 for covering the display device 8 in an open or free manner on the driver side, which cover comprises stretched material in the form of a fabric web 13) with a rotatable display unit comprising at least one analog display face (Draexlmaier: ¶ 042; typical driving information such as speed, rpm, fuel level indicator, etc. can be displayed)and at least one electronic display face, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 042; entertainment information can be shown, for example videos can be played) wherein the rotatable display unit comprises at least one drive unit (Draexlmaier: ¶ 042; display device 8 can assume several rotational positions about the rotational axis) and at least one controller for controlling operation of at least one of the at least one visor unit and the rotatable display unit, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 061; swivel arm 18 is motor-rotatable about the horizontal axis of rotation H2. It can also be optionally mounted on a straight longitudinal guide 32 (e.g. B. in a longitudinal groove or on a rail) mounted so that it can be moved longitudinally by a motor.)
Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach: one or more sensors positioned in the vehicle for generating sensor outputs; . . and the one or more control inputs.; however, Kim does teach:
one or more sensors positioned in the vehicle for generating sensor outputs; (Kim: ¶ 007; displacement sensor for measuring a distance to a face). (Kim: ¶ 030; information to be displayed from data supplied by various in-vehicle sensors or input means) one or more control inputs located on at least one of the vehicle (Kim: ¶ 030; a user interface 240, and a vehicle key 250 inputted through a transmit/receive antenna 260,) . . . and the one or more control inputs. (Kim: ¶ 030; a user interface 240, and a vehicle key 250 inputted through a transmit/receive antenna 260,) (Kim: ¶ 006; driver can manually adjust the position of the eyebox through a HUD manipulator (Human Machine Interface or HMI))
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of permitting “the most comfortable viewing of the informative image.” (Kim: ¶ 005).
To the extent Draexlmaier is silent about or does not explicitly teach: and the rotatable display unit is configured to be covered by the visor unit in a closed condition of the visor unit; Morita does teach:
and the rotatable display unit is configured to be covered by the visor unit in a closed condition of the visor unit. (Morita: ¶ 031; Col 9, Lns 32-33; upper plate 60 forms part of a cover 61 which covers an upper portion of the instrument panel 50, and is supported for pivotal motion on the cover 61 by a hinge 62.)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Morita with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of the electronics being “protected effectively from water or dust.” (Morita: ¶ 098; Col. 10, Lns. 66-67)
Regarding claim 35, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 34 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the at least one visor unit is configured to at least partially cover the rotatable display unit underneath and the at least one visor unit is controlled by the at least one controller to move in one of an opening direction (Draexlmaier: ¶ 044; a cover 12 for covering the display device 8 in an open or free manner on the driver side, which cover comprises stretched material in the form of a fabric web 13) and a closing direction to one of expose and cover the rotatable display unit. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 006; display device can be covered with a cover)
Regarding claim 37, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 34 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the at least one drive unit comprises a secondary display drive unit, a visor drive unit, an analog dial drive unit, and a rotatable display drive unit. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 043; On the smaller display area 10, for example, For example, typical driving information such as speed, rpm, fuel level indicator)
Regarding claim 38, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 37 and combination Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the visor drive unit operably coupled to the at least one controller comprises at least one angle sensor (Kim: ¶ 008; display according to at least one embodiment further includes a displacement sensor angle controller configured to control measurement angles of the displacement sensor.) and a motor controller operably coupled to a motor for positioning the visor unit at a selected position. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 069; display device 8 has now been rotated by a motor . . . so that the display surface 11 is visible to the driver)
Regarding claim 39, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 37 and combination Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the rotatable display drive unit operably coupled to the at least one controller comprises at least one angle sensor, (Kim: ¶ 008; display according to at least one embodiment further includes a displacement sensor angle controller configured to control measurement angles of the displacement sensor.) a motor controller, and a motor for positioning the rotatable display unit with a selected display face. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 069; display device 8 has now been rotated by a motor . . . so that the display surface 11 is visible to the driver)
Regarding claim 40, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 34 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the at least one display face comprises an analog display unit, an electronic display unit for displaying vehicle status information, alerts, and notifications, and a vehicle body element in flush layout with mounting location of the dashboard assembly in the vehicle. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 017; material is elastically deformable. This allows the use of a fabric that is attached firmly or with little effort at several points. . . type of deformation and the deformability can be influenced not only by the type of material but also by its orientation (e.g. B. weft, warp). By inserting ribs and structural elements into or on the fabric, the deformation can be controlled or defined)
Regarding claim 41, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 40 and Kim further teaches:
wherein the electronic display unit comprises a display interface communicatively coupled to at least one display controller, at least one secondary sensor, and one or more connectivity supporting hardware. (Kim: ¶ 030; control unit 110 generates information to be displayed from data supplied by various in-vehicle sensors)
Regarding claim 44, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 34 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the control inputs are configured to: select a mode of operation of the visor unit, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 065; has a smooth guide track 35 on the underside, on which the driver 22 can slide until it strikes a stop . . .possible to keep a distance between the rib 33, 34 and the axis of rotation H1 constant or to vary it in a targeted manner . . . contour advantageously has no dead center) select a mode of operation of the rotatable display unit, select a display face of the rotatable display unit to be facing the rider of the vehicle, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 110; display areas can be activated or switched on alone or in any combination) and select a default display face of the rotatable display unit facing the rider of the vehicle. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 065; has a smooth guide track 35 on the underside, on which the driver 22 can slide until it strikes a stop . . .contour advantageously has no dead center)
Claims 36 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draexlmaier (DE 202015103992 U1) in view of Kim (US 20210364810 A1) as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of DeLong et al. (US 20190122464 A1).
Regarding claim 36, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 34 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
and a secondary display unit for displaying vehicle status information, alerts, and notifications and branding of the vehicle. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 043; On the smaller display area 10, for example, For example, typical driving information such as speed, rpm, fuel level indicator)
Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach: wherein the at least one visor unit comprises a wireless communication board for providing keyless access to the vehicle; however, DeLong does teach:
wherein the at least one visor unit comprises a wireless communication board for providing keyless access to the vehicle (DeLong: ¶ 018; NFC module 104 may have a housing embedded in the center console with a movable cover that covers a slot configured to receive the finder card). (DeLong: Clm. 008; wherein upon authorization of the finder card based on the authentication data, the vehicle is to enable an ignition switch of the vehicle)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of DeLong with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of allowing drivers access to the vehicle even when a key fob battery is dead (DeLong: ¶ 002)
Regarding claim 42, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 34 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
. . . rotation of the rotatable display unit, movement of the at least one visor unit in an opening direction and a closing direction, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 005; a vehicle display device, comprising a display device which can be rotated about at least one horizontal axis of rotation and has a plurality of display areas) and positioning of the rotatable display unit and the visor unit at a position selected by the rider of the vehicle, based on the control inputs and the sensor outputs. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 065; has a smooth guide track 35 on the underside, on which the driver 22 can slide until it strikes a stop . . .contour advantageously has no dead center)
Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach: wherein the at least one controller of the dashboard assembly controls one or more of a keyless access of the vehicle using the at least one visor unit,; however, DeLong does teach:
wherein the at least one controller of the dashboard assembly controls one or more of a keyless access of the vehicle using the at least one visor unit, (DeLong: ¶ 018; NFC module 104 may have a housing embedded in the center console with a movable cover that covers a slot configured to receive the finder card). (DeLong: Clm. 008; wherein upon authorization of the finder card based on the authentication data, the vehicle is to enable an ignition switch of the vehicle)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of DeLong with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of allowing drivers access to the vehicle even when a key fob battery is dead (DeLong: ¶ 002).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draexlmaier (DE 202015103992 U1) in view of Kim (US 20210364810 A1) as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Kothari (US 20170013188 A1).
Regarding claim 43, combination Draexlmaier teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 34 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the control inputs comprise one or more of switches provided on the dashboard assembly, switches on the handle bar cover of the vehicle, switches on the vehicle body panels proximal to the rider of the vehicle, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 110; display areas can be activated or switched on alone or in any combination)
Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach: an input in a user application of the user device connected to the vehicle, a voice command to the at least one visor unit, and a voice command to the rotatable display unit.; however, Kothari does teach:
an input in a user application of the user device connected to the vehicle, a voice command to the at least one visor unit, and a voice command to the rotatable display unit. (Kothari: ¶ 023; using a voice command, a user would be able to . . . turn on or turn off the sun visor's LCD screen, start or stop video chat, change the sun visor mirror to traditional mirror view instead of the digital LCD screen, request to deploy or undeploy the sun visor system, request to turn on or off the sun visor's display screen, etc.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kothari with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of “reduc[ing] glare or polarize the view and improv[ing] visibility for the users.” (Kothari: ¶ 258).
Claims 45-52, 55-56, 58-61, and 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draexlmaier (DE 202015103992 U1) in view of Kim (US 20210364810 A1) in view of DeLong et al. (US 20190122464 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Draexlmaier teaches a method for:
controlling operation of a dashboard assembly of a vehicle, the method implemented by a dashboard control system in communication with a vehicle control unit, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 061; swivel arm 18 is motor-rotatable about the horizontal axis of rotation H2. It can also be optionally mounted on a straight longitudinal guide 32 (e.g. B. in a longitudinal groove or on a rail) mounted so that it can be moved longitudinally by a motor.) . . . and a user device communicatively coupled to the vehicle, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 110; possible to use your own mobile devices (e.g. B. smartphones, tablets, etc.) in the vehicle display device) and the dashboard assembly comprising at least one visor unit coupled (Draexlmaier: ¶ 044; a cover 12 for covering the display device 8 in an open or free manner on the driver side, which cover comprises stretched material in the form of a fabric web 13) with a rotatable display unit comprising at least one analog display face (Draexlmaier: ¶ 042; typical driving information such as speed, rpm, fuel level indicator, etc. can be displayed)and at least one electronic display face, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 042; entertainment information can be shown, for example videos can be played) wherein the rotatable display unit comprises at least one drive unit (Draexlmaier: ¶ 042; display device 8 can assume several rotational positions about the rotational axis) and at least one controller for controlling operation of at least one of the at least one visor unit and the rotatable display unit, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 061; swivel arm 18 is motor-rotatable about the horizontal axis of rotation H2. It can also be optionally mounted on a straight longitudinal guide 32 (e.g. B. in a longitudinal groove or on a rail) mounted so that it can be moved longitudinally by a motor.) . . . actuating the visor unit for moving in one of an opening direction and a closing direction, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 061; swivel arm 18 is motor-rotatable about the horizontal axis of rotation H2. It can also be optionally mounted on a straight longitudinal guide 32 (e.g. B. in a longitudinal groove or on a rail) mounted so that it can be moved longitudinally by a motor.) . . . actuating the rotatable display unit for rotating and displaying a selected display face by the at least one controller, based on the sensor output and a selection of the one or more control inputs. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 061; swivel arm 18 is motor-rotatable about the horizontal axis of rotation H2. It can also be optionally mounted on a straight longitudinal guide 32 (e.g. B. in a longitudinal groove or on a rail) mounted so that it can be moved longitudinally by a motor.)
Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach: the dashboard control system comprising one or more sensors positioned in the vehicle for generating sensor output, one or more control inputs located on at least one of the vehicle . . . based on the sensor output and the one or more control inputs,; however, Kim does teach:
the dashboard control system comprising one or more sensors positioned in the vehicle for generating sensor output, (Kim: ¶ 007; displacement sensor for measuring a distance to a face) (Kim: ¶ 030; information to be displayed from data supplied by various in-vehicle sensors or input means) one or more control inputs located on at least one of the vehicle (Kim: ¶ 030; a user interface 240, and a vehicle key 250 inputted through a transmit/receive antenna 260,) . . .based on the sensor output (Kim: ¶ 007; include measuring distances at a plurality of measurement angles of the displacement sensor while adjusting the measurement angles up and down, and calculating the distance to the face based on measured distances at the plurality of measurement angles.) and the one or more control inputs, (Kim: ¶ 030; a user interface 240, and a vehicle key 250 inputted through a transmit/receive antenna 260,)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of permitting “the most comfortable viewing of the informative image.” (Kim: ¶ 005).
Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach: the method comprising the steps of: authorizing access to the vehicle based on an input from a user device on the visor unit by the at least one controller; by the at least one controller based on at least one of the sensor output, the one or more control inputs, and a vehicle condition; and; however, DeLong does teach:
the method comprising the steps of: authorizing access to the vehicle based on an input from a user device on the visor unit by the at least one controller; (DeLong: ¶ 018; NFC module 104 may have a housing embedded in the center console with a movable cover that covers a slot configured to receive the finder card). (DeLong: Clm. 008; wherein upon authorization of the finder card based on the authentication data, the vehicle is to enable an ignition switch of the vehicle) by the at least one controller based on at least one of the sensor output, the one or more control inputs, and a vehicle condition; and (DeLong: ¶ 018; NFC module 104 may have a housing embedded in the center console with a movable cover that covers a slot configured to receive the finder card)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of DeLong with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of allowing drivers access to the vehicle even when a key fob battery is dead (DeLong: ¶ 002).
To the extent Draexlmaier is silent about or does not explicitly teach: and actuating, by the at least one controller, the visor unit to be in a closed condition, wherein the rotatable display unit is configured to be covered by the visor unit in the closed condition of the visor unit; Morita does teach:
A visor unit design to cover a motorcycle display when closed (Morita: ¶ 031; Col 9, Lns. 32-33; upper plate 60 forms part of a cover 61 which covers an upper portion of the instrument panel 50, and is supported for pivotal motion on the cover 61 by a hinge 62.) Therefore before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been taught or suggested the limitation:
and actuating, by the at least one controller, the visor unit to be in a closed condition, wherein the rotatable display unit is configured to be covered by the visor unit in the closed condition of the visor unit.
because automating a manual activity is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2144). Here the prior art of record shows evidence of automating the rotation and movement of screens and covers (at least at Draexlmaier ¶ 061) and a person of ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that a similar structural plastic cover pivoting about a point as taught by Morita could be adapted by simple substitution and would result in the predicable benefit of the electronics being “protected effectively from water or dust” (Morita: ¶ 098; Col. 10, Lns. 66-67) automatically should the driver fail to manually close it.
Regarding claim 46, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 45 and DeLong further teaches:
further comprises authorizing the rider by the at least one controller based on the vehicle condition. (DeLong: ¶ 018; NFC module 104 may have a housing embedded in the center console with a movable cover that covers a slot configured to receive the finder card) (DeLong: Clm. 008; wherein upon authorization of the finder card based on the authentication data, the vehicle is to enable an ignition switch of the vehicle)
Regarding claim 47, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 45 and DeLong further teaches:
wherein the vehicle condition is one of a vehicle ignition ON condition, a vehicle ignition OFF condition, a vehicle stationary condition, and a vehicle running condition. (DeLong: Clm. 008; wherein upon authorization of the finder card based on the authentication data, the vehicle is to enable an ignition switch of the vehicle)
Regarding claim 48, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 47 and DeLong further teaches:
further comprises changing the vehicle condition to vehicle ignition OFF condition by the vehicle control unit on determining vehicle ignition ON condition (DeLong: Clm. 008; wherein upon authorization of the finder card based on the authentication data, the vehicle is to enable an ignition switch of the vehicle)
Furthermore: and actuating the visor unit for moving in the closing direction by the at least one controller based on the vehicle ignition OFF condition would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the claimed invention because it has been held that changing between a mechanical or automatic means and a manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art (In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.) and Draexlmaier teaches manual triggering of a motor-driven visor unit (Draexlmaier: ¶ 061; swivel arm 18 is motor-rotatable about the horizontal axis of rotation H2. It can also be optionally mounted on a straight longitudinal guide 32 (e.g. B. in a longitudinal groove or on a rail) mounted so that it can be moved longitudinally by a motor.)
Regarding claim 49, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 47 and DeLong further teaches:
further comprises changing the vehicle condition to vehicle ignition ON condition by the vehicle control unit on determining vehicle ignition OFF condition (DeLong: Clm. 008; wherein upon authorization of the finder card based on the authentication data, the vehicle is to enable an ignition switch of the vehicle)
Furthermore: and actuating the visor unit for moving in the opening direction by the at least one controller based on the vehicle ignition ON condition would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the claimed invention because it has been held that changing between a mechanical or automatic means and a manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art (In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.) and Draexlmaier teaches manual triggering of a motor-driven visor unit (Draexlmaier: ¶ 069; display device 8 has now been rotated by a motor . . . so that the display surface 11 is visible to the driver)
Regarding claim 50, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 48 and DeLong further teaches:
comprises disabling a drive mode of the vehicle by the vehicle control unit, prior to actuating the visor unit for moving in the one of the opening direction and the closing direction by the at least one controller. (DeLong: Clm. 008; wherein upon authorization of the finder card based on the authentication data, the vehicle is to enable an ignition switch of the vehicle) (DeLong: ¶ 024; card handler 126 (i) performs actions based on messages that include commands . . . the infotainment head unit 110 may disable the infotainment system and/or the sound system, and the powertrain control module may limit the speed)
Regarding claim 51, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 49 and DeLong further teaches:
comprises enabling a drive mode of the vehicle by the vehicle control unit, after at least partial movement of the visor unit in the opening direction on actuation by the at least one controller. (DeLong: Clm. 008; wherein upon authorization of the finder card based on the authentication data, the vehicle is to enable an ignition switch of the vehicle)
Regarding claim 52, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 46 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
comprises displaying vehicle authorization status information and vehicle status information by a secondary display unit of the visor unit, based on the authorization of the rider by the at least one controller. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 043; On the smaller display area 10, for example, For example, typical driving information such as speed, rpm, fuel level indicator) (DeLong: ¶ 024; card handler 126 (i) performs actions based on messages that include commands . . . the infotainment head unit 110 may disable the infotainment system and/or the sound system, and the powertrain control module may limit the speed)
Regarding claim 55, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 45 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
further comprising actuating the visor unit to move in the closing direction by the at least one controller, prior to actuation of the rotatable display unit for rotating and displaying the selected display face. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 061; swivel arm 18 is motor-rotatable about the horizontal axis of rotation H2. It can also be optionally mounted on a straight longitudinal guide 32 (e.g. B. in a longitudinal groove or on a rail) mounted so that it can be moved longitudinally by a motor.)
Regarding claim 56, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 54 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
further comprising determining the display face of the rotatable display unit facing the rider of the vehicle by the at least one controller, prior to actuating the visor unit to move in the closing direction for actuation of the rotatable display unit for rotating and displaying the display face. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 061; swivel arm 18 is motor-rotatable about the horizontal axis of rotation H2. It can also be optionally mounted on a straight longitudinal guide 32 (e.g. B. in a longitudinal groove or on a rail) mounted so that it can be moved longitudinally by a motor.)
Regarding claim 58, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 45 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the display face comprises an analog display unit, an electronic display unit for displaying vehicle status information, alerts, and notifications, and a vehicle body element in flush layout with mounting location of the dashboard assembly in the vehicle. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 017; material is elastically deformable. This allows the use of a fabric that is attached firmly or with little effort at several points. . . type of deformation and the deformability can be influenced not only by the type of material but also by its orientation (e.g. B. weft, warp). By inserting ribs and structural elements into or on the fabric, the deformation can be controlled or defined)
Regarding claim 59, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 45 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the control inputs are configured to select a mode of operation of the visor unit, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 065; has a smooth guide track 35 on the underside, on which the driver 22 can slide until it strikes a stop . . .possible to keep a distance between the rib 33, 34 and the axis of rotation H1 constant or to vary it in a targeted manner . . . contour advantageously has no dead center) select a mode of operation of the rotatable display unit, select a display face of the rotatable display unit to be facing the rider of the vehicle, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 110; display areas can be activated or switched on alone or in any combination) and select a default display face of the rotatable display unit facing the rider of the vehicle. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 065; has a smooth guide track 35 on the underside, on which the driver 22 can slide until it strikes a stop . . .contour advantageously has no dead center)
Regarding claim 60, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 45 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the at least one drive unit comprises a secondary display drive unit, a visor drive unit, an analog display drive unit, and a rotatable display drive unit. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 043; On the smaller display area 10, for example, For example, typical driving information such as speed, rpm, fuel level indicator)
Regarding claim 61, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 60 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein actuating the visor unit comprises actuating a motor controller operably coupled to a motor of the visor drive unit (Draexlmaier: ¶ 069; display device 8 has now been rotated by a motor . . . so that the display surface 11 is visible to the driver)
by the at least one controller based on the one or more control inputs, a rotation direction, status of fault registers of the motor controller, and the sensor output from at least one angle sensor of the visor drive unit for positioning the visor unit at a selected position. (Kim: ¶ 008; display according to at least one embodiment further includes a displacement sensor angle controller configured to control measurement angles of the displacement sensor.)
Regarding claim 63, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 61 and Kim further teaches:
actuating the visor unit for positioning the visor unit at the selected position comprises receiving visor angle as an input from one of the one or more control inputs and driving the motor controller operably coupled to the motor of the visor drive unit to the received visor angle. (Kim: ¶ 007; include measuring distances at a plurality of measurement angles of the displacement sensor while adjusting the measurement angles up and down, and calculating the distance to the face based on measured distances at the plurality of measurement angles.)
Regarding claim 64, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 60 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein actuating the rotatable display unit comprises actuating a motor controller operably coupled to a motor of the rotatable display drive unit by the at least one controller based on the one or more control inputs, a preconfigured rotation direction, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 069; display device 8 has now been rotated by a motor . . . so that the display surface 11 is visible to the driver) status of fault registers of motor controller, and the sensor output from at least one angle sensor of the rotatable display drive unit for displaying the selected display face to the rider of the vehicle. (Kim: ¶ 007; include measuring distances at a plurality of measurement angles of the displacement sensor while adjusting the measurement angles up and down, and calculating the distance to the face based on measured distances at the plurality of measurement angles.)
Regarding claim 65, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 64 and Kim further teaches:
actuating the rotatable display unit for positioning the display face of the rotatable display unit comprises computing an angle of rotation of the rotatable display unit by the at least one controller based on the selected display face by the rider and driving the motor controller operably coupled to the motor of the rotatable display drive unit to the computed angle. (Kim: ¶ 008; display according to at least one embodiment further includes a displacement sensor angle controller configured to control measurement angles of the displacement sensor.)
Regarding claim 66, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 61 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
comprising actuating the motor controller by the at least one controller to control both the visor unit and the rotatable display unit. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 061; swivel arm 18 is motor-rotatable about the horizontal axis of rotation H2. It can also be optionally mounted on a straight longitudinal guide 32 (e.g. B. in a longitudinal groove or on a rail) mounted so that it can be moved longitudinally by a motor.)
Claims 53-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draexlmaier (DE 202015103992 U1) in view of Kim (US 20210364810 A1) in view of DeLong et al. (US 20190122464 A1) as applied to claim 52 above, and further in view of Nishibe et al. (US 20090026993 A1).
Regarding claim 53, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 52 and Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach:
further comprising displaying the rotatable display unit status information on the secondary display unit by the at least one controller on determining a fault in positioning the selected display face of the rotatable display unit.; however, Nishibe does teach:
further comprising displaying the rotatable display unit status information on the secondary display unit by the at least one controller on determining a fault in positioning the selected display face of the rotatable display unit. (Nishibe: ¶ 046; When the engine start switch is switched to an accessory (ACC) position or an ignition (IG) position, the system . . . shift the drive control circuit 10 from the sleep mode (hibernation state) to the standby mode.). (Nishibe: ¶ 089; When recognizing a failure . . . the system control circuit 9 visually indicates the failure of the door mirror 2 on a display arranged on an instrument panel)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nishibe with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of a “[n]otification of an abnormality of the drive circuit” (Nishibe: ¶ 034).
Regarding claim 54, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 52 and Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach:
further comprising displaying the vehicle status information and visor unit fault status on the secondary display unit by the at least one controller on determining a fault in driving the visor unit.; however, Nishibe does teach:
further comprising displaying the vehicle status information and visor unit fault status on the secondary display unit by the at least one controller on determining a fault in driving the visor unit. (Nishibe: ¶ 046; When the engine start switch is switched to an accessory (ACC) position or an ignition (IG) position, the system . . . shift the drive control circuit 10 from the sleep mode (hibernation state) to the standby mode.). (Nishibe: ¶ 089; When recognizing a failure . . . the system control circuit 9 visually indicates the failure of the door mirror 2 on a display arranged on an instrument panel)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nishibe with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of a “[n]otification of an abnormality of the drive circuit”(Nishibe: ¶ 034).
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draexlmaier (DE 202015103992 U1) in view of Kim (US 20210364810 A1) in view of DeLong et al. (US 20190122464 A1) as applied to claim 45 above, and further in view of Kothari (US 20170013188 A1).
Regarding claim 57, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 45 and Draexlmaier further teaches:
wherein the control inputs comprise one or more of switches provided on the dashboard assembly, switches on the handle bar cover of the vehicle, switches on the vehicle body panels proximal to the rider of the vehicle, an input in a user application of the user device connected to the vehicle, a voice command to the at least one visor unit, (Draexlmaier: ¶ 110; display areas can be activated or switched on alone or in any combination)
Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach: and a voice command to the rotatable display unit.; however, Kothari does teach:
and a voice command to the rotatable display unit. (Kothari: ¶ 023; using a voice command, a user would be able to . . . turn on or turn off the sun visor's LCD screen, start or stop video chat, change the sun visor mirror to traditional mirror view instead of the digital LCD screen, request to deploy or undeploy the sun visor system, request to turn on or off the sun visor's display screen, etc.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kothari with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of “reduc[ing] glare or polarize the view and improv[ing] visibility for the users.”(Kothari: ¶ 258).
Claim 62 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draexlmaier (DE 202015103992 U1) in view of Kim (US 20210364810 A1) in view of DeLong et al. (US 20190122464 A1) as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Adams (US 7289085 B2).
Regarding claim 62, combination Draexlmaier in view of DeLong teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 61 and Draexlmaier does not explicitly teach:
actuating the visor unit for positioning the visor unit at the selected position comprises computing an angle of positioning the visor unit by the at least one controller and diving the motor controller operably coupled to the motor of the visor drive unit to the computed angle, based on the sensor output and almanac information of a day.; however, Adams does teach:
actuating the visor unit for positioning the visor unit at the selected position comprises computing an angle of positioning the visor unit by the at least one controller and diving the motor controller operably coupled to the motor of the visor drive unit to the computed angle, based on the sensor output and almanac information of a day. (Adams: Clm. 001; configured to evaluate one or more input parameter values from a group comprising: direction coordinates of an interference light source, angles between a direction of an interference light source and at least one reference direction, instantaneous position of the vehicle, angle of inclination of the vehicle, direction and/or absolute value of a speed of the vehicle, degree and/or frequency of change of a direction of travel, satellite navigation data, time, and information from a route planner or route atlas.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Adams with the teachings of Draexlmaier because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of “improv[ing] the contrast effect and legibility of the display even under unfavorable external light conditions” (Adams: ¶ 002).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed Nov. 20, 2025 with respect to claims 34-66 have been considered but have been traversed in part and considered moot in part.
Applicant first amends to require a “display unit comprising at least one analog display face and at least one electronic display face.” (Clm. 34) This argument is traversed as Draexlmaier teaches displaying speedometer data, RPM data, and fuel level data. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this data is most commonly displaced using analog displays, even when transmitted digitally -- especially in the context that Draexlmaier further teaches an electronic display to show emails an entertainment. (Draexlmaier: ¶ 042). Consequently, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Second applicant amends to require “actuating, by the at least one controller, the visor unit to be in a closed condition, wherein the rotatable display unit is configured to be covered by the visor unit in the closed condition of the visor unit.” (Clm. 45). Newly applied art Morita teaches a visor unit design to cover a motorcycle display / instrument panel when closed (Morita: ¶ 031; Col 9, Lns. 32-33; upper plate 60 forms part of a cover 61 which covers an upper portion of the instrument panel 50, and is supported for pivotal motion on the cover 61 by a hinge 62.) Therefore before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been taught or suggested the limitation because automating a manual activity is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2144). Here the prior art of record shows evidence of automating the rotation and movement of screens and covers (at least at Draexlmaier ¶ 061) and a person of ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that a similar structural plastic cover pivoting about a point as taught by Morita could be adapted by simple substitution and would result in the predicable benefit of the electronics being “protected effectively from water or dust” (Morita: ¶ 098; Col. 10, Lns. 66-67) automatically should the driver fail to manually close it.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is Takamatsu et al. (US 20170098425 A1) which teaches a control unit for controlling a panel meter and the like arranged in the instrument panel.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663