Status of Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 6/1/25 has been entered. Claim 11 is cancelled. Claims 1-10, 12-16 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/1/23 and 4/9/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CASSONI et al. (US 20120138425 A1).
Re-claim 1, CASSONI et al. teach A device (10) for handling closures (12), inside a clean room, comprising:
--a receptacle (14) for receiving at least one closure (12),
(see e.g. [0038] In other various embodiments, referring to FIGS. 13-15, a tray can be configured to receive the plurality of caps. In at least one embodiment, the tray 46 can include a surface 48 having a plurality of cavities 50 defined therein. In such an embodiment, the cavities 50 can be similar to the cavities 18 defined in the pucks 12, described above. In various embodiments, the tray 46 can include any suitable number of rows and columns, for example, to achieve any suitable cap throughput. In at least one embodiment, the plurality of caps can be provided to the surface 48 and/or at least some of the cavities 50 of the tray 46 to allow at least some of the caps to settle within the cavities 50 of the tray 46.)
--a handling device (16), having a tool (18), the tool (18) being designed configured to be able to handle at least one closure (12),
(see e.g. [0038] -- In at least one embodiment, a robotic arm (not illustrated) can be used to pick and place caps in the tray to thereby fill an entire row of the tray 46 and then transport the entire row of oriented caps to a capping machine, for example.)
--a sensor device (20) configured to detect a position, a type, an orientation and/or a possible damage of the closure (12) within the receptacle (14),
(see e.g. [0055] In such an embodiment, the vision system 76 can be configured to determine whether a particular cap's orientation within a cavity is proper (nozzle top down) or improper (nozzle top sideways or up). In other various embodiments, the vision system can be configured to determine any desired cap configuration and/or if the cavity is empty. In various embodiments, the vision system 76 can include an optical lens portion configured to view the caps and a microprocessor configured to receive a signal indicative of a cap's orientation from the optical lens portion, for example. In at least one embodiment, the vision system 76 can be used in conjunction with at least one ancillary light source to illuminate the cavities 18 and aid the vision system in determining proper verses improper cap orientation.)
wherein the device (10) further comprises a vibration device (22) which is configured to vibrate the receptacle (14) in such a way that the closure (12) received in the receptacle (14) is changed in its orientation and/or position due to the vibration.
(see e.g. [0005] In at least one embodiment, the cap-receiving cavity can be configured to orient the cap to a properly oriented position when the body is agitated and/or vibrated.
[0029] In various embodiments, the portion of the plurality of pucks 12 can be vibrated to cause the first group of caps 16 to be sorted and settle and/or uniformly orient within at least some of the cavities 18.
[0050] In at least one embodiment, referring to FIGS. 10-12, the vibrational energy can include the application of vertical vibration (V.sub.h) and/or horizontal vibration (V.sub.h), for example. In such an embodiment, the vibrational energy can cause the caps within at least some of the cavities 18 to orient into a position of lowest energy, or, stated another way, to a position where the caps can each achieve a local minimum state of potential energy (FIG. 12).)
Figs. 14, 15).
***The Examiner notes that the cap in CASSONI et al. is equivalent to the closures in the current application.
Re-claim 2, CASSONI et al. teach --The device (10) according to claim 1, wherein the sensor device (20) comprises at least one illumination device (24) configured to illuminate the receptacle (14).
(see e.g. [0055] In at least one embodiment, the vision system 76 can be used in conjunction with at least one ancillary light source to illuminate the cavities 18 and aid the vision system in determining proper verses improper cap orientation.)
Re-claim 4, CASSONI et al. teach --The device (10) according to claim 1, wherein the receptacle (14) is configured in the form of a plate (28).
(see e.g. FIGS. 13-15, a tray).
Re-claim 5, CASSONI et al. teach --The device (10) according to claim 1, wherein the receptacle (14) comprises a structure (29) configured to influence the position and/or orientation of the closure (12) during vibration of the receptacle (14).
(see e.g. [0038] In other various embodiments, referring to FIGS. 13-15, a tray can be configured to receive the plurality of caps. In at least one embodiment, the tray 46 can include a surface 48 having a plurality of cavities 50 defined therein. In such an embodiment, the cavities 50 can be similar to the cavities 18 defined in the pucks 12, described above. In various embodiments, the tray 46 can include any suitable number of rows and columns, for example, to achieve any suitable cap throughput. In at least one embodiment, the plurality of caps can be provided to the surface 48 and/or at least some of the cavities 50 of the tray 46 to allow at least some of the caps to settle within the cavities 50 of the tray 46.
[0053] In various embodiments, the tray, described above, can also be configured to receive a horizontal vibration (V.sub.h) and/or a vertical vibration (V.sub.v) to orient the caps to a local minimum state of potential energy and/or desired position within the cavities 50. )
Re-claim 8. CASSONI et al. teach -- A cleanroom with a device (10) according to claim 1. (see e.g. fig. 1).
Claim 9 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Re-claim 10, CASSONI et al. teach --The method according to claim 9 characterized in that the receptacle (14) and/or the closure (12) received by means of the receptacle is illuminated, in particular by means of an illumination device (24).
(see e.g. [0055] In at least one embodiment, the vision system 76 can be used in conjunction with at least one ancillary light source to illuminate the cavities 18 and aid the vision system in determining proper verses improper cap orientation.).
Re-claim 12, CASSONI et al. teach --The device (10) according to claim 1, wherein the handling device (16) is a robot arm (17).
(see e.g. [0038] -- In at least one embodiment, a robotic arm (not illustrated) can be used to pick and place caps in the tray to thereby fill an entire row of the tray 46 and then transport the entire row of oriented caps to a capping machine, for example.)
Re-claim 15, CASSONI et al. teach -- The method according to claim 9, wherein the detecting step includes using a sensor device (20).
(see e.g. [0055] In various embodiments, the vision system 76 can include an optical lens portion configured to view the caps and a microprocessor configured to receive a signal indicative of a cap's orientation from the optical lens portion, for example. In at least one embodiment, the vision system 76 can be used in conjunction with at least one ancillary light source to illuminate the cavities 18 and aid the vision system in determining proper verses improper cap orientation.)
Re-claim 16, CASSONI et al. teach --The method according to claim 10, wherein the receptacle (14) and/or the closure (12) received by the receptacle is illuminated by an illumination device (24).
(see e.g. [0055] In at least one embodiment, the vision system 76 can be used in conjunction with at least one ancillary light source to illuminate the cavities 18 and aid the vision system in determining proper verses improper cap orientation.)
Claims 3, 7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CASSONI et al. (US 20120138425 A1)., in view of DIAZ et al. (US 20190337658 A1).
Re-claim 3, CASSONI et al. do not explicitly teach the limitation as claimed.
However, Diaz et al. teach --The device (10) according to claim 1, wherein the sensor device (20) comprises at least one camera (26) for detecting the closure (12).
See e.g. [0121] Closure monitoring subsystem 28 may obtain by scanning, using laser line 39, a topographical profile of closure nest 100 within monitored area 29 while both the topographical profiler and closure nest 100 remain stationary. -- In other suitable embodiments of topographical profilers, the camera of the system is tilted instead of using a tilting mirror.)
[0077] Closure monitoring subsystem 28 is mounted outside chamber 20 to view chamber 20 through window 35 and is employed to determine the presence or absence of closures in closure nests. It will be discussed in more detail later at the hand of FIG. 9.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify CASSONI et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Diaz et al., in order to monitor the closure nests and area inside the aseptic chamber. (see e.g. abstract, [0028]).
Re-claim 7, CASSONI et al. do not teach the limitation as claimed.
However, Diaz et al. teach -- The device (10) according to claim 1, wherein at least one element of the device (10), is configured to be H202-resistant, autoclavable and/or waterproof.
(see e.g. [0070] Transfer chamber 30 may be any isolatable and decontaminatable vessel, including without limitation, an autoclave or a radiation based decontaminatable vessel that is configured to be placed in spatial communication with controlled environment enclosure 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify CASSONI et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Diaz et al., in order to decontaminate transfer chamber 30 (see e.g. [0071]).
Claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 7 and is considered an obvious variation of Diaz et al. to have all elements of the device (10) configured to be H202-resistant, autoclavable and/or waterproof.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CASSONI et al. (US 20120138425 A1), in view of Odhner et al. (US 20190358810 A1).
Re-claim 6, CASSONI et al. do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, Odhner et al.. teach --The device (10) according to claim 1, wherein the device (10) comprises a control device (30), the control device (30) being coupled by connections (32) to the handling device (16) and/or the sensor device (20) and being adapted to move the handling device (16) and/or the tool (18) of the handling device (16) in dependence on the detection of the sensor device (20).
(see e.g. [0081] The robotic manipulator 204 may be configured with one or sensor devices 218 to at least gather data regarding the robotic manipulator's environment including items located therein. This sensor data may include data regarding the location of an item to be grasped, the orientation of the item (e.g., whether the item is on its side, etc.), the shape of the item, the size of the item, or other data that may be helpful in executing a grasping attempt. The sensor device(s) 218 may also gather data helpful in analyzing the effectiveness or success of a grasp attempt or strategy.
[0082] In some embodiments, the sensor devices 218 may include one or more cameras such as stereo cameras or charge coupled device cameras. In other embodiments, the sensor device(s) 218 may include a LIDAR camera device operably positioned with respect to the robotic manipulator 204 and an item. In other embodiments, the sensor devices 218 may include infrared or SONAR imaging devices. The robotic manipulator 204 (namely, the processor 214) may also include or otherwise execute any required computer vision or other image processing tools.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify CASSONI et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Odhner et al., in order to improve future performance of the robotic manipulator(s). (see e.g. [0148]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable CASSONI et al. (US 20120138425 A1), in view of Komann et al. (US 20200156824 A1)
Re-claim 13, CASSONI et al. do not teach the limitation as claimed.
However, Komann et al. teach -- The device (10) according to claim 4, wherein the plate (28) has a raised edge (27) and is configured in a shell-like manner.
(see e.g. fig. 1 – [0010] In some embodiments provided according to the present disclosure, a combination includes: a holding structure including a plurality of receptacles which are arranged in a regular arrangement and are formed by peripherally formed side walls; a plurality of containers for substances for pharmaceutical, medical or cosmetic applications received in the receptacles, the containers having a basic body which, at an upper end, merges into a shoulder portion which is adjoined by a narrowed neck portion with a widened upper edge with an opening; a plurality of holding projections provided at lower ends of the receptacles and configured to hold the containers in the receptacles, the holding projections at the lower ends protruding radially inwards into the receptacles, the containers being supported directly on the holding projections; and a plurality of centering elements provided above the holding projections and configured to center the containers in the receptacles, the centering elements having a beveled configuration and protruding into the receptacles in order to reduce a width of the receptacles at the lower ends thereof in a funnel shape.
[0038] In principle, the lower ends of the receptacles 5 can also have a closed configuration, in which case the holding projections 22 form a closed bottom. In such an embodiment, bottoms of containers, or edges at open ends of containers, can be supported directly on the holding projections 22, without the danger of the containers being clamped in any way by the centering elements.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify CASSONI et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Komann et al., in order to provide an improved holding structure for simultaneously holding a plurality of containers for substances for pharmaceutical, medical or cosmetic applications, which holding structure permits precise positioning and centering of the containers in the receptacles (see e.g. [0009]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DIAZ et al. (US 20190337658 A1), in view of CASSONI et al. (US 20120138425 A1).
Re-claim 1, A device (10) for handling closures (12), inside a clean room, comprising:
--a receptacle (14) for receiving at least one closure (12),
(see e.g. [0032] In a further aspect a method is provided for confirming the presence or absence of closures in a closure nest inside an aseptic chamber,
--a handling device (16), having a tool (18), the tool (18) being designed configured to be able to handle at least one closure (12),
(see e.g. [0066] Tubs 80, 110 may be handled within controlled environment enclosure 20 by articulated arm apparatus 22 disposed within controlled environment enclosure 20. Articulated arm apparatus 22 comprises end of arm tool 24 configured to hold tubs and nests. Articulated arm apparatus 22 may be, without limitation, a robotic articulated arm.
[0031] The topographical profiler may be disposed outside the aseptic chamber. The nest handler may be an articulated arm apparatus. The articulated arm apparatus may be a robotic articulated arm apparatus. The nest handler may be a vacuum pickup system.
--a sensor device (20) configured to detect a position, a type, an orientation and/or a possible damage of the closure (12) within the receptacle (14),
(see e.g. [0119] Some topographical profilers are equipped with a fixed source/sensor unit and a scanning mirror.
Diaz et al. do not teach the following limitation as claimed.
However, CASSONI et al. teach --wherein the device (10) further comprises a vibration device (22) which is configured to vibrate the receptacle (14) in such a way that the closure (12) received in the receptacle (14) is changed in its orientation and/or position due to the vibration.
(see e.g. [0005] In at least one embodiment, the cap-receiving cavity can be configured to orient the cap to a properly oriented position when the body is agitated and/or vibrated.
[0029] In various embodiments, the portion of the plurality of pucks 12 can be vibrated to cause the first group of caps 16 to be sorted and settle and/or uniformly orient within at least some of the cavities 18.
[0050] In at least one embodiment, referring to FIGS. 10-12, the vibrational energy can include the application of vertical vibration (V.sub.h) and/or horizontal vibration (V.sub.h), for example. In such an embodiment, the vibrational energy can cause the caps within at least some of the cavities 18 to orient into a position of lowest energy, or, stated another way, to a position where the caps can each achieve a local minimum state of potential energy (FIG. 12).)
Figs. 14, 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Diaz et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by CASSONI et al., in order to settle and/or orient the cap to a properly oriented position within the cap-receiving cavity (see e.g. abstract).
Conclusion
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
October 27, 2025