DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 6-9 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et. al JP 2012137648 (hereinafter “JP 2012” of record) in view of Nakai et. al US 20160082688 (hereinafter “Nakai” of record) and Hebrink et. al US 20130010364 (hereinafter “Hebrink”).
Regarding claim 1, JP 2012 teaches an optical body comprising:
a base material (JP 2012 fig. 9 - 2);
a dye-containing resin layer (JP 2012 fig. 9 - 4, see also para. 0026) formed on the base material (JP 2012 fig. 9); and
an anti-reflection layer (JP 2012 fig. 9 - 6) formed on the resin layer (JP 2012 fig. 9), the anti-reflection layer (6) not containing dye and having a micro uneven structure (JP 2012 fig. 10 - 6a) with an uneven period less than or equal to a wavelength of visible light in at least one surface (JP 2012 para. 0053),
wherein average spectral transmittance of the optical body for light in a wavelength range of 420 to 680 nm is 60% or greater, and minimum spectral transmittance of the optical body for light in a wavelength range of 750 to 1400 nm is less than 60% (JP 2012 fig. 2 - shows the transmittance and absorptance of the cyanine dye in the light absorbing structure 4 with a high average transmittance over 60% from about 420 to 680 nm and a minimum dipping to 0% from 750 to 1400 nm due to high absorptivity),
wherein thickness of the resin layer (Nakai fig. 1 – 14, see also para. 0307 and 0310) is greater than or equal to 1 μm (Nakai para. 0107 – preferably 1 μm or greater),
wherein thickness of the anti-reflection layer is 0.2 to 1.0 μm (Nakai para. 0108 – preferably 1 μm).
JP 2012 does not specify wherein the anti-reflection layer has the micro uneven structure in both surfaces.
In the same field of endeavor, Nakai teaches wherein the anti-reflection layer (Nakai fig. 1 - 16, see also para. 0081) has the micro uneven structure in both surfaces (Nakai fig. 1 - shows 16 with the structure on both surfaces, see also para. 0313 and abstract) for the purpose of obtaining favorable abrasion resistance and adhesion property (Nakai para. 0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have micro uneven structure in both surfaces of the anti-reflection layer as taught by Nakai in the optical body of JP 2012 in order to have obtain favorable abrasion resistance and adhesion property (Nakai para. 0083).
Further, JP 2012 and Nakai do not teach wherein storage elastic modulus of the resin layer is less than storage elastic modulus of the anti-reflection layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Hebrink teaches setting a range for the storage elastic modulus of the resin layer (Hebrink fig. 1 - 12) is less than the storage elastic modulus of the anti-reflection layer (Hebrink fig. 1 - 18; para. 0070 – teaches that the structured film substrate 12 has a lower storage modulus than the structured surface 18) for the purpose of increasing abrasion resistance (Hebrink para. 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an elastic storage modulus of the resin layer is less than the storage elastic modulus of the anti-reflection layer as taught by Hebrink in the optical body of JP 2012 and Nakai in order to increase abrasion resistance (Hebrink para. 0033).
Regarding claim 9, JP 2012, Nakai, and Hebrink teach an image sensor (JP 2012 para. 0018 – imaging optical unit) comprising the optical body according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above and JP 2012 para. 0018).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012, Nakai, and Hebrink as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka et. al US 20080055728 (hereinafter “Tanaka” of record).
Regarding claim 6, , JP 2012 and Nakai teach the optical body according to claim 1.
JP 2012 and Nakai do not specify a retention film.
In the same field of endeavor, Tanaka teaches wherein a retention film (Tanaka fig. 5e – 8) is further formed on the anti-reflection layer (Tanaka fig. 5e – 5, shows 8 formed on 5) for the purpose of providing conductivity (Tanaka para. 0107). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a retention film as taught by Tanaka in the optical body of JP 2012 and Nakai in order to provide conductivity (Tanaka para. 0107).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et. al US 20080055728 (hereinafter “Tanaka” of record) in view of Nakai et. al US 20160082688 (hereinafter “Nakai” of record) and Hebrink et. al US 20130010364 (hereinafter “Hebrink”).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka teaches a manufacturing method of an optical body (Tanaka fig. 5e - 7), comprising the steps of:
making an anti-reflection layer (Tanaka fig. 5e - 5) not containing dye and having a micro uneven structure (Tanaka fig. 5e - 5) in a surface by curing a retention film (Tanaka fig. 5e - 8) while the retention film (8) is pressed against a curable resin (Tanka fig. 5e - 3), the retention film (8) having a micro uneven structure (shape of 5, see Tanaka fig. 5e which shows 8 and 5 together) with an uneven period less than or equal to a wavelength of visible light (Tanaka para. 0097 – a period of .25 μm which is less than a wavelength of visible light); and
making an optical body with the retention film (8) by, after a curable resin is applied to a base material, curing the obtained anti-reflection layer (5) while the anti-reflection layer (5) is pressed against the curable resin (8).
Tanaka does not teach a dye-containing curable resin, the thicknesses of the anti-reflection layer and curable resin layer, and that the anti-reflection layer has the micro uneven structure in both sides.
In the same field of endeavor, Nakai teaches a dye-containing curable resin layer (Nakai fig. 1 – 14, see also para. 0307 and 0310), wherein thickness of the anti-reflection layer is 0.2 to 1.0 μm (Nakai para. 0108 – preferably 1 μm), wherein the optical body has a layer of the curable resin layer (Nakai fig. 1 – 14, see also para. 0307 and 0310) having a thickness of greater than or equal to 1 μm (Nakai para. 0107 – preferably 1 μm or greater), and that the anti-reflection layer (Nakai fig. 1 - 16, see also para. 0081) has the micro uneven structure in both surfaces (Nakai fig. 1 - shows 16 with the structure on both surfaces, see also para. 0313 and abstract) for the purpose of obtaining favorable abrasion resistance and adhesion property (Nakai para. 0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have micro uneven structure in both surfaces of the anti-reflection layer as taught by Nakai in the manufacturing method of Tanaka in order to have obtain favorable abrasion resistance and adhesion property (Nakai para. 0083).
Further, Tanaka and Nakai do not specify wherein storage elastic modulus of the resin layer is less than storage elastic modulus of the anti-reflection layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Hebrink teaches setting a range for the storage elastic modulus of the resin layer (Hebrink fig. 1 - 12) is less than the storage elastic modulus of the anti-reflection layer (Hebrink fig. 1 - 18; para. 0070 – teaches that the structured film substrate 12 has a lower storage modulus than the structured surface 18) for the purpose of increasing abrasion resistance (Hebrink para. 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an elastic storage modulus of the resin layer is less than the storage elastic modulus of the anti-reflection layer as taught by Hebrink in the manufacturing method of Tanaka and Nakai in order to increase abrasion resistance (Hebrink para. 0033).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka teaches a laminate (Tanaka fig. 5e - 7) comprising:
a retention film (Tanka fig. 5e - 8) having a micro uneven structure (Tanaka fig. 5e - 8 formed on 5, would have the micro uneven structure of 5) with an unevenness period less than or equal to a wavelength of visible light (Tanaka para. 0097 - a period of .25 μm which is less than a wavelength of visible light);
an anti-reflection layer (Tanaka fig. 5e - 5) having a micro uneven structure in at least one surface (Tanaka fig. 5e - 5 is a micro uneven structure), the micro uneven structure (5) being formed after shape of the micro uneven structure of the retention film (Tanaka fig. 5e - 8 is formed on 5, both have the shape); and
a resin layer (Tanaka fig. 5e - 3) formed on the anti-reflection layer (Tanaka fig. 5e - 3 is formed on 5, 5 is formed on 3).
Tanaka does not teach a dye-containing curable resin, the thicknesses of the anti-reflection layer and curable resin layer, and that the anti-reflection layer has the micro uneven structure in both sides.
In the same field of endeavor, Nakai teaches a dye-containing curable resin layer (Nakai fig. 1 – 14, see also para. 0307 and 0310), wherein thickness of the resin layer (Nakai fig. 1 – 14, see also para. 0307 and 0310) is greater than or equal to 1 μm (Nakai para. 0107 – preferably 1 μm or greater), wherein thickness of the anti-reflection layer is 0.2 to 1.0 μm (Nakai para. 0108 – preferably 1 μm), and
that the anti-reflection layer (Nakai fig. 1 - 16, see also para. 0081) has the micro uneven structure in both surfaces (Nakai fig. 1 - shows 16 with the structure on both surfaces, see also para. 0313 and abstract) for the purpose of obtaining favorable abrasion resistance and adhesion property (Nakai para. 0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have micro uneven structure in both surfaces of the anti-reflection layer as taught by Nakai in the manufacturing method of Tanaka in order to have obtain favorable abrasion resistance and adhesion property (Nakai para. 0083).
Further, Tanaka and Nakai do not specify wherein storage elastic modulus of the resin layer is less than storage elastic modulus of the anti-reflection layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Hebrink teaches setting a range for the storage elastic modulus of the resin layer (Hebrink fig. 1 - 12) is less than the storage elastic modulus of the anti-reflection layer (Hebrink fig. 1 - 18; para. 0070 – teaches that the structured film substrate 12 has a lower storage modulus than the structured surface 18) for the purpose of increasing abrasion resistance (Hebrink para. 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an elastic storage modulus of the resin layer is less than the storage elastic modulus of the anti-reflection layer as taught by Hebrink in the manufacturing method of Tanaka and Nakai in order to increase abrasion resistance (Hebrink para. 0033).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 /ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872