DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amended claim set filed on 24 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-37 are currently pending. Of those, claims 18, 22, 28, and 32 are amended. There are no new claims, and claims 32-37 are withdrawn. Claims 1-17 are cancelled. Claims 18-31 will be examined on the merits herein.
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ arguments filed 24 July 2026 are acknowledged. For clarity, in this action, said arguments will be referred to as “Remarks” and the Non-Final Office Action mailed 1 June 2026 will be referred to as “NFOA”.
Objection(s) and Rejection(s) Withdrawn
The objection to claim 18 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim.
The rejection of claim 28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claim.
The rejection of claims 18-23 and 25-31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Tobola in view of Billet is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the specification.
The rejection of claims 18-31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Tobola in view of Billet and further in view of Xin is withdrawn in view of the amendments to independent claims 18 and 28.
Rejection(s) Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-23 and 24-31 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billet et al. (WO 2020/245321 A1, effectively filed 4 June 2019; cited in IDS; herein “Billet”) in view of Tobola et al. (2019, Interface Focus; cited in IDS; herein “Tobola”).
Regarding claim 18, 23, 28, and 30, Billet teaches a STxB protein produced by solid phase peptide synthesis, comprising an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 2, which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (pg. 151-155; see Figure 1 below for alignment). Billet also teaches that the STxB produced by this method may comprise at least one non-proteinogenic (i.e., unnatural) amino acid residue at the C-terminus or substituted in place of a standard amino acid (pg. 27, lines 21-22 and pg. 28, line 21 – pg. 29, line 11). Billet teaches that UPLC-MS of the resulting product of solid phase synthesis shows a dominant peak corresponding with the expected mass of monomeric STxB, i.e., a majority of the product was the STxB monomer (pg. 159, lines 16-20), demonstrating that the STxB monomers produced had an amino acid sequence identical to SEQ ID NO: 2 and could be produced with no contaminants (pg. 159, lines 19-20), i.e., the entirety of the product was the STxB monomer. Because the method involves the addition of one amino acid at a time to the growing peptide (pg. 152-154), an unnatural amino acid may be used in the place of a natural amino acid at any given position to produce STxB monomers comprising that unnatural amino acid at only that position. Billet teaches that while STxB can be produced recombinantly, they contain exogenous impurities (pg. 3, lines 24-29), but peptides produced by solid phase peptide synthesis allows for large-scale production with pharmaceutical grade purity (pg. 5, lines 3-5).
Figure 1: Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (Qy) with Billet’s SEQ ID NO: 2 (Db).
Regarding claim 19, Billet does not teach substitution with an unnatural amino acid at residues 1, 6, and 26, relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 2.
Regarding claim 20, Billet teaches that the unnatural amino acids may be amino acids with azide, alkyne, aldehyde, keto, ester, boronate, or halide functional groups (pg. 30, lines 17-22).
Regarding claim 21, Billet teaches that the unnatural amino acid may be azido-lysine (i.e., an isomer of 6-azido-L-lysine) (pg. 30, line 10).
Regarding claim 25, Billet teaches that the STxB is produced by solid phase peptide synthesis (pg. 151-154) and therefore is not a recombinant protein (pg. 53, lines 23-28).
Regarding claim 26 and 29, Billet teaches that the monomer or oligomer of the STxB protein is conjugated to at least one payload (pg. 89, lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 27, Billet teaches that the payload may be selected from chemotherapeutic agents, targeted therapy agents, cytotoxic agents, antibiotics, antivirals, cell cycle-synchronizing agents, ligands for cellular receptor(s), immunomodulatory agents, pro-apoptotic agents, anti-angiogenic agents, cytokines, growth factors, antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof, antigens, hormones, coding or non-coding oligonucleotides, photodetectable labels, contrast agents, and radiolabels (pg. 89, lines 11-18).
Regarding claim 31, Billet teaches that STxB is capable of binding Gb3/CD77 receptors on target cells and is then transported from the plasma membrane of the target cell into the Golgi apparatus and endoplasmic reticulum via endosomes (pg. 2, lines 14-25). Billet teaches that Gb3 is expressed on malignant cells and that a prodrug inhibitor composition using topoisomerase I inhibitor SN38 coupled to STxB was designed to specifically target cancer cells (pg. 3, lines 15-23).
However, Billet does not specifically teach an embodiment comprising an unnatural amino acid residue at the C-terminus of the StxB, as in claims 18 and 28, including wherein the unnatural amino acid at the C-terminus is 3-azido-L-alanine or 6-azido-L-lysine, as in claim 22.
Regarding claims 18 and 28, Tobola teaches a composition comprising modified monomers of Shiga toxin B-subunit (i.e., Stx1B or StxB) comprising a substitution a reactive unnatural amino acid at position K8 (i.e., Lys 8) (pg. 2, right col., para. 2 and Figure 1), when numbered according to a Stx1B comprising a sequence identical to that of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (Table S2; see Figure 2 below for alignment). Tobola also teaches that the modified Stx1B monomers form pentamers (Figure 1). However, Tobola teaches that the purified Stx1B[AzK] was highly contaminated with wild-type Stx1B and that the wild-type Stx1B species was the dominant species in the mixture, i.e., the Stx1B[AzK] species did not make up the majority of proteins (pg. 3-4, paragraph bridging pages).
Figure 3: Alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (Qy) with the amino acid sequence of Stx1B taught by Tobola (Db).
Regarding claim 19, Tobola teaches that the monomer of the Stx1B protein does not comprise a substitution with an unnatural amino acid residue at positions 1, 6, and 26, when numbered according to a Stx1B comprising a sequence identical to that of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (Table S2).
Regarding claims 20-21, Tobola teaches that the unnatural amino acid residue is L-azidolysine (i.e., AzK, an isomer of 6-azido-L-lysine), which comprises an azide functional group (pg. 2, right col., para. 2 and Figure 1).
Regarding claims 26 and 29, Tobola teaches that the Stx1B[AzK] formed conjugates with Gal-1[Hpg] or RSL[Hpg] through the reactive unnatural amino acids incorporated within the sequences of Stx1B, Gal-1, or RSL (Figure 3), with or without a linker (Sections 2.3 and 2.4). Tobola also teaches that the Stx1B could be conjugated with effectors or drugs for the targeted delivery to specific cell types (pg. 7-8, paragraph bridging pages).
Regarding claim 31, Tobola teaches that substitution of unnatural amino acids at pre-defined locations in Stx1B allows for the selective, pre-defined, and site-specific conjugation of Stx1B with other modules (i.e., payload), which is beneficial because classical conjugation methods are often non-selective and the conjugation site is difficult to define, which leads to conjugation at random sites that can interfere with the natural protein function (Abstract). However, conjugation through the method taught by Tobola does not interfere with Stx1B protein function, so the Stx1B[AzK] protein can be used for targeted delivery of effectors or drugs to specific cell types (pg. 7-8, paragraph bridging pages).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the StxB monomers taught by Billet to comprise L-azidolysine (as taught by Tobola) at the C-terminus, which is also taught by Billet, thereby arriving at the invention of claims 18-23 and 25-31. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the StxB monomers of Billet are produced by solid phase peptide synthesis, which produces the monomers containing unnatural amino acids at a higher purity than those produced by the method of Tobola. Therefore, the combination is also desirable (see MPEP 2144(II)). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Billet teaches that their solid phase peptide synthesis method may be used with unnatural amino acids, including those with azide functional groups, so one would predict that L-azidolysine could be incorporated at the C-terminus of the StxB monomer. Therefore, the combination leads to expected results because each element performs the same function as is does individually.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In the instant case, all elements (i.e., StxB monomer comprising the addition of a reactive unnatural amino acid residue at the C-terminus, L-azidolysine, an StxB monomer with an amino acid sequence with at least 75% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 2, StxB that is not a recombinant protein, StxB conjugates, StxB pentamers, etc.) were known in the art. In addition, combining these elements yields a composition wherein each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; thus, the results of the combination would be recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 21, while neither of Billet or Tobola teach 6-azido-L-lysine, Tobola teaches the incorporation of L-azidolysine and Billet teaches the incorporation of azido-lysine, which each have the same chemical formula as 6-azido-L-lysine (C6H13N5O2). Both molecules contain the same functional groups (carboxyl, amine, and azide groups), the only difference is the position of the azide group. MPEP 2144.09(I) states: “A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. ‘An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.’ In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).” In the instant case, Tobola demonstrates the successful integration of L-azidolysine into Stx1B, including at position 8, as in claim 22. Tobola also teaches that the Stx1B contains AzK is capable of conjugating to a payload by means of the azide group in the AzK residue, as is required in claims 26-27 and 28. Therefore, the art demonstrates that L-azidolysine has a similar function to the 6-azido-L-lysine, and one of ordinary skill in the art would predict that the isomers are of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that the compounds possess similar properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 10-11) that Tobola only teaches substitution of azidolysine at position Lys 8 and that Billet does not disclose any of the recited substitution positions.
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. This argument is not persuasive in view of the amended rejection above, which sets forth that Billet teaches a StxB protein produces by solid phase peptide synthesis, which may comprise an unnatural amino acid at the C-terminus of the StxB (pg. 27, lines 21-22 and pg. 28, line 21 – pg. 29, line 11). Billet teaches that the method of solid phase peptide synthesis produces only the modified StxB monomer, i.e., greater than 50% of the monomer. As written claim 18 requires that the StxB monomer comprises at least one of: an addition of a reactive unnatural amino acid residue at the C-terminal extremity, and/or a substitution with a reactive unnatural amino acid at one or several amino acid positions. Thus, because Billet teaches the addition of a reactive unnatural amino acid at the C-terminus of the StxB protein, neither Tobola nor Billet are required to also teach substitution with an unnatural amino acid at the claimed amino acid residue positions.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 12-13) that the selection of substitution sites is neither arbitrary nor routine and would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and that the technical problem addressed by the present invention is to provide compositions comprising a majority (at least 50%) of modified StxB monomers that are suitable for efficient conjugation with molecules of interest.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not persuasive. Regarding the argument that the selection of substitution sites is neither arbitrary nor routine, neither Tobola nor Billet are required to also teach substitution with an unnatural amino acid at the claimed amino acid residue positions because Billet teaches the addition of an unnatural amino acid at the C-terminus of the StxB protein, as is described in the 103 rejection above and in the response to the previous argument.
Regarding the argument that the technical problem addressed by the invention is the ability to provide a composition in which the majority of monomers are the modified StxB monomers, this limitation is also addressed by Billet which uses a solid phase peptide synthesis method to produce the modified StxB monomer, and Billet teaches that UPLC-MS of the resulting product of solid phase synthesis shows a dominant peak corresponding with the expected mass of monomeric STxB, i.e., a majority of the product was the STxB monomer (pg. 159, lines 16-20), demonstrating that the STxB monomers produced had an amino acid sequence identical to SEQ ID NO: 2 and could be produced with no contaminants (pg. 159, lines 19-20), i.e., the entirety of the product (greater than 50%) was the STxB monomer. Billet also teaches that the resulting modified StxB monomer may be conjugated to a payload (pg. 89, lines 9-10). Applicant does not dispute the teaching that solid phase peptide synthesis results in greater than 50% of modified StxB monomers or that the resulting modified monomers may be conjugated with another product. Thus, the ability to produce greater than 50% modified StxB monomers and conjugation of the monomers was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
New Rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-31 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billet et al. (WO 2020/245321 A1, effectively filed 4 June 2019; cited in IDS; herein “Billet”) in view of Tobola et al. (2019, Interface Focus; cited in IDS; herein “Tobola”) as applied to claims 18-23 and 25-31 above, and further in view of Xin et al. (2018, Org. Biomol. Chem.; herein “Xin”).
The combination of Billet and Tobola is set forth in para. 10-26 above and teaches all limitations of claims 18-23 and 25-31.
However, the combination of Billet and Tobola does not teach a STxB protein comprising a substitution of Met 48 with L-norleucine, as in claim 24.
Regarding claim 24, Xin teaches that, in proteins containing methionine residues, the thioether moiety in methionine is susceptible to oxidation into a sulfoxide or sulfone, which results in a significant loss of bioactivity of the synthesized protein (pg. 6307, left col., para. 1). To overcome this, Xin teaches that methionine may be substituted with norleucine without substantially affecting the protein structure and function (pg. 6307, left col., para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the STxB protein produced by the combination of Billet and Tobola by substituting the methionine residues within the STxB protein (including that at position 48 when numbering according to instant SEQ ID NO: 2) with norleucine, as is taught by Xin, thereby arriving at the claimed invention. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because Xin teaches that substitution of methionine with norleucine prevents the oxidation of the methionine, thereby preventing the loss of protein activity caused by the oxidation. Therefore, the combination is also desirable (see MPEP 2144(II)). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the method of producing proteins taught by Billet may be used with unnatural amino acids and Xin teaches that the incorporation of norleucine does not impact the structure or function of synthesized proteins. Therefore, the combination leads to expected results because each element performs the same function as is does individually.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that "the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results". In the instant case, the prior art (Tobola and Billet) teaches a product (or method) that only differs from the claimed invention by the substitution of a single component (i.e., substitution of the methionine residue or analog used); the substituted element (i.e., the norleucine) was already known and already shown to function in the place of methionine in synthesized proteins, therefore no change in the function of the substituted element occurred; and one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of substituting one amino acid residue for another with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e., the substitution of the element would lead to predictable results). Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues (Remarks, pg. 12-13) that Xin does not remedy the deficiencies of Tobola and Billet and that the rejection relies on improper hindsight reconstruction.
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Regarding Xin, the reference is cited for teaching that methionine may be substituted with norleucine and the benefits of such a substitution, as is claimed in claim 24, not to teach the purported deficiencies in Tobola and Billet, which are discussed in the response to arguments above.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The above rejections set forth that each and every element of the claimed invention (greater than 50% modified monomers, modified StxB monomers comprising a reactive unnatural amino acid at the C-terminal extremity, etc.) was known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and that one would have been motivated to make the claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success based on the teachings of the art.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/BAILEY M MORGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642